Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Graywood Hotel 3 stars

Corner of Gray & Trotter Streets, 6570 Knysna, South Africa

Review score

Based on 114 hotel reviews

8.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.6

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was mediocre. Bedside lighting could have been better. The room was cold and there was no heating.

    Centrally located, the hotel allowed us easy walking to the main shopping street in town, and to the waterfront & its restaurants. The central courtyard and pool were lovely and tropical.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were not at all helpful, they didn’t even tell us where breakfast was served, no explanation about facilities etc. we were not assisted with luggage or shown to our room. Very poor staff interaction.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room had a foul smell, broken door handle, broken kettle, broken toilet (it broke twice), airconditioner had awful smell when switched on - likely that filter needs replacement, one mattress felt like it had sloped to one side (my partner woke up with a painful back). Given the amount of money one pays per night you do expect certain things to work properly even though they may seem like minor defects. Maintenance man and head manager both rude. One young male desk clerk was also exceptionally rude. Because of the no cancellation policy we couldn't cancel without losing money for remainder of booking but we would have rather cancelled and found different accommodation had we had the option.

    The hotel itself was within walking distance of restaurants and shops, the garden is beautiful and the cleaning staff and ground managers very friendly. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was a bit meh. Not bad but nothing exiting at all. No booklet in room explaining procedure for i.e. room service etc.

    The birds in courtyard were lovely

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pillows are rock hard, no drinking water is given in the rooms. The access to the parking could really be remote controlled. I expected better for what we paid.

    Rooms were clean and staff were friendly.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place need upgrading, the tv's are horrible, the channels are bad and signal very poor. Parking is ok but very difficult to get in and out, you always have to wait for someone to open.

    The top floor rooms are much better than ground floor.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was a bit cold, aircondition can be used to warm up the room, but it is a bit loud esp. during night - You could hear the traffic from street in front of the hotel, even if you closed the door to bathroom - Vibration in your room if other guests are walking in front of your room (had a room in upper floor) - Also people can have a look to your room, if you don't close the curtain, what makes your room dark - safe is very small, a Galaxy Tab S was fitting with some tricks, standard notebook do not fit into the safe. - check out time 10am. If you are an early bird and can sleep well even with some noise around, all these things won't bother you and it's a good relaxing place to stay. There is not much traffic during the night in front of the hotel.

    Very kind, friendly and supportive staff - very nice pool and garden area (may be a bit small in summer) very central location, 5 min. walking distcance to Waterfront (save eben during night), 20-25 min working distance to Thesen Harbour Town with several nice restaurants / activities - 5 minute walking distance to several supermarkets - Hotel will organize a airport transfer to George if needed (ca. 1hr ride) - Very good price in July (600 ZAR/night incl breakfast) - safe is for free - 30 min ride by car to Plettenberg Bay - Additional blankets available for your comfort - very good pillows

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No coffee shop or coffee in bar although room has kettle and supplies to make your own .

    Attractive breakfast terrace and small pool deck area. Secure parking offered free.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast was very badly arranged. Found hair in food. Staff had difficulty attending to guests.

    Location was very convenient. Room was spacious and lovely. Parking bay for vehicle.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was a little bit noisy, but I did have a room on the road side of the hotel

    Staff were very helpful and able to book taxis, give local information etc. Lots of choice at breakfast. Good sized room and very clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking was full and we therefore did not have secure parking,

    Good value for money. Staff were very friendly and helpful despite our arriving very late.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was very uninspiring, but this is a commuter hotel. The outside area could be improved on, as could the pool.

    Central location, very good aircon, squeaky clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We checked into our room, and a few minutes later the reception lady came to tell us that we only booked for one person... I was quite sure I booked for two, since I booked all our hotels consecutively and made sure to double check. But according to the hotel we were booked for one person only.. I accepted that and asked to see the manager so we can resolve the issue, but there was no manager on site. They sent us away (we had no where else to go as all other accommodation was fully booked) and told us the manager would phone us. No one ever contacted us and they took the money for the entire stay without consulting us in any way... I had a few minutes to look at our hotel room before all the issues arose. They room was incredibly small. I had to close the windows due to the noise coming from the building's aircons next to us. The area around the hotel was dirty and noisy (next to a busy shoprite). I wouldn't mind these flaws if the price for the room wasn't so incredibly overpriced.

    The wood log theme of the hotel looked nice.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent full breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing at all

    everything was perfect, Very friendly staff!!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    personally, i didnt like the bath

    the room is nice and staff pretty atencious

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything...it was just amazing to stay there. Even very secure parking

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room very small. No view. Breakfast cold and limited options

    Close proximity quay front

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible wifi

    Friendly staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    didn't replace toilet paper

    cozy bed

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the carpet in the room, quite a small room

    private parking, breakfast, pool, very central

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No complaints

    Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well located

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nice breakfast

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The taxis

    The sound of the birds in the morning

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To noisy exspecialy guest in the room next to mine til 2 in the morning

    Central to town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    aircon didn't work. Breakfast a bit overrun by busload of tourists

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Early noise of guests leaving.noise caused by wooden floors

    Close to waterfront

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff could be more professional and friendly.

    I love the view from the hotel, and the overall comfort levels at the hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Enjoyed stay and would recommend.

    Comfortable bed and room. Pool area relaxing & hotel is in good location. Secured parking a bonus.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    bathroom & receptionist attitude

    pool area

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    excellent for a short stopover, great location, pool and breakfast, very comfortable bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast amazing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Smelly rooms, quite loud

    Pool is lovely

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    breakfast and courtesy of receptionist and security guards

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    small room

    location, breakfast and inner garden

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The air conditioner worked well. Room was neat. People are friendly. Bed was comfortable. Professional checkin and checkout.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location comfortable rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, friendliness, location and secure parking

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stains in the pool lining.

    The friendly staff/security and cleaners. Made our day.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Perfect location, nice rooms, nice garden, clean.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Value for money

    Position, staff, breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    EVERYTHING WAS VERY GOOD

    GREAT HEALTHY BREAKFAST

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Decor outdated

    Price was the same as the Rex Hotel which is modern and a whole suite

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No hot water in the morning but Grahamstown has water problems Also situated next to a very noisy pub

    Rooms well appointed and bed very confortable

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very week access to Internet in the room. Have to get Internet at the common area such as the terrace.

    Clean and spacious room! Friendly and helpful staffs!

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Handy location. Clean but a bit tired. Room we had was a bit small, but all they had left . They did have bigger rooms that looked alright, so if your staying for more than two nights go for them.

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This is corporate lodging with little charm. The place is very nicely photographed on booking.com, but it's nowhere near as nice in reality. The wooden decors look quite artificial when you are actually there and it resembles the style of hotels in Disneyland resorts (i.e., fake industrial design). It's not a disaster by any means, but rooms are rather small and essentially very dark. TV was broken when we were there and staff is rather unfriendly (by the high standards of the region). It's an ok place to spend a night, but not a place to spend more than one night.

    The pool area is not bad.

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    - fridge in the room would have been a plus - hotel bar was closed on one of the two evenings we stayed there - bathtub (no seperate shower)

    + perfectly located just a 2 minutes walk from the waterfront + 'wooden panel' styled hotel + good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    this is in the middle of very busy Knysna city centre....but a haven indeed. Close the bathroom door, switch on the aircon and you wont hear any noise. Divine mini forest with birds everywhere in the centre of the hotel...loved it. Beautiful breakfast in a charming setting...loved it.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All professional

    Central location very helpful & polite staff possibly more facilities could be available like extra restaurant service during the day

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This lodge was a very pleasant surprise. Constructed of polished wood, 3 to 4 minutes from the Waterfront with restaurants. Breakfast buffet excellent.

  • Reviewed: 17 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The noise level is too high due to it being build of wood. People checking in or out dragging the wheels of luggage acros the wooden balcony sound like a train on your doorstep, when a door is open it sounds as if it is your door opening.

    Good location

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    My experience on the whole was awesome. It was comfortable and the staff were very friendly. The only thing I would change in the middle of winter is perhaps the edition of a heater but this was not essential to our level of comfort.

    Cleanliness and friendliness from porters to the barman.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The shower was a bit of a shocker, was wondering whether I was getting wet for pat of the time

    Staff was excellent. Arranged a 4am special breakfast for the marathon runners. Warm and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    We booked a double and twin room and the hotel made a decision on their own to allocate two twin rooms for our stay without consulting us prior to this. Only when I double checked on check-in that we were indeed allocate the rooms booked were we informed that they though we would like rooms next to each other and these were the only two available. I put this clearly to poor planning from their side and assuming that they knew what we wanted. To say the least we were not very impressed. They did offer us another room far away from each other which we declined.

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2015

    • Couple

    The bed and pillows were very hard. The other guests that were sharing the top level shouted and stood outside their rooms from 10 - 12 midnight. Over a cycling race weekend this could have been dealt with earlier by staff or management.

    We enjoyed the feel of the hotel. The staff were friendly and happy to help us even at 10pm or 6 am.

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    At first we were in a bedroom downstairs that had no windows so was very dark. On request we were moved to a light airy room upstairs with far nicer decor & the same price.

    Close to restaurants on Main Street & the waterfront And only 15 min walk to thessen Island. Clean comfy room. Good breakfast. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The swimming pool is one length all over and not conducive to swimming or relaxing in it. I'm not sure what factors played a role in the design of the swimming pool, but my opinion is that the construction of the pool should have been planned better in order to optimize the use of the pool by guests and enhance their experience of staying there. Our shower head in our bathroom did not work properly (water pressure was poor etc.), but because we spent so little time in our room, I did not deem it worthy to complain about it or to point it out in order to have it fixed. My showers in the bathroom (which are essential, especially after a day's swim in the ocean) were therefore not convenient and it took a very long time to clean up properly in the shower due to the poor layout, lack of space and improper functioning of the shower head and the weak pressure of the water. I also found it inconvenient that the hotel does not use the breakfast area as a restaurant for lunch/dinners, because sometimes guests would just like to stay in and relax and not go out. However, I do take into consideration that demand and supply play a role, as well as other factors.

    I loved the attentiveness and friendliness of the staff and the outstanding service levels, which are rare to find in today's world. I also loved the location of the hotel and the excellent breakfast and accommodation of my dietary requirements, as well as the compliance with my special requests for the room. The hotel is simply stunning and our stay was enhanced by the ambience, beauty and elegance of the hotel.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    For the price we paid, breakfast was a little sketchy - only scrambled eggs available (no poached, omelettes etc). Would've been nice if there was some bottled water in the room as the water in the taps was brown.

    Location close to the Knysna waterfront Clean and comfortable beds

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No view from the room No cocktails offered by bar

    Very central location, within easy walkable reach of waterfront and all shopping centres Great fresh fruit variety at breakfast Friendly staff, all also speaking Afrikaans if that is your preferred language.

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi a bit slow

    The overall "wood" experience.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I got more than what I expected, so no negatives

    Its so clean. Everything you need for a one night stay. Staff friendly and ready to assist

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hotel is a little bit back dated and the rooms are very dark

    Mostly the location and the fact we could park the car inside

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Parking area very small

    Very nice location, close to waterfront (walking distance) and very good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet is a little slow

    Room, facilities, location and breakfast were great. The reception staff were very helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rooms were a bit stinky, moisty

    Pool was nice, crew as well

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything was perfect

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was very central and convenient. But courtyard and bedroom very quiet.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I left my book in the room and nobody has contacted me to find out if it is my book or whether or not I will be collecting it, etc

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Location and staff

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No hot water so couldn't shower

    Location, friendly staff and overall atmosphere of the hotel

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Absolutely loved it. Will definitely go back

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Room access

    Pool

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: