Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Hideaway 5 stars

10 Hermanus Steyn Street, 6740 Swellendam, South Africa

#15 of 32 B&Bs and Inns in Swellendam

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 61 hotel reviews

9.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.7

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.6

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    9.2

  • Free WiFi

    9.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 35

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Ecstasy Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Hideaway is beautifully located, rooms and gardens are amazing. Breakfast was gorgeous with Jackie and Stephen preparing everything from local fresh ingredients. Stephen's suggestions about our continued route were very helpful as was his assistance when I forgot my sunglasses at the guesthouse. Would definitely recommend the Hideaway.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Queen Elizabeth Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Safe location with quality linens etc very enthusiastic host who gave us a wonderful itinerary for our onward journey. The freshwater eco pool was fantastic as was the homemade shortbread left in the room, as well as the home baked bread and buns/cakes made to enjoy with breakfast. The garden was stunning and a beautiful setting to have breakfast in.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • The Queen Elizabeth Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only thing better would have been if we could have stayed for a week!

    One of the best stays I've ever had anywhere. This place is like the Garden of Eden, and the hosts have literally thought of everything. Roses and birds abound, and the eco-pool is a magnificent work of man-made engineering and nature in perfect harmony. PS Breakfast was amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Ecstasy Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that we didn’t stay on longer.

    Difficult to choose. Guess everything was great. Hideaway turned out to be the jewel in the crown of our trip. It was perfect actually. Stephen and Jackie were wonderful hosts. Stephen was full of information with additional tips for the rest of our trip. Enjoyed Jackie’s shortbread and other baked goodies. Swellendam turned out to be delightful. Dinner at DROSTDY was delish even though the chef is apparently “skinny”!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Queen Elizabeth Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Booked the Queen Elizabeth Suite and was placed in a different room [principal rather than serious because we were comfortable]. Non existant BBQ area. Rather lengthy welcome / check in when tired!

    Almost everything. Great hospitality, fantastic food, beautiful gardens and a very comfortable room. Well located to restaurants. Staff go the extra mile...

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Ecstasy Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    From booking all the way to goodbye the Hideaway was a 5 star experience. A lovely guest house centrally located in beautiful Swellendam. Well appointed with all the luxuries and more. Add the extremely knowledgeable, friendly, attentive and organised hosts and you literally have the perfect Hideaway. Definitely a must when you visit Swellendam.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Queen Elizabeth Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like.

    Everything was first class and the owners could not have been more attentive. The eco pool was wonderful, breakfast was superb and the suite had everything in it that you wanted and even things that you did not know you wanted.Even the car was washed without me asking.The owner even gave us a recommended route to Cape Town which kept off the main roads and took us through the most picturesque countryside.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful rooms, comfortable and well equipped. Lovely grounds and a wonderful natural pool. Welcome glass of home made lemonade on arrival and information on places to visit and restaurant recommendations. Invitation for a glass of wine at 7pm with Stephen and Jacqui and fellow guests.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Ecstasy Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent service. The hosts gave much appreciated guidance and advice that helped us enormously to enjoy our stay with them. Very quiet and peaceful with a lovely garden.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hard beds and pillows. The male owner is a litlle bit too much, quite rude sometimes and keep knocking at our door without reason. As read here and on Tripadvicer he has behaved like that for years. For the reason of his beavoiur we will not come back. He distroyed our five days.

    The rooms are spacious. The berakfast is very good and the pool is quite ok. Nice garden with a lot of birds (they feed them). Jackie is very nice and relaxed.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Ecstasy Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hosts tend to overwhelm you with information and restaurant suggestions.

    Very warm and friendly hosts, great service mentality (our car was washed twice without even asking), nice and comfortable rooms with everything you would need, gorgeous bathroom, evening sundowner with the hosts and other guests and the eco outside pool.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • The Double Delight Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lack of information that I needed to bring along my own bottle of wine despite a booking.com query in that regard. The answer I received did not clearly indicate the above.

    The setting - a true hideaway. The eco pool - although didn't swim but sure wanted too!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Ecstasy Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was perfect and the hosts personally attended to all the details to make our stay unforgettable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Queen Elizabeth Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Queen Elizabeth Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Comfy bed and lovely breakfast Very attentive owners

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Miliatistic approach to guests.

    All perfection.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Peace Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was cold at night

    Small touches throughout

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • The Peace Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good.

    The services were perfect. Luxury at its best. Nice staff and perfect installations with a spa.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • The Queen Elizabeth Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Delightful place. We will be back next year! Recommend highly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • The Ecstasy Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Attention to detail a little to imposing

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • The Queen Elizabeth Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nice garden, excellent breakfast,non clorinated swimmingpool

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    the floor was not properly cleaned during our stay.

    we had the best breakfast ever. everything is healthy and homemade and you get a wide variety. i had the best müsli ever! and they have the most awesome (natural) swimming pool i have ever seen and used in my life!

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The fact that we were only there for 1 day as we were flying home the next day !

    The attention to detail that Stephen and Jackie put it to their wonderful guest house. Home baking and fantastic fresh fruit for breakfast along with local produce. They have a wealth of knowledge that really helps you to see the best sights and informative really local history. Was made to feel really welcome .

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only comment I would make is when you have travelled all day, it would be nice to go to your room, unwind, and then meet up with the owners who can then tell you all about the place and surrounding district. Whilst it was lovely to have a cup of fresh lemonade, as soon as you arrived, the owners spent some time telling us about the area. Whilst this was very considerate, it would have been nicer to have unwound, and then met up with the owners half an hour later, had the lemonade, and a good chat about Swellandam.

    Everything was as it should be - to an excellent standard.

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Homely feel in room with extra thoughtful touches. Relaxing feel. Appreciated the complementary drinks and excellent restaurant recommendation. Thoughtful ideas for our onward journey.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hosts were just too intrusive for us - we would've preferred to have been left much more to our own devices. As a result, we had barely any time on our own to enjoy the facilities as we had a short stay. I can see how this might appeal to some but not for the independent traveller.

    It was nice to have help planning trips and booking restaurant tables

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We couldn't stay longer ....

    Everything, from the moment we arrived when we were served tea and biscuits overlooking the garden, recommending a restaurant for an evening meal and booking the table for us, to wine and nibbles in the lounge with our hosts and other guests in the evening. A sumptuous breakfast including daily homemade scones and muffins (complete with doggy bag bag to take food with you during the day). Such wonderful personal attention to making our stay perfect with invaluable guidance on our itinerary. Steven if contacted beforehand will happily provide a free itinerary for your visit with all the details and instructions you need on how to get there. Exceptional.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having to leave!!

    Beautiful rooms with so many extras. A lot of thought has gone into providing everything you could possibly need. Amazing breakfast. Lots of homemade items eg meuseli, bread, muffins and locally sourced cold meats and cheeses

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was done to perfection and our hosts were so welcoming and helpful - just wished we could have stayed longer but hopefully will return another time. Excellent breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very helpful and organised but over the top , the owner needs to be more relaxed and not to dictate what should be done at specific times......the furnishings are a bit twee.

    Very good breakfast with lots of choice and all products sourced locally and fresh home baked bread every morning. Free mini Bar. Free laundry if you stay 2 nights or more.

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The hideaway is a pleasant Guest House within walking distance of good restaurants. Stephen and Jackie are informative hosts and know the area well but information overload is a problem here.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We arrived late and the gentleman (owner) barked at us . Being in the service industry is part of the package with tourists with or without phones.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Drinks and nibbles at 7pm overlooking the pool.

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Beautiful spacious rooms & surroundings! Lovely garden & yummy breakfast to end off our stay :)

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    room , large ,well furnished in tasteful style owners very helpful and enthusiastic lovely garden outside room

There are also 10 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 35

Guests also reviewed these properties: