Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Palazzo Montecasino 5 stars

Montecasino Blvd, Fourways, 2021 Fourways, South Africa

#5 of 16 hotels in Fourways

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 101 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.3

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 - 47

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2018

    7.5
    I like the staff very friendly and the breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    I did not like the noise outside the room people kept talking all day and night and the noise the aircon made after 4 days I just gave up as the noise was still there.

    I like the staff very friendly and the breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    10
    Great choice if visiting Johannesburg
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel is very well appointed with beautifully manicured gardens. The staff were always attentive & very friendly. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    7.5
    They overcharged me on the credit card without my consent...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They overcharged me on the credit card without my consent and keep me waiting on the case. Now the bank is already deducted my money. I stay a night and they deducted my money twice!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2018

    9.2
    Relaxed days in Johannesburg
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location very save and an beautiful Hotel with exceptional breakfast area outside. also if you take your family along they can spent the day in the park or Monte casino and you do not have to worry about there safty

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    8.8
    Pleasant experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The check-in took 25 minutes. Not great and the receptionist at checkout was unfriendly and rude and continuously discussed the staff lunch of the day ‘chicken a la king’ Which she would skip. Very unprofessional.

    Swiss muesli and waitrons

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    Great staff going the extra mile
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only aspect I would have improved on was the way that breakfast was handled. They had a large number of guests at breakfast, which in all fairness we had been warned about the day before - however, the breakfast staff felt like they could have had better control over the process to get everyone queued and seated. It felt quite chaotic at times.

    The staff were very friendly, from the moment that the valet opened our car door as we arrived, through the check-in process and room upgrade. I would definitely recommend this for a premium experience near the Sandton suburbs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    8.8
    Lovely pool and garden area, the breakfast was great and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is terrible and they gave me and my partner twin beds for our anniversary.

    Lovely pool and garden area, the breakfast was great and the hotel just has a relaxed atmosphere to it.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    7.5
    Great venue.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is close to the main road and you can hear the traffic.

    The room was great and beautifully decorated. The breakfast is outstanding and the staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    7.9
    A great place for a family weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is now a bit dated though and could do with a revamp, especially the bathrooms. Ours was constantly smelling (room 260). Also found the rooms a little dark.

    The room and breakfasts were great. The gardens and pool area are also very nicely done and inviting. The service was excellent, and staff very friendly and accommodating. They make you feel well looked after. It was my husband and daughters birthday and the staff organised complimentary pieces of cake and some bubbly for them. It was very special.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    7.1
    Not much.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    In room dining appalling.. cold and tastless ...most unsatisfactory. Breakfast the next day was very average...the hot buffet was not fresh. Very overpriced.

    Not much.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    9.2
    Another Great Stay at Palazzo Hotel Montecasino Boulevard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The personalised contact with the Chef re my nutrition (I have Coeliac) and Julian Joubert (Rooms Division Manager), the friendly yet professional staff throughout the facility, my and the ambiance of the hotel

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    Reception staff very friendly and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The waitress at dinner needs a bit of coaching with the taking of orders and the serving of the wine

    Reception staff very friendly and helpful. Thank you too for the gifts in celebration of our 43 year wedding anniversary

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    9.2
    It was lovely
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    I found my daughter playing with the gravels and the gardener draking was upset and he made it known to me, I had to caution my daughter but she is 3, she only wanted to run and play

    the confi, the services, the cleanliness

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.6
    A lovely surprise! - a haven of tranquility.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A hand shower in the bath or shower. A little more light.

    A lovely surprise! - an escape from the frenetic pace of surrounding Johannesburg - a haven of tranquility and comfort in a beautiful gardened environment - the name of the hotel is very befitting.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Most beautiful place and perfect hotel !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant needs some help. People there don’t listen to what you want and expect for the best hotel

    Most beautiful place and perfect hotel ! Loved it

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    9.2
    Great place and service
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard of restaurants does not match the luxury of rest of establishment. Ocean Basket a basic restaurant chain food was of more superior standard

    Great place and service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Systems were down when we arrived. It took a while to check in. Service from restaurant and the pool area was exceptionally disappointing. Our orders were forgotten on more than one occasion. We were constantly left in the lurch with waiters. When our food did eventually arrive it was the wrong order on 3 occasions. Our last meal the waiter forgot about us - we waited over an hour for food and service. This was our weekend away for our wedding anniversary so I was really disappointed overall to pay such a premium price in return for such lack of service and quality :( ..... great pity!

    Beautiful hotel and great food.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    Just Great!!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel and the Service are just unbeatable !! - My wife's perfumes have been "stolen" - some month later 2 new identical parfumes have been sent from the Hotel "South Africa" to our home address in Europe!!! - this time we got a free late check out - until 5 PM !!! Other 5 Star Hotels are always charging such a late check out!! Just Great Service!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    10
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Excellent reception on arrival. Spacious, well appointed room. Attentive staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2018

    9.6
    You get what you pay for.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is expensive, but worth it.

    Fantastic hotel all around

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2018

    9.6
    Pretty much everything!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty much everything! Breakfast was amazing, beautiful location and everything perfect. Most comfortable beds ever!!!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2018

    9.6
    This is a real Palazzo
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great architecture and a large and beautiful park with pool

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2018

    9.6
    Great location and really lovely hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    British airways crew taking over the pool areas some days there were 30 of them

    Great location and really lovely hotel

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2018

    9.2
    grest central place in a top Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Perfect location for our business very good restorant

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    10
    The butler guys are awesome!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The butler guys are awesome!!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    7.5
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    8.3
    Excellent location for attending the Ticket Pro Dome. Lovely atmosphere and gardens.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bar could have stayed open later

    The ambience was very appealing and location great. Suite was great size and furnishings lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazingly comfortable bed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazingly comfortable bed. Delicious breakfast. Super friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    9.2
    Sculptures, building/hotel layout and garden.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The lounge is too small. Not always place for everyone to sit and relax.

    Sculptures, building/hotel layout and garden.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    9.6
    Rooms weren’t ready in time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms weren’t ready in time

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    8.3
    The cost was worth every buck!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Fabulous breakfast. Comfy beds and a high quality well appointed room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    Awesome hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay was too short

    Awesome hotel. Excellent facilities and amenities. Highly recommended

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.3
    Cozy hotel
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room services

    Cozy hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    10
    all good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was our wedding Anniversary and the Hotel upgraded us and made us feel very special

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Beautiful rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful rooms. It was my birthday and they went all out to look after me. Made me feel very special.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    10
    Would definitely go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much

    Excellent facilities

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    9.2
    truly amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The complimentary upgrade, totally unexpected, great surprise

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    6.7
    Could have been great. Was just good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room dated and tired. Room also smaller than expected for something described as Superior

    Staff all great. Room dated and somewhat tired

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    7.5
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    pillows to big and cumbersome

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    9.2
    very nice- will go again. WE loved it - the Tv choices not up to standard
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    windows need seals-bath outlet not woking

    good place, pricey for locals

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    The Palazzo akways lives up to our high expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was rather cramped

    Very comfy beds. Staff members ALL very friendly and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    We had a wonderful time and was spoiled by everyone. we will visit again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Friendliness, Spoiling us, good food, good location, we will visit again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    10
    Great room with plenty of space.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great room with plenty of space. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.2
    Nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    People allowed to bring their own liquor to the pool proved...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    People allowed to bring their own liquor to the pool proved to be very rowdy. Ghetto Blasters at the pool were also a nuisance.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    10
    Perfwct
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Clean, classy and kind

    Stayed in December 2017

There are also 44 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 47