Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Peech Hotel 4 stars

North Street, Melrose, 2196 Johannesburg, South Africa

#6 of 90 hotels in Johannesburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 52 hotel reviews

9.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 48

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I expected more value for the money we paid. We dined in and the food was just ok, breakfast was disappointing, for example the French toast was really toast dipped in eggs and the accompanying berries were sour.

    The room was spacious and clean as was the bathroom. The garden was very pretty and maintained.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps little more attention at breakfast regarding ensuring we had more coffee and teas and to ensure we had toast with breakfast .very small adjustments needed but detail is key to make it that wow factor

    The bed was great and linen was exacley what my wife likes

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in Main Building
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some food was below expectation - it is hard to believe that the 'Fillet steak' was actually fillet.

    Our room was spacious and comfortable and we felt secure.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    • Couple
    • Garden Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Honestly, at the rate we paid, I thought it was overpriced. For Johannesburg we were paying five star prices for a very nice 4 star property. Love that it's small and more intimate, but it also cannot offer the amenities and services that are normally included at a Johannesburg hotel charging more than $300.00 USD per night.

    Pretty hotel, friendly, helpful staff. Restaurant is wonderful.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were so incredibly spacious, and quiet. The location was so central for Johannesburg- and access was safe and easy for both private onsite parking or for catching Ubers. The staff were so friendly, helpful and and everything was just perfect.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel lacked some personality. It styles itself as a cool boutique hotel, but it just didn't quite deliver. Strange turndown service of turning down one night and not the other, and not providing water in the room.

    Nice location, good surroundings, and a nice pool. Breakfasts were good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The flies in the breakfast area were a bit of a nuisance.a repellent could have worked.

    Comfortable bed..clean crisp linen..cosy room..beautiful garden. A very relaxing environment. Amazing staff

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lighter dressing gowns for the summer months. So...no complaints ...only a suggestion.

    Staff amazing......a peaceful oasis in the middle of a big city. Home away from home. Love staying there....my 5th visit.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The breakfast was one of my favorites, during my trip to South Africa. The staff was super helpful and friendly. Place was cute and very clean.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were traveling to South Africa from London and stayed at the Peech for two nights. It was a great choice and the staff were absolutely awesome. Our flight was delayed by 12 hours so we arrived in the middle of the night but arrangements were made to pick us up. We were well taken care of and the food was amazing. Be sure to eat dinner there as well as breakfast! It was a great place to start our explorations of South Africa.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff were absolutely outstanding, and I don't use those words often. I also enjoyed the bar and restaurant - great drinks and food and excellent value for money.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room in Main Building
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was quite expensive for what it offered.

    The bed was very comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool could do with a bit more love, but understandable due to arriving in the winter season

    Comfortable beds with electric blankets

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    Staff is amazing and the atmosphere is very cozy. Nice and peaceful room.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suites
    • Stayed 1 night

    I loved the garden environment: tranquil, green and quiet

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing was too much trouble

    Very helpful staff and good food . Room very well appointed and very comfortable

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was very satisfied,so nothing.

    Beautiful setting.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Garden Rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool is more like a bathtub

    An oasis of quiet with great service

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    the noise level from other guests late at night

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Garden Rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything.

    Located in a beautiful suburb of Jo'burg, the Peech is a true gem. An oasis that offered a peaceful stay. Highly recommend

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved everything.

    A little oasis in the middle of a noisy city.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Close to the perfect Hotel experience

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Garden Suites
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very quite and friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Nothing to complain about.

    The room was very comfortable and spacious. Very quiet and the beds were lovely. I slept very well. The food was first class and all the staff were friendly and helpful. This is a great place and I would definitely recommend it.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    The beautiful grounds, the delightful staff, security of grounds, on-site restaurant(my fish was perfectly cooked),the very welcoming environment, the fact they support local charities and artists. Do not miss the gift shop. Excellent for women traveling together or solo to nearby attractions. I could have been very happy for several days.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We loved the decor and the fantastic and friendly service at this little hotel! Nishka and Oscar were lovely, arranging our rides to and from the hotel, recommending local fun places to visit, and holding our luggage after checkout while we explored the city! A definite must!

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The wifi is very slow and patchy!

    Lovely rooms, beautifully furnished set in a tropical garden. Awesome breakfast a la carte, fresh and super tasty. Good service overall, fast and affordable laundry service.

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff is what makes The Peech so special - genuinely friendly and helpful. It's also a place that's conducive to both working and and finding peace...There's : reliable WiFi connection, rooms are comfortable and quiet, the Nespresso machine in the room is a much appreciated perk!

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The pool is a bit tiny - but suits the setting.

    A beautiful garden of setting - with exceptional, comfortable studio style rooms. Great team. Highly recommended.

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very Nice small hotel.the room was big and beautifull.the place is peaceful.the staff has arranged us a very interesting tour to Soweto.the food and the wine were also excellent and we had a lovely surprise for our honeymoon with flowers on the bed and candle in the bathroom. We were so happy about it. Thank you!

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent, clean and spacious room, very attentive staff and beautiful grounds. The food was delicious and the choice of wines very good indeed. The Peech Hotel is located in a quiet and leafy part of Johannesburg. Next door is a huge gym and swimming pool that guests can use and a little shopping centre. Good trips to Soweto and the Apartheid Museum were really worthwhile. The Peech Hotel made our first three nights in South Africa relaxing.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Hotels tend to be a good value in S. Africa overall and while the suite was spacious and nicely appointed, it was overpriced and a bit out of the way, but in a very quiet spot. If you wanted to have a conference or just relax, it is a great spot.

    nice boutique, personal feel. Staff was awesome and very accommodating. Super breakfast, both buffet and hot a la carte.

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wifi is free but terrible connection and really would've liked a refrigerator in the room

    Would def stay here over and over again! Staff was amazing! Loved the location

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    No refrigerator in room which seems odd for a room that is otherwise fairly comprehensively fitted out (nowhere to put fresh milk for tea or coffee). No iron or ironing board but they brought one to the room quickly when asked.

    Extremely helpful and friendly staff who were happy to arrange transport into and out of Johannesburg each day. Large room in grounds of hotel. Quiet, green garden outlook from small balcony. Room feels more like an apartment than a hotel room with a small lounge area and coffee table, large bathroom with bath and separate shower. Ample hanging and shelf space, air-conditioner, separate work desk and Nespresso machine. USB port in room for charging phone / ipod etc. Food in restaurant is very good - we stayed in every evening and looked forward to dinner. Can walk safely to nearby Melrose Arch shopping centre (about 15 minute walk).

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Wifi in room patchy

    Great breakfast Good size rooms

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    ALL WAS TO OUR LIKING

    LOVED THE PEACE AND TRANQUIL OUTDOOR PATIO WITH VERY HELPFUL STAFF

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Location & cost

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast served without bread and cheese.

    The efficient and smiling service The garden

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pillows were a little too firm for me but a compromise of firm and soft pillows would be great

    Excellent food and good value

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Could do with more loungers

    Low key and perfect for what i wanted

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It's so peaceful

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Privacy, very service oriented staff, nice architecture, room space and options to relax and work in place. It deserves the name boutique hotel.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    • Couple

    Small and not so private pool area

    Food, room, staff, everything was perfect but the pool area was small

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Loved the hotel and staff.

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Better internet service would have made it perfect, however it was indeed a good stay

    Excellent service by staff and exceptionally clean hotel

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great positioning, fabulous setting. Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful, clean room. Overall amazing stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The friendliness of the staff and the lovely room and facilities.

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2015

    • Business trip
    • Family with older children

    the warm welcome and friendlyness

There are also 16 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 48

Browse The Peech Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: