Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Plettenberg Hotel 5 stars

40 Church Street, 6600 Plettenberg Bay, South Africa

#2 of 18 hotels in Plettenberg Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 128 hotel reviews

9.1

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.3

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    7.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.3

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent kitchen with fantastic seafood. We were very pleased about the quality of food and drinks and the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. We really enjoyed our stay and would choose this hotel again if we came back to Plettenberg

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was small Porter service is lacking It great that all staff is multi skiling However some basic tasks can be done By basic people

    The staff & food

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms advertised incorrectly on booking.com We booked ‘double room’ and the pictures show sea views. Our room had car park views. Not ideal when paying these kind of prices!

    Beautiful setting

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at breakfast could have been a little better.

    Wonderful hotel, great location. Bonus was being able to get boogy boards, umbrella and beach chairs from the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our stay was fantastic from start to finish. The staff are AMAZING! The hotel is fabulous and our wedding celebration event was fantastically well done. We highly recommend the Plettenberg!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The incredible views, the comfy bed, the relaxing pool area, the delicious breakfast (I’ll be dreaming of that granola!), the coffee, the friendly and helpful staff - spectacular place and I already can’t wait to come back!!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything.!

    The breakfast was very good,but they could probably change a bit per day the dishes.Bed was very comfortables as the room itself.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Huge numbers of seagulls washing and bathing in the pools was a turnoff. Slightly overpriced in my opinion.

    Great location, excellent restaurant. Comfortable rooms with complimentary wines.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Poorly furnished rooms. i.e no luggage rack - suitcases on the floor. No privacy in room - exposed to street. Not a 5 star experience in any way, although staff tried hard.

    Position and view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wished we had stayed longer !

    EVERYTHING !!! it was one of the best hotels I've every stayed in and we will be returning, we ate in the hotel every night it was amazing food, room was comfortable, but next time will take a sea view.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bedroom was beautifully decorated, but a little tired. Air conditioner was old and giving problems. Also, the bed was very hard.

    The position of the property is prime and the view is spectacular. Having breakfast outside on the patio was superb, watching the whales and dolphins frolicking in the bay. The staff were exceptionally friendly.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff were friendly and willing. But i got the sense that they did not have adequate training required of a 5 star hotel I had recently stayed at the Small Hotel Robertson and the staff were oustanding they required very little management but they knew what was required of them. this was my direct comparison with the staff at The Plettenberg.

    The hotel has a prime location. Built with uninteruppted sea views. Staff are willing and friendly. Rooms are comfortable and clean. The hotel has on street parking with adequate security. This hotel could be described as a Grand Old Lady

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A small chair on the balcony would have been appreciated. I also had problems with stairs (this is a personal problem) but worth mentioning there is no lift. The Lunch and Dinner menu was limited but we found this also elsewhere. Probably the time of year.

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Beautiful views and very comfortable bed. Water provided every evening and a nice little note about the next day's weather forecast. Very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The decor could have an update? and the menu for dinner could offer more choices.

    The staff are absolutely amazing - friendly warm and helpful. The food is fantastic - Masterchef standard. The location is probably the best in Plett - watched the whales at breakfast and walked on the beach below. The complimentary bar fridge was a lovely additional bonus!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool is so beautifully situated but it's not heated. I would have loved to have swum outside.

    All the staff were very friendly and wonderful with our 1 year old.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee was not the best tasting. The restaurant was overbooked despite us enquiring 1.5 hrs before service commenced so we had to dine in room. We ordered two cocktails at the bar when arriving and these took about 20 to arrive.

    The breakfast was amazing beautiful selection of fruit and juices. Superb meats and cheese and good options for hot breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel is at the bottom of a steep hill and although this was not a problem for us it is a good climb up to the town.

    Good restaurant with some tables overlooking the bay - be sure to reserve one if you want one as the restaurant does get busy in the evenings. Beach bar and restaurant is an easy walk from the hotel

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We had a wonderful suite with a 270 degree view of the beach and ocean. Very nicely furnished and spotlessly clean. The staff were lovely and always willing to go the extra to make our stay memorable.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although our bathroom was good, the bedroom was quite cramped (we struggled to see how it could be 355 sq ft and the fire escape diagram on the back of the door clearly showed the room as being much smaller than the other rooms in the building) and only had one chair which could only be positioned next to the bathroom door. As a result we felt that the room was very overpriced. The staff at breakfast time were insufficiently attentive. Unfortunately it was quite windy while we were there and the pools are not heated and were therefore too cold to swim in.

    Lovely views across Lookout Beach to the mountains beyond and just a short walk down a footpath to the beach. We had a very good meal in the Seafood Restaurant and found the lady in the shop very helpful with information on what to see and do in the locality. Breakfast was served near the main pool overlooking the sea - very relaxing.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was the first time we had stayed at The Plettenberg and we were very disappointed with the hotel. It has a wonderful position and beautiful views over the rocks and sea but this is not enough to give it five star status. We did find all the staff very pleasant but there were too many things that weren't as we had expected them to be. We had booked a suite for the two nights - at a big price - and if the hotel had been up to 5 star standard we would not have minded at all but sadly this was not the case. Our room was just not well prepared. The TV did not work and after the staff member had tried everything it still did not work so it had to be swapped with the one in the bedroom. Then the cupboard to the bar fridge could not be opened. On investigation it was found that the key had broken in the lock so this had to be forced open. All not a good way to start! We had invited friends to join us for breakfast on the following morning and this too was a disaster. Out of the four orders for hot breakfast two were totally wrong. It appeared that the waitress was hard of hearing or just did not understand what we had asked for - once again not great for a 5 star hotel. This was all recitified but by that time the two people who had got the right meal had finished their breakfast. We also found the layout of the room unsatisfactory. The toilet was separated from the bathroom - a very nice bathroom, I have to admit - but there were American type shutters separating the bathroom and toilet and in order to get to the dressing room one had to go through the toilet. So if the toilet was being used the bathroom nor the dressing room could be used - unless you don't mind being on show while in the toilet! So I am afraid we certainly won't rush back there - definitely very overpriced for what one gets.

    The view from our suite

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have needed help with "nearest airport, on which days to Johannesburg, on which days to Cape-town"

    We loved the breakfast watching the dolphins, swimming in the ocean before breakfast, or just walking. The decor of the whole place makes you feel really comfortable.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    Spacious room. Heated Floor in large toilet suite. Good Toiletries. Great unobstructed view. Excellent Staff. Free Minibar. Perfect hilltop location minutes from the beach. Short walk to the Main shopping Street and bars. Great Fresjly Made to Order yet Buffet Breakfast. Inspiring Menus and Superb Dinners! Nice setting for outdoor dining around the Poolside. Not being too big a hotel, a Very homely Personal touch is given to each one, which is just not possible in larger hotels! Simply cannot fault it. Truly The Best of the best. Reading the history of the place Liz McGrath would be smiling down from Heaven!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    One day was a little cloudy - I suppose they can't do anything about that.

    Everything is super here. The structure, the rooms, the facilities inside the rooms, the location, the elegant breakfast... Even if I'm not a big fan of hotel restaurants, this really deserves a visit. If I have to choose one aspect that beats them all it is the service: the staff, all included - right from the management, are super professional, helpful and polite.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Dinner menu needs 2 more choices, variety of dishes should be better

    Superb position, best views imaginable, lovely bedroom, complementary bar, wonderful breakfast, terrace and pool area, friendly, warm & welcoming attitude from all staff, discounted room rate

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we did not like

    We liked the amazing room, the amazing views from the room, staff and management who genuinely cared about us and treated us as their most important guests and, of course, the hotel cat, Peter. This was probably the best hotel experience we have ever had!!

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The Plettenberg Hotel is truly a 5 star hotel. Excellent location, stunning views and wonderful staff. Great food and restaurant. Beautiful interior decorating.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    THE HOTEL IS VERY BEAUTIFUL, THE ROOMS NICELY FURNISHED, BEAUTIFUL ATMOSPHERE, NICE AND FRIENDLY STAFF, THE LOCATION EXCELLENT, THE SERVICE EXCELLENT, THE BREAKFAST PHANTASMIC, THE CAT PETER ABSOLUTELY LOVABLE, ALL IN ALL A WONDERFUL STAY

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Spa is good - it could be a little better.

    I liked how the luxury was understated and the lovely touch of the hot water bottle in the bed at night. I liked how the management team were there but not in your face trying to suck up. I liked the generosity of cold drinks being free in the bar fridge in the room.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting, staff welcoming and helpful. I could not have been looked after better

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Restaurant, I believe that the quality of the dishes is quite poor

    The friendliness

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bottle of water in room each night Free bottle of wine in room Free mini bar Coffee and tea in room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stylish place. Nice and chic guests

    Superb hotel great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All good overall.

    Thought we were getting an ocean view room.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel has the most amazing view overlooking the ocean. Our room was exquisite and the staff were absolutely wonderful.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    no gym bad blow drier

    the food the staff the view free mini bar

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A/A

    Free mini bar, very clean & comfortable rooms

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cannot think of anything

    Superb breakfast Friendly and efficient staff Very comfortable room Probably the best location in Plett

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was too small

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Security was very good but it would be nice not to need it!

    Great bedroom, really enjoyable food, wonderful position.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Prefer a proper double bed and not two single put together and cover with double sheets

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing that we didn’t like

    Liked everything awesome place to be at anytime winter or summer

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff are not trained for 5 star standards and were very unhelpful

    great location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very friendly and helpful staff. If we wanted something that wasn't available, Devon went and got it for us. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff went out of their way to be helpful. The breakfasts were delicious. And their packed breakfast as we were leaving early was the best!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Beautiful bedding. Excellent breakfast menu. Staff friendly. Exquisite beach views.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The lunch and dinner menus could be more extensive

    Great views, fantastic staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Virtually everything! The location is superb; facilities are amazing; staff extremely warm and helpful!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could heat the pool, and bed had a ridge in middle as it was 2 singles put together

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fabulous hotel and a wonderful restaurant. We found the hotel staff extremely friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor wifi

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Standard room is small, especially the badroom. (2x2). Small swimmingpool.

    Very friendly personnel. Great teras for breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing Hotel with a 5* service! Nothing to complain about!!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could do with gym facilities

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 18 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For a five star hotel you need a gym

    The staff are absolutely fantastic Could not be better

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    NEANT

    SITUATION DE L'HOTEL LA RESTAURATION EXCELLENTE LA GENTILESSE DU PERSONNEL

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nightly rate is expensive for South African standards...although dinner is cheap with current exchange rates

    the best view in the world

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premier Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pleasant room no. 65 and the entire set-up

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No gym, would expect freshly squeezed orange juice in a 5 star hotel

    Nice view, very friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Water pressure in the shower was a little weak.

    Beautiful spacious rooms, amazing views, excellent food and service.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower water is erratic- cold and then too hot - plumbing needs an upgrade

    This is a really good hotel. The staff are friendly and efficient

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    dinner at the restaurant was very disappointing because of the staff behaving very poorly

    Very beautiful House

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool heated.

    Lovely hotel with stunning views across bay. Room was very spacious with good layout and great decor and furnishings.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Huge suite, personal service. Perfect.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/a

    Location/rooms/food

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    I would've rated it 11/10 if they could heat one of the pools? It was just a touch too cold to swim. Both pools looked so inviting!

    We were upgraded to the largest room available in order to accommodate our youngster, such that we had the equivalent of a suite! Personalized "The Collection" bathroom amenities were most elegant. Particularly thoughtful to have Room Spray too! Great staff who offered local information and enhanced our stay.

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    we liked everything in this hotel

    Great location of this hotel: Really beautiful place with excellent view from the room on the ocean. Comfortable 5* rooms with good bed, shower and bathroom with warm floors. Very clean. Great staff comunications. Very good breakfast in beutiful restaurant. You can order your breakfast from menu. The best breakfast that i tried in South Afrika. It is a really nice place to spend some days of relax.

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing really.

    Beautiful light room with stunning view. Breakfast excellent with an abundant variety of fresh fruit which was much enjoyed. Easy access to beach.

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Nothing at all.

    Everything!! Louis the manager, wonderful staff,complimentary mini bar, amazing views and a wonderful breakfast!! We got the English newspapers printed off and the staff were lovely, smiley and polite. You must stay at this hotel... It really is a very special place.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Menu at lunch and dinner had limited choices (although v nice), spa needs prior booking so limited capacity, lack of proper gym facilities.

    Superb location overlooking beaches and rolling surf. Restaurant offered quality meals breakfast, lunch and dinner. Good Spa. Very polite staff (Louie and team)

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Over and above the truly amazing location and outstanding decor, what makes this hotel exceptional is the staff. Having travelled to 57 countries and stayed in hundreds of hotels, I can honestly say, they are the best in the world! Well done and thank you to everyone who made my stay extra special.

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The only thing that could have better was the swimming pool. It is very small and freezing cold!

    The staff were fantastic and we were looked after beautifully . We had the most wonderful room lovely bedroom and a huge sitting room, together with a lovely private garden.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It’s a 10 out of 10 throughout - with the exeption of the shower in the room (a 7 minus) and the WiFi quality (a 4 on a scale of 10 - which is flattered).

    The Plettenberg: simply unique. A more friendly staff, more professional, caring, modest, polite and natural at the same time, I have never experienced. A family feeling, small scale (37 rooms), and a more then perfect location. No disturbances, it’s pleasant, quiet, relaxed and it has the magic of Plettenberg Bay….where it is sunny and pleasant, with the foggy, fresh and light ocean breeze, and a smell of freshness and coolness that is unique. Superb food, with any amendment to a dish being accepted with a smile. And the most perfect location and views of the whole Plettenberg Bay. It’s a 10 out of 10 throughout - with the exeption of the shower in the room (a 7 minus) and the WiFi quality (a 4 on a scale of 10 - which is flattered).

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Pool area was too crammed for the number of guests. The evening menu at The Seafood Restaurant was not varied enough eg the line fish was the same on all our 3 nights. A few of the general staff lack professionalism and spoil what is, overall, a great team of people.

    The room (20) was beautiful and the view was outstanding. The senior staff were excellent and some of the general team were lovely. Breakfast on the terrace was delightful and to see a pod of dolphins swimming in the bay whilst we were enjoying breakfast was fantastic.

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location was stunning Our room was lovely Only one concern: one of the restaurant managers Annelise speaks very loudly and goes on and on and on. Would be great if she could lower her vice and speak less

There are also 35 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse The Plettenberg Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: