Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Point Hotel & Spa 4 stars

Point Road, 6500 Mossel Bay, South Africa

#10 of 11 hotels in Mossel Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 198 hotel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.5

  • Comfort

    6.7

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    6

  • Staff

    7.5

  • Value for money

    5.9

  • Free WiFi

    6.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Other than location of this hotel it is hard to justify 4 Star status
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Breakfast really not up to standard - At 09h30 certain items had run out. Dinner menu expensive - Vegetables of the day Cauliflower, Broccoli, and excessive quantity of peppers! Some parts of room were not 4 star. Frame to bathroom door temporary and loose from wall. Sliding door to balcony very hard to slide. Television did not work the entire 3 day stay. Did not get twin beds as requested. In my opinion the electrical joint in the drawer for the hair drawer is not safe. The electric sockets were mostly behind furniture and charging cellphones was awkward.

    Absolutely superb views from the balcony. Comfortable bed with good linen. Good renovated bathroom.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    6.3
    Great location
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place is a bit run down. Reservations called be the week before to confirm our booking stating that the hotel was fully booked. There we hardly any other guests. Towels are old, but clean. Overall not a bad stay, but no more than 3 star quality

    Great location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.5
    The staff was really nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was really nice. We booked our room through booking.com and although there was no room available in the hotel booking.com still sold us A room. So the night we arrived at the hotel there was no room for us, but the manager and staff figures out a way for us to stay there for a night.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    5.0
    Avoid if you can or you will be left with a poor impression of Mossel Bay's beautiful Point areas
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sadly oversold. Last 4 STAR rating was achieved in 2008, and has really gone down from there. Very poor workmanship and renovations being done. Extremely questionable hygiene

    The location is fantastic. Only good restaurants are Kingfisher and Delfinos

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    7.9
    We enjoyed the location and warmth of the staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are still undergoing renovations. The management must pay attention to the cleanliness of the place and maintain the facilties often. Some places were rusty( bathroom, balcony doors) and untidy.

    Location and the warmth of staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    7.5
    The breakfast was very good, really enjoyed the variety of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedding on the bed didn't fit properly ( duvet inner and cover). I didn't like the tiled floors as it was sticky due to the weather and on bare feet it feels horrible. The outside patio area could do with a paint as there were mixed colours ( not sure if refurbishing going on at the moment). Windows/sliding doors were dirty due to the sea air, but this should be considered.

    The breakfast was very good, really enjoyed the variety of the spread. Only observation, no hot water for tea, only coffee was available. Otherwise all good. The location of the hotel is exceptional, couldn't ask for a better view. Secure parking for our vehicle.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    5.8
    NO TV RECEPTION !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!DON'T ADVERTISE TV WITH DSTV IF YOU HAVE NOTHING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    IF TV WORKED AS ADVERTISED IT WAS RAINING AND MY HUSBAND COULD NOT EVEN WATCH THE CRICKET!!!!!!!!!!!THE MANAGER WAS NOT INTERESTED AT ALL TO PHONE ME AFTER SEVERAL REQUESTS BY MYSELF TO THE STAFF

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    7.5
    Noisy neighbours.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The neighbours on top of us were very rowdy ( this was when we were in room 304) and i had to scream at them twice. I wanted to stay longer but because of their noise making i refrained.

    I enjoyed the view on the first weekend when we stayed in room nr 505. The second weekend the view was not that visible from room nr 304.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    4.2
    will not consider taking my wife, family or friends to stay there at the current state.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    for a FOUR STAR HOTEL, this has been a derogatory experience the reception area greets guest with a vulgar smell, the rooms smell moldy the towels use date is long gone only had catered one person in bathroom re toiletries TV's not working at all for the whole weekend....POOR bedding poor quality

    The view from my bedroom

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    3.8
    The only accommodation on our trip we were disappointed in.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The check in was unfriendly and they didn't appear to have any record of our reservation booked last October and we received no information on the facilities. The corridor leading to our room was dirty and unkept. The room was okay however the power sockets were hanging off the wall and a data socket was covered in rust. There was black mould on the curtains and I had to clear a cockroach out of the bath before I showered the next morning. The wifi was not working and neither was the television. I reported these but they were never rectified. The hot breakfast was inedible looked like it was cooked several days previously. No one bothered to ask was everything okay with our stay. We stayed in this hotel previously and could not believe how bad it has become. We will never go back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.9
    The position is excellent, the view from our room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The DSTV was not working in our room, we were told by Reception there was an issue but it wasn't resolved during our stay. Neither did the airconditioning work.

    The position is excellent, the view from our room spectacular and the staff were extremely helpful & efficient.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    7.5
    A bit dissapointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    After a long day on the road, we wanted to relax in our room, take in the scenery, watch a movie and order room service. No TV, and nobody could fix it.

    Great location - excellent view and easy to get around Comfortable room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    7.1
    The Point Hotel is situated in a fabulous setting, right on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Point Hotel is situated in a fabulous setting, right on the coast and the views from the balcony were wonderful. Because of its situation, the balcony and some of the floor inside were quite slippery and salty and the place felt a little tired. The rooms were comfortable enough though and we enjoyed our stay well enough.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    7.1
    great location but expensive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    not good value, have stayed in hotels which were as good for less money. At breakfast the place was full but only one waitress so every table was full of dirty dishes. The waitress apologized and cleared on e table for us. Management were watching this and only helped her after a while. Pity as this spoilt our opinion of the place

    the view from our room was excellent and the room very comfortable and clean

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    5.8
    Very disappointing to say the least.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Renovations not completed, needs finishing off. Shower blocked up resulting in water on bathroom floor.. Air conditioner leaks onto balcony so water where u meant to sit. Couldn't switch aircon off properly. Globe out in dressing table lamp. Meagre supply of bathroom essentials eg soap. Service in dining room at evening meal very poor. Very disappointed as we had stayed there previously and had a very good experience. Whole hotel looks VERY TIRED!

    Position great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    5.8
    no value for money location of the hotel is excellent - hotel needs an urgent upgrade
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is no SPA. The breakfast has a poor selection of food. The hotel in general appears to be run down and is in dire need of an up grade. Our room (nu.411) on the 4th floor had a beautiful sea view and was clean and neat. The room on the 2nd floor (203) , was smelly and stuffy - though clean (we were moved to the 4th floor- courtesy of the reception staff). The breakfast room was not invitingly and clean and the carpets overall were run down. The DSTV TV in the rooms need to be look at.

    The hotel reception staff were excellent and every one else(staff) was very good -- friendly and accommodating -- the hotel location is beautiful... closely situated to the sea and beach as well as lovely restaurants surrounding it.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    6.3
    Nice enough hotel, but at R1,500 a night, I expected better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar closed at 10pm, without notice. The next night they had run out of wine. The restaurant floor was dirty. They took very long to clear the tables at breakfast. The carpets are threadbare and the walls need paint.

    The view

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    7.5
    Enjoyed our stay due to the location of the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Public car park adjacent to hotel. The buffet breakfast was poor quality. The evening meal was better quality but no wine list!

    Excellent location, very nice room and ensuite.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    8.8
    A memorable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast room was rather noisy and choice of fruit limited. The dining room could do with sprucing up.

    The hotel's position with access to a wonderful tidal pool is incomparable. we had a wonderful time in the pool and enjoyed drinks on our balcony overlooking the sea. The hotel was generous in lending us pool towels and wine glasses.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Most enjoyable and worthwhile repeating
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    On booking in to discover That they had no record of the deposits I paid for the rooms. Therefore we had to pay fully the next day. I am still waiting for the refund of my deposits.

    Sleeping to the sound of waves crashing. Also lovely food and serrvice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Awesome, will visit the Hotel again!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The parking is not secured and vehicles are left outside in the sun. Though reserved parking for guests were marked, it was still difficult to find a parking when reserved parking were taken!

    The food, the view, the room - everything. Parking in front of the Hotel. Parking spaces were reserved for guests.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    2.9
    Disappointing and truly feel they should refund my money.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was moldy. Curtains were moldy as well. There was hair on the floor. Reported it to reception and they told us housekeeping will attend to it...still waiting for them to come. Facility is old and not well maintained. At breakfast we had to ask for a table to be cleaned so we could sit down.

    Good bed

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    6.3
    The expensive night away helped us to relax a bit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Spar facilities. Breakfast was not good. Highly over priced for South Africans. Was hardly any South-Africans. Mostly foreigners. Bed was too short for both of us.

    The view.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    7.5
    Meals and view and comfort in rooms were excellent.
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Dirty Carpets, broken furniture and need a bit more to really feel value for money. Change table clothes all the time and give as breakfast spoons not soup spoons.

    Meals and view and comfort in rooms were excellent. Staff helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    4.2
    I would not go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The halls were dirty They had no booze in their bar The staff were not knowledgeable There was a lot of repairs needed on the facility

    The waves crashing at the point was soectacular

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    3.3
    VERY DISAPPOINTING!!!!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very poorly maintained facility-VERY DISAPPOINTING STAY!! Images displayed on webpage does not reflect actual status. Definitely does not warrant ANY STAR RATING...

    Unfortunately nothing to like

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    7.1
    Beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel needs to be refurbished - it looks a shoddy for a 4 star hotel, for example, the cracks in the wall on the balcony had been patched up but not painted and tiles in the bathroom looked worse for wear. Some staff needed some more training for example, we wanted to hike the St Blaize trail and asked the front desk about options to get back from Dana Bay. The clerk had no idea what we were talking about. The trail is right next door the hotel.

    The best view in Mossel Bay. We were literally right on the ocean. The location is right in the centre of all the action.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Brilliant location, good facilities. Possibly the number 1 choice for anyone staying in Mossel Bay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel on The Point, fantastic southern view from my 5th floor bedroom, out across the Indian Ocean which is 25m from property. As a foreigner living in the country, the hotel is worth every cent. The restaurant, which was empty on the November evening I was there, was fine, but why not invest and make it a true dining experience? And it could charge more too. But there are many decent restaurants in Mossel Bayl, so foodies won't miss out.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    5.0
    Very disappointing as I had booked hotel as part of my husbands birthday celebration and no spa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Menu at breakfast stated bacon but they had none in stock Really bad painting and peeling in rooms and corridors/unfinished Advertised as spa hotel but no spa!!!

    Staff friendly Location

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Absolutely a must stay when in the area. Comfortable staying. Greate value indeed. A must when in town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendliness of the staff was just amazing.Location is just amazing by night. Lovely ocean view. Breakfast in tge morning was just amazing. Easy booking in and out.

    The location is perfect.Absolutely beautiful.Big rooms clean and big. Nice clean lay out. View from balcony was just stunning.Nice easy walk to beach and surrounding area. Parking and wifi. Perfect.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    10
    We had an incredible time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and welcoming.The breakfast was incedible not to mention the hygiene.My partner and I had a room with breathtking view.We had an awesome time.Looking forward to our next check-in.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    4.6
    uneventful and easily forgettable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice location but the hotel had no atmosphere what so ever, felt cold and uninviting. Lift did not work and no spare blankets in the bedroom.

    Leaving in the morning!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    5.8
    For the price charged will not stay there again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    You can see it was out of season. No soda for drinks. Choice of wine poor. As I walk difficultly lift was out of order. For 4 star hotel I would have thought staff would be better trained.

    View is stunning

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    4.6
    At first given a key to a room which has one bed made the...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    At first given a key to a room which has one bed made the other bed was not made and in two pieces lying separate. The room I finally got had a water spot dripping from ceiling and mold on the roof by door. Their was no tv remote and cigarette marks on the plastic outdoor furniture inside. The rest was average.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.3
    The staff was friendly and helpful throughout.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Apart from the view the hotel is just average and a little bit worn out. Examples: in the shower some floor tiles were broken (or missing), window handling for one window was missing at all, the electronic door keys were not working the last day ... . You basically pay just for the view.

    The view from the terrasse is magnificent. The room was clean.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2017

    5.8
    Not as good as a year ago - the place needs good management and upkeeping.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were moved to another bedroom because the first room given to us firstly did not have a number on the door so we had to search for it, secondly it had a leak behind the basin that was dripping into a plastic holder, the grouting around the bath needed attention and the TV reception was extremely poor. The duvet on the bed was too small to cover the two single beds moved together as we wanted a double bed. The breakfast was also not as good as that of a year ago when we stayed there. No mushrooms sorry and the cold meats and crousaints on offer were not fresh!

    The second bedroom we were given was lovely. The sea view from the sliding doors were great but the side window was not so great - looked onto the roof where a fridge was lying on its side.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    2.5
    Stay at the protea!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. The hotel is old, tacky, unclean and feels cheap. The hotel has a view of a parking lot and little else.

    The only thing going for this place is location - near a lighthouse - but stay in the protea around the corner hitch is far better

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2017

    2.9
    Worst accommodation ever!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    They could've informed me that it's a building site as they're busy renovating!!! You cannot charge five star rate for accommodation which doesn't even deserve one star!!!

    Nothing!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2017

    3.3
    Terrible Point Hotel
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy, crowded , worn , and gloomy hotel, hastily prepared room, old " greyed" towels , cooking smells on room floors , extremely noisy and uncontrolled guest groups. No management presence , restaurant absolutely unattatractice hostel - type setting and venue .Checked out , did not stay overnight.

    View

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    9.2
    Spectacular location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit smaller than what we are used to but having said that it was very comfy

    The location location location. The view from the balcony was spectacular. We had half board so having a 3 course dinner included was brilliant food was great staff was very friendly

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    6.7
    Excellent view of beach. But hotel needs work.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs work. It smells like mold in corridor. The carpets are lose and doors are chipped. There is mold in bathroom and balcony rusted. Outside of hotel isold. During dinner we thought a pipe burst as water was streaming from the roof into dining room. Price is too high for what you get.

    Excellent view of ocean. We saw dolphins from our balcony playing in the waves. Beds was very comfortable.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    8.3
    Fantastic sound and view of the waves
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Renovating rubble lying in front of hotel on the sea view side.

    Fantastic view and sound of crashing waves! Balcony almost on the waves. Great bed and bedding. Very friendly and helpful staff!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2017

    6.7
    On the rocks...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is being renovated so it's not pleasent to be in when that's going on. Rubble/broken chair dumped at the bottom of the balconies is such an eyesore. Rooms neat but need attention to cleanliness - balconies are dirty, bathroom has mould on the ceiling, corridors poorly lit and carpets very tired. NB - Families with kiddies beware - the balcony ballustrades offer an insufficient barrier and are far too low to be safe. A real danger for small boisterous kids or for one who has had a few tipples watching the sunset! That all said, they are renovating so we can only hope for a sterling result on completion.

    Staff very friendly and efficient. Food was stunning - stayed on a DBB basis and we were not disappointed. View is amazing.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2017

    5.4
    Short stay at Point Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Hotel is dilapidated but they are busy with a revamp. Hope they are going to do more than just the rooms. with a little bit of love this can be the most awesome hotel in Mosselbay. Rooms are nice.

    This hotel have got exceptional views and the rooms are very generous in size.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    5.8
    Awful evening meal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only rate available includes dinner, which was dreadful. We were told we were alacarte. And that the restaurant served until 10pm. We arrived at 8.45 to be told buffet only, as the kitchen would prefer that. Being reasonable people, we agreed. Big mistake, the food was shocking and there was hardlly anything left and there was no offer of anything being topped up. A very tired hotel, which was undergoing renovation, which was not mentioned on Booking.com website, which was not acceptable. No attention to detail.

    The position was fantastic, as were the views.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    4.6
    Great location poor hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had supper there chicken was raw

    We when we checked in we were taken to our room Which was not being cleaned and beds were in made we were then taken to another room

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    8.3
    THIS HOTEL IS IN A WONDERFUL PHOTOGRAPHIC SETTING WE...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    THIS HOTEL IS IN A WONDERFUL PHOTOGRAPHIC SETTING WE RETURNED AFTER 8 YEARS AND UNDER NEW OWNERSHIP FOUND THE ACCOMMODATION VASTLY IMPROVED. THE STAFF WERE FRIENDLY AND HELPFUL. THE HALF BOARD OPTION WAS A MUST FOR LATE ARRIVERS AND FOOD GOOD AND ENORMOUS PORTIONS.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    5.4
    My last visit to the Point hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just about everything and it was not our first time. The hotel has really deteriorated.we had fleas in our bed.the drainage system in the bathroom was pathetic.it bath and basin blocked up whenever we used it. The lift to our room smelled really bad.the eggs at breakfast were way overdone and we had to wait 20 min for it because the staff member forgot to order it as he was goin off duty

    The staff were excellent. They were very helpfull and friendly the croissants were delicious.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    6.3
    The view and location is spectacular!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There appears to be no senior management running the hotel , the poor waiters and barman had to do everything. Our waitress and the barman( Enslin) were so accommodating and helpful, but they were run off their feet. The kitchen was painfully slow in getting meals out, the waitresses would disappear for long periods of time and diners would be without service. Very disappointing...

    The view and location is spectacular!! The bathrooms and rooms are newly renovated and beautiful, however the décor needs a specialist to look it over, but this is a minor issue.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    6.7
    view was great location great , rather expensive though
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The room was incomplete following the renovations that were being done , ie the cover plates on the plug boxes missing the main plug hanging out the wall , the bed side draw broken .....

    yes , all good

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2017

    7.1
    Great views with the right rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    We went during peak season, the place was packed so it was a bit noisy. If you didn't get a room with the beautiful sea view, you looked at the parking lot. The difference in the view between floors was noticeable. Try to get a 5th floor sea view room.

    Staff were very helpful. They were able to accommodate us with rooms for a second night even though we didn't book, and they helped us reserve and get to a nearby game reserve. The included breakfast was great.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    5.0
    It had beds to sleep on.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    One staff lady at front desk - amazing!! Other - NO desire to help at all or offer any kind of assistance. Quite frankly - only stay here if its the last resort.

    It had beds to sleep on. :-)

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    7.9
    The hotel has a perfect location but everything else was average.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I didn't like the breakfast - could improve on that. I didn't like the fact that the crockery wasn't too clean either

    I loved the location. And I liked that the staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2016

    6.7
    Beautiful sight but not worth R2500 per night sharing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The drinks at dinner was bad.They had no wine in bottels,just box wine.I cancelled the dinner.After confronting the waiter she replied in afrikaans "Begin my aand alweer so"The next morning at breakfast I was told that wa no set breakfast due to not enough people in the hotel.I had to order from a menu.

    The exellent view and the room was clean and neat.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    7.9
    All the Staff were very helpful and even with some construction works going on we were offered compl
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were so helpful and the breakfast was great

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Point
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view is absolutey gorgeous.

    It's location is spot on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    4.2
    There are many better value for money hotels in the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The accommodation rate !

    Hotel does not match star rating !

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    5.8
    A lovely spot. Some renovation and TLC required.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathroom towels need replacing - threadbare and washed out. Bathroom needed a good clean.

    lovely view right on the ocean

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    relaxing
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    10
    Point - Best view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could be slightly better..breakfast needs variation..

    The view!! It's the best thing about the property besides the very helpful staff!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    9.2
    Lovely friendly hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms could do with a little renovation but nothing major just cosmetic

    Views are spectacular and the staff very welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    4.6
    Extremely disappointed. Definitely won’t go back.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi, no tv, not adequate bedding,COLD SHOWER.requested queen bed.was given 2single beds

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    7.9
    Location right on the rocks
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A bit dated

    Location right on the rocks

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    2.9
    Dreadful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy Asian guests.Tatty rooms.Damp peeling walls.

    Nothing

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.8
    just sufficient for a one night stop
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tired - needed sprucing up

    View & Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Loved it so much
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The place has an amazing view

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    10
    Needs a good facelift.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Needs a good facelift.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    9.2
    It was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Floors not 100% clean

    Location, friendliness

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.2
    Lovely.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Astonishing view. Walking distance to beach, swimming area, and restaurants.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.1
    Hope that we will have a better experience here next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not get the right room on arrival- we had to wait for another room

    The location was nice

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    7.5
    TV sat reception poor !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV sat reception poor ! Staff just said it is the wind which is clearly nonsense.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    3.3
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is about 10 years overdue a refurb. Disappointing stay as it's rated 4 stars

    Great views

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    3.8
    Disappointed . Room 107. Down in the dungeon . Damp odour all the way to the room . Breakfast was un
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The damp kdoyr

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    10
    i did find the breakfast not to be of the best
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    i did find the breakfast not to be of the best

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location and sea view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely phenomenal view from the room balcony. Well located, walking distance from restaurants and lighthouse.

    Stayed in January 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: