Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Portswood Hotel 4 stars

Portswood Road, Waterfront, 8001 Cape Town, South Africa

#68 of 152 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 360 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.2

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.9

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    6.3
    Great location but that is as good as it gets, better than Fawlty Towers, but only just
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is a very bland 4 Star experience which charges a premium (which it should) because of its location near the V & A waterfront. After that the total experience deteriorates into a low level establishment with bored poorly trained staff. It was a poor comparison to 4 star hotels in Johannesburg, and Nairobi in Kenya, similarly located for half the price, with committed staff, and excellent facilities, and excellent service. But is was clean and comfortable. I think the Legacy Management should take a good hard look at themselves.

    The Portswood Hotel is very well located to the V& A Waterfront Precinct.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    8.3
    Great location nearby V&A Waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Price is clearly influenced by the location nearby the V&A Waterfront. Check-out time is 10.00 a.m. !

    Great location nearby V&A Waterfront. Very good restaurant. Nice breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    6.3
    The pictures and the room are 2 different rooms.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pictures and the room are 2 different rooms. You expect something but get something totally different. The lift was also out of order. The manager wasn’t friendly at all. Not a good experience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    8.3
    Good hotel at the V&A
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room is a bit small and not much space for clothes, no minibar, a bit pricey

    Great location and very friendly Staff. Good breakfast and so quite. The beds are comfortable and all amenities are provided, good turndown services, huge portions for room service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    7.9
    Convenient hotel to get your bearings in Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought night staff were a little unfriendly when I arrived on my own to Check in late on Monday night. Day staff were much better

    Breakfast great, very secure hotel close to waterfront

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    5.4
    Well located hotel for the Cape Town water front experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was generally poor, one of the rooms we booked had no warm water for 5 of the 6 days booked and the staff just looked on with no solution.

    The point we liked was the location of the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    7.1
    Nice but extremely expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant service poor at breakfast time. You have to go and ask for coffee, not offered. You have too look for butter not on your table, take a spoon from the empty table next to you.

    Location.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    9.2
    Good experience will return
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    Small room and bed for two people, but has all the facilities required. Room without a view.

    Good service and friendly staff. Menu with a difference at the restaurant. Clean Facilities and close to the waterfront.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    7.1
    A VERY WELL MANAGED HOTEL WITH HIGH STANDARDS OF SERVICE AND CLEANLINESS.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    THE INSTANT COFFEE SERVED AT BREAKFAST. FOR THE PRICE I THINK MANAGEMENT COULD GET A COFFEE MACHINE AND SERVE FRESHLY BREWED COFFEE.

    THE FRIENDLY HAPPY HELPFUL STAFF AND THE CLEANLINESS OF THE WHOLE PLACE.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    9.6
    Excellent hotel in fantastic location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The standard of service and the courtesy, efficiency and helpfulness of the staff in all departments was outstanding. The hotel was welcoming and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    8.8
    Great stay and will definitely look to book this hotel on our next visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Pool was closed due to the Cape Town drought

    Excellent breakfast with eggs to order, cooked food and cold buffet. Rooms were clean, fresh and comfortable beds. Nice modern bathrooms. Bar stayed open late every day

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Very pleasant. The hotel is walking distance from the places we visited. Will visit the hotel agai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Were woken up at 07:30 on Sunday morning by the cleaners wanting to know whether they could tidy the room. We were under the impression that check-out time was at 10:00.

    Grateful that we were accommodated in the suite which was a huge bonus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    8.8
    Great location for all the attractions and the V&A
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bed was a bit disappointing - the room was big enough to take a King size bed

    The location is excellent and the availability of on site parking was really useful

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    7.1
    Although the overall stay was ok, the little things let it down.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy A/C unit resulting in lack of sleep and Room attendant arrived early 8.15am.no pool due to water shortage, although sister hotel had small pool for use. Areas of the building are extremely tired looking.

    Good location for the V&A waterfront, Pleasant doorman. Breakfast was OK.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    9.6
    wonderfull location and phantastic facility. good reason for a return visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    aircon(s) perhaps require some overhauling ? are just too noisy !

    very friendly receiption. staff extremely polite. quite room but aircon noisy ! excellent breakfast. pro-active and welcoming water restriction indicators and actions in rooms

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    9.2
    The perfect location on the Waterfront close to all amenities,the staff were particularly helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Air conditioning wasn't the best but this didn't impact on our enjoyment of the hotel.

    Great location and very helpful staff who couldn't do enough to help.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.5
    Good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioner unit did not work so we had to open the window which made the room very noisy. Following day unit was fixed but was extremely noisy.our first night at 1am we Called reception as the noise from the lobby area was extremely loud. Our key cards never worked even though they were changed. Our internet password did not work and had to be reprogrammed.

    Breakfast was very nice with a good selection

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    9.2
    Great location for access to V&A and only 20 minutes from airport
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    However as we had a late evening flight after checkout there was no facility to shower before leaving.

    Location excellent. The breakfast was excellent and staff very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    6.7
    Convenient for Waterfront. Room was well equipped
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a taxi for my departure through reception but it wasn't ordered, so I left 1 hr late. Staff didn't understand when I asked which foods were gluten free at breakfast

    Room well kitted out, good wifi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    7.9
    The bar area was very comfortable and always available with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The bar area was very comfortable and always available with friendly and responsive staff. The breakfast selection was very good. Unfortunately, on our last day two of our party experienced the effects of food poisoning which I can only attribute to something we at at breakfast the day of our check out.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Very good location and attentive staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing.

    The bed was very comfortable and the hotel is a few hundred metres away from the Victoria and Alfred waterfront area with all the bars and shops that go with it. The reception staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2017

    7.1
    Good location, intermediate service.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) WiFi did not work for over 24 hrs, interrupting my work. Even the 3G signal in the room was too weak to be useful. 2) Night room service did not work. I called several times and no one answered, even after I called reception. 3) The restaurant manager was chatting with his staff in my presence.

    Location and overall atmosphete were great. The reception service was good, too.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2017

    3.3
    Far below expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The facilities did not meet the expecrtations. The room is very small while the toilet facility is poorly positioned leaving no room for privacy. Also, the bedlights were not workingl, nor were the airconditioning working. It switches on and making noise, but nothing more.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    9.6
    Overall very pleased with the Portswood and central location for exploring WaterFront and City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Pool was out of action due to water shortages and drought conditions across Western Cape - but time of year was not conducive to swimming anyway so no great hardship. Some channels on room TV had interference and were not watchable.

    Great breakfast and most friendly staff. Comfortable Queen room and good shower suitable for a couple.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.0
    Well located not great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I had an issue with my booking which i had contacted bookings.com to change the request was acknowledged, but never effected and when i checked with the staff, they shrugged saying there was nothing that they could do. eventually I had to call the manager from my mobile phone and get it resolved. A week after leaving the property i got a notification that my booking had been updated. This is not a good experience.

    The portswood is well located.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    5.0
    Well sitated but don't expect exceptional service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The reservation staff were not helpful and not able to deal with issues, and in stead of getting a manager they just strugged me off. The breakfast was below average and the staff very unattentive in many instances i had to approach them to get services as they were busy chatting.

    The portswood is extremely well situated close to the waterfront making it easy to get around Cape Town

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    9.2
    Close to the action but away from the noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Block and a half walk to the V&A waterfront was down a side street, so female travelers might be a little uncomfortable making the walk unaccompanied at night. However, security staff throughout Capetown were omnipresent, though not intimidating.

    Wonderful breakfast included. Location very close to V&A waterfront, but not right on the waterfront so a little ways from any noise and hullabaloo. Staff was extremely gracious and friendly. Part of the Legacy hotel group which has several properties in many areas and an automatic loyalty program. Their Kwa Maritane property at the Pilanesburg game reserve was stellar and also had a wonderful staff. Easy access to City Sightseeing "red" bus stop which is a great way to get to Table Mountain and to explore the outer areas of Cape Town. Building was originally holding cells for prisoners en route to Robbin Island.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    9.2
    Fairly expensive but very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to really dislike.

    Lovely hotel, bit of a battle to find location, not the hotels fault (road works). Evening meal was pricey, like everything in this area (Waterfront). Breakfast good value for money and enjoyable for the first two days, third day was fed up with the same choices (that's hotel food). Staff well trained and very friendly. Main negative was the price was slightly higher than the advertised price (Booking.com). Some of the advertised facilities not on site but at adjoining hotel which is part of same group.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    10
    Another great stay at The Portswood Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    My wife and I stayed here two years ago during our last stay in SA. It's ideally located to the Waterfront meaning a very short two minute walk and you are at the harbour. We hired a car from CT airport as this best suited our itinerary and knowing that there is an underground carpark below the Portswood with access to the hotel. However, the Red buses are very good and have extended their routes so if like us you like to do your own thing this is a great way to get around. We had a very comfortable room looking out to Table Mountain. Wi-fi was good. We'll be back!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    9.6
    Excellent location in fantastic area with great comfort and European feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    I loved the location, the fact that we could also use the facilities of the hotel next door, the helpful staff and the ability of helping us with all our queries. The room was very comfortable and modern

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    8.3
    Location was perfectly located for tourists and near to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is an outdoor area beside the restaurant and bar area. Smokers stand in this outside area. Problem is they stand beside the door and smoke wafts inside

    Location was perfectly located for tourists and near to the wharf for those leaving on a cruise ship

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    6.3
    Could do better
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I only stayed 1 night from 5pm to 10 a.m, during which time I was disturbed three times for maintenance and cleaning (at 8.30am) - I forgot the do not disturb sign- for a check out at 10 am. I did not feel particularly welcome, more like I was in the way, really.

    The location was excellent and the in room dining from the Quarterdeck restaurant was very good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    7.9
    Perfect location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed is too short. I had to sleep sideways (luckily it was a queen size). Wi-fi speed i so so, but that is a common problem in South Africa

    Breakfast, location (a stone throw from the lively waterfront)

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2017

    10
    the reception I got when I arrived at your hotel was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    the reception I got when I arrived at your hotel was excellent from the Porter to the booking in receptionist was excellent - and having my hired car get parked in the valet parking. thank you

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2017

    10
    Stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent staff at the bar. They had good knowledge of things to do and what to see, what times to go and how to get there. Very helpful. Amazing food best main meal myself and my partner had. The room was comfortable and the bath was amazing. I'd stay there again. Theo at the bar made the best cocktails aswell.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2017

    8.3
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We booked a 'King' room. And we got a ground floor room with parking windows or a public area of the hotel. Can not open window or curtain.

    Excellent location. Rich and good breakfasts. The team attitude is very different among the different team members. Part very kind and in others we encountered in relation inappropriate.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    10
    Good place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room was on the front , ground floor so we had some noise from people arriving and departing but we still had a good nights sleep!!

    Room was very nice and clean with all facilities catered for. All the staff were very good and attentive. Excellent choices for breakfast. The door staff were very helpful dealing with our luggage and getting a taxi promptly for us .

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.3
    A lovely hotel near to the V & A Waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The short cut to the Waterfront wasn't too nice via the car park area at night (though Security were there).

    It was a shortish walk to the V & A Waterfront and coveniently placed near to other attractions and the "Hop on Hop Off buses'. The food was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2017

    10
    Portswood a good place to stay in Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    On previous visits to Cape Town stopped at the V & A. Was fully booked so chose the Portswood as an alternative. Have to say was not disappointed in fact I would go as far to say that I liked it better I found all the staff very helpful and extremely polite. The Hotel offers free car parking under cover and is only a 5 minute walk to the V&A Waterfront.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.6
    Restaurant served some excellent Cape Malaysian food .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had two bottles of water left in the room . Considering it was very warm during our stay , it would of been nice to have the water in the fridge , not warming in the bathroom . The air condition was noisey . Other than this very good .

    The Portswood , although smaller than the Commodore , which is adjacent and in the same group , We found to be nicer . The staff were very helpful and friendly. We chose to eat in the restaurant twice , which was excellent . The bedroom was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    8.3
    Easy access to the water front Good breakfast and the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Large numbers of guests in the lobby during the mornings. As our room was practically in this area it could become exceedingly loud.

    Easy access to the water front Good breakfast and the quarterdeck serves nice food.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    5.0
    For the price I paid (not cheap), I had a ground floor unit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Queen Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price I paid (not cheap), I had a ground floor unit in front of the parking. Very busy during the night and noisy. I couldn't check in before 2pm, and could not have a later check out (I had to be out by 10) which was a real inconvenience had the Cycle Tour taken place.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    8.3
    Good value for with hiccups
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    My check in was a problem as I had reserved a king studio with a view. When I arrived they gave me first a back room over the car park, I did not accept. Then they said a front room but on the first floor - no view only trees, Fianlly they gave me a higher up room, which was acceptable. But not sure why they did not give me that room in the first place when they knew what I had requested and confirmed ! Insated of putting me ythrough all that anguish after a long day's travelling . Turn down service was erratic and sometimes not at all.

    Loved the beds and linen. and location to Waterfront is great

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    7.9
    Friendlie staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Look more for little things at house keeping. In only two days we get ice in the evening. We have broken some glases and get not new one.......

    Friendlie staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    4.2
    Just Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    How this hotel could be classed a 4 star is beyond belief. It is 1970's Airport hotel standard - without any refurbs since then. One lift for 101 rooms and 4 floors - which did not work on one of 2 days there. Dirty ashtrays in breakfast area. Cheap plastic looking furniture. Room tiny and miserable. No visible sign of management and when we did meet duty manager she was vague and unenthusiastic. Totally duped on price - paid close to Euro 300 a night thinking it was a 4 star and because of rating Booking.com gave it. It is not worth E100 a night.

    Location and sister hotel , The Commodore facilities and staff

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    8.8
    Good hotel - great car park
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    South Africa is in the middle of a craft beer boom but it ain't hit the Portswood yet. No bother - the V&A hotel has 30 beers and great steaks.

    A decent hotel off the V&A Waterfront. The underground car park is a real boon and the swimming pool is a bonus.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    5.4
    It was time with this hotel
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's so expensive related to poor hotel First, we stayed for 5 nights second day the elevator got out of order so we had to use stairs to reach to 4th door special there are a lot of elderly people Also 3th day I found cockroach on my bed I couldn't sleep

    Good location near to everything special the sea and all restaurants there and shops besides everything Also the wifi wa very good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    8.8
    A short walk to the Waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Always a problem tryin to open bedroom door. Sometimes even the chambermaid was defeated.

    A nice area for a snack in the evening (one doesn't always want a big meal after lunching out).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2017

    7.9
    good location, but not without its foibles
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Air Con was feeble, difficult to sleep Security cards on room doors frequently messed about Hotel over priced for what it offers Lift failed on last morning. Noisy in early mornings due to coaches, taxis outside, even with windows closed

    Quarterdeck Food excellent and staff helpful and friendly. Nice bath Rooms spacious enough Free Wi Fi appreciated Security seemed good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    6.7
    Great location - small bedrooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were smaller than we expected, you could not do laps in the pool (it looked bigger on the picture) and overall the hotel felt a bit tired. Not dirty or really scruffy but just a little worn and for the price and location we were expecting something a little more polished.

    The location was very good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    9.2
    Would defiantly stay here again
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotels restaurant was as good as any that we tried in Capetown. The chefs special Malay style was superb. Very large portions! The hotel was very convenient for the V&A waterfront

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2017

    2.5
    Nothing a complete rip off @ £250 a night
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything about the hotel was Poor!! Including the food if I could I would ask for a refund even down to the door card that would not work properly had to ask management to open my door every time luckily arrived late & left the next morning!

    Nothing a complete rip off @ £250 a night

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2016

    9.0
    Excellent, all friendly & helpful staff, thanks
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room doors closing loudly; difficulty with room keys for myself and others

    Breakfasts provided a good range ... Not over extravagant which is good Excellent location

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    8.8
    Good location and staff, would recommend
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could use a revamp to bring it more up-to-date especially the dining room as a part of it looks old.

    The location is perfect, as there's a passageway (stairs) that brings you right on the waterfront behind the watershed. The staff are very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    6.7
    Better options out there...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Have stayed here once before so was expecting a lot to have been updated but sadly not. Lots of noise from corridors/front of the property. Also very thin walls in room meant for average sleep! Air con couldn't be used at night due to the loud industrial noises! Generally very expensive for what it is - could find equally well located properties for a lot cheaper.

    Location excellent.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    Excellent. ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing at all.

    Excellent, I would like to visit your hotel again. Your staff are highly trained and maintain high standard. Big ups to your staff member Theodore Davids what a hard worker and the entertainer. The rest of your staff I will give them 99.9% rating. Wooòoooooow what a nice experience.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    9.6
    We only stayed for one night, yet the hotel agreed to store...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    We only stayed for one night, yet the hotel agreed to store our bags for 3 additional nights while we went on a safari. The room was very clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    7.1
    Overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had room 102 which was noisy as close to lift and entrance area of the hotel. There was a huge bath dominating the room, which leaked water into the floor and also made it difficult to access the door to the shower and toilet areas. If had been staying longer would have requested a move.

    Only an overnight stay so difficult to give an accurate all round assessment.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2016

    9.6
    Greatest location for a stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the price would expect more than 600MB of free WIFI per day.

    Service excellent all round...great location for access to Waterfront area. Easy to find and well signposted.Rooms very comfortable and ours was quiet too.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived back one evening and asked at the bar for a Don Pedro, they classed it as a cocktail and said the bar shut at 11 for cocktails, it was 11.02! I had a double Baileys instead and the measure was very tight

    The location was great, the staff lovely. The room was basic and ok. Slightly noisy in the mornings. Breakfast was very good. The location really was great though and easy access to Waterfront

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    7.5
    a pleasant stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about.

    Comfortable room, well situated, good choice for breakfast, friendly staff, helpful with ordering taxis, quiet inner court, close to shopping mall (5 minutes walk), 25 minutes by taxi to airport, nice large fluffy towels.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Great well located quiet place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I thought it was pretty great. The service was bit slow at breakfast to get coffee, but not too bad.

    location was great - up the hill away from tourist craziness but one short walk down stairs to craziness.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    10
    Excellent Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is nothing that could have been better.

    A wonderful hotel located a few yards from V&A Water Front. We were in Room 421 on the 4th floor overlooking the V&A Water Front. Lovely, clean bedroom and bathroom. Great ambience and staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was excellent. Hop on and Hop off bus office to book Table Mountain and cable car, restaurants and booking office for Robben Island are situated very close to this hotel. Recommend Quay 4 restaurant in the V&A.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 October 2016

    6.7
    Adequate though room tiny and more suited to single occupancy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no record of our booking.com reservation on arrival. Fortunately they had a room. Shower in bathtub somewhat dangerous.

    Breakfasts excellent. Location as expected.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2016

    9.6
    Great location, great stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our one improvement would be for the bathroom to have a grab rail to help getting in and out of the shower (which is inside the bath tub).

    The location on the V&A Waterfront is excellent. The hotel also provides a valet parking service. Our room was good, with a clear view of Table Mountain, and the staff always helpful and friendly. We also really liked the breakfasts. So thumbs up.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Comfortable stop-over on a long trip. Would happily have stayed for longer.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was passing through Cape Town. Another day or two to explore would have been better.

    Very comfortable room, well-appointed. Good breakfast. Attentive and friendly staff. Excellent location within easy walking distance of V&A Waterfront

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2016

    7.5
    Short walk to the V&a Waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room I was given was not on the same floor as the others and was a walk to the end of the floor and down the stairs. Below my room was the service area with a swinging door (that banged) what was very active in the morning. Also, the door key did not work a few first times and the manager did also have problems but was able to help.

    The Portswood is a short walk to the V&A Waterfront. The room was large and breakfast was nice. The parking was awesome and the staff was friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    9.6
    Comfort and a warm welcome in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Can't think of anything

    The friendliness and professionalism of the staff at every level, and sheer enthusiasm they displayed to make your stay a good one.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2016

    10
    It could not have been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was above expectations. We will stay there on our next visit to Cape Town.

    The breakfast was outstanding, flakey croissants, delicious flavors from the eggs, meats and the chicken livers. Room was superior from what was expected. Staff was caring, friendly and well presented.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    7.5
    Stay at The Portswood hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old aircon apparatus and we ask to fill the minibar but needful has not been done during our stay.

    Plenty of choice for breakfast. Comfortable room and bed.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    10
    Warm reception; excellent service; comfy (upgraded)room; and perfect location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night

    The sirloin for dinner was very tough and overcooked even though I ask for medium rare.

    The reception was excellent and I was upgraded which made for a very happy guest.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    9.6
    Great accommodation, friendly staff and great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    Excellent accommodation with very friendly staff and very close to V&A waterfront

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    8.8
    I had an excellent three day stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • King Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The location and the friendliness and welcoming attitude of the staff.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Shower
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The ned

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    5.8
    Great neighbourhood and enjoyed the Waterfront - breakfast was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Queen Room with Shower
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room very small - air conditioning very noisy, safe didn't work

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: