Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of aha The Rex Hotel 4 stars

8 Gray Street, 6571 Knysna, South Africa

#13 of 28 hotels in Knysna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 446 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    6.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Speed humps in the entrance of the garage were to steep and should be smoother.

    Central location. Big rooms. Friendly staff. Good selection of breakfast but the heated food was almost cold e.g. scrambled eggs.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I loved everything I just didn't have enough time to explore it all but if I must complain I would just say add some spices to the shelves/cupboards/pantry for just in case the guest feel like cooking their own dinners/lunches whether for romantic purposes or not because it does say luxury & luxury means convenience.

    I loved the room service. The hotel is directly opposite Knysna Quays so no driving is required once you are there. If you would love to drive the garden of Eden is only a few minutes away & there is a Ferry service available less than 10 minutes walk away from the hotel. Oh & the pool is nice & cosy for summer days.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Everything was perfect but one thing: the lounge/kitchen area of the room has a huge glass window giving on the corridor. And it has no blind or curtain to prevent the light coming through at night and in the morning which is an inconvenience for those who like a dark room. And it feels less private. We really do not understand that design since the opposite wall is all windows and the room receives plentiful light.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast is lovely. The location is excellent, just a minutes walk from the Waterfront complex. The hotel is lovely and modern. The staff are fantastic and very helpful. We arrived at 2am and there was someone waiting to check us in.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    swimming pool would be a bonus, breakfast area very crowded at certain times as hotel hosts bus tours and due to their schedules all flock in at breakfast at same time

    nice location close to waterfront area. walking distance to shops and restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Odd design details - huge frosted glass forms wall seperating living room from hallway however the border of the glass is clear meaning anyone outside can easily see into the room. Bathtub in the bedroom - seems to be a common thing in properties on the Garden Route. Breakfast area a bit small and fairly limited choice. No Halal food served unfortunately for us : (

    Location - next to Waterfront Shopping centre (but not on waters edge) Parking free and plentiful Huge room - seperate dining room and living room, huge patio Modern design, contemporary Friendly staff Quiet

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    No non-dairy milk alternatives. Very limited food options. Noisy building. Fuzzy TV signal.

    Great location. Clean and comfortable room. Helpful and friendly staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Food was ok - bacon cold Pork sausages a bit raw and restaurant have to many tables where the cold meat table is - people dishing up - bums next to your face and plate touching your coffee cup. Room - no plug near the mirror no adaptor to fit into plug had to do my hair in the kitchenette (only plug the I could use for the hairdryer plug) using the microwave as mirror. All the room windows facing each other people from other rooms looking into your room - had to keep the curtains drawn all the time.

    providing drinking water cleanliness staff was VERY friendly - that I must say was the best we ever experienced. Excellent parking facilities. Clean suroundings.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No room service or room service options.....could be outsourced to a restaurant, as an option. No heated towel rails.......personal preference.

    Lovely breakfast. Rooms were very clean. Staff friendly. Would highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don’t like my bathroom to be open plan to my bedroom. While it’s aesthetically pleasing and modern, the room can get smelly.

    Staff were helpful and friendly. Offered to make omelettes for us in “halal” frying pan. Pastries were great. Located close to waterfront in heart of Town Our room was in the new block which had opened a couple months ago

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The breakfast assortment was limited, but great coffee! Pool is very small for the size of the hotel. Access to the car park is via the side street, but there are no directions leading you into the car park or Reception. I would recommend adding a chair in the bedroom (when drying hair/applying make up).

    Great location and our room was amazing! They have recently extended and we were fortunate to have one of the new rooms - the décor and design of the room was great. A great find. Thank you.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The area was a bit restless out side of the season. Also the bathroom shower had a strange flooring so that all of the water leaked on the bath room floor.

    A lovely and clean appartment with plenty of space and a nice living room + kitchen. Very nice staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    SEE ABOVE

    WE STAYED IN THE NEW ANNEX WITH A VERY PRACTICAL ROOM BUT WE FELT IT LACKED ATMOSPHERE AND LOOKED OUT OVER THE STREET. THERE WAS NO CHAIR IN THE ROOM TO USE ONES COMPUTER OR THE DRESSING TABLE

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is a very standard, typical hotel room, with not much character. Not much sound proof from other rooms or the corridor.

    Location is great, walking distance from the harbour. Breakfast at the cafe next door was delicious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only regret was we should have spent more time there. another day maybe. And the view from my room could have been better i guess.

    Location, everything is within walking distance. The rooms are quite modern, lovely decor i could add. Lastly the breakfast was simple and fresh.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Breakfast needs more variety, especially for longer stays.

    Location and proximity to the Waterfront, Thesen Island and other areas of interest. The Hotel staff was friendly, and ready to assist. Fresh, clean linen and comfortable bed.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    A beautiful, clean hotel with extra friendly staff who are more than willing to make your stay extra special. I felt completely welcomed and with a toddler, there is no better feeling. Everyone was very warm and kind. Lovely staff. When we arrived the receptionist walked with us to our room and gave us a quick tour. Amazing service.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was extremely noisy. You can literally hear every single sound from the corridor. On our first morning the receptionist woke us up with a phone call at 7:30am to ask if we needed more milk but we never phoned for milk, that was very upsetting.

    The bed was super comfortable, the staff was very accommodating and the breakfast was delicious. The location is really good to get to walk to most restaurants in Knysna.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fan to be installed in bathroom to prevent misting of mirrors, window & walls.

    Luxurious linen, huge comfortable bed, good breakfast, great location, friendly & attentive staff at reception & restaurant.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely Horrifying Manager. The service was utterly appalling for a 4 Star hotel. The water piped bursted in the morning with lead to our whole family unable to take a shower. We notified the staff but we only got a reply that there was nothing they can do. We were only able to wash our teeth with some bottle of water. We we checked out I asked for the manager and told her calmly about our grievances. However, she was obviously flustered and started getting mad at us and kept on insisting that there was nothing that she can do and that she can't be responsible of our bookings since we booked through bookings.com So one thing is clear, if you want a good customer service, be sure to never booking through this site with this hotel.

    Great Facility and Location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Signage for hotel

    Enjoyed the hotel. Staff very friendly Breakfast was also very good Location was great. Once we found the parking area and the hotel, parking was easy. Would highly recommend

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet didn't work in the room. The toalett was not attached to the floor. These topics of room 102 has been pointed out in precis reviews, but has not been förresten.

    Close to restaurants and a safe areas. Rooms in old part of the Hotel seems more spacious than the new part

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are 2 parts of the hotel (a new one, still being completed, And an old one). I suspect that it is nicer to stay in the old one which is what the hotel photos seem to be showing.

    Good location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had booked a standard room. In the description the room has bathroom and free WiFi. In room 102, where we stayed, there was no bathroom- there was a bath tub in the room but no shower. It was not possible to wash your hair or part of the body. The toilet seat was not fixed to the floor and swings when was used. In the room there was WiFi network but no connection to the internet. The instructions given at the reception were not applicable. There was internet only very close to the receptionist, very slow and bad quality. As a whole it was funny that the hotel had modern design, provids chocolates for good night and in the same time poor wash facilities. This was the worst 4 star hotel I had ever been.

    The location

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Immaculately clean, well positioned and quite. Within walking distance to all restraunts on the Knysna waterfront and Chatters across the road is a truly nice local restraunt

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    WiFi was not available in the room but provided a nice escape from reality!

    Great hotel close to the Quay, wonderfully decorated and nice spacious rooms. Wish we could've stayed a little longer. Breakfast was delicious and great staff! comfortable beds and a massive shower!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are potentially very dangerous. Floors extremely slippery when wet and totally inadequate safety provision, i.e. Rubber mats, hand rails, bath mats etc.

    Large comfortable room, very clean and friendly service

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old building ... room was used and smelly . Make sure you ask for room in new building .

    Great location The new building super clean and nice room Free parking on site

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service could be better, my wife was sick and I asked for a later checkout (by 30min) and it was refused...

    Good location, comfortable and safe parking

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Loved everything about our stay.

    Loved everything. Spacious, neat, safe, near the waterfront, friendly staff - no complaints. Will definitely visit again and recommend to family and friends.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - Our hotelroom was next to a large family room and we could hear them very clearly in our room, so badly isolated rooms - Next to the hotel (3 m from our window) there was a building under construction, they began working at 7am so no late sleep in the morning and no heads at check-in or apologies to inform us about this - Water was shut down in the hotel because of de building next door

    - Modern and design look and feel - central location - Nice breakfast cafe

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The admin/reception stuff do not pay much attention to details on booking request nor are they hospitable at all.

    The luxury rooms are huge and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was woken at aprox 7.30 am by horrendous shouting and when I looked out of the window I was astonished to find the view was of a complete building site and there was a white foreman yelling at the black workmen who were all lined up with their hands behind there backs.I politely asked the foremen to keep his voice down as I couldn't sleep and he shouted back at me to 'JUST GO AND SLEEP!!!'I then pointed out that this was a hotel and he must keep quiet and he yelled back at me.It was appallingly rude and upsetting behaviour and I was really shaken.Furthermore I found I could not sleep properly as the window in the kitchenette has the hall light glaring through it all night ,unless you can provide a blind there it is a serious design fault!The bathroom door did not close and the door on the shower is hinged on the wrong side so when you open the door to turn the shower on you have to twist your arm around it to reach the tap and then your arm gets soaked...very unpleasant.I had also said I was gluten and lactose intolerant but this was not provided for on my first morning and I had to go elsewhere.However the following day they gave me porridge with almond milk and it was satisfactory.

    Very comfy bed and good decor

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were on the first floor and the noise from the street in the very early hours of the morning woke us up. People on the street talking very loudly

    Stayed in the 2 bedroomed apartment. Lovely and spacious!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV didn't work at all, and the room smelt like wet paint inside.

    The restaurant closes at 3pm and the closest restaurant is a little walk or a drive away - as a woman on my own would have been nice to be able to order in. The hot water in the shower was exceptionally hot I struggled to get it cooler and even turned on the fire alarm!!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights

    next to the property there was construction going on. so when ever i opened my window therre were a 20 construction guys looking in at a 3-5 meter distance. real disappointment and really no privacy available. also a lot of noise from the reconstruction. Wifi did not work 905 of the time. if it worked it worked extremely slow.

    friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    Large Suite, 180 degree views and closer to the Waterfront. Beautiful decorations and furnishing. Stunning bedroom and free standing bathtub and i enjoyed the rain shower.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor/no wifi connection for the 2 nights we were there. No bed room slippers - it was necessary because the tiles were cold (in winter).

    Comfortable beds and pillows! Great interior design and the room we stayed in came with a little kitchen!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I truly have no negative things to say as it was indeed a pleasure through and through

    The staff was very welcoming; they were eager to help with any request The location is central and meters away from the Knysna Waterfront The turndown service also made it a pleasure in the evening for us , when we got back from our night out The breakfast was delicious and hearty

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    The entrance area (e.g., carpets) looked very tired and uninviting. The internet was hopeless. Limited signal - just did not work and I had to make other plans. A real disappointment. The room was extremely small - not even room for a chair. For what was offered, it was not good value for money.

    Location was great.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 114 was dreadfully small with only a bathtub (with no spray nozzle). Room too small to even lay cases out!

    Breakfasts were very good. Staff very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very good location, good room size, great decor, clean. Good breakfast. Close to stores and a few blocks from the beach. Free parking. Very good experience.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No negatives on this stay. A very enjoyment experience.

    Comfort & cleanlyness of the room. Helpful and pleasant staff. Good breakfast. I will revisit the hotel on my next trip to S.Africa.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent stay, convenient , we liked the non conventional building style, staff was friendly, breakfast was great. Would work well even for business travellers.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet connection was fiddly and limited. They should just provide free wifi like most hotels do

    Beautiful, Sudio with lovely modern fittings. Bathroom was great. Separate lounge and open plan small kitchen with fridge and microwave, very useful.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pity they did not offer an evening meal. We had difficulty finding a restaurant on 28 December that could take us. Everywhere packed.

    Good beds. Breakfast good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    the noise from the adjacent room.

    Lively room, pity we didn't have a view. Location is excellent. Walking distance to the Waterfront shops & restraunts.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    BUILDING WORKS in the plot next door. Started digging at 8am. A 'day curtain' needs to be put up across the balcony doors while this is ongoing, for privacy. A large frosted window to the hallway which light shone through all night ( despite the guy on the desk saying he would remove the bulb) and through which you could see shadows of people in the room. A blind needs to be put in for this window.Wifi solution (signing up for free access to a major provider rather than a hotel paid broadband line) was rubbish access kept dropping out. Expect better solution for this standard of hotel.

    The room was lovely with high spec furnishings. The breakfast was superb !

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    Minor problems with TV tuning and wifi is rather limited considering the kind of client likely to use this establishment.

    Location is great and apartments are well appointed. Staff very friendly. Have stayed before and will stay again.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this hotel. Centrally located, the room was modern, spacious and comfortable, and we loved the breakfast area in the square under the trees. Staff were really friendly and helpful. Would return in a heartbeat.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Overall very comfortably furnished- lovely decor, bedroom and bathroom immaculate and detail to products in bathroom excellent. We loved our stay.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to the shore and in walking distance to great restaurants. Staff was helpful and friendly. We even forgot to lock our car and security notified us. Comfy, clean rooms and a great breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Having a room overlooking a building site,being woke up most mornings at 7am by the sound of a JCB and workers,unable to have windows open because of the noise and the dust,unable to sit on the balcony because of the same and no chairs in the evening.All this and the building work has yet to startAll the photos taken from my room

    very convenient...very secure

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ridiculous large window onto the corridor with no curtains which let's light into the room all night. Unable to get a dark room to sleep in. Shower very weak. Terrible view and room very run down.

    Hotel had a modern feel to it.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi access in the apartment was not very good (in fact only available next to the door).

    We loved the large 2-bedroom apartment; clean, comfortable, nice design, spacious. Breakfast was excellent. Location just across the street from the Waterfront.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lovely gentleman on reception upgraded our room to a large suite with a huge living area and balcony which was a great hit with the kides! The bedrooms were wonderful and luxurious as were the ensuites with walk in showers and the location meant that it took 2 minutes to walk to the waterfront with all the restaurants. Excellent breakfast with a wide variety of options and friendly staff all round. Highly recommended

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 17 nights

    Breakfast wasn't piping hot but variety of food and beverages is excellent

    The location is ideal next to Waterfront and short walk to Knysna centre. The rooms are spotless and very well equipted

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel is 4-star graded by SA tourism council. The standard room is very very small, and definitely does not meet the requirements of 4-star grading. There is no space even to put ones suitcase! The window of the room overlooked the streetside of the hotel, with no blinds or lace curtains. When opening the curtains for day light, outsiders can have a look into your room - no privacy at all.

    Very impressive passages and dining area. Reception was excellent.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were unfriendly when we arrived and the reception area was dingy. Tv didn't work, shower was either way too hot or way too cold. We asked for suggestions as to where to eat, we got a very blunt 'just go to the waterfront' which took us by surprise as our other hotels we have stayed at had staff who had great suggestions and in some cases even booked us a table somewhere that we liked the sound of after a recommendation... But we ended up making our way to the waterfront one hour later and where we wanted to go was fully booked. When leaving in the morning and making our way down to reception when we were there the staff who could clearly see we were struggling with luggage didn't even offer to help.

    Room was good, but shower temperature was to be desired. The turndown service was a nice touch and the dressing gowns were cosy too.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was large but a bit too minimalist. Some furniture on the deck and a decent coffee table would have been nice.

    Close to the waterfront, very spacious rooms, neat, clean & comfortable. Delicious breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just s suggestion ... Reception needs a little better set up if possible ... Loved our stay and will be back!

    Beautiful 2 bedroom suite .. Lovely linen and spacious! Good location!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted via mobile

    Problems with a reservation. booked wrong date. Promptly comunicate di to the structure by email, that responded several hours later. Charging the full cost of the room. To my last mail didn't responde, unprofessional. Bad experience

    Unprofessional

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Couch in sitting area has the looks but not the comfort. Definitely a reading lamp needed. Shower making a mess, not safe to get out, easy to slip and fall.

    Nice spacious room with a view, 2 balconies (a small table and chairs would be lovely to be able to sit outside). Little kitchenette as a bonus. Over-all decor in rooms and public area modern & attractive. Special mention of House-keeping lady by the name of Selina (I think) - professional, friendly & helpful

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The Wi-Fi was slow and its free only for 200MB a day. Also, we've requested a taxi and the taxi was a private taxi with a very rundown car.

    Excellent place in Knysna and very close to the waterfront. Great staff and they went very far to help us.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Wifi shall be provided free and the additional cost maybe added in the rental amount itself.

    We had an amazing stay at the very well located with easily accessible property. The staff at the hotel was very welcoming, co-operative and helpful. Being pure vegetarians the hotel staff took good care and did provide us with a nice breakfast. Would definitely recommend others to stay here. Thanking each and everyone at Rockwell who contributed in making our holiday so memorable.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room with Bath
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived at night and got told we didn't have a reservation. When I showed the front desk lady my hotel confirmation (that I got 3 months prior) she became sassy and arrogant with me, she told me 3 more times I wouldn't have a reservation and my confirmation was wrong. But that I was very lucky that she still has a room and is trying to make it work. To my surprise when she gave me the receipt for the room it had all my information on it, full name, address, credit card number,... How is that for not having a reservation? After check in, since she was very arrogant she just pointed us to the elevators for the luggage but didn't tell us anything about breakfast times or location (which was included in the price) nor did she help with the wifi, that was claimed the hotel had. Our room also didn't have a shower. It was a bathtub only bathroom.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The decor of the apartment is amazing

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant's atmosphere.

    Proximity to the tourist spot

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well appointed in the rooms

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not all the chanels was working

    The place was very nice and neat

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noisy tour groups.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Empty mini bar Not entirely sound proof

    The room Atmosphere Decor Cafe( a bit cramped but very nice )

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would of loved dinner to be served on request

    The peaceful

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Studio Apartment
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very Accessable and clean. Close to everything

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse aha The Rex Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: