Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Crowne Plaza Johannesburg - The Rosebank 4 stars

corner of Tyrwhitt Avenue & Sturdee Avenue, 2132 Johannesburg, South Africa

#42 of 90 hotels in Johannesburg

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 372 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    8.3

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    8

  • Staff

    8.2

  • Value for money

    7.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    8.8
    Very comfortable room, lovely bathroom.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In general the staff were quite surly and impersonal. The location is good but it was a shame there was no pedestrian entrance/exit on the Rosebank Mall side of the hotel as it was a bit frustrating to have to walk all round the perimeter each time when coming from the Mall.

    Very comfortable room, lovely bathroom. the sleep spray was a nice touch and proper coffee/cafetiere in the room was great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    10
    I liked the welcoming atmosphere of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the view was not that appealing

    I liked the welcoming atmosphere of the staff. The theme and design of the hotel. Room was clean and quite. Bed was comfortable. Room had all useful amenities on a default rate such as a bathrobe and slippers.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    4.6
    It's close to the rosebank mall and the price is...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom is too small, the breakfast wasnt good and not fresh, they dont shuttle policy is not clear or it's not being efficiently communicated and the staff is not friendly.

    It's close to the rosebank mall and the price is affordable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2018

    6.3
    The bed was comfy and the staff was friendly :)
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The unit was not clean, I found a strand of long hair in my bed when I woke up (and I have very short hair). There was hair in the basin and the carpet was not clean, my sinuses reacted all night.

    The bed was comfy and the staff was friendly :)

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    10
    Exceptional and world class.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything matched up to my standard

    I felt like a queen. The bed was extra comfortable, the facilities reinforced my first impression. I found a varied, sophisticated buffet breakfast menu, hospitable and competent service, and food matched the state of the art establishment. You can bet I will be back!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    3.8
    Someone played with the lock of my suitcase in my locked...
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Someone played with the lock of my suitcase in my locked room and the lock broke down! Then the management didn’t accept our inquiry and didn’t do anything! I do not join and offer anyone this hotel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    8.3
    Excellent!!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish that quests can be given the option of selecting "cleaning times" suitable to them if they stay more than 1 night. I had a bad hangover from a good nightout and the cleaners were too early for my liking. Not bad but maybe this can be reconsidered - you know😊

    Excellent for people who do not want to be bothered or people who just want inner-peace😁😊

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.9
    The hotel should consider halaal catering as it will interest more guests
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The loo with a view is not such a good idea. There should be a facility to close off if you did not want with.

    The Room was very spacious and comfortable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Very comfortable hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast is good but overpriced

    Very comfortable hotel. Great help at reception and concierge desk. I recommend using their car service -- lots of problems with Uber (conflicts with taxi drivers) in J'burg. Dinner at the restaurant was yummy. Location is perfect by the Rosebank mall.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    9.6
    I loved every moment since walking in and out, I will be back,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was amazing, the shower didn't drain as fast I would've thought but actually didn't mind it. Robes were amazing and fluffy, the air-con was just right and the decor really inviting. Room service was amazing, quick and efficient. The staff was extremely friendly, I will definitely return.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.2
    Overall, a pleasant stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room (new wing) is dim. No console to switch off lights from both sides of bed - tel & power points on 1 side, and light controls at the other side. Also, for the corner room, the control for light is too far from bed. Need to get up to switch off. Bathroom has 2 way glass as wall. You can see through both from inside bathroom, and from bedroom !! Breakfast at R215 is expensive.

    Very spacious room, had all amenities like an iron, fridge, safe, weighing scale, coffee/ tea making. Very nice linen & towels. Had multi type /international power point. Didn't need an adaptor ! Pleasant staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    8.3
    Overall, happy with hotel
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Room lighting dim. Bathroom walls are 2 way mirrors ! You can see thru to bathroom from bedroom & vice versa. Unimaginable if you are staying with a colleague :( :( Switch to control room lights on 1 side of bed, the side had power points. So, I chose to sleep at side with power point, but had to get up to switch off lights :( Small -ve :housekeeping staff are not careful on toiletries. Sometimes provide double shampoo, no conditioner, etc.

    The room was really spacious. Bed, linen and towels were great. Overall service was average - most staff were just courteous, and a little more smile and warmth would have made it great.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.2
    Not value for money
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room was very, very dark. They were kind enough to swap me to a suite in the old section. New rooms are like living in a dark cave even with all the lights on. Hairdryers in an odd position - at a desk with no mirror.

    Towels were nice

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    9.2
    Very nice hotel in a very safe and nice neighborhood.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice hotel in a very safe and nice neighborhood. Mall, bars and restaurants and Gautrain station are 5 minutes by foot. Gym and breakfast are good, just the pool isn‘t heated

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.3
    Quiet hotel in a good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    While the choice and quality of breakfast was fine, staff weren't very attentive (in contrast to staff at reception or concierge, who were very good!). Getting coffees took quite some time. And the hotel has got the craziest 'butter regime' ever: butter is available only from a small communal bowl or plate by the bread. No individual butter portions, no.marge. Looks unhygienic and stingy to me. One day, they ran out of butter, I asked for some, but that never materialized. R215 for that is too dear.

    Good location on the edge of Rosebank centre. Very quiet hotel. A bit inconvenient is the fact that after 10pm, you have to use the main entrance, as this requires a walk all along their long outside wall.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    Really good short stay location for city access
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bathroom door in way of using the basin as bathroom really small. Key cards didn't work multiple times. Payment not taken through booking.com.

    Great location. Clean nice and comfortable rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Great stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The refill water bottle was not clean.

    The rooms were clean and the staff was amazing! Appreciated the proximity to Rosebank shopping mall!! Shopping and getting something to eat was made easy! Security within the neighborhood was high, I felt very safe walking to and from the shops.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    The coffee muffins and the chocolate muffins are to die for,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The coffee muffins and the chocolate muffins are to die for, definitely get those during breakfast. The staff was wonderful and I was able to leave bags there during my last day even after checking out. It is a little pricey but if you are looking for a luxurious stay in an amazing location I would recommend!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.9
    My wife still raving about the hotel...2days after the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wanted to make payment for a massage and could tried more then once they were off-line tried to make eft and couldn't.

    The staff at the breakfast area was very friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    7.1
    Cosy
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My view was of a construction site, so depressing and there were no robes and slippers in the room.

    The bed was so comfortable, the rooms so cosy with perfect lighting. I love the light in the mirror at the bathroom. Friendly staff members and didn't complain abt the delay in checking out

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    8.3
    Good choice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room is a bit dark at night (not enough lightning if you have to work there)

    Good location (walking distance from Rosebank malls with many restaurants), good restaurant inside the hotel, beautiful lobby and bar. Polite and efficient team in restaurant, bars and for room services.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    6.3
    It wasn’t pleasant, the lift broke down and kept banging and the toilet kept flowing noisily.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is now quite run down, the lifts squeak and cling clang, the carpets are worn, it is “like a woman who used to be beautiful “ you can see touches of previous glamour, it falls quite short of it’s contemporaries, the check out process is long and tedious, this is 2028 not 2008.

    The location is great as well as parking, the lobby is good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    Very nice
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    R215 for breakfast, is obscene amount of money for someone who does not eat that much food. R50 parking fee for GUESTS. Same price as a LOST ticket. I paid 2500 rand for my room for the night, if it was R2700 including breakfast and parking i would not feel bad about it, but all these extra costs make it feel like the guest comes second

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    8.3
    Pleasant Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no vegetarian option in the restaurant menu which made us go to the nearby restaurants for dinner. No hotel manual in the room apart from drinks menu kept near the empty minibar. We haven’t experienced this in any of the 4/5 star hotels anywhere in the world. (We are regular travellers)

    Good location close to shops and restaurants, comfortable and clean room. Good breakfast. Close to transport links.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.8
    Average hotel with great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Weird decoration. No mini bar.

    The staff was soooo nice and helpful. The rooms were large and clean. WIFI worked great. It's nothing special but comfortable. Location is great to move around and safe. We walked to the Mall to get on the City Sightseeing hop on hop off bus and got an Uber for dinner.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.5
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower in our particular room didn't drain too well. Although i set a filter for rates with breakfast included, it wasn't clear in the booking process. Once booking confirmed i only found Out that breakfast was excluded @ a rate of R215 extra per person.

    Good location. Comfortable and stylish.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    7.1
    was bad experience
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the breakfast was not included i was so disappointed.Next time i wont book with booking.com since your not caring your customers.I will better book with hotel direct and have all the facilities i need

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.3
    Staff couldn't been friendlier and should've been available when needed. Everything else was lovely
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airport shuttle driver insinuated a tip is mandatory No one at the front desk when I arrived Room service after midnight, no one answered the phone, I called front desk, the woman was rude.

    I loved the room and the design. It's a beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    10
    Excellent
    • Couple
    • King Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Their table in the room I slept in please if they can consider those scratches. Rather than that the hotel is super great.

    Their welcoming is excellent above them all their Reception where the people stay is Very Beautiful And it's Luxury one.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    4.6
    Nothing to recommend- except maybe a different hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Organised an airport transfer with Crowne Plaza. Won't do that again. Driver didn't fill us with confidence on the way to the car (couldn't work an elevator) and proceeded to put on the worst show of driving I have experienced. Drove straight into congested traffic multiple times, refused to utilise any smart phone map function, and was very heavy on the accelerator and brakes, to the point where I and my fiancé were both ill afterwards. We complained at the hotel, and they offered to give us that ride and the return journey the next day to us for free. Next day, called reception to ask for help with our bags - they told us they were too busy to help. When we got to reception, only 1 desk of three were busy, and 2 porters were standing nearby assisting no-one. Receptionist then had no idea what had been agreed regarding the airport transfers, so tried to charge us for both. We opted instead for an uber, which was faster, better, cheaper, and much less hassle. The room was fine, but one elevator door was constantly malfunctioning, which was a concern.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    7.5
    Excellent location, good customer service, comfortable hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are two restaurants at the hotel; however, the hotel might want to pay more attention to accommodating people with diet restrictions (e.g.: gluten-free, diary-free, vegetarian, etc.).

    Clean, large rooms; friendly staff always willing to help, very good customer service; facilities required available on site; safe neighborhood, close to an area with nice restaurants. There is a mall with a hypermarket three minutes away (walking), which is very practical. Also, there is the Sunday market in the hotel where one can find very nice items. I booked trips to (Pretoria, Soweto, JNG landmarks, etc.) through the hotel. While it seemed a bit pricey, it was very well organized and the driver was great.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    3.8
    Worst experience ever.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I lost my money . I reported the issue but did not receive feedback on the investigation 5 days later when i checked out of the hotel. Worse service i have ever received

    Free wifi

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    4.2
    Noisy and dirty
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an iron gate separating my room to the next one. Whole noise television everything could be heard from my room. I couldn’t sleep all night. There was a hair in my bath. It doesn’t deserve such a fee.

    Hotel has a good restaurant

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    10
    I travel a lot worldwide for business and leisure; this hotel is just the best ratio price/quality !
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Corridors are a bit old fashionned and the only 2 elevators are long to wait for and a bit old too ...

    Very central location, at a 3 minutes walking distance from Rosebank central area (bars, restaurants, shops and malls) and main station. Perfect and affordable with great staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    6.7
    The location was the best thing about it.
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room view was overlooking a gravel roof. One day after the maid finished cleaning we went into change and someone from housekeeping walked in without knocking, my husband was standing there in his underwear.

    The location was the best thing about it.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.7
    Not good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room and bathroom was very small and had bleach stains on the carpet. There was no TV remote. The room service was very good. Not as good value for money as the Holiday Inn nearby.

    Convenient location

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2017

    5.0
    ROOM INTERIOR HAS A SMART MODERN DESIGN.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    PILLOWS WERE TERRIBLE. STAFF ARE VERY DELAYED,I WAITED ALMOST AN HOUR TO BE MOVED INTO THE ROOM I BOOKED AFTER BEING CHECKED INTO A ROOM WHICH I HAD NOT BOOKED. BATH TUB WAS DIRTY,STRANDS OF HAIR WERE IN THE TUB. BATHROOM WAS TOO SMALL. EXTRACTOR FAN IN THE BATHROOM DID NOT WORK,VERY POOR VENTILATION. THE HEATER IN THE ROOM WAS NOT WORKING. I FOUND IT RIDICULOUS THAT I HAD TO PAY FOR PARKING AFTER PAYING MORE THAN R1000 FOR ONE NIGHT.PARKING SHOULD BE COVERED AS PART OF THE ACCOMMODATION COST.

    ROOM INTERIOR HAS A SMART MODERN DESIGN. BED WAS BIG AND COMFY.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    6.3
    I was disappointed with the coffee shop n room service. The manager was good n tried to make amends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room service and coffee shop was slow n unprofessional.Cupboard door wasn't working. Bathroom door didn't stay open .

    Bed n towels were very good. Excellent shower.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    7.1
    Overall apart from air conditioning issues in our rooms
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - room temperature on our 1st stay was horrendous, sir conditioning did not work in our room or our friends rooms. This required us to get up through the night to shower. Air conditioning was slightly better in our room on our second visit but not so in our friends room. Needs to be attended to with temperatures rising.

    Location was great, breakfast amazing Especially the impromptu singing by staff.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2017

    9.2
    Excellent stay in a great location and a very well run hotel with friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bathrooms are a bit small.

    Staff were very friendly, very efficient check in and check out. Many dining options on site, many facilities. Well remodeled and pleasing decor. Well run establishment in a fantastic location in Rosebank.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2017

    6.3
    convenience for Rosebank Mall.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Place has gone to look tired since I last visited late 2014. Despite using the 'always on' wifi at the hotel, you had to reconnect and sign in each time you returned to the hotel! I misplaced my car parking ticket (parking is not free) on the first day and it took literally 10 mins to let me through the exit barrier and all for the sake of R50 (£3). The gym, is lame and needs an upgrade/uplift pretty much like the rest of the hotel. Will choose somewhere better next time.

    convenience for Rosebank Mall. Good steak and food in restaurant

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    Good vibes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room key just didn't work. Didn't open the door nor did it allow us access in the lift.

    I loved the room, the staff were friendly and helpful. The bed was super comfy & the room was clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2017

    7.9
    Nice location and hotel facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel does not offer a shuttle to the airport. There is a taxi service for 500 ZAR. There are many tourists and business people, I would have expected a shuttle.

    Nice, comfortable and spacious bedroom. The hotel is in a nice location and it has good facilities (e.g. pool, gym).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    6.7
    Nice hotel crap that you have to pay for parking.
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    But I hated that I had to pay for parking considering I paid for the room.

    I liked that the hotel is central in Rosebank close to everything. The room had a bathroom with a door.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    7.1
    Staff at reception very nice .
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning staff used my cosmetics though I have complained no actions and I have forgotten clothing and also never got it back

    Staff at reception very nice ..

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2017

    7.9
    Great location and professional staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There was an ongoing issue with the lifts - service elevator not working and one elevator with reoccuring issues. This meant the guests and staff were using the only working lift with major delays.

    Great location, professional staff! Very friendly and helpful staff and a lovely hotel to stay in. Really near to Rosebank mall and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2017

    9.2
    Wonderful place and wonderful staff. Strongly recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staffs are wonderful. They are loyal and provide immediate help when needed. Special thanks to Manager Lettie who is so responsibleand spend a lot of time talking with SAA agent to confirm my flight booking and flight on Sunday. Also Special Thanks to Lillian Vilaicuzi, who find my purse and money and turn back to me in time. My stay in Crown Plaza are wonderful and definitely will like to choose this property again if get chance to visit Johannesburg again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    7.5
    Excellent Location, Poor Service
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • King Club Floor
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar area "Double Circle" - had to go and ask for someone to serve there after waiting 15 minutes even though bar was open - bar man too busy watching soccer when he was there. Club Lounge was atrocious (not food wise). Bar not restocked (alcohol/non-alcohol). Not uncommon to have to walk to the main bar to ask for a bottle of wine to be supplied... Often no bottled water available. Front of house staff (generally) need some assistance with how to welcome new guests (who are not part of an airline) with a smile - it doesn't take much.

    Excellent location - 1 block away from Mall in very safe area. Nicely presented hotel with very good facilities. Morning breakfast staff excellent - attentive, professional, efficient and friendly. Rooms in northern block very nicely presented. I would stay here again, even taking the poor staff into consideration.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    9.6
    Excelent value for money, well located, super friendly staff and amazing breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything was great, nothing to complain!

    Amazing breakfast with a wide variety of food and beverages and extremely kind staff. The room was comfortable, good bed and pillows, delicious bed sheets, nice shower and toiletries, room temperature was also very precise. Unlimited internet connection with fast speed was a blast comparing it to other hotels in SA.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    4.2
    Really poor service at the front desk.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really poor service at the front desk. If we made a payment in USD, the rate was much higher than the exchange rates for the day. The staff were not very welcoming or helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    9.2
    Excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in partcular.

    The location is the best aspect. An area where one can walk, a mall with good eating options nearby, close to Gautrain and hop on/off bus. Also liked the facilities and breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    Good Standard of amenities. Great place for fun, friends or family.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I think the breakfast options are rather limited. Perhaps include more options for those who don't eat Pork and Beef. The bar could be better used to market the place, excellent set up..not fully utilized. Include a buffet breakfast and increase the price of the room.

    Excellent facilities. Neat, well maintained. Great bar. Friendly staff and the Bartender, Wayne was a really hospitable guy. Great Wi-Fi, Mall nearby. Two to Three night clubs nearby. Staff are accommodating.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    6.7
    It was a comfortable stay but dirty carpets and small bathroom will not get me back!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom is ridiculously small and very little space to put your toiletries. Carpets definitely need a clean and bottom of cupboards very long ago been cleaned. Everyday something was missing in my teabox. First day no milk and second day no teabags!

    Beds were comfy but linen had small wholes in bottom sheet as well as duvet cover.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2017

    9.2
    Lots of shops, bars and restaurants two blocks away at...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathrooms are a bit pokey and the sink in my room needed maintenance.

    Lots of shops, bars and restaurants two blocks away at rosebank mall. Short walk, two blocks away but always plenty of people around and safe.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    10
    Lovely comfortable hotel near Rosebank mall
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast coffee too weak

    Very comfortable hotel, huge lobby , nice bar, friendly staff, great room with super comfy bed, lovely rain shower , great breakfast buffet

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    6.7
    The breakfast was good, room clean and calm, nice spa staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although I wrote 2 emails for a transfer from the airport, I didn't get any answer and no taxi at the airport; then I had trouble to check-in and needed 20 min; the tours were too expensive and we could just book a private one, although I reserved a taxi back to the airport they told me they didn't book it...

    The breakfast was good, room clean and calm, nice spa staff there.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    5.0
    Poor value for the money you pay
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room and bathroom appalling for the price

    The croissants were extra flaky, but part of the bedlinen were dirty. The room was smelly and muggy with no open window to air the room. The bathroom is small you could hardly turn in the place. The place is poor value for the price.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    10
    excellent service from Matsi at the Business centre.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I wanted to change my reservation by one day it took me 2 trips by taxi into the Rosebank and 4 hours of my holiday time. I didn't think it would be so hard to arrive a day early and check out a day early.

    I would like to Commend Matsi from the Business centre she went beyond what was expected of her to help me change my reservations, I can not praise her enough, I would like it bought to the attention of the manager what an excellent rep Matsi is to the crown plaza and at any time she needed a reference I would be happy to give her one.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    7.1
    They can do better....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Hotel is not very well located and the entrance is not so simple to find. Many times I had problem with the electricity... It was cut off from TV and socket...

    The staff is very kind and the Gym is nice also....

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2016

    9.6
    A wonderful hotel with comfortable, beautiful rooms and an incredibly helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room service could have been better. It took much longer than what I was told.

    The attentiveness of the staff. They all were incredible, from porter to check-in personnel.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    10
    My stay was amazing, the room was lovely and the bed was so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    My stay was amazing, the room was lovely and the bed was so fresh and comfortable. Staff were super friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.5
    Business trip Sep 2018
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stains on the carpet, took 15 minutes to get coffee during breakfast

    Staff was very nice and friendly, pool is amazing

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2018

    10
    Good clean place with lovely ambience.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All neat and clean place with lovely staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    2.5
    too small rooms and worth to stay
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    too small rooms and worth to stay

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    8.3
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Everything was fine, staff very good at front desk &...
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fine, staff very good at front desk & room service

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2018

    7.5
    Short and sweet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beds and the gym

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    10
    Was quite nice except for the things listed above
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was a problem and Aircon was not working and it was cold

    The room was excellent

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    7.9
    The bathrooms are tired and need some sprucing up
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathrooms are tired and need some sprucing up

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    10
    Great modern room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable and relaxing definetely will stay again
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom area a bit tight but who cares

    Location, spacious room, internet access and that gym!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    5.8
    It's better to book it directly on crown plaza's website, better rate. Ok hotel but small rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room is really small and the wifi very slow.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2018

    7.5
    NA
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    NA

    WiFi and the bed

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    7.5
    Nice and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast staff were taking away plates and cups while someone was still eating

    Spacious room, nice shower

    Stayed in July 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: