Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Table Bay Hotel 5 stars

Quay 6, Victoria & Alfred Waterfront , Waterfront, 8002 Cape Town, South Africa

#29 of 152 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 856 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Superb hotel in wonderful position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn’t fault anything!

    Lovely comfortable room. Magnificent breakfast in lovely surrounds with beautiful soothing piano music. Superb service. Great position with direct access to V and A shopping malls.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2018

    10
    Home away from home, great location, great views and excellent service at all levels.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Tour Groups....need to be advised when a tour group or groups are dinning as Breakfast in the overflow was frustrating

    Breakfast itself was however great!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.9
    More like four star than five star but otherwise good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    In a five star hotel you shouldn't have to queue up to get breakfast. The male concierge had an attitude problem

    Nice room generally good staff and facilities. The lady concierge was very helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    Hard to beat if you are looking for a waterfront and not a city centre hotel in Cape Town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We arrived before normal check-in time after an overnight flight. We had asked if our room could be available early but unfortunately it was not ready when we arrived. This was a very minor issue though.

    It was hard to find fault with this hotel. The staff were welcoming and courteous, the service was excellent, the room spacious and clean and the breakfast included just about everything. For us, the waterfront location was perfect with easy access to all facilities. Ample car parking and driving in and around Cape Town was easy.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    9.6
    Pleasant stay in Cape Town,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I am not used to be charged in advance. Luckily no problems until my trip so no headaches, but we should be charged only at checkout.

    Amazing breakfast and perfect location makes this property the best in town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 September 2018

    8.8
    Room was spotless clean and security around the lifts good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bacon, pork sausage baked beans always cold never mind what time you had breakfast and didn't like the wild bird's pecking at the bread and pastries

    Room was spotless clean and security around the lifts good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Excellent, classy, amazing, recommendable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The breakfast was delicious. Staff in general was excellent. Room was comfortable. Hotel always smelled fresh. 5 star treatment from car services. These guys were top notch.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.6
    Everything was great at The Table Bay, staff, rooms, facilities and food. Will stay again if I retu
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was large, comfortable, clean and had a fantastic view over the water. The staff were extremely friendly and polite. The restaurants served delicious fresh meals.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    7.1
    We did enjoy our stay despite these issues raised.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Entrance door lock problem, breakfast was average for an international hotel, receptionist tried to ‘trick’ us to upgrade, coffee machine was dirty, charged for valet parking.

    View & convenience

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, conveniently located hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was comfortable, the staff very helpful and it was directly connected to the Waterfront shopping center, which provided good shopping and dining options.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    The location is great and so also the reception and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We are gym freaks and the gym space is very very small. You would struggle to get 4 people in there at the same time. The restaurant could also do with a more enticing menu. We dined out a lot due to this.

    The location is great and so also the reception and waitresses. They couldn't do enough, smiling always. The waiters had great knowledge of the food and wine on offer. Moudy was my personal favourite, she was so professional and went the extra mile to ensure we found a wine that matched our pallet. The gym could do with more space and the restaurant with a more varied menu.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    10
    Everything you could wish for in a holiday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Fabulous location on the V&A Waterfront - exactly as described with a direct connection to the shopping mall! Even better! I communicated with the hotel beforehand and they were very helpful at all times with my requests. All the staff throughout the hotel are fantastic, genuinely friendly and nothing was never too much trouble. Our bed is perhaps the best I've slept in, so big and comfy! Will definitely be returning as we loved SA:)

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    8.8
    Good, but room for improvements.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our first impression to the hotel lived up to all our expectations, although the room we stayed in needed some cosmetic improvements. The bathroom in partiular.

    Perfect location and excellent appearance. All and all a enjoyable stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    The location is perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can’t remember anything.

    The location is perfect. The best in Cape Town. Employees are super competent and friendly. Wifi is top. Everything was perfect.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    10
    Best location and price for a superb hotel in Cape Town.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This has the best location in Cape Town- right on the sea with views of Table Mountain AND attached to the V & A Mall. It is so convenient when you arrive after a long journey as you have access to all the things that an international visitor needs - converters at Click's, great access for a new sims card and airtime, and many superb inexpensive restaurants such as Tasha's and Dalliance (try the terrific mussels in a shallot sauce and the exquisite lamb curry). Our bed was so comfortable that we did not want to leave after two nights on a plane. The view out to sea with the passing ships really made you appreciate the beauty of Cape Town. Also, it is really reasonably price for what you receive and the buffet breakfast is spectacular!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    10
    As a frequent traveller, One of the best hotels I have ever...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    As a frequent traveller, One of the best hotels I have ever stayed. Staff are friendly, great ambience, good food, great location easy access.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Fantastic 5 star anniversary celebration at the Table Bay Hotel Waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    more vegetarian dining options

    Luxury, comfort, style, cosiness, rose petal turndown, complimentary gift, fantastic sea view, warm ambiance, friendliness, efficiency, amazing breakfast, relaxing music with pianist adds that extra sophistication!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    10
    Excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The huge amount of bird poo all over my car. Sorry but it was really terrible collecting a car like that after a fabulous stay.

    Everything was excellent, except the parking.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    It was our wedding anniversary and special care was taken...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was our wedding anniversary and special care was taken with little gifts in our room and rose petals on the bed at turn down service in the evening.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    9.6
    A great hotel at the best location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The booking was a bit complicated through booking.com and the booking system of the hotel, but all worked out well.

    The service is great. People smile and are very attentive. The location at the V&A boulevard and with the shopping centre next door is wonderful. Creative and effective efforts are made to save water. Breakfast is the best.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    5.8
    Not pleasant and will never go there
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This property is big talk but the poorest customer service i have seen They are very grabby and will go to put their hands in your pocket. Since i arrived I only had problems. Day 2/3 they forgot to put liquid soap and water until i complained. the room has no master light so u hv to go out of your bed to put the lights on and then off. All curtains are being sofas so if u want to open or close curtains its gymnastics.I arrived at 22h00 and because there are no lights in the midst of the room I had problems finding my things in the suitcase / same for return packing. Then because they refused to allow me to stay till 17h00 i had to pay for another night. But at checkout I came across a most rude lady who wanted to know how much i had paid to stay as she could not figure out i had paid for 24 hours and stayed only 10 hours. another big argument to make her understand i had paid more and stayed less because her company had ripped me off.

    nothing

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    9.6
    Fantastic.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    We stayed here for the first leg of our honeymoon and we weren’t disappointed. The team at the Table Bay looked after us fantastically from the minute the picked us up from the airport to the time they drove us back there. We would especially like to thanks the team in the main bar, Bradley and his team of staff were magnificent, they couldn’t do enough for us and were so friendly. We would love to come back soon if only to say hi to such wonderful people we now count as friends.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    9.2
    I love Cape Town, and love coming to this hotel, the stay is always lovely, and hate leaving.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Leaving

    Breakfast fantastic. Location perfect. Great hotel. Car parking staff were very helpful. Some other staff, in the dining rooms, need to have more customer service training.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    10
    Really enjoyed staying in a wonderful hotel with an amazing...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    water shortage issues but the property managed it well and we still very much enjoyed the experience.

    Really enjoyed staying in a wonderful hotel with an amazing staff. The facilities and meals were excellent. The view was obscured by the dirty window, but we did not mind because of the water shortages. The pool was a nice touch but the water seemed a bit funny in color. Again, due to water issues we are sure. We would highly recommend it and the Concierge manager/staff during the day/weekend was excellent!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Overnight stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is beautifully decorated and in an awesome location. The staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The views were incredible too. The bed was very comfortable and the room spacious.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cockroach in the bathroom, was huge. two nights out of three we had to ask for the third bed to be made up. One night it didn't get made up at all. Housekeeping told us we had to arrange for the bed to be made up by going to reception. Such incompetent staff.

    Location of the hotel to the ship we had come I on.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    9.6
    Five stars experience at Table Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    me and Kids enjoyed the stay at Table Bay and we will come back . breakfast buffet is amazing , and kids loved swimming pool. valet parking was great and staff are very friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    8.8
    We loved our stay and location, staff needs further training on hospitality.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff treated us as if we didn’t deserve to be there. As we were sitting at reception waiting for someone, my daughter and I were asked if we are hairdressers because another guest was waiting for a hairdresser and we happened to look like hairdressers because we both had braids. How pathetic! For breakfast, we were also told to sit in different tables. I had to ask if they can’t join the tables instead! I mean this is a 5 star hotel, such treatment from staff was really pathetic!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    10
    Amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast, the service was patchy and on our second day only half the selection of food we had the day before.

    The hotel is in a great location, the staff are lovely, the rooms are nice (a little dated), the parking facilities are great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    2.9
    Noisey and not relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The noise and music from the waterfront was unbearable. It was like having a night club in our room. For a very expensive hotel there should be more insulation. Also noisey in the morning with the boats. Do not stay in this hotel if you want peace or to sleep. Staff at breakfast never mention that eggs could be cooked for you.

    View from the room

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    9.6
    Superb!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I did not like. It was very busy at the hotel but service was excellent - regardless

    The location, attention to detail and that nothing was an ask too great. Such lovely friendly staff - a real credit to the hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.6
    A Great Place In A Great Place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The hotel is excellently located and the rooms are well appointed, spacious and well decorated. The staff are very friendly, particularly the receptionists. Breakfast is of a high quality and there is a choice of outside seating to give you a view of Table Mountain. Everything was handled efficiently, even our little medical emergency. A great place to stay in Cape Town with access to bars, restaurants and travel facilities like the bus tour - all on your doorstep.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    9.2
    Movies not available when we arrived - had to follow up on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Movies not available when we arrived - had to follow up on request by going downstairs to reception. Not able to request a late check -out prior to arrival. On arrival it is far too late. Option to pay to secure this also not available.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    9.2
    Will always go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Train waiters better and jack up service on the terrace

    Beautiful setting and very neat Hotel ,I have stayed there a couple of times already.The only complin I have is the service on the verandah has always been very slow and staff not trained to take drink orders specially if you are a group og 6 or 8.The breakfast is really great

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    8.3
    Nice centrally hotel but they need to work on breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was a shambles. Had to queue which ou do not expect from this star of hotel. And service at breakfast was also not good

    Centrally located hotel

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    9.6
    Being right in the heart of Cape Town in such a fab hotel was a great experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    View from our room over Table Mountain was stunning. I had mentioned that I was celebrating my 60th this year and there was a bottle of champagne on ice waiting for us, plus a lovely guide of South African vineyards.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    9.6
    Asked for highest floor possible, with a nice view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Asked for highest floor possible, with a nice view. We got just that!! Breakfast was very nice. The staff noted that we were celebrating a birthday and made an effort to acknowledge that with slices of cake (during High Tea and in the room) and with well wishes.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.2
    Breakfast was delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Why do u have a king bed for a couple which is two joined single beds? Very uncomfortable for a couple because it was difficult to cuddle. No smoking places in rooms.

    Breakfast was delicious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    7.9
    Location is awesome
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    At the nightly rate we paid, I expected much more attention to detail. Dirty seating in room, poor wifi speed (like most hotels). Breakfast selection is poor for the price. Friends organised in-room drinks surprise they forgot about. Asked hotel about it and then they started running around to fix it. They acknowledged they stuffed up. We stayed here 20 years ago and it is shocking how they have changed....and not for the better!

    Location is awesome

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    9.6
    Very good hotel in good location for a short stay in Capetown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Sometimes the service was rather slow in the bars and restaurant - just luck of the draw as to whom was on duty.

    Well situated on the waterfront with plenty of restaurants as an alternative to the hotel itself. The concierge could not have been more helpful in helping us to organise our trips and gave us very good advice on timings etc. Rooms were spacious and very comfortable .Hotel provided a shuttle service to Tabletop Mt. which was very useful if on a short stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    7.5
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This hotel was 'nice'. I can't fault the service we received or the location, but it's not worth the money. It lends itself to the waterfront pricing structure which allows it to charge premium prices, but it's not a premium hotel. On entering the hotel, it is truly beautiful - but on closer inspection the hotel looks a bit shabby in parts - old furnishings (sofas, rugs). Our room was also fine, but again bit lack lustre in parts - exposed plastering for example. I felt it was quite old fashioned in parts. We didn't eat in the hotel, but the afternoon tea looked very good. The bar was nice, but pretty standard. The drinks took a while to come once ordered. I selected to stay in this hotel as a change, but I wouldn't stay again - it's just not worth the money. They also charge a ridiculous premium for airport transfer - double what I had been quoted at my other hotel and 3 x the price of a standard taxi fare!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    9.6
    An outstanding hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The stay from beginning to end was simply outstanding, the welcome, the staff, the facilities, the room amenities, the location, everything! Although on the pricey side it was one of the best hotel experiences we have had in over 40 years of travelling. Thoroughly recommended if you have the budget, you won't be disappointed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    7.9
    connected to V&A shopping Mall .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    e did not have for a new soap in the bathroom for 3 days nor the shampoo was changed . Staff talking load in the corridor when making other guests room .

    connected to V&A shopping Mall . ggod and confortable bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    5.8
    Not a 5star in my opinion. The best thing about the hotel is location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The customer service was not great for a 5star hotel, check in was meant to be 2pm. I didn’t actually get into an appropriate room until 6pm which meant a whole day was wasted. Although the staff were pleasant, We has to wait long periods to be seated for breakfast everyday. It was my birthday on Wednesday and although I was promised a gift from the hotel. I received nothing. Even though my partner reminded them 3times. If you are looking for the personal customer care, forget it you won’t get it at this hotel.

    The view was amazing and the breakfast was good too. Staff were pleasant

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    9.6
    Very good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to blame. A bit costly rooms but everything is relative.

    Despite the slightly old school look from outside, the hotel has has kept its spirit well and offer excellent quality. The staff is very frindly and helpfull to say the very least, breakfast is stunning and pool area has a nice feel. Spa services are great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.6
    An experience we would love to repeat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing that we did not like

    A delightful hotel, everything we tried there was super from the flowers in the room to the high tea and of course the location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    Excellent located good hotel close to best of Cape Town , the waterfront
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The many birds making a lot of noise all day and night (when open window)

    The very good location and nice rooms. They had excellent chocolate cake !!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    10
    A wonderful hotel in which to relax and unwind in style and comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful room with a wonderful view. The hotel's amenities are excellent. Dinner was most enjoyable and the breakfast was terrific. I had a very relaxing time at the hotel. Staff could not do enough to make my stay enjoyable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    9.2
    Sheer luxury from check-in to check-out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rowdy kids in the pool & jacuzzi - but what can you do?

    Luxury from start to finish. Hotel management have thought through every detail & delivered at the highest level.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    8.3
    Great location and place to stay, but expensive and food could be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Only one lift position. Very long corridors, 2nd floor suite long way from lifts. Suites have only one bathroom sink. Breakfast food choice very good but variety haphazard and temperature of 'hot' food inconsistent. Very slow restaurant service and payment for table water at dinner not pre-advised!

    Excellent spacious suite on 2nd floor but poor views. Moved to 8th floor suite with great views and easy lift access, but less spacious! Complimentary snacks, cakes etc and welcoming champagne. Superb attentive staff. Nice pool. Easy access to waterfront.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    7.1
    having hand held shower head in the bath room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    having hand held shower head in the bath room having installed security / safety handle in the shower having a shoe horn in the room better lighting

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    An old style hotel with lots of charm in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    We were disturbed twice in one evening by staff coming to the wrong room. The Reception staff were rather abrupt. The breakfast buffet was vast but not always top quality (not good bacon!).

    The pool was lovely, with lots of comfy sun loungers. The water was warm and the pool service was excellent. The concierge was very helpful with a restaurant booking. Our hotel room was comfortable and spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    8.3
    Afternoon Tea overlooking the Table Mountain was very...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Afternoon Tea overlooking the Table Mountain was very pleasant. Dinner at the restaurant was also good. Breakfast with Champagne + Oysters were ideal holiday morning.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    Super convenient location and waking up to the Table Mountain was so beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    there were a few days we ordered coffee and tea and it was not served until the 2nd or 3rd time we requested at breakfast. Things could have been more efficient

    The security of the place was very good and guarded at all points of entry. Breakfast was a large spread and variety was amazing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    10
    December stay in Cape Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The location was wonderful for accessing the Cape Town harbor area with all its shops and restaurants. The buffet breakfast had the best choices I've seen with waffles that were tender and perfect. We had a beautiful view of the ocean from our room and could have just sat and looked out all day if there weren't so many other things to do!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    9.2
    Amazing stay in an amazing place with amazing people around (and amazing food!!)...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast could be better with less choice and more fresh stations (egg and crepes).

    The location is great. Easy to reach by car and easy to walk around the waterfront. Yazeed the concierge is extremely knowledgeable and helped us design our itinerary in a perfect way.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.6
    Can’t wait to return, hopefully longer next time!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing .

    Just love staying at the hotel! No complaints please about any of it, only that we never have enough time there! Staff wonderful, food exquisite, facilities perfect, location spot on. Can not think of a bad thing to say about the whole experience.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    10
    Excellent hotel - nice location, great service and wonderful facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent hotel - located right in the middle of the waterfront. The facilities are great with nice big rooms and turndown service. The hotel has a special entrance directly to the mall - which was convenient. Great security and excellent food and friendly staff!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.1
    great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    employees could be more welcoming and friendly as in other places we visited.

    great location. staff was not as friendly as in other locations we visited before arriving. Breakfast was OK, no seats available on a regular basis, and service, not to the standard of the price paid

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    10
    An enjoyable & please stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Usually alcoholic drinks are provided, I had mentioned we don't drink, but passion fruit with lemonade would've been preferred or juice. We got sparkling appletiser which neither I nor my son drink. Maybe they could've asked us what we prefer. Apple Juice would've been good. Upon arrival on Thursday, my son and I were too tired to go down for high tea. After check out on Friday, we spent the morning and early afternoon out, returning to the hotel by 4:30pm as our private car was to fetch us at 7:30pm for the airport. I enquired if we could perhaps have some tea....considering we didn't enjoy the high tea the previous day. Alas was not to be . Not that my son and I would've eaten a whole lot, it would just have been rooibis tea for him and a muffin, and a cappuccino and a pastry for me. It's pretty petty, and I had spent more on lunch and dinner at the v&a during my short stay so I could've easily paid at the hotel for snacks and tea, but I didn't feel the need to. We had enjoyed a wonderful night , just a little disappointed we were not accomadated for tea since my pickup was late for the airport which was known from the time I had booked the hotel We enjoyed at the airport slow lounge . The minimal that I mentioned even though they had a lovely spread.

    My son and enjoyed the ambience, the decor of the hotel, and especially the festive season atmosphere that is prevalent throughout. I quite liked the small personal touches that is provided in the rooms. The welcome note from the manager, the little gifts upon arrival, which isn't much but the small things add a special touch. Our room and view made us want to stay longer. Was a very comfortable room which is what we like when we travel. We will return for a longer stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    9.2
    Excellent & Well Located
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Almost all is good, as mentioned earlier the room view should be chosen towards the harbors No complian

    - staff was very friendly and polite. Concierge were really helpful, thanks to the team (Ms Miora, Ms Sherlyne, Mr Bradley). - reception was well trained and welcoming. They are fast in response and would like to thank them for the welcoming gift of our honeymoon ☺️. Thanks to Ms Cummins 😊 Apologies to miss all other names - overall breakfast was really good with variety of options. - room is spacious yet I would recommend to stay on the harbor view. Superb sunrise

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    9.6
    Great Hotel, location and staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Excellent all round. Great reception. Lovely friendly staff. Breakfast had boundless choice. Lovely view from Room over the Harbour. Room spacious well equipped and immaculately clean with lovely touches throughout. Even the mini bar was not expensive

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    10
    A very special Hotel with a charm and magic all of its own .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect !

    The breakfast buffet was the best selection I have ever seen , a truly magnificent array of every breakfast item you could wish for . Excellent staff & service nothing was too much trouble , this is our 2nd visit to this hotel a fantastic experience . We will be back !

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    10
    A well positioned hotel, beautiful interiors, delicious food, restful and enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel pool was much smaller than I had expected.

    Nov 2017 - we booked the hotel to rest after travelling overnight. Our room was spacious, with a large ensuite, and had a sea view as requested. The bed was large and really comfortable. Proximity to the V&A waterfront meant that we were able to enjoy that area without having to walk far. The restaurant menu was varied and the food delicious, and we would recommend the restaurant to non hotel guests. The whole atmosphere was comfortable without being grand, all areas felt very comfortable, and the breakfast was full of choices. Having a piano playing during breakfast was a first and very enjoyable. The artwork on the walls also helped make the hotel feel very welcoming, and the floral displays were stunning. The staff were friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    7.9
    Good, but not as good as previous years.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Gym very poor + no facilities to wipe down equipment after use. Booked a room extension till 5pm for late leaving, still woken up early on last day (privacy sign ignored) to be asked when we would be checking out.

    Location and rooms excellent. Pool staff and pool lunches very good. Reception area and people first class.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    9.6
    We love Cape Town and the Table Bay Hotel. One of our special places. A special but too brief stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast food at buffet was generally luke warm. The scrambled eggs were very poor. very watery and overcooked with little seasoning. Eating so much for tourist groups that the hidden flaws seem to be unseen. All the buffet food was only warm at best. Also why should we have to pay as guests for car parking?

    We loved this hotel and really enjoyed our third stay. Room was excellent and beds comfortable and towels etc very lovely. So convenient to walk from hotel straight into the Mall or to the harbour. Afternoon tea is just special.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2017

    10
    we loved Cape Town and the V&A area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    wish we could have stayed longer.

    The concierge staff was exceedingly helpful. They helped us book a car from airport to hotel, recommended two good restaurants, helped make decisions re the weather at Table Mountain and booked a car for a local tour. The included breakfast was only second to the most fantastic one we had at a property in Bangkok. Very good. and the staff are super attentive.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2017

    4.6
    average
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Little / no flexibility - no chance of a later checkout despite a 6 night stay for two luxury rooms

    The location was good - breakfast good but pricy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    7.5
    Excellent breakfast with nice ambience and a great terrace...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are getting outdated and I was expecting better for this price range. We eventually were awaken by improvement works at 5 in the morning, I was expecting a solution from the hotel....

    Excellent breakfast with nice ambience and a great terrace for sunny days.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    7.9
    Nice view and comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast used to be much better You cant actually swim in the pool as the depth is rather for children

    The view from the room and the efficient roomservice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    10
    The staff were very friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There is honestly nothing we can complain about.

    The staff were very friendly and accommodating. The hotel has old charm appeal and the rooms are very spacious and well equipped. The proximity to the promenade was especially appealing as we love taking walks in this type of setting.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    10
    Lovely luxurious and modern hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Amazing breakfast, wonderful location on the waterfront, bottle of wine and sweets, turndown service, staff. We stayed their twice; 1st time we had a view of Robben Island, 2nd of Table Mountain.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    9.6
    Good location, spacious and very pretty throughout.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I thought there was an indoor pool (until we got there), but there was a jacuzzi!

    Good location, spacious and very pretty throughout. Really friendly staff and great place to stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 October 2017

    8.3
    The hotel was fair. The location is wonderful. But I don't imagine we will go there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only ate in the hotel restaurant. Service was JUST OK. Our mussel soup was cool. Our prawn curry was served with COLD plates and by the time hot plates arrived the curry and rice was COOL! American tourists sitting next to us were most unhappy. Their food for four people arrived at different intervals, and was also cool. I had to get up and give one of these tourists a knife as there wasn't one at her place setting. We wished we had spent the R1 000 dinner bill somewhere else.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2017

    10
    Wonderful 4 days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't a thing I didn't like

    Location, decor, staff, view were top notch. The breakfast quality n variety was exceptional. This was one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in in the past 10 years. A great experience.

    Stayed in September 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: