Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of African Pride Arabella Hotel and Spa, Autograph Collection 5 stars

Arabella Country Estate, R44 to Kleinmond, Overberg, 7195 Kleinmond, South Africa

#9 of 14 hotels in Kleinmond

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 847 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.5

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.8

  • Facilities

    8.5

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.6

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WiFi system they using is absolutly poor especially when you travel for business. There was no hairdryer or an extra 2 point plug The fridge was not working so all drinks inside was hot. the iron is attached to the iron board and very uncomfortable to use. i feel the rooms are not checked properly before guest arrives

    The Ambiance is superb. the rooms spacious and clean and had a beautiful view. The staff very helpful & friendly. The food was great. The walk through the estate was really lovely. The estate is very secure

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony and Lagoon View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The warm swimming pool in the spa was not clean - there are rings around the pool that are very off putting

    The staff are very friendly, the scenery is beautiful, the meals in the restaurant were great

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's not at all value for money or worthy of it's star status. Very disappointed. Badly in need of a make over. Will not be back.

    Good breakfast

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have written to Arabella complaining about the room service with no reply yet. We could not sleep around 3am thinking that someone was in our room. When we checked we found that a complete room service of the bathroom had been completed after we used all the towels before bed. The same happened the next night and was very unsettling. We left the next day and will not be returning soon.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was not ready on our arrival yet. One bathrobe was missing in the cupboard . We asked reception three times to bring it, unfortunately it happened just after our spa treatment.

    Golf course is amazing.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room with Balcony and View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Check in experience was shocking as the hotel did not know about our reservation made through Booking.com. The dinner buffet was pathetic and minimal in choice for the price. Service was non existent. My partner did not like the 4 buffet protein options and asked for a menu. The waitress told her she needs to sit in a different section of the dinning room. What a joke!! The menu options were also very limited so she settled for the buffet which to be honest was on par with the food served at boarding school. Did i mention the service was shocking!! We will stay at the hotel again but well go into Hermanus for dinner next time.

    The Spa facility was excellent as well as the room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We apparently had a pool facing room but we were hidden behind the trees, so I would definitely not recommend asking for a pool facing room. The toilet was also not 100% clean on arrival. The room could do with a little personal touch e.g. a little anniversary wish or even a rusk for coffee.

    Beautiful gardens and pools. The spa pool was lovely to relax in. Views from the restaurants are awesome. Breakfast was also great.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    main dining room is not decorated very appealingly and seems very uninviting the buffet dining room is also very business like looking furnished and brown... I think both in desperate need of redecorating. we actually drove to Bot River to eat at better more inviting restaurants....

    very spacious, comfortable and quiet room with a superb view matresses and bedding great

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lost power one day was promised compensation which I never received. Service in resturant was slow. SPA did not answer there phone and nobody was at the desk. Waited 30 minutes. Asked front desk to help making appointment for the SPA. Was assured he would do this for us and leave us a message. When we returned later that night. No messsages and no appointment. Extremely disappointed.

    Extremly comfortable room. Great views and friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Theres nothing that we didn't like cause we loved every second of our time there

    Since we walked in on 12.04.2018 by you guys, we knew we made the site decision to go there. Kay at the front desk was excellent and Cindy in the restaurant was brilliant. That 2 ladies are really a good asset in your organisation.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The inside pool could have remained open a bit later. More chairs to accommodate more people. A late night indoor swim would have been lovely.

    Everything!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Old hotel rooms, cleanliness was severely lacking. I had to tell the staff what to do. Breakfast, nothing great for a five star hotel. The flapjacks and french toast were rock hard, flies on food, dirty chipped crockery. No pride in delivery and quality of food

    Not much to like except the scenery and location!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was freezing, kids toy room was a fight to get into, the suite was very small, the in room dining options were most limited I have ever found (and no kids menu: in dining or main restaurant), sofa bed that kids were to sleep on was impossibly hard (matress yes but sides and headboard gave them quite a few injuries)

    Location was safe and convenient with great views, beautiful pools and various kids facilities were an unexpected bonus, everything was clean and well designed, spa was amazinf

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The evening buffet was a bit pricey and far too much food for us so we ate from the Al Carte menu which was limited as it didn't serve fish. The accommodation included breakfast and the breakfast buffet was great.

    The room was lovely and clean, especially loved the bathroom. We had a beautiful view of the golf greens and the lagoon. Treated myself to a luxurious massage at the Spa and a soaking in the warm pool.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lunch menu was mainly burgers and pizzas. Nothing very tempting. The croissants at breakfast are a disaster. They are nothing like croissants, more like stale bread rolls. Main Course at dinner, while expensive, was rather bland and uninteresting. Definitely not up to the standard in the professional reviews. The duvets are too small for the king size beds, width -wise.

    Building is nice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Had t change rooms as no internet available in first room. second room had no handle to bathroom door and no mini bar set up and was more shabby

    very good Manager and serivce - good value

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I asked for pool facing and was given lagoon facing; I asked receptionist to register me as a member on mariot hotels and had to do it myself. The price that appears on booking.com and the price I had to pay was different.

    The breakfast and in room service during dinner

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The only negative comment I have during my entire stay was that I would have liked to sleep in a bit and enjoy my breakfast in, but this would have come at an extra cost of R 200.00 per person whereas my hotel bill already included by breakfast at R 225.00 per person. I request that this be looked into

    The room we stayed in over exceeded our expectations to such an extent that we never left it, but to eat. The service be it maintenance or room service or housekeeping was at it's best and I have yet to find another hotel in that makes you feel more comfortable and special. The first person I spoke to was Clarina and she is just so calm and understanding and I could not thank her enough for what she has done for us. Would definitely make any and all bookings through her again. The SPA came highly recommended and indeed not only lived up to our expectation, but rather exceeded this expectation, and I would definitely request Samantha and Thelma again. Staff were excellent from day one to our leaving Arabella Hotel and Spa. Upon any special request the chef would gladly oblige and make it happen as well as in room dining

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff in the fine dining restaurant were not trained nor eaten any of the dishes so couldn’t talk about the menu. That was really disappointing The hot breakfast had no veggies no tomatoes no mushrooms all meat! Our room had no kettle or coffee machine

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service at breakfast was poor, waited for our drinks, teatop was dirty. The Hotel needs some maintenance, eg outside furniture needs a splash of paint, there were cobwebs on the balcony.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room draw had dirt in it. Welcoming at check-in was not up to standard. Breakfast service was also not up to standard of what I expected. Had better experience at other Protea Hotels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The service was terrible. The staff are very friendly and nice but customer service was really bad. Waited ages for food at dinner. (about 45 mins) Waited ages for replacement of buffet items for breakfast (about 20 mins) Multiple tables around us also complained to the manager at one of the dinners about incorrect items, cold food, long waits. We also had hand marks all over the wall of the room we stayed in. We show reception pictures of them and asked for these to be removed and cleaned and they remained there all weekend. Reception then called our room at 10.30pm at night (and woke us up) to ask for pictures of the hand marks on the wall!

    The views were amazing and we got upgraded to a lagoon facing room. The actual hotel is beautiful with great facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service at the restaurant.waited too long for our order and the waiter does not check up on us or keep us informed.

    Spa facilities and outside pool area was great

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    on the night I went for dinner the waitress didn't attend me until I left and I received a call that I didn't sign my invoice and that she'll follow me to the room

    The view of the place from my room. I also enjoyed the hydraulic pool and steam/sauna rooms

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Grand Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The dinner was disappointing. The a la carte dinner was alright but the 'fine dining' was very much disappointing. Not what you expect for a hotel in this price range.

    Very nice swimming pool and surroundings. We very much enjoyed the spa and our overall stay. Breakfast was full and there was extensive choice. Also they had very nice coffee.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel itself was excellent, the only thing I don't like, is not having halaal restaurants close to the hotel . other than that, everything was amazing!

    We've been to the Arabella for our honeymoon and enjoyed it so much that we came for our first anniversary as well. We'd go back every year for each anniversary! We loved every minute spent there.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Easter hunt was a disappointment shame not much hunting and prices for kids. Cater more halaal dishes as well

    Child friendly. Staff well groomed we checked out at 12 but was surprised when we were told we can still make use of pool facilities that was awesome loved it atmosphere of staff including cleaning services is excellent and friendly

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Service @ the Hotel was overall Poor ,1 person @ the Pool area to serve food or drinks over the weekend ,Food quality on Friday night was also poor and also wrong ... Room was comfy & Golf Course fantastic but the Hotel needs to up its game in terms of food standards & quality ...

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was a let down in that it was poorly maintained and not well cleaned during our stay. Not all toiletries were replenished. The hotel housekeeping needs to be improved. On check in, the room furnishings still had a thick coat of dust on them. The wooden sliding door had an overgrowth of mould and possible rot with visible cracks to the room walls. Signing the kids up for the Easter program was of no use as the kids were disappointed with the poorly planned events. A suggestion would be to contact guests( the children registered for the day's program)in their respective rooms to let them know when an event was beginning. Also better poolside service from the poolside bar would be an incentive to want to order more. The chairs in the restaurant need cleaning. Given the price, housekeeping is letting the establishment down.

    The estate/hotel grounds were superbly maintained. The pool area was beautiful. The hotel staff were impeccable in their attentiveness and hospitality, a special note to the porter, Zweli, for his assistance on our arrival. The spa experience was awesome with a special note to Anelda for a fantastic massage. Our evening dining experience was again five star because of staff. Breakfast was superb.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel is not modern and it could be the hotel’s theme but it was not very appealing. The buffet supper was over priced for what was on offer. Service was not the greatest by restaurant staff for supper. For breakfast, there were birds flying around in the dinning area which was not very hygienic.

    The hotel has a lot to offer and is great in terms of activities on the property. Location is perfect and a great place for a family holiday

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    you asked! Buffet dinner cost excessive for people who only eat only what we need.R320.00 for a chicken curry plate...! I didn't ask for prices and it was not offered...so we just had a plate of chicken curry each...most expensive ever. The bathroom was superb except for the grouting on the edges...very very dirty,spoiled the experience. the free area in the spa, too crowded people should maybe book time. checking in was slow but efficient . selection of available TV channels ...who you catering to? DSTV ?

    the spar, and general service was friendly and excellent. food was most enjoyable...until I paid . the view was superb. checking out was faultless. overall a wonderful experience.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was very friendly. Upgraded us to room with a view of lagoon on request. Had lovely time relaxing at pool and spa. Lovely breakfast. Will def recommend.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restuarants had absolutely no halaal options. I saw many muslim couples there while I was there, which means the hotel is well supported by the muslims of Cape Town, yet they don't cater for halaal at all. It's very difficult to stay at a place for a few days when you can't eat the food. Especially when the nearest town is 30 minutes away.

    The pool and spa area is lovely. perfect for relaxation.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lunch ordered were pathetic. Chicken salad without chicken , Ceasar salad without the ceasar sauce, Burger with figs and rocket without the figs and rocket. Champagne ordered not in stock - after we have waited for an hour for the drinks! Overall very disapointing.

    Room clean and comfortable.Nice surroundings.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    restaurant menu was a bit limited.

    Was amazing from start to end. Plus they gave us a complimentary room upgrade to a deluxe suite as it was our anniversary.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have like the pools to be open a bit late maybe till 10pm especially the hydro since this is indoors. Also because I am muslim a much bigger variety of halal foods for dinner and breakfast.

    I had a great experience and the food was great and the service too. I enjoyed the peace and tranquility and the sence of paradise. loved the hydro pool and my bed was amazing big and I enjoyed the bath opening up to the room.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I notice details and unfortunately picked up that the carpets weren`t that clean.

    Really helpful staff that made sure I enjoyed my stay. They also gave me tips on places to visit.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although I didn't go to the hotel to watch tv the facility was completely out of date. No news channel not even SABC. No DSTV remote to check what was on. A complete upgrade is needed. I have stayed in 2* Guest houses with better entertainment. Also someone needs to check the wi fi connection. It states connected on your phone but without the code nothing happens. We had to contact reception to be given this number. It should be part of the information pack. I felt the charge for the Saturday buffet meal was excessive at R320 per person.No one advised us of the cost beforehand and we only found out when we paid. The food was good but not that level. We had lunch at the excellent nearby Benguela Estate the following day with wine for less than R500. for the 2 of us.

    Spacious. Very friendly staff. Breakfast excellent.Beautiful pool area and my wife loved the spa. I didn't make use of the golf course only the practise area. Next time I will.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The menu in the a la cart Resturant is very limited and the food not good at all. The Buffet Resturant food and service was good. I sugget you close the a la cart Resturant as it does not meet the standard

    The veiw from our room overlooking the golf course, Buffet Breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a 5 star it fell way short of what we expected, Our room was a super delux it was small and needed a coat of paint also the tiles in the shower were full of mould. As for the dining room it was like a staff canteen

    The spa and golf course

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some of the staff were misinformed about certain things - is there a pool menu, can you order snacks at the bar. Different answers from reception, the bar and the pool bar staff left us confused. Restaurant and bar staff generally lacking excellent customer service, it was if anything, average. Everything else was fabulous.

    Large room, great pool area - although not enough deck chairs!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    We were upgraded by the Hotel to the Presedential Suite and we only found out when we arrived at Arabella. It was amazing and we still paid the price quoted us. It was our 10yr anniversary so nice surprise! thank you

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked the hotel to celebrate my 21st wedding anniversary and thus asked for a quiet room. We were allocated a room right next to the staircase and lift. We were interrupted twice by staff wanting to check the minibar. The 1st check took place an hour after checking in whereby the staff member knocked once and continued to open the door the 2nd check was early the next morning. Both occasions were extremely embarrassing and inappropriate.

    The spacious and comfortable room together with the spa facilities and the breakfast

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was not cleaned very well ( dirty diapers in bathroom); no adapters to charge your electronic devices. When I asked for that I was told there is none available. Inacceptable for a hotel like that, there should be at least one in each room!

    Breakfast was very good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff are not very attentive, and take quite a while to serve in restaurant and pool area. Spa was very pleasant and the staff there are very attentive

    Great venue and lovely pool and spa

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms not cleaned timeously and pools not heated especially for children as they not allowed in Spa.Not very children friendly

    Room very comfortable and spacious

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff needs to be properly trained. Some staffs uniforms were noticeably dirty. Management is not hands on when it comes to staff which means service delivery is slow and poor. This takes away from the incredible beauty and splendor which is available at this wonderful hotel. For example the Michelin quality chef needs the right waiters to deliver his unbelievable product.

    The place itself is incredible and worth the trip despite the slow service. The staff are friendly but staff management is poor. The chef at the Arabella restaurant is simply exceptional. (A La Carte) I absolutely loved the peace and tranquility and views from our room. Ask for Lagoon views! Make sure you book your time at the spa well in advance. Dont assume there will be space for you.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The fact that you cannot order anything to eat at swimming pool any resort offers that. very limited and poor wifi. you not allow to eat or take your cup of tea that you paid for and drink at different settings. just let one feel that you are limited to certain areas - this is a 6 star hotel please act like one.

    wonderful setting and beautiful surroundings. very comfortable rooms. maybe need a bit of revamp. swimming facilities beautiful clean.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff is not trained, did not communicate well, was unfriendly, and ruined our experience. The hotel are obviously are only managed to make money from government and company conferences.

    The quality and maintenance of the golf coarse was fantastic, and the setting/location is great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have loved to have access to the hydropool outside of spa hours to have a late night dip or early morning swim. The 8 to 8 is a bit restrictive.

    Really enjoyed our stay for one night. The attention to detail incredible and the grounds are immaculate. We had a spa treatment and enjoyed the facilities there very much. Everything is impeccably clean and all staff are very caring and friendly.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    check in not satisfying-waiting time with the pool area too little sunbeds for this amount of rooms-people had to ly down on the grass

    Very good bfast nice spacious rooms with a nice view everything very spacious and nice design

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some staff at the restaurant. One or two outwardly racist guests . But either then that i had a fabulous time .

    The overall package welcoming staff.The great variety of food comfortable beds. It served my purpose of being there to relax and enjoy

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a musty/ damp smell in the hotel. The carpet in the restaurant was grungy. Skimpy tea/coffee provisions in room. Barfridge not stocked at all on our first day.

    The spa facilities and outdoor pools were great

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The electricity was off when we arrived with a promise to go back on at 6 pm. This didn''t materialize and it seemed no alternate provision was made to accommodate guests elsewhere in the hotel ( spa hydrotherapy) . Although there was a "power outage menu" this was no more than burger and salad options. I do think there was more opportunity to arrange hot food alternatives ( braai options) which could also have been considered. Nevertheless after discussing it with the manager he did comp the room rate for that night but it isn't really a sustainable solution.

    There is a large variety on offer for breakfast. Sufficient to even accommodate my banting lifestyle

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dining room carpet was rather dirty but our stay was post Xmas and New Year. This is also a family hotel and I suspect the carpets will soon be cleaned

    Currently, surrounding areas are suffering badly with the drought. Arabella has its own borehole and hence hasn't a problem with sufficient water for its guests. Arabella is a lovely hotel in a beautiful location. The golf course is superb and there are numerous facilities for families and non golfers. The staff are extremely friendly and courteous.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The service in restaurants and pool bar.

    Food was great. Service was poor. Overcharged at pool bar and very poor service. Great breakfast. Room service was good. Room was spacious and comfortable as well as bathroom.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When charging R280 per head for a buffet, you CANNOT run out of food! ( particularly lamb! And then serve beef instead- unacceptable) The resort was permanently short staffed at the pool bar, the top bar and the coffee bar. The room we stayed in (310) was a safety hazard for our children with the balcony glass so loose it’s almost falling out! Please attend to the maintenance of the building ASAP!!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waitress blowing on the cutlery before setting a table. Disgusting!! When we ariv d we were given our room card and left alone. We had to fetch our own luggage and find our own room. Being there for the 1st time, i found this uncomfortable.

    I loveddddd the bed.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms are 'tired'.... We have been visiting the hotel for the last 17 years...and not much has changed. Only the soft furnishings in the lounge area. The bathroom had a full compliment of rather worn towels upon arrival, and after the first night...no face cloths, and I feel that a Nespresso coffee machine with pods, just a few, is what most hotels supply these days. There was a mix up with the dates that we were booked quite obviously, as on Sunday 7th around 6pm...someone tried to gain entry with a key card and when I went to the door, there stood a woman, with her luggage on the trolley and another lady peered around from the right hand side. I explained that we were booked in that room until Monday 8th January(yesterday) Twice our key cards were deactivated... Our friends booked through the hotel and got a price approximately R500 less per day than we did. We usually do book through the hotel direct, but when my husband called to try and book, he was told that reservations were busy and they would call back. 90 minutes later, no one had called and so I suggested we go onto Booking.com(we've used your services before and been most satisfied) which we did and made the reservation...only to find out from our friends who decided 2 days after we had booked, to come for 2 nights(we spent 3 nights)and we are also Marriot Hotel Reward Members...but, I omitted to put that details in when booking, and subsequently, when chatting to someone at reservations at the hotel on the phone....while staying there....they didn't seem to find out membership number on the system. The fact that they no longer serve toasted sandwiches and salads in the lounge area and their excuse was that it's too far to walk from the downstairs kitchen, as people complain that the food arrives cold....surely a toasted sandwich maker could be installed upstairs at the bar area ...or somewhere up stairs? The food at the pool in not good....in fact rather poor.

    The rooms are 'tired'.... We have been visiting the hotel for the last 17 years...and not much has changed. Only the soft furnishings in the lounge area. The bathroom had a full compliment of rather worn towels upon arrival, and after the first night...no face cloths, and I feel that a Nespresso coffee machine with pods, just a few, is what most hotels supply these days. There was a mix up with the dates that we were booked quite obviously, as on Sunday 7th around 6pm...someone tried to gain entry with a key card and when I went to the door, there stood a woman, with her luggage on the trolley and another lady peered around from the right hand side. I explained that we were booked in that room until Monday 8th January(yesterday) Twice our key cards were deactivated... Our friends booked through the hotel and got a price approximately R500 less per day than we did. We usually do book through the hotel direct, but when my husband called to try and book, he was told that reservations were busy and they would call back. 90 minutes later, no one had called and so I suggested we go onto Booking.com(we've used your services before and been most satisfied) which we did and made the reservation...only to find out from our friends who decided 2 days after we had booked, to come for 2 nights(we spent 3 nights)and we are also Marriot Hotel Reward Members...but, I omitted to put that details in when booking, and subsequently, when chatting to someone at reservations at the hotel on the phone....while staying there....they didn't seem to find out membership number on the system. The fact that they no longer serve toasted sandwiches and salads in the lounge area and their excuse was that it's too far to walk from the downstairs kitchen, as people complain that the food arrives cold....surely a toasted sandwich maker could be installed upstairs at the bar area ...or somewhere up stairs? The food at the pool in not good....in fact rather poor.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very uncomfortable mattresses - our room 317 mattress looked and felt like it was over 10years old. Resulted a very uncomforable sleep.

    Lovely Spa and Pool area

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly welcome, easy access to all facilities, mini bar and 24hr in-room service a bonus. Bedding comfy, sauna, steam room and pool facilities assures a very comfortable wait until the next pamper session in the spa. The view on both sides of the building is beautiful and a great bonus to take it all in from a private balcony. The live music entertainment and friendly staff assured a perfectly special evening. Breakfast and dinner buffet caters for all taste buds. Service excellence in all departments. We will be back! 😉👌

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Grand Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not enough Loungers nor towels. Sprinkler system soaked everyone by the pool. Management not available and when the were there was no follow up or feedback.

    The location is superb but spoiled by service and insufficient sun loungers, towels, staff to serve at pool.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool menu is poor and only one restaurant is not enough for such a hotel with so many rooms

    Outstanding helpful and friendly stuff (very unusual for a large hotel), direct access to very beautiful golf course

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. The hotel could not find our booking, they made us wait an hour without offering anything to drink or help us make the wait pleasant 2. The pillows on the balcony furniture were torn and wet- it looked old and worn. 3. They offer Nescafe coffee sachets and milk pods - for a 5star you expect Nespresso machine or at least good filter coffee or even a plunger AND fresh milk in the bar fridge. 4. The bath was small for a Luxury suite room. Terrible. 5. The Spa bathrooms were not looked after - dirty towels lying around. The worst Spa we have ever attended. 6. The Hydro pool was cold - a massive disappointment. 7. The Hydro area beds were not cleaned regularly- used towels lying around. 8. The way the senior staff handled all the complaints and the communication were poor and not at 5 star level. 9. This hotel is definitely not 5 star.

    We do appreciate that they upgraded us to a luxury suite room when they couldn’t find our booking. The breakfast was well prepared and variety of options Room service was good

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The main problem was the organisation and service. It was terrible. Here are the highlights... Numerous attempts by phone and email to confirm our booking before arrival and no reply.. no confirmation and didn’t reply to my booking.com messages either... so we arrived without knowing for sure we even had a room... During our stay - Spa treatments fully booked days in advance, so nothing available for us. Not enough sunbeds - we had to lie on the grass all day with about 30% of the other guests.. Not good enough for this quality of Hotel... The main restaurant doesn’t allow shorts so our kids, not having full length trousers with them, meant we couldn’t eat together unless we ate buffet every evening! (We got around this on the last night with the kids in Pyjama bottoms!) “Segway tour” Unsafe - 3 damaged ones out of 5 we rented and I had a nasty accident ! Nearly broke my arm, left grazed and bruised when the Segway unit power cut out without any warning and sent me sprawling onto the tarmac face down. We walked home. Our quads sunset tour - the prices were deceiving as they don’t include transfers to/from Hotel AND when we tried to book the desk tried charging us almost double the cost of the entire tour just for the transfers... so we cancelled. (and they tried charging for that too...) Service levels very poor and slow. So finally, I asked to speak to the Hotel manager but despite leaving my phone number with the front desk; he never came back to me either... It could be great but needs a major service rethink.

    Great hotel setting, surroundings and proximity to lots of holiday activities. The quality of rooms and public areas was first class and there was a lovely feeling of space and light everywhere.. Good mini golf! Nice looking main golf course (I am not a golfer)

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. We had asked for a crib for our infant during our booking and had called to confirm if this would be done and this was confirmed however this wasn’t made available for the duration of our stay 2. The pillows were rather hard and big

    The entire breakfast offering was great and the staff were patient and helpful despite it being rather full. We asked for a room close to the pool in our booking and we received just that which was great. Housekeeping was also efficient and porters and security very friendly It is a very beautiful venue and extremely child friendly and we will certainly be back

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No discount for playing on the golf course despite our 11 night stay .. I asked if their was any packages but apparently only through a golfing agency.not enough practice balls on the range. Often had to wait for them to be collected first. Hotel as a cooperate feel to it . When you asked a question for a late check out time I was promised several times that someone would get back to me .. they didn’t .. I had to badger them.. finally got through to someone who gave us till 2 .pool very cold outside hardly anyone but children use it. Food by the pool nice enough but considering the hotel is not far from the sea .. a variety of fishes and prawns etc should be part of the barbecue. I think more outdoor cooking such as Braii”s should be available not just at lunch.

    The location is breathtaking , the staff were very kind and always polite. Lots of water stations , helpful as it was hot. Spa treatments were really nice . The best advice we got from Louis the chef who has a mind full of ideas and places to visit which we did.. every tip he gave was perfect and because of him , we had a great holiday.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner value for money. Did not enjoy the dinners. Service from staff was a bit inconsistent. Elliot was an absolute exception. He went out of his way to give excellent and friendly service.

    We loved and will be back. Setting great. Cleanliness and decor beautiful and fresh. Stunning facilities and great breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Grand Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was dirty when checking in especially the toilet area, the floor was wet with Pee. No second robe for partner and things missing out of the bathroom. The shower was all so dirty with what seemed to be mould. Staff seemed to have a very unhelpful attitude except for the guy who checked us in, he tried to rectify the problems but it just became to much.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great venue. Transport to and from major centers is expensive. They should offer shuttle services. It was almost half the price to uber there than their service provider. Only problem I couldn't uber back to Cape Town as they don't operate in the ares yet

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioner did not make the room cool. Tv was dated, could not attach a usb drive. Few vegetarian options in the menu.

    Delightful setting. Room was nice and clean and staff were very friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only problem with this hotel is the swimming pool is so cold to the point its almost unbearable to go in hence why every time I stay here the pool is empty of people. Please arabella just warm the pool up to a normal temperature

    Food quality is amazing Spa is great golf course unreal Kids love this place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This hotel has so much potential but the service is shocking, it felt like the staff were on their own holiday - the bar upstairs closed 1 hour before closing time with people still in there. It is also overpriced, they are charging 5 star prices when it’s actually a 3 star hotel

    Golf course is amazing!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    * The dinner buffet was very strange. We wanted a specific table which had not been cleared but the staff told us as we had to sit at another table. I didn't want that table and so we had to get our own cutlery from another table! The dinner itself was very poor. Overall it was what I would expect from a 3 star hotel. * They watered all the grass outside our room in the middle of the day in the middle of a drought! * I phoned reception twice in 10 minutes. No response. * Wifi was essentially non-existent after the first night. Had to use my own internet. * TV was small.

    * In general the staff were very kind and courteous. * The room was lovely and big. * The spa was great. * Enjoyed the breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Once again, this has been a revisit to Arabella purely because we enjoy the whole experience that this establishment offers and will continue to visit yearly, well done to the team at Arabella.

    Stayed in December 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: