1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. South Africa hotel reviews
  3. Limpopo hotel reviews
  4. Gemsbokfontein hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Thula Meetse Mystical Mountain Lodge

Reviews of Thula Meetse Mystical Mountain Lodge

Farm 173 Portion 2, Zwartkloof Road, 0560 Gemsbokfontein, South Africa

#1 of 2 hotels in Gemsbokfontein

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 101 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    8.3

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2022

    8.0
    Good value for money. Quiet and serene.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very friendly and welcoming. Felt real at home. Beautiful setting.

    Stayed in July 2022

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2022

    8.0
    Beautiful views and Log cabins
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Road going to the lodge needs a bigger car (suv) or ot should be high.

    Beautiful views and well maintained garden.

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2022

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location of the place is exceptional if you love remote place. The pics on the website are not doing justice to the place. i loved everything about it.

    Stayed in July 2022

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2022

    9.0
    Quite and peaceful weekend break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Heating blankets in the beds would have been nice.

    Idyllic place in the mountains next to a small river. Nice and easy hiking trail to a small waterfall on the property. Delicious breakfast in the restaurant next to the pool. Will come back in summer to take a bath in the pool.

    Stayed in June 2022

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2022

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Silence

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2022

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road to the venue was so pathetic

    The environment and accommodation

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2022

    9.0
    Happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No network. Wifi is poor

    Everything

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2022

    9.0
    It was an awesome weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception we received was excellent Zania was so professional and kept ensuring that we are comfy Her support staff were great

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2022

    8.0
    was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing much, we all know that business was hit by covid closures so they are also trying to get back on their feet

    the location was great, we really needed a place just to rest and Thula Meetsi offerred exactly that. and Zania was very friendly and also offered to make us food as we arrived after the restaurant was closed

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2022

    9.0
    very relaxing food was amazing with no Wifi it was very difficult
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Apartment
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no WiFi couldn’t attend urgent conference meetings bad road to entrance daily replacement of towels or bedding didn’t take place no cleaning of dishes

    open and relax Xania make us feel so welcome the whole time

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2022

    7.0
    I enjoyed the stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Apartment
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The roads leading to the lodge are not maintained,would recommend a 4x4,no network so it's not good to be stuck without being able to recieve help

    Loved the service it was wonderful

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2022

    8.0
    Best bush life experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gravel road with the sand and those rock's. Hope fully you guys can invest in queen beds couples can't be sleeping on single beds⅞

    The staff were amazing 👏 Xaniam and Godfrey were extremely great I hope management is recognizing their hard work. Xaniam is an all rounder she works very hard and interacts well with the guests. Godfrey very sweet and humble. The only thing that is standing between me and returning is the grave road👎I really hope this can be resolved.

    Stayed in February 2022

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2022

    8.0
    Peaceful and refreshing
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The road before you reach the lodge

    The sound of the river😍😍peaceful

    Stayed in December 2021

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2022

    7.0
    Stay was good but something should be done about the roads and the no network/WiFi issue
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Chalet
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To get onto and off the property was a nightmare, roads were so and and if it rains you are screwed. 10kms of dirt road, rocks and boulders I don't suggest going there with a car. Absolutely no network or WIFI which distressing. Also the exit was flooded and nothing was being done about it until we went to help On the day we had to leave

    Place was beautiful and a good experience. Staff was helpful and friendly and made us feel at home

    Stayed in January 2022

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2022

    9.0
    Thula Meetse - The Gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Other than the swimming pool, Putt-Putt, table tennis and some board games, there aren't other things for children to do, especially on rainy days. I wasn't too worried but I think a bit of safety orientation can help address some concerns, in case one is worried about possible fire, flooding, snakes, animals etc. I think more hiking trail options can be introduced like an option of a longer, more challenging trail for experienced hikers. We hiked to the waterfall and back. It felt very short and left me wondering if I couldn't go up the gorge to see where the water was coming from. I think a bit more information about the area's plant, animal and bird life as well as the history can make the short hike more interesting and educational for the kids.

    Perfect location for some downtime, nestled inside a gorge full of lush trees. The swooshing sound of the stream cutting through the property, with some units right next to the water, is calming and maybe even therapeutic. The hiking trail to a waterfall within the property is enjoyable for a bit of physical activity. The place is great during the rainy season. I recommend the use of a 4x4 vehicle although any car with good ground clearance will still do, have more than enough supplies. Leave the children at home if you can.

    Stayed in December 2021

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2021

    7.0
    not bad
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dust road was terrible, the food was NOT nice and the waiter didn’t have a clue about the menu. The rooms had no built in cupboards. Parking was far from the units and it was raining. No heated pool. Wifi was very bad and unavailable in the units. Pool table was missing a single ball.

    The place was clean an spacious, the bed was comfortable. Shower was big enough for two people and the water was always hot. The morning hike to the waterfall was freshing

    Stayed in December 2021

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2021

    8.0
    Mr Sephuma
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Basic Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fact that there is no daily cleaning if rooms

    The friendliness of staff and the location

    Stayed in December 2021

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Basic Apartment
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service was great, I didn't get the lady's name but she was so good to us and the place is sooo beautiful 😍😍

    Stayed in November 2021

  • Reviewed: 24 November 2021

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    To reach the place was a bit of a hassle. We had to drive on a gravel road for a while, and then the road to the lodge was not clear, not marked that well.

    The host was amazing, and everyone who works there always so friendly and helpful. The place is absolutely beautiful, the rooms were spacious for the amount of money we payed. Definitely great value for money.

    Stayed in November 2021

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2021

    9.0
    It was excellent. I finally found a tranquil place to rest.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 1 night

    Phone reception was the problem and the Wifi was not working well

    The location was excellent, exactly what i needed. A place away from the city lights, peaceful, quiet and surrounded by trees and mountains. No passing cars.

    Stayed in October 2021

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2021

    9.0
    Home away from home
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sorry to disappoint I loved the property

    Firstly the staff members I have never met people who are so friendly and concerned about our stay Xania made sure that we are comfortable and welhemina thank you for the clean charlet.The property is amazing the inside nje is so beautiful.I am definitely coming back again👌👌

    Stayed in November 2021

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2021

    7.0
    One for the future!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Clean well kept property and chalet. The staff was awesome and the on-site restaurant and bar was a big plus!

    The cold swimming pool! LOL!

    Stayed in October 2021

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2021

    7.0
    Quiet wilderness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The waterfall and dam were dry. This could be communicated better to ensure guests are not disappointed. Apart from table tennis, pool (snooker), putt putt and swimming there’s nothing else to do.

    Beautiful gardens, pool and cabins. Staff are very committed to making your stay worthwhile.

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2021

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Chalet
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When driving in there is a sand place where smaller cars would find it difficult to drive pass

    Stayed in September 2021

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!