Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Simbavati River Lodge 4 stars

Enkhulu Gate, Argyle Road, 1380 Timbavati Game Reserve, South Africa

#5 of 9 hotels in Timbavati Game Reserve

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 38 hotel reviews

9.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.7

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    9.2

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 13

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent - Safari Package
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was by far one of the best safari experiences I've had. Every game drive was filled with excitement and an abundance of game. The facilities were amazing and the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent - Safari Package
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff at Simbavati was wonderful, accommodating your every need. Our guide, Kruger and tracker, Hemet were top notch. The game drives were incredible. We saw the big 5 as well as many other animals. Good food. Loved having the elephants and warthogs wander near our tent during our down time. The Landrover was super comfortable for the game drives.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Tent - Safari Package
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wi-fi network was patchy.

    The staff was super nice. Loved the warmth and attention. Kruger our guide was great and very well informed. The outdoor shower was a delight.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There could be some binoculars at the dining area?

    The staff is amazing, the food is amazing, the atmosphere between the clients is amazing. It's fabulous ! The guides and trackers are so great as well.

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Slightly disappointed that we did not see many animals or birds on or from camp but this was compensated for by wonderful game drives.

    Accommodation and food excellent. Staff pleasant and helpful at all times.

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Had a hiccup with the hot water, and as the shower is outside, July is not the best bet to shower under cold water, exposed to the elements!

    The tent accommodation was superb, and we saw the Big 5 in one three-hour Safari! The staff bend over backwards to assist you, and the guides are wonderful!

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Would have liked to have meal times earlier. Lunch at 2pm with a large dinner at 8pm when one is likely to have an early night in order to get up at 5am is too late in my opinion.

    New beautifully designed camp. Attentive and friendly staff Excellent food.

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service was extremely mixed. Our guide who drove us around for 4 days was disinterested and ignored us when we asked questions. There was also a very heavy emphasis to tip all members of staff when the experience was very costly already. We were also forced to sit with our guide even though we had explained we wanted a bit of privacy at dinner to celebrate our engagement.

    Really authentic african bush experience. Beauty treatments great.

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    If you are not there for game drives you still have to wait for them to be over since meals are arranged for them. dinner could have been as early as 7PM also the bar prices were higher than expected.

    everything except the suprise surcharge of R388 for access to the game.

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wonderful and relaxing. Very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Seamless organisation. Outstanding service.

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Great experience. Very good guide (Mike) on our game drives. The employees are friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff was so amazing.

There are also 5 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 13

Guests also reviewed these properties: