Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Townhouse Hotel 4 stars

60 Corporation Street, 8000 Cape Town, South Africa

#70 of 152 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 613 hotel reviews

8.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.5

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.8

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very helpful and friendly staff. Efficiently booked in, made trip booking for us and confirmed details left at our room, food in all venues and sittings very good and value for money. Reception assisted us on our late check out.....forgot to mention we changed our airport pick up just an hour before our arrival and the guy was there waiting for us. Dubai hospitality can learn a thing or two from these guys!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I couldn't find any fault with anything, I was there for business, was close to where I needed to be and the food was good and the staff pleasant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We sometimes felt that we were putting the breakfast team out a little, despite there being only 3 people at breakfast!

    Spacious room with a lovely view of Table Mountain, great shower and friendly staff (on the whole). Great gym (a 5 min walk from the hotel) and a plentiful breakfast.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom is glass with a modesty panel which doesn’t cover all modesty, so if you’re traveling with friends be aware of this (although it didn’t cause an issue). Staff at breakfast are very relaxed, making you feel a little that you’re being a nuisance!

    Friendly staff, good size room, perfectly good accommodation for the city centre at a good price!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not the best location if you are a tourist in town with limited time. Is a very short taxi ride to Table Top Mountain which is very convenient, but it is not located in a neighborhood conducive to walking at night searching for restaurants. It is also very close by foot to the crafts market, which is also good, but you need a taxi to reach the V&A waterfront where you will find most restaurants and stores heated to tourists.

    Excellent service from the check-in to the varied buffet breakfast. Every staff member we interacting with was pleasant and professional. The room was huge, the bed was very comfortable. Regardless of the water shortage in Cape Town we didn't lack a super clean room with very clean towels and linens. The room decoration made us feel more like at a home than a hotel -very classy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Certain facilities need replacement or refurbishment. There was leakage in the toilet after room service.

    The decor, rooms, great colours, very comfortable. Bar is cool and cosy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    bathtub inside the room and bathroom separeted by a glass... not for everybody

    Fantastic restaurant inside. a perfect position to see all the city by steps and just 10 minutes by taxi to the waterfront and 10 minutes by taxi to table mountain. Parking is a plus!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Don't walk around after dark; not safe. Parking situation is strange, but fine. Bathroom is not private.

    Breakfast was great, but didn't start until 6:30. We usually had to be gone at 6:30 or earlier for our daily events, so only got to go 1-2 times. Clean. Polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The breakfast had no bacon!!! And sometimes the hot food was taken away when we came for breakfast (maybe 30 min before the breakfast was over). The bathroom was cold. We would like a possibility to put on some heat when it is cold outside. I also missed the opportunity to go outside on a veranda or a terrace some place at the hotel.

    The people working at Townhouse hotel was very friendly and helpful!! We had a nice room. The bar was nice. Fresh fruit for breakfast everyday was nice. I like that the hotel took the water crisis seriously and gave us tips to how we could reduce the use of water.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The furniture in the room was meant for business folks, very professional types. Probably they don't expect couples on holiday or families on vacation. We moved the chairs for our convenience, but every day they were put back in the original places. A bit irritating. After the 2nd day we just stopped moving the chair.

    Fantastic location, right in the city centre, but away from the crowds. The room was a basic hotel room, nothing special. The breakfast spread was on par with even 5* hotels. The staff were very courteous, and even gave cookies every evening! We went during the water restrictions time, yet faced no problem whatsoever. Would recommend to all.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 11 nights

    the room was big with a very comfortable king size bed and all comforts :nespresso mashine and free capsules of coffee, free bottles of water per day eventhough there is a limit of consumption in water ,24/7 room service with extremely fresh products and very tasty ones ,very friendly staff ready to make you happy ,a very good restaurant, safe parking whizz working ,walking distance from everything must see as its in District 6, also near to my city bus, taxi cabs and Bree street with all trendy restaurants and bars, 10 minutes from Kloof street with the rest of them .its the hotel you have to be while in Capetown !!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 14 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!!

    Staff were super friendly,indeed went out of their way to assist. Restaurant food divine with a wonderful spread for breakfast. Hotel is centrally placed,easy to get around.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Compact Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    More choices at breakfast for people with food allergies.

    I am gluten intolerant, the chefs at the Restaurant really went out of their way to get food I can eat :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 13 nights

    It's not a major thing, but for the drinks and meals there was a voluntary option to donate to a Kids programme. After settling the bill it became apparent that a standard donation had been added for each item. Only 6 R which equals to less than 50 eurocents, so not a real problem but still unexpected. Or I missed the small print.

    The breakfast was excellent, staff very friendly, the room price in the end varied a lot per day with the high season (Easter) being 2,5 as high as the week afterwards resulting in a very acceptable overall average price/ day; nice lounge space for casual meeting, relaxing and light meals. For my purposes the location was excellent. If the (business) venues are closer to say the waterfront, this is a bit farther removed, but still doable. They took sensible measure to save water and encourage guests to help them with that.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wi-fi didnt want to connect when we checked in, but the staff at the reception helped

    I liked the fact that the attractive areas were nearby. The facility was neat and the staff was user friendly. I will definitely come back.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rude staff when we checked in and at Breakfast the following morning. The reception staff had no clue about First Thursdays and it happens every month just around the corner from the hotel. I have never been asked to settle the bill upon check in so we didn't even bother to order any extras during our stay. Our room was on the top floor, did not sleep at all due to aircon noises on the roof.

    Location was good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Can't think of anything.

    Friendly staff, Cozy and warm atmosphere, excellent breakfast, super fast elevators. Newspapers were a bonus. Coffee facilities in the room appreciated. Good tv programmes. Hope to be back soon

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Service at the restaurant downstairs is extremmely slow.There is a need to perhaps hire casual workers especially during events such as jazz fest.We had to always ask for refills without them noticing, stand up to pay bills etc.The bar is always left unattended.The best option is to ask someone from reception to call them for us for the back office.

    Vicinity,comfort

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a little longer on check out day but overall great stay and very convenient value for money hotel.

    Great hotel in the town center near the police and court buildings - excellent staff who could not do enough for you - Namibi the you barman was terrific!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel seems to be running a "con" exercise. Seemingly because of the drought, the hotel provided a 5 litre bottle of water in our room. I considered that sensible as it avoided use of municipal water for brushing teeth and basic drinking (although it was not cold). On leaving we were told that we were required to pay R 100, because we had used part of it. It was said there was a notice on the water to that effect. I had seen the notices about water saving, but not one that I would be required to pay any let alone an extravagant amount for the water. I emphasise two matters: I have never seen a 5 litre bottle of water in a hotel in my life(and no one would normally have a need to use it) and reasonably concluded that it had a direct bearing on the drought; the price of the water would probably be less than R 20. No manager was available to deal with my complaint. I accordingly was compelled to pay the amount.

    Breakfast was good Service good, except for one matter referred to below

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    The hotel is well situated next to the Parliament, the pedestrian streets and the restaurants. The room was great, although without nice view because at the second level. It was very nicely designed, with a private terrace and contemporary bathroom/shower. The breakfast was fabulous, with numerous choices. Within waking distance (attention however), restaurants and bars and museums.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There were no toilet brushes in the room or conference or facility bathrooms. So when making a No. 2 it was hard to tidy up after myself. Breakfast restaurant staff confuse orders and are hard to locate when needed. It seems there are different people are helping each table and this seems to create confusion.

    Late night coffee shop/restaurant is a great service and needed once you arrive back from a night out.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I had been advised by Reservations to upgrade to a bigger room due to my 4 night stay. I appreciated this advice as I enjoyed the extra space and did not feel like an over-nighter

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent choice for breakfast. Good city location. Helpful and friendly staff. Prices in Capetown have increased since our previous visit to Townhouse, but quality st the hotel remains high.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The shower drain was slightly blocked with hair etc when we arrived, but otherwise the room was very clean. One seafood dish we had for a dinner at the restaurant was not great (felt like everything came out of the freezer), but their weekly changing main dishes and steaks were good.

    Great hotel! The staff were very polite but friendly and helpful, the breakfast and dinner at the restaurant were overall tasty, the interior decoration was modern and with good taste, the room was spacious with nice balcony to sit with comfy bed. Location was also superb - right in the middle of the city but quiet during night, safe location to walk back from the main bar / restaurant street during the night. We would recommend and would definitely like to come back.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We have nothing to complain about the property but just be aware that at night the area didn’t feel safe to walk around in so take taxis.

    We stayed in room 203. The room was large and very clean. We didn’t have much of view (we were expecting a city view in our booking) but it didn’t matter as we were out all day. The bed was very comfortable and it was lovely and quiet. The breakfast was excellent and there were lots of choice. The receptionists were very helpful and informative. The hotel is right by parliament and District 6 Museum.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wish all rooms had a bar fridge

    It's a little piece of heaven found in the heart of Cape Town. It nearby Parliament so you might see someone special too. From the cafe to the restaurant to the gym, it's all great.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Compact Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was allocated a really nice room with a balcony when my original room was not available for early check in. The restaurant at this hotel is excellent both dinner and breakfast are fantastic. The hotel gave very good advise and suggestions to guest regarding the water shortage in Cape Town and how we can help.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the bath room seals were broken, I reported it on the first day, it was never fixed until I left. They brought a cleaner to asses the condition instead of a maintenance personnel.

    Breakfast was delicious, fresh bakes , room was neat and spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Ground floor lounge is dirty, and very unfriendly!! Business centre could not assist with (simple) printing request.

    Bedrooms good. Lounge grubby. Restaurant so so. Business centre poor.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Standard Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room 210 was tiny. I was travelling on my own so didn't matter much but almost claustrophobic for a couple. The window was 'whited out' with a film so you couldn't see anything outside. Water dripping from the air con in the bathroom. Felt a bit thin for a 4-star.

    Great location and very clean room. Bed was very comfortable and room was quiet. Good options for breakfast, very nice birchner muesli.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I really can’t find fault with anything

    This is a terrific hotel in a great city location. Just a short taxi ride to the waterfront yet peaceful sonyou don’t have to endure the crowds. Food in both the restaurant and cafe / bar is first class with a great team of people.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Everything was perfect from the staff very nice to the room and the restaurant. Food was very good especially the breakfast (lot of choice). The staff was GREAT, very helpful with activities booking etc, always available and smiling. They made our stay really perfect. Parking easy to access from inside the hotel, lot of places. Room with an amazing view on Table Mountain. The hotel location is also good. We will recommand this hotel to friends. Thank you very much for everything!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast cuppachino charged for. Only coffee tea etc included. First time I’ve seen this in a hotel.

    Room was excellent. Breakfast was fine. Excellent location in the heart of Cape Town. Very clever parking app!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Thay for get all day to late free water and batroom shampo,sets.Thats all if you want thay bring it.

    All was good.Best breakfeast and big nice delux room woth table mounten view ,bad was very comfortable.Thank you so much.I was alone it was safe area.Only at nigth i come to my hotel with uber taxi.It s better.It s near all atrations,to long stress#compsny garden,green market.The safe its good.You can choos these hotel that was for me 5 stars😉😍🤗 And Cape Town it s wonderfull.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    PAMELA WAS EXCELLENT, MESSI CHECKED ME IN AND WAS NOT GIVEN DIRECTIONS AS HOW TO GET TO THE ROOM, WAITED AT THE PARKING BOOM FOR 10 MINUTES WHILST THE CODE WAS BEING PROCESSED. WHILST LOST,TRYING TO FIND MY WAY TO THE ROOM, MESSI GOT HOLD OF ME TO INFORM ME THEN OF A PARKING CHARGE. GREAT ROOM , PEACEFUL, WILL DEFINITELY USE YOUR ESTABLISHMENT AGAIN.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Staff was very helpful all the time. They even prepared packed-breakfast when we had to leave early. Big and clean room. Close to city center. Restaurant was lovely too.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Undercover parking is extremely annoying, struggled to get out upon departure. R95 per day additional cost for parking was only disclosed upon arrival.

    The staff are very friendly and the food at the Restaurant was quite good.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only negative remark would be for the Car Park which was charged. At such property the Parking should be given free of cost

    Everything was ideally available for a perfect t holiday.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The restaurant. I ordered a grilled steak and they give me something that looked like a boiled one.

    I’ve stayed in this hotel several times. I asked for a room with a view on ‘Table Mountain’ and they give me, time and again. Many thanks. Most probably I’ll be back in this hotel in April

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fresh air exchange in the bathroom was a little weird and sometimes chilly and there could have been a few more hangers in the closet since there were no drawers for clothing but these were pretty minor issues

    Good central location, the breakfast under the B&B option was excellent, the staff were very nice and always accommodating

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room, though a double was very small and had a rubbish view. Guess that's what you get for being a single traveller. Possibly not the best area but I chose it for convenience to the train station.

    I normally stay in budget hotels in various cities in Europe but decided to splurge on a proper hotel near the station as I had an early train to catch. Easily the nicest hotel I've ever stayed in. They arranged a taxi waiting for me at the airport, proper reception desk with extremely courteous staff. Breakfast was pretty awesome.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    just ordering of food takes a bit of time and no one at the desk to take your order emmidiatly.

    the rooms, the staff at reception was excellent and the rooms are very neat and tidy.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There isn’t anything that I didn’t like about the hotel.

    The hotel room was nice and spacious. We were located on the 5th floor and we found it very quiet and peaceful. The bed was incredibly comfortable! I also loved that good quality blackout curtains were used, so we could wake up in the morning undisturbed by the sun and at our leisure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The flapjacks were a bit doughy and chewy but everything else was perfect (or near perfect). All the staff were smily and very friendly and helpful. I shall be returning very soon.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good localisation, in the city center, close to the places of interest, also good to drive out of Cape Town and to the airport. Safe around. Nice comfortable rooms, clean. Very good continental breakfast. Great and helpful Staff! Great choice and stay at my business trip.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was absolutely none.

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Good quality furnishings and softs. Loved the ambience. Great to spend time in the bar lounge area. Adored the special smoothies (C Plus is a knock-out!). Best freshly squeezed orange juice in Cape Town.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Wouldn't feel safe in the neighbourhood at night - but I think this goes for most of the city.

    Great breakfast, super comfy bed and lovely modern and clean room.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Bedroom window was loose (1010), it almost fell on to me when I opened it first time. Reported it, but it was never resolved. - bedside plugs stopped working on the Monday morning. No explanation - Kettle switch could not stay down, had to keep it down with a glass that eventual fell off and broke when water had boiled. - Very tiny and impractical room. What is the point of even having a full length mirror if half of it will be obstructed by the bedside credenza?

    Location; this place is quite central and easily accessible. They had some very low prices during the period of my visit.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Standard Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Room was very small and not in a proper shape (neither rectangle nor square nor circle, i dont know the shape of the room). I felt like I was in Tokyo. Moving around was a big problem.

    Location and staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact that we had to leave

    Location was great as it made it easy to move around the City Bowl. The staff were really friendly and professional, always willing to assist and go the extra mile. I was also happy with the fact that the hotel was willing to store our luggage for a few hours after check-out coz we still had some tours left.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    They are in slow-motions - no sense of urgency at all- client care not in their vocabulary - Not impressed with house keeping - little things vanishing in our fridge...

    The food was delicious and fresh especially breakfast - we really enjoyed ourselves with regards to food and the options they had.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A little more attention to cleaning detail in the room and leaving nice bathrobes and slippers rather than crumpled ones and mismatching slippers. The wifi could also do with improving in the bedrooms.

    Great stay. The food and wine are magnificent and cheap (by UK standards)! Lovely staff and really nice room and balcony.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite (1 Adult)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Room did not have a great view. All suites are on lower floors. So for better views, one would have to book a smaller room on the higher floors.

    Nicely done bacon.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The access to the parking is a bit complicate.

    Location is very good. In the center of the city but also quiet. The area is safe you can walk by day round the hotel. To go to waterfront it's 90 rand with a taxi. Staff is professional. My room was a bit small, but cozy. Good breakfast in a well design room. I felt really comfortable in this place.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Standard Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    My first room - it was small and it was right next to the lifts (elevators). I requested an other room the next day.

    My upgraded room was great. Spacious, clean and very comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only issue is the parkade, you have to check in before you get access, parkade staff are quite rude and you need to get a slip from reception every time you wish to leave the parkade. Not particularly user friendly or convenient. Although when compared to other hotel parking in Cape Town not so bad

    Whilst not the most modern of hotels, service is always excellent, staff always friendly and probably the best breakfast in town

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single
    • Stayed 7 nights

    The dinner menu at the restaurant can be a bit more diverse, and the food quality (although very good on most occasions) can also be improved.

    Very quiet and in a nice part of town. Quite a few historical landmarks a short distance from the hotel. Very quick walk to the tours you can hop on and off from. Pleasant and helpful staff. Service is very good at the restaurant and at the café. Well-suited for work trips.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The wardrobe/shelf space is rather limited (with no drawers) if 2 people are sharing for more than just a few days! A pity as we had a large room - more than enough space for a slightly bigger wardrobe!

    The location is excellent if you want to explore Cape Town, the hotel is situated in a quiet area near to Parliament and surrounding gardens. The staff were wonderful (especially Ruby, Customer Liaison), nothing was ever too much trouble - they even gave us a complimentary bottle of bubbly as it was a special anniversary! The bedroom was large and comfortable (and included a bath!), with its own private verandah. The restaurant was also excellent and very reasonably priced for a 4 Star hotel - we enjoyed breakfast and dinner! The coffee maker in the room was an extra bonus... and put to good use! The free WiFi was reliable and fast. We would certainly return in future.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There was no information booklet in the rooms giving details of hotel facilities, check out times etc. Restaurant menu didn't change, except for the specials once a week. Sweets very limited although the food we had was very good. Breakfasts were very good.

    Large & comfortable bed rooms, Staff helpful & friendly. Very easily accessible from approach roads. Garage parking next door. This was very important as street parking is virtually non existent. Overall ambiance very good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    WiFi could have been faster Despite signs about hanging up towels if they did not need to be washed to save water, towels were removed for washing

    Friendly and efficient staff especially with help for booking a large group and arranging airport transfers. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I stayed in this hotel four years ago and had a big nice room, maybe a bit too good to be standard. I was therefore a bit disappointed when we now as a couple got a much smaller room and a double bed of 150 cm.

    The breakfast was excellent. You can get anything. The personal is very kind and helpful. Good free Wi-Fi. Excellent parking facilities right in the house. Very helpful personal and facilities when you have to wait a few hours before going to the airport.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The price was much higher than I have paid before at this hotel. This won't happen again, I'll stay somewhere else rather than pay such a high price.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Family Room (2 Adults + 1 Child)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The most uncomfortable bed and pillows. Didn't get a goodnight's sleep all 4 days. The room wasn't clean when we arrived,carpet wasn't vacuumed and bathroom floor was sticky.

    Location and breakfast are good.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had to pay additional fee for parking vehicle inside parking lot, the window in our room wasn't closing properly so they had black tape around it to keep the draught out.

    Nice and comfy bed, free wifi and the staff was friendly and polite.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Twin with Shower
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Although the intent of this hotel is for business they need to adapt during the holiday season and if necessary on a temporary basis have some incentives for leisure family holiday makers. The parking should be more user friendly particularly for holidaymakers think of creative and special moments to be remembered - eg have a driver on hand to collect your car and park it bring it to the front of the hotel to save the continuous "card" return system much like that of a valet service...

    The décor was reasonable in a room of that size to create a certain look.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room comfortable & clean, nice walking in shower. Amazing restaurant, everything freshly made on order, fresh products, good wine list, prices affordable, very kind personnel.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Room was rather small with only a sliding door with tinted glass (that did not fully close) separating the toilet / shower; internet password changed three times a week; irregular supply of toiletries and coffee / tea.

    Central, yet quiet location; good internet; excellent breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We were two men and we asked for two separate beds, but they gave us one extra large bed! Once we told them that we ordered two separate beds they changed the room immediately. Also the people in the room can see you if you entered the bathroom, because the bathroom has a glass wall in one direction.

    Great hotel with excellent staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lots of interior steps...on main floor. These are a bother.

    Hotel is great, close to good restaurants and the tourist action, a few blocks walk. Rooms are top drawer. Staff is wonderful. Restaurants to recommend: Haiku and Bukhara

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    There is nothing to dislike about the Townhouse Hotel.

    In addition to the hotel's excellent restaurant, the Townhouse is within a block of the best Italian restaurant anywhere. The hotel is a pleasant stroll down St. George's Mall to the Convention Center and is very close to the beautiful Company's Garden, SA Museum and National Gallery, Iziko Slave Lodge and Parliament.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bathroom space was too small. The towel rail was positioned directly over the commode, with the risk of stuff falling in if the toilet lid wasn't closed. There wasn't much room for the bathmat because of the shower door design within a constrained space.

    The bed was extra comfy, cosy room. Bathroom clean and nice, very modern.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Single with Shower
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very old fashion hotel,very dark rooms, old lift, the windows were dirty. Depressive One woman on reception was unpleasant and rud. Blond old lady.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the pillows were extremely uncomfortable

    they were really really helpful in organising excursions and as it was our honeymoon they had provided complimentary champagne and cheese on arrival - a really lovely touch.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Compact Standard Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Daily parking rate was ridiculous. Colleague got mugged outside returning from dinner in an Uber taxi. Staff were "well oh, ok, you should know that we are down town" to be honest value for money I will not return in a hurry.

    Restaurant and staff helped make it a good experience.

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: