Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Trees Too Guest Lodge

9-11 Furley Street, 1340 Komatipoort, South Africa

#3 of 12 B&Bs and Inns in Komatipoort

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 148 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.8

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.8

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The beds are too soft, while we prefer harder ones. Additionally, the shampoo and shower get was contained in two bottles which are difficult to open.

    The hostess was very kind and helpful. She has given us a lot of suggestions which are very helpful for our schedule.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great place right next to the Kruger National Park and the host are a lovely couple who are very helpful in making recommendations for the routes as well as making our stay very pleasant. Their excellent breakfast was tailored to our tastes as well!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better signage on the road would have help us find the Guest Lodge in the dark.

    Sue made us so welcome, providing just the right amount of attention and information, whilst respecting our personal space and privacy. We arrived after dark, having booked only 10 minutes before as we ran out of time to get to our booked accommodation in the Game Park. Sue had not even received the booking.com confirmation but was friendly and helpful. It was a lovely relaxed atmosphere at the guest lodge and, although not able to provide a meal for us, Sue recommended a really nice restaurant within about 10 minutes walking distance which served excellent Mozambique style prawns and fish. In the morning we enjoyed a lovely breakfast in the garden area by the pool and Sue gave us some useful hints and tips for game viewing as well as helping us prepare admin for the Gate. Staying at this guest lodge was not part of our planned itinerary but it will be if we pass this way in future and we would definitely recommend to others.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marty and her husband were very helpfull during our one night stay. They arranged for us a morning bush Walk in the kruger national park and adviced us to go through swaziland : it was amazing, We thank them again for that ! Diner and breakfast are also very delicious.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    What a wonderful guest house! Our room was very comfortable, the shower nice and hot. Sue and Martin were just lovely, the best hosts who went above and beyond. The were welcoming and friendly and gave us the best advice for viewing in the Park. Breakfast was delicious and we were also super close to the Park- a 5min drive from the Crocodile Bridge gate.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lodge is not super easy to find if you arrive at night (surroundings are completely dark).

    Martin and Sue are wonderful hosts. The staff is really friendly and dinner was excellent. Sue gave us very helpful tips on Kruger. Recommended!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    They are the perfect hosts in the perfect location. They were always ready to help you. The guest house is located right there at kilometers from Kruger gate. Everything was very clean and food very tasty. We wanted to do a Safari and Sue after several calls found us a renger to do a full day safari, as we had to start at 5.30 she improvised a breakfast for us . everything was perfect.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Our stay was excellent, thanks to the wonderful owners who really made us feel at home and have a keen eye for detail. The hotel feels like an oasis, wonderfully quiet with a beautifully kept small garden. Breakfast was lovely and very complete. We are looking forward to coming again!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room ( Wheelchair friendly)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff went the extra mile for us for dinner on our late arrival, and Martyn (the owner) personally sorted out the DSTV cable issue for us. Fantastic service and comfortable room. Very impressive!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We loved the exceptional attentiveness of our hosts, Sue and Martin and their fabulous team. Nothing was ever too much trouble - they went out of their way to help us have the most amazing Kruger experience. The lodge facilities were clean, homely and the food was delicious.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing other than the weather, rain! But that's not the fault of Trees Too.

    Our second stay and again it was very good in lovely surroundings. We had dinner on a couple of evenings which was excellent. Would recommend to anyone staying in the area.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family room next to kitchen - very noisy in the evening. TV not working & no effort made to sort it out. Chef needs a refresher course on how to cook fish - King clip X 4 without drying it out!

    Very convenient for border crossings. Facilities good.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was great, but (possibly) slightly costly at 120 rand.

    Very friendly and helpful hosts. Martyn very kindly dropped me at the Mozambique border in the morning and advised on changing money. Sue was away, but when I returned I met her - very friendly and informative. Great rooms and bathrooms. Very comfortable. Warm, friendly reception. Honesty bar (well stocked with good beers & other). Good dinner at fair price. Well located hotel for Kruger National Park and Mozambique border crossing. They also let me park my hire car at the premises during my cross-border trip to Maputo. Very kind. A generally chilled, sub-tropical environment with palms, & a pool. Would definitely look forward to staying again.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really a complaint but the good at times was not up to scratch but understandable.

    Owners Sue and Martin were friendly and pleasant. Gladness our waitress was absolutely amazing. Loved just about everything.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Although we arrived late the owner was very kind and had prepared some sandwiches for us. they were also very helpful with a problem we had with the car rented. the room was clean and comfortable and the location perfect to start our vacation to Kruger. Breakfast great. We really recommend it. Thank you

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room ( Wheelchair friendly)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were a little leak in the shower .

    The host us very convenient for us and try to help us about our trip for the next days. It was clean, the food for dinner was excellent. I Will recommand this hostel .

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The place lacked updated decor No working TV in the room No working wireless /internet connection Too many cats around esp while eating

    Breakfast was good and owners and staff were friendly

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was weird at times and unpolite with customers

    The location is extremely convenient to enter Crocodile Bridge, the Rooms are nice and comfortable

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Group
    • Triple Room ( Wheelchair friendly)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are small and have no kitchenette. Travelling with a small baby was very difficult because there was no place to prepare her things.

    The hostess was very friendly and very helpful.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was a bit worn out & hence uncomfortable

    The staff and owner were friendly. The owner helped with places of interest we could visit. She also also gave directions & a map, this we appreciated a lot.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was not impressed by the breakfast on offer I personally felt that for me it was very poor value. ( Value matters more than price to me ) Also I like hot milk with my coffee. There was none on offer.

    Lovely hosts, Lovely place. Generally a great experience. Dinner too was great.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Eweriting is nice

    Nog

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect place to relax. Very close to the Kruger Park gate

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    DOG

    Very friendly service

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very warm welcome and sweet comfy place, I recommend it!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Sue was very welcoming and made sure we were comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The meals were good.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are over the top in their helpful touring advice.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room ( Wheelchair friendly)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent facilities and friendly owners

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Property overall is a little tired ,needs a lift

    Customer Care.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Triple Room ( Wheelchair friendly)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good food, friendly staff, nice hangout

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, it was all fab!!

    Owners and staff were very friendly and helpful. Nothing was ever a problem! We felt right at home!!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Local acolhedor e calmo. Gerencia amavel

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was beautiful and the staff were fantastic!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room (4 Adults)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything was super

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Loved everything

    Sue, she's the greatest. Her hospitality is 2nd to none. Her intimate knowledge of the Kruger National Park was an added bonus.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room ( Wheelchair friendly)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything ..the owners were sweet

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room ( Wheelchair friendly)
    • Stayed 1 night

    n/a

    So friendly and accommodating - very helpful with onward directions. Excellent restaurant

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. It's peaceful, clean and lovely. The staff are helpful and friendly. Breakfast was fantastic.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV was not working

    Excellent food

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food wasn't as good as i remember and far to expensive for what you get.

    The staff are amazing and very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast way poor and expensive in comparison with dinner

    Room,dinner and structure

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Must have independant kitchen

    Very well organized and beds are very comfortable

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Friendly staff and owner

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room ( Wheelchair friendly)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location! Sue and Martyn make sure to treat you real well.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room ( Wheelchair friendly)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom could be improved

    Host are terrifically friendly. Food is always great and we really enjoy the lovely bar area.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    The tranquility and neatness of the place,including excellent customer service

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed, very uncomfortable

    Excellent food, nice room, pritty s pool, friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Really comfy bed, very close to Kruger, friendly staff.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Triple Room ( Wheelchair friendly)
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lodge is very well run great staff and really good evening meal. Highly reccomended Martyn

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very friendly and efficient staff and owner Sue very pleasant and helpful to all guests

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Brilliant hosting and great food.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Triple Room ( Wheelchair friendly)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The pool and bar area was a lovely spot. Beds really comfy.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I defenetly recommend this place for everyone! The lodge is 10min drive from the crocodiles gate. The accommodations and lodge itself was very cozy and clean. Hospitality was 12 out of 10. Sue, the host is lovely and so helpful to arrange game drives or anyhting else you would need. She recommended self driving routes through the Kruger park and also gave us a a great scenic route to drive through Swaziland. Thank you, Sue! :)

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Hard to find anything bad, maybe the packed breakfast wasn't really worth the price.

    Perfect get-away for a few days within reach of Kruger NP. Great rooms with everything you need, from air-conditioning to mini-fridge to all bathroom utensils required. Nice and helpful owners from the UK. Wonderful atmosphere at the nice restaurant. Great food!

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    This place is a hidden gem. Definitely worth staying a couple of days to relax while passing through Kruger. Staff were incredibly friendly and welcoming, ready to help with anything.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Can't fault it in service, if you want easy and immediate access to Krueger and game best to stay SANPARK lodges but otherwise great place to stay on way to or from krueger, Maputo to Joburg....

    Sue and Martin are indeed very great hosts, very friendly and go out of their way to be helpful. Very tolerant of young children. This place is located in easy reach of crocodile bridge entrance to Krueger park, good food (though this adds considerably to your bill!😊), lovely pool, little Oasis in an otherwise uninteresting little town.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Really not much - it's great value for money and really did what we needed to see Kruger and get across the border to Moz over Christmas.

    Sue and Martyn were amazing hosts. Located between Kruger, Swaziland and the border with Moz, they provide superb information for the best way to do each of these locations. Really friendly, highly practical accommodation and excellent value for money.

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was warm at night but that was due to the intense heat wave and nothing to do with trees too.

    The owners and staff we all first class. We loved it.

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The beds were simple but slept oké.

    Sue is a wonderful host. She has great tips and is very helpfull. The restaurant and bar is very cosy and the food is great !

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Rooms really well kitted out and nicely decorated, but a bit dark. A few little rough edges needing attention. Overall, a pleasant place.

    Sue is a great host, with loads of local knowledge, very helpful. She had thought of everything in the accommodation

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Dinner was delicious. The hosts are warm and welcoming and the setting is lovely. The close proximity to Kruger makes it an easy way to visit and the dining area is a nice environment for sharing Kruger sightings and tips.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Making a guest feel like family is the highest compliment I can give. Pre-arrival e-mails were full of excellent information. The reservations they made for all-day safari in Kruger were excellent. Local information and directions to next place were excellent. Next time back here we will book again at Trees Too.

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    I ordered my steak medium rare and it came well done. I didn't complain it was still good. I had to take a cold shower. Didn't like that at all. Hot in the room.

    staff was excellent. liked the quiet, relaxing atmosphere and setting. They went out of their way to take care of us.

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great place, nice people.These people give a new meaning to the word hospitality! Helped us a lot with both our journey to Mozambique as well as Krüger.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Having no wifi was inconvenient.

    We only stayed one night but it was very good. The hostess was brilliant and gave us lots of tips for our onward travel. The food was very good and staff very obliging.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit disappointed with the food. Overpriced and mediocre

    Like an oasis in a very warm environment. A very pleasant place to return to after the hot drive in the Kruger Park. Ideally situated for access to the Park and the panorama route

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Linnen (not cotton?). Synthetic…? Rooms too small. Breakfast should have more fresh fruit too many restrictions on time of breakfast Owners faced with problems of the area/governmental/municipal issues. No power, no water… Cannot blame owners but a guests feel the result of bad functioning municipality.

    staff very friendly and helpful knowledge of staff about area excellent fantastic collection of books accessible to guests overall we had a pleasant stay. Good for just 1 night.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The air-condition went out a few times as the breaker tripped but no real problem. Still enjoyed our stay.

    The location was excellent for travel to the Kruger park, Mozambique or Swaziland. The host Sue and Martin were great and helped with our daily planning into the park and trip to Swaziland. Also enjoyed the great meals and just the whole layout of the place gave us a great comfortable South African experience. I would definitely recommend this place especially those visiting the Kruger park. Rooms were very clean and beds were super comfortable. Also the pool area was nice were you could enjoy a nice beverage at the bar and relax. We spent our Christmas there and had a great South African Braai put on by our hosts and enjoyable time. Thanks and the best to you and your staff for the New Year

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Avoid breakfast and supper offered, You can do much better at restaurants elsewhere

    Very friendly and helpful staff. Very good location for visiting the Kruger park

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Meal advertised was not available but food was good. Packed breakfasts were ample.

    Proximity to Kruger Park, comfort and availability

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Exceptionally friendly and helpful owner. It was a pleasure to stay there

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Friendly helpful staff! Good food, nice pool nice room

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Friendly staff! Good location - delicious food

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Sue is amazing, very friendly. The place is kept clean and their breakfast is the best:)

There are also 32 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Trees Too Guest Lodge traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: