Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Umbhaba Lodge

R40 Main Road, 1242 Hazyview, South Africa

#34 of 37 hotels in Hazyview

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 88 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.8

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.6

  • Value for money

    6.3

  • Free WiFi

    5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    9.6
    Excellent experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The water at te induna honeymoon suit was cold through out te entire weekend. Maybe there's a problem with te geyser. Our other outsyd door was not working at all.

    Breakfast menu

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2018

    9.2
    The staff were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tusker Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint would be the bed pillows were too soft.

    The staff were amazing. Super friendly and helpful. The breakfast was great and the room was very spacious and clean. Would definitely recommend!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    3.8
    Uncomfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place was smelly and very dark. Lights were also very dim. The main bed was terrible. It just sank in coudnt sleep the 2 nights we spent there. The toilet flush wasn't working properly and it wasn't clean. The lampshade switches was so dirty and sticky

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    7.1
    Would love to stay again when more maintenance has been done...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would love to stay again when more maintenance has been done to the property and buildings. Beautiful gardens but neglected. Wedding venue totally neglected.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2018

    6.3
    Spacious and Comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Issues regarding our room rate and booking through booking.com No WiFi in the rooms. Charged a Tourism Levy on Checkout - We are Local SA

    Spacious comfortable rooms with very comfy beds. Room was well prepped on arrival. We entered a nice warm room on a freezing cold day.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    5.4
    The breakfast was great and they catered it for us even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • African Tribal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a mix up with my room. I booked a suite when I checked in they gave me a family suite. I checked in late so there was no one to ask. In the morning I asked the receptionist she said the room I booked was already booked. The least they could have done is call us if it were true. I think they gave my room away!!😓 the bed in family room was very uncomfortable. They put 2 single beds together and when I told the receptionist she said all family beds are like that😒😒😒 and everyone is complaining About them..if that was the case how come they never fix it??? I was really not happy with the way my room issue was handled

    The breakfast was great and they catered it for us even though we were 30mins late

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    4.6
    Bad had no glasses for wine for dinner we had to use soda glasses. Breakfast not buffet as booked
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Change rooms to the other side that faces the lake of which that’s what I have booked so called luxury room

    The other rooms that they couldn’t give it to us but the German crew or visitors that were there when we were there. They gave us a bad room with the TV that you can't even change the stations. Room with an old twin beds put together we could not sleep because it was getting apart we ended up sleeping in one of the beds very uncomfortable. Wake up with backache.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2018

    3.8
    Ddnt enjoy it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Food was not nice Room was not clean and had spider webs and smells of cigarettes No room service phone Bath did not have shower gel or foam bath The garden is not well maintained

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    4.2
    Lodge catered for the bare minimum. Nothing in particular to rave about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tusker Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor maintenance of the rooms and limited facilities. Poor communication of what was included in the package paid for, I.E. we thought that we were getting a breakfast and dinner, but there was an additional charge for this. No WiFi at the premises - WiFi was advertised on their website.

    Friendly staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    2.9
    We never enjoyed our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff is unprofessional, the reservation office messed up the bookings. The lodge and rooms are very dirty. I will never recommend the lodge to anyone.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    7.1
    Felt like we were the only guests in a horror movie hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They did not have our booking when we arrived. We were able to get a room. Shower had very little water and was only running cold. Reception staff was already gone right after we checked in, so we tracked down the security guy who found us a room that was not ready for guests but at least had hot running water. Their listing boasted a bar and restaurant. Neither was staffed upon our arrival. It was like a ghost town. We never even saw another guest. We were unable to get any food or drink there after traveling by car all day and arriving in the evening. So after we finally repacked our things and changed rooms and had showers, we needed to rush out to find a restaurant before closing time.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.4
    Size of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • African Tribal Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor staff service in the restaurant. Chef not available to take orders ar breakfast. Out of stocks on dinner menu. Failure to replenish bathroom and coffee consumables. Loud cleaning staff in the morning @ 07.30.

    Size of the room.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    7.9
    Very pretty location with nice gardens and ponds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tusker Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Loud music from wedding party that could be heard all over the lodge for a few hours on Saturday afternoon. Breakfast not included in rate when booked through Booking.com, but residents who booked directly had it included

    Very pretty location with nice gardens and ponds

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2017

    4.2
    Masai Room
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Stayed in the Masai room.The place was super dirty.There were cobwebs on the nice wooden headboards and the thatched roofing.The floors were very dusty as well as the space under the bed.The balcony showed that it had not been cleaned in months.The bedroom rug was soaking in dust.Spilled some red wine on the floor and the stains were there till departure which goes to prove they do not clean the rooms.They just change towels and do the bedding but there is no room cleaning or aeration.They didn't bother putting bottled water in the fridge which they had done the first and second night.

    Just liked the proximity to a lot of attractions.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    3.8
    First and Last
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Poorly maintained Over prices Breakfast not included Dog running around on the premises bothering customers Access road bumpy and not maintained Ponds half - empty Nothing like the website

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    7.5
    A beautiful stay it was.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tusker Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A beautiful stay it was. Work is needed on the grounds of the lodge, the drive way into the lodge needs to be paved for easier drive in for those who aren't using SUV's.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    5.8
    my stay was just ok
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There were frogs in my room ..spider web on the ceiling...had braai meat on friday as i arrived meat was not seasoned

    the staff was very friendly & formative

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2017

    7.9
    Friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tusker Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    they can improve the swimming pool. kids were not really sold on in

    the stuff us very friendly snd offers generous support. the lodge is nicely located

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2017

    9.6
    Very cosy place to visit for private moments
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant think of anything at the moment

    The food was excellent,T bone steak nice and tender and the breakfast very good and refreshing Tha place is very quiet and so good to visit to distress👍

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2016

    7.9
    Accommodation excellent. Great base from which to explore Kruger and Panorama route.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • African Tribal Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Phone did not work in the room. Maybe some insect repellent or screens

    The staff very helpful and friendly.The food was well prepared.They organised tours for us. I must mention the tour company Mangela tours were excellent and value for money.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    10
    everything about the place and the staff from the gate the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tusker Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    to leave the place

    everything about the place and the staff from the gate the security were very proffessional the receptionist ,the staff and the room and the company of my partner so heavenly ,in the morning breakfast was magnificent and the staff new what they were doing

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2016

    2.9
    Doom and gloom night terror
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the honeymoon suite. We feel ripped off and disgusted with this place. Gloomy, dirty, zero maintenance, uncomfortable accommodation, weird layout of suite, overgrown garden and the list goes on. Sort this place out it's horrendous to charge almost R2000 per night. No wonder we were almost the only people there on a Saturday night. We almost drove home at 1 in the morning. I feel so cheated and won't book a weekend away for quite some time...

    Leaving the next morning

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    2.5
    Horrible
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything as per my complaint

    Nothing

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Happy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upgrade the could be beautiful decks outside the room, someone is gonna get hurt by falling through the rotten wood.

    Tranquil.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    10
    Everything
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    6.3
    Very nice Hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dinner was not very good for the price! No WiFi in the Rooms!!

    Very nice Hotel!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    5.0
    Umbhaba
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Uncomfortable bed and overpriced breakfast

    Location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    3.8
    Wasn't clean and needs a lot of cleaning and maintenance
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wasn't clean and needs a lot of cleaning and maintenance

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    3.3
    will not recommend any one to stay there
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • African Tribal Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room , facilities , service , food

    nothing to say

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    7.5
    The place is so beautiful and very peaceful
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    i had to wait for an iron for more than an hour , had to leave without actually getting it

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    7.5
    Swimming pool was too deep for my 6years old
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Tusker Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool was too deep for my 6years old

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    4.2
    Very dissappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • African Tribal Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Too much to mention here. Give me a call and I will tell you.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    10
    Every thing was 👌
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every thing was 👌

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    5.0
    Doors were faulty
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • African Tribal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Doors were faulty No water Bath rusty Toilet flush leaking and noisy

    Doors were faulty No water Bath rusty Toilet flush leaking and noisy

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    7.1
    Property starting to deteriorate.
    • Couple
    • African Tribal Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Property starting to deteriorate. They need to pay attention to the property

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    3.3
    Worst stay ever
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tusker Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor Management and need SIB capital

    Good property with so much potential

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    10
    Cleanliness, Beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tusker Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness, Beautiful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    9.6
    Great stay! Must be repeated
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • African Tribal Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was big and open. And the view outside was great

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    5.4
    Below average
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower was teribble. Like drops of water coming out. People were not parking correctly so almost got parked in.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    8.3
    The food and service been outstanding!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and service been outstanding! The location of the Lodge are well placed

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2016

    5.4
    Not really clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Tusker Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not really clean. Lot of bugs and Moskitos in the room

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    7.9
    great
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom lock was falling every time we open the door

    Nothing

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    6.3
    Room very nice and comfy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • African Tribal Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The place need some maintenance and dinner was very bad. Due to that decided not to have breakfast

    Room very nice and comfy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    8.8
    The perfect weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Honeymoon Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was extra comfy and the room had complete privacy

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    5.4
    I liked the location and setting of the place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They never informed that you had to book for dinner before 5pm and when we arrived at 8pm we were told it was not possible to have dinner not even something small or a snack. Apparently they buy "all ingredients just for the amount of people" very lame excuse and very disappointing for us to have to get out of the lodge and drive to the town for dinner

    I liked the location and setting of the place

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    9.6
    Debra, at the reception, made the impossible and arranged a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Debra, at the reception, made the impossible and arranged a room and a safari in the next day even with me calling at 7pm the night before. Perfect costumer service.

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2015

    3.8
    The rooms had a bad odour and it was dark and dingy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The rooms had a bad odour and it was dark and dingy. The shower was pathetic hardly any water came out of it. Restaurant was very average. Not worth the price per room. Very disappointing!

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    4.2
    The place has some potential.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    What you see is not what you get. The grounds are badly maintained as well as the rooms. You are not getting what you are paying for!

    The place has some potential...

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    5.8
    The place look fine outside and on the website.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We were in the honeymoon suite, but not very happy about the layout of the place. It is build in 4 levels. The toilet is on the bottom and the bedroom is on the top level. The stairs is black and in the night time it is a mission to go to the bathroom.

    The place look fine outside and on the website. The breakfast was great!

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2015

    7.1
    Beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Mattress uncomfortable - springs pressing through. Shower door broken and Aircon not working. Breakfast was cold.

    Beautiful location. Nice decor and very friendly and helpful staff!

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    4.6
    The location and venue is appealing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    1. Room flooded when it rained 2.TV in room had extremely poor reception 3. Waiters Uniform extremely dirty and put me off my meal. 4. Ran out of Onion, Mushrooms and I forget what else. 5. Gardens on deck side are full of weeds and and extremely unsightly 6. Pruning from the week lying around and unsightly.

    The location and venue is appealing

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    8.3
    Location, Accommodation, facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    They claim wi-fi is free but it is only free for 30mins through a sms to Telkom but even that did not work. The dinner option is very limited i.e. not enough options for vegetarians and not good vale for the price i.e. R185 per person.

    Location, Accommodation, facilities

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    3.8
    The staff and food.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Everything else. There is too much to mention

    The staff and food.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    9.6
    The room was spacious & very neat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was spacious & very neat... The place was spectacular

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2016

    7.5
    Staff's friendliness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The water at the river looks dirty

    Staff's friendliness

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    2.5
    Nothing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No wi-fi, no staff, no restaurant, it is very old property and now no maintenance, worst trip.

    Nothing

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2016

    6.7
    The environmentis so conducive
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There are snakes around the parkings

    The environmentis so conducive

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    7.1
    Breakfast and the quietness
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not so clean. Our patio didnt look clean. With a dirty rug that was hung outside since we arrived till we left.

    Breakfast and the quietness

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    9.2
    Room was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room was good. Breakfast was excellent

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    4.2
    pls email send to bookings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    pls email send to bookings.com iro queries ie rates , bookings , wedding function , safe in room etc

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2015

    10
    Was a great stay, great staff and great facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Was a great stay, great staff and great facilities.

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2015

    7.9
    Friendly staff !
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Some places need some maintenance

    Friendly staff !

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2015

    7.5
    Location,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Location, Friendly Staff, Games room, Breakfast

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2015

    7.5
    floor sunken bath, I feel into it and got a very bad bruise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    floor sunken bath, I feel into it and got a very bad bruise. the food is bad, the kitchen employees must wear clean clothes

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2015

    10
    Tranquility, surrounding, rooms, friendliness of staff and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Tranquility, surrounding, rooms, friendliness of staff and car wash after long drives

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2015

    7.9
    The lodge is quit a nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    I was very much sad by cleanness of the rooms in this lodge,to be honest its not up to standard.

    The lodge is quit a nice place.

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2015

    7.1
    STAFF AMAZING
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    RESTAURANT - FOOD NOT GOOD AT ALL

    STAFF AMAZING EXCELLENT SERVICE

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2015

    10
    Umbhaba lodge is such a beautiful place to go, tha staff...
    • Couple

    Umbhaba lodge is such a beautiful place to go, tha staff always helpful and ready to assist with any matter. Rooms comfortable and very clean.

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: