Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Umlilo Lodge 4 stars

09 Dolfyn Avenue, 3936 St Lucia, South Africa

#5 of 17 hotels in St Lucia

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 106 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9.4

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 43

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2018

    8.8
    Unique jungle like feel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It has a moldy smell that set off my allergies.

    I liked the surroundings, you can sit on your porch and listen to the water flowing in the steam and the frogs croaking. Very unique!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    10
    we will be back :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The ownersfamily was so nice and friendly. We felt comfy from the very first moment. The breakfast was very good (we only had breakfast but we‘re sure the dinner will be very good too) and the location is very nice.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.6
    Amazing place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing.

    The place is mixed with the vegetation, it seems you are in the middle of the jungle. The owner provided us with all the information we needed, he was very kind.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    8.8
    Comfortable and cozy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast menu is not so wide as it could be. I would add more vegetables and sorts of bread to choose.

    What we found great about the Umlilo Lodge is the staff. Receptionist, guys at the kitchen were extremely polite and kind. In addition, they were attentive to us, their guests. We came late at night but it wasn`t a problem for a young lady (receptionist) to meet us, show our rooms and tell all necessery info about our stay and St. Lucia`s attractions. Location is perfect if you`d like to get on a boat to see the crocs and the hippos live there - the distance is about a km away. Good restaurants are also a few steps to walk. Highly recommend the Lodge to stay in St. Lucia.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    9.6
    Hippos in park across street at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small details overlooked, such as no laundry service (dry clean only but no price list), so we dropped off dirty clothes at wash and fold in town; broken handle to bathroom never repaired.

    Cool tropical vibe with lush outdoor space. Short walk to town and restaurants. Water feature right in front of room serves as white noise. Spacious, simple room with eco vibe.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    7.9
    Nice garden and jungle feeling outside of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are outdated. No separate fee for small children, children from 1 year and above pay the same amount that an adult would have to pay. In our case R600-R900 per child per night (!) which is quite a lot of extra money for a 2-3 year old child.

    Nice garden and jungle feeling outside of the room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    10
    Absolutely 100% amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The lodge was amazing exactly as the photos show. We really enjoyed our overnight stop and were really sad to be leaving after only 1 night as we all really loved the accommodation and facilities. Defiantly will visit again when we are next in South Africa hopefully next year :-). management were extremely friendly and helpful. Umlilo lodge is a must stay.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    10
    The overall ambiance was relaxing with its tropical plants...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A couple more stools outside the room

    The overall ambiance was relaxing with its tropical plants and streams. The welcome from Lawrence and his staff. The fact that the rooms had lots of power points so no fighting over charging phones and computers

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    8.8
    Nice and comfortable but too expensive for what it is
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No remote controller, we could not use the air con on the first night. We got it for the second. Compared to similar accommodation in this area, I find it too expensive.

    Spacious room, nice outside with the vegetation.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    9.6
    Amazing weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We really appreciated the super friendly and highly organized staff who arranged all of our day trips for us free of charge. Lovely accommodation in a beautiful garden - We loved relaxing at the pool; It's such a peaceful setting. Breakfast was also delicious. We will most definitely be back again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    10
    Amazing Lodge in Great Location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The family that owns this lodge goes above and beyond to make your stay as nice as possible! They made great recommendations for restaurants and activities, helped us book activities, and even let us borrow a cooler for our day at Cape Vidal!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    10
    Excellent Service/Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only the parking, its outside but onsite.

    The staying in the Umlilo Lodge was very pleasant and enjoyable for us. We liked the location very much. The service people everywhere were very nice and polite. We liked the breakfast very much.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    4.6
    The saff are very friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    impossible to find the location. No signage, had to ask someone from local petrol station to take me there. the road is totally off road no tarmak and big holes. the location is very secluded nothing near by. value for money very poor.

    The saff are very friendly

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2017

    10
    Location was great close to restaurants and the main street...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The internet we found was hit and miss it did not work so well. Luckily we had our own wifi device so we used that most of the time.

    Location was great close to restaurants and the main street while the place itself is a little slice of paradise.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2016

    10
    A visit to Hippo town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was really friendly and helpful. The tour operators they booked for our tours where amazing. So if you stay at the Umlilo Lodge just let them take care of all your bookings.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    10
    Friendly, jungle-like place to stay near the iSimangaliso wetlands in St. Lucia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are a bit dark, not many windows.

    Very friendly staff, "honesty bar", laundry service, jungle-like tropical atmosphere and architecture. Large and comfortable bed, lots of space in bedroom and bathroom for bags, toiletries etc, very good shower. Short walking distance to the restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    10
    Beautiful setting and very helpful manager
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - all good

    Beautiful setting and very helpful manager

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2018

    9.6
    just fine and happy
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    just fine and happy

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    10
    Was a good moments
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no iron in the room.

    Everything including the room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    very happy, beautiful sleep, so much to do, beautiful setting
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    the beds were so comfortable, the owner was so friendly, the place is magical

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2017

    10
    very nice team, great location - would choose umlilo lodge again at an time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    all ok

    very nice location, nice big rooms , clean

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    10
    Absolutely wonderful and will be back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing - everything was superb.

    Beautifully secluded and romantic with ease of doing day trips etc.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    9.6
    Comfortable base for iSimangoliso the
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely setting in a lush garden. Tasty breakfast. Friendly and helpful management.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    10
    lovely place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi was slow.

    It was cozy and comfortable. I like the nature which was undisturbed

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    9.6
    Amazing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Better wifi converge

    Awesome experience, the place is unique in everyway

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2017

    10
    St Lucia retreat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A wonderful oasis. Very lovely owner.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    7.5
    Great lodge feel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very dark the whole time

    Great lodge feel

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2017

    8.3
    Value by far
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    better viewing channels on tv all rugby and no news or football

    service was friendly and joyful

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    9.6
    Great allround place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very nice place to stay.Very close to go to town.Very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    8.3
    Stunning St. Lucia
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room was situated next to the breakfast area

    Centrally placed in a beautiful part of South Africa.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    6.3
    So lala
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shared lounge shabby, private balcony also, beach towels awful!!! Swimming pool not usable

    Good breakfast, quiet location, nice host

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2016

    10
    The owners are very helpful, the place looks like a small...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners are very helpful, the place looks like a small paradise

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2016

    9.2
    Lovely decor, the external spaces are very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room walls are on the thin side, you can hear conversation from adjacent rooms. It was difficult to adjust and maintain the water temperature in the shower. Altogether minor points.

    Lovely decor, the external spaces are very enjoyable. Good location, in the centre of the village and immersed in nature. The extremely kind owner will be your travel agent and give a loot of good advices.

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2016

    8.8
    The owners are very friendly and helped us in every needs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The owners are very friendly and helped us in every needs. We arrived with all the tour already reserved but it was welcome the introduction to St. Lucia. It's really a very charming place.

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2016

    8.3
    The owners and staff of this lodge are very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The owners and staff of this lodge are very friendly and helpful - we were cheerfully welcomed and immediately got a tour of the lodge and an introduction of St. Lucia and everything there is to do. They instantly arranged a boat tour for us and when we indicated that we wanted to go to Cape Vidal the next morning, the owners arranged a bag full of snorkeling equipment, a beach umbrella, and packed breakfast x2 to be ready in our room before we left! The facilities are nice, the setting is charming and quiet, yet right off the main road in St. Lucia.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    9.6
    Helpfull and very friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Helpfull and very friendly staff Nice details of decoration in the room We can leave our luggage after check out for a whole day there for free

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2015

    10
    The owners of Umililo Lodge couldn't have been more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The owners of Umililo Lodge couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. The rooms were spotlessly clean. Extra facilities like laundry service, honesty bar and communal areas to relax in were great additions.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    10
    Just a nice place.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nothing.

    Just a nice place. Close in town to walk just blocks away from a dozen restaurants. Also a fruit market one block and a grocery store two blocks. Was able to walk to the beach just great. Great breakfast!!!

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    8.8
    Great location, plenty of nearby restaurants and shops.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location, plenty of nearby restaurants and shops. Good for the beach and nearby national parks. Staff and owners were great and booked local tours for me.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2016

    7.5
    A very warm reception.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had no water at some stage of the stay.

    A very warm reception.

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2016

    9.6
    Very friendly place and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Very friendly place and clean.

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2015

    8.8
    All was fantastic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    All was fantastic

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2015

    10
    It was a quite, cozy place and will definitely come back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    It was a quite, cozy place and will definitely come back.

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 43

Guests also reviewed these properties: