Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Urban Chic Boutique Hotel & Cafe 4 stars

172 Long Street, 8001 Cape Town, South Africa

#127 of 152 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 753 hotel reviews

7.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    7.9
    I'll be back....
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location, for me, was dodgy. If you want to be close to the party, this is the place. If you want peace and quiet, then definitely not. Party raged all night across the road. But then if you got these facilities in camps bay you would pay R3k/night so on balance good value. Ill go back.

    The hotel is clean, comfortable and great value, staff great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2018

    7.5
    not much to talk about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Coloured receptionist was rude(didn't get her name). not a nice area for relaxing as the music is too loud. People working in the kitchen(including waiters) have very bad customer service, the worst i've seen and the food is not that great either.

    Anthony was really nice, also gave us a lot of advice on what to do around the city. It is a convenient spot if you want to go clubbing(very noisy). beautiful view of the table mountain.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    7.1
    Locked out:(
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A guy working the night shift behind the desk failed to open the front door after numerous times we rang the bell. He saw us at the front but blatantly ignored us until we rang the bell a few more times to open up. He eventually came and we told him we were staying at the hotel. He was very unapologetic and not a pleasure to deal with at all.

    Room was lovely,comfy and very clean!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    9.2
    Nice stay in Capetown
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The night was bit noisy due to the night club loud music...but did not really matter to me

    Location, Restaurants surrounding, quite a happening street...I liked it

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    5.8
    I've stayed in quite a few hotels around cpt and wouldn't rate this my best experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise woke me up. The receptionist wasn't really very friendly. Very sour girl. The staff at the cafeteria were polite but not friendly. One would swear they hate their jobs.

    The room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2018

    7.9
    Amazing location but very noisy at night
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The noise!!! Too much noise!! You cannot sleep at night especially if you are a light sleeper. The ear plugs given at hotel don't help at all. Make sure you get good ear plugs if you are staying here. Again I repeat there will be NOISE!!!

    The location is perfect! Everything is at walking distance from the hotel. If you are a party person who sleeps in the day and parties all night this is exactly the place for you! Just at walking distance all the coolest bars, pubs...Thursdays to Sundays are just mad on the road.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    5.4
    Room was neat
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Accommodation was R 680.00 but they took out R 6680.00 from my card. Am still battling to get my refund. Advise to guest booking into this hotel to properly check amount reflecting on the card machine before putting in your pin for payment

    Room was neat

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    4.2
    not a great time but it can be improved. always check on the functionality of all rooms
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Heater in my room or non functional AC facility the attitude to workers especially in the restaurant is terrible the manager is not helpful as well

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    10
    Location extremely helpful staff helped organise taxi ...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise in the street until very late or early hours. But were given earplugs. Noise not too bad if bathroom door closed r egards reason sryaug

    Location extremely helpful staff helped organise taxi pleasant bar not noisy very positive atmosphere to B L is aug

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2018

    4.6
    Could not sleep.Very tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    However it is a night life zone.you have pubs just opposite and noise and music starting 9pm to 3 to 4 in the morning.Not good for family with kids or elders.

    the breakfast was good.Room ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    7.5
    Wonderful despite the noise from the club houses nearby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one bath towel for 2 nights and the second one was provided on our last night yet we were 2. The cake served from 11am to 3pm should be kept in the rooms coz guests are often not at the hotel at that time.

    Breakfast offer

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    9.2
    Very pleasant setting and hearty breakfast.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't put any hand soap or anything of the sort in my bathroom.

    Despite the noise from the nightclubs in the area - which you are warned about beforehand - I would go back again. It was a very convenient location for me and I felt very comfortable there.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2018

    9.2
    Nice hotel in center bar shopping good for price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Did not really bother me but the noise from the bar across the street was very loud. They did give out ear plugs to help.

    Nice hotel right on the bar shopping strip. Good breakfast, staff was friendly and helpful. The free coffee and cake in the afternoon was great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2018

    5.8
    The room is spacious enough.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    During weekends, all you can hear from your room is the sound of disco and bars around and close by the hotel. First time to encounter that the breakfast is not in a buffet style. I really don’t like how the staff specifically from the restaurant treated us a guest. The first was fine coz they’re all smiling and greeting, but then the next few days are worst.

    The room is spacious enough. Receptionist staff are very helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 August 2018

    9.2
    Perfect for exploring Cape Town (or for party animals)
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff do warn you on check-in and offer ear plugs, but be aware that you will be staying in the heart of Cape Town's party street. The earplugs make a huge difference if you are visiting for work though!

    The room was spacious with a lovely view. The staff was friendly and helpful, especially on check-in when none of the access cards worked due to a technical glitch (which was fixed in a jiffy).

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    5.0
    bad experiance for a business trip
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    not sound proof enough

    Staff did not clean properly, showers and floors were dirty, and the food was bland, the waitresses in the cafe weren't friendly or willing to help, the towels were not changed on time, and was rudely told that there were no visitors allowed because I booked for one.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 August 2018

    9.6
    Excellent & Chic City Stay!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The attitude of the receptionist, Tatiana or a name similar! Very unfriendly, rude and should work in the backoffice, she lacks the compassion and ability to talk with people.

    Conveniently located if you want to experience Cape Town city nightlife. Beautiful, big and modenrn room and bathroom! Lounge and bar area also very upmarket and modern. We couldn't sit in the bar though becsuse of the smoking - in this age, smoking should not be permitted at such an upmarket facility for the convenience of all guests. Beautiful views of Table Mountain from our room. Fresh and very comfortable linen, towels and bed. Free wifi! For all the above reasons and the amazing rate we got, I will stay there all the time in future.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    2.5
    Not a 4* at all!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This place cannot be more than a 2* hotel or an average B&B. . Location is noisy and the windows don't have properly done, therefore rooms are quite noisy, difficult to take rest. The rooms are dusty, stuffy, smelly. Hotel management doesn't care, the needs cannot be accommodated. No towels of any kind, excuse is 'taxi strike in the city'.. but, they charge full amount, even more than its real value. . It is over priced.. Booking.com also doesn't take any responsibility for promoting this place, over charged price and any of inconveniences that happen.

    The Rooms are spacious. . It is in the City center with some restaurants, museums, parc. .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2018

    6.3
    The property was okay, the staff were nice and helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1) The Garage key was one so every time you want to go out you ask for the remote and return it, ask again when you wanna park, it was really inconvenient 2) Our room was not cleaned on Monday 😢👎🏻

    The property was okay, the staff were nice and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2018

    10
    Convenient and comfortable stay
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff was extremely helpful with my last minute bookings and extensions. And the location of the hotel is very central for when I needed to take a break from working and enjoy a little bit of the night life in Long Street.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Fantastic, incredible and amazing
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service from the GM and her staff was absolutely incredible. The GM went the extra mile for me and it cannot be appreciated enough. The staff were helpful, friendly and just totally amazing. The bed was SO comfortable. What a brilliant stay I recommend them 110%.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2018

    6.7
    Did not enjoy it - sorry.
    • Group
    • Luxury Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The club/pub/restaurant was in "full swing" on a Sunday evening - loudest music ever right into the room we didnt sleep at all till 3h15 the Monday morning till they closed - no towels in the room!!!!

    As we had to be in court early morning the location was great. the rooms were comfortable and clean

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Enjoyed my stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Luxury Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The old gentleman working the late shift gave us hassles about opening the gate,he needs to realise that some guests are not from cape town and unfortunately will be going out at night.Not nice seeing a grumpy person at reception

    Hotel was very clean,breakfast was great.Most staff were very friendly..Richard at reception is an absolute star!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    6.7
    The breakfast was really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the hotel only had 1 iron for all the guest to make use of. It took them 2hrs to get a iron for me to use before departure.

    The breakfast was really good. The view was stunning.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    New York by night
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing i did not like was that my stay was to short

    I loved the city the the room was absolutely amazing the staff was the most amazing people i came across i knew each and everyone by their first name cause they basically become your friend cause of the wag they make your stay comfortable breakfast was amazing and lunch and the bar was the place to be to be too meet differant people from all over cape town..definitely will be coming back to this hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    5.8
    Only if you want to have parrty and go to sleep at three
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    EVERY NIGHT UNTL 3 AM LOUD MUSUC FROM THE DUSCOS AROUND. IT IS NOT SAID IN THE PUBLICITY. I wanted to cancel secund night because I need to rest and manager said NO.

    Staff at reception and breakfast

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Fabulous! Just what I needed .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I was over the moon so pleasantly surprised! Loved every moment, the people the comfort I felt comfotable , safe and well taken care of the entire time. Everyone was super friendly and accessible at all time.Thank you, thank you and thank you. Mwah!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    9.6
    It is my hotel of choice and I will definitely come back and continue to recommend it to others.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was nothing I didn't like.

    The room was fabulous and comfort and luxurious. The staff was friendly and helpful and went that extra mile. I have been to Urban Chic before and I would definitely come back and have recommended it to my friends and co workers. I always feel like its a home away from home. Relaxing but yet you can step out and have some fun and retreat back to your own oasis. Thank you

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2018

    10
    Awesome experience in the heart of the CBD.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very clean and spacious room - perfect break away exploring the nightlife with friends. Friendly staff and a delicious breakfast the next morning. Thanks urban chic boutique hotel!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    8.3
    i douby you will get better value for your money than this.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    I didn't have hot water and from the position of the taps, neither did the person before me. Staff did seem surprised so it could have just been the room itself.

    The hotel offers basic amenities but was great value for money. The breakfast was surprisingly very nice.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2018

    9.2
    Value for money. Will stay again.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The towels in the bathroom too small. There was no bath mat. The curtain lining has a hole in it.

    Liked the linen, carpets and furnishings. Liked the art.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 July 2018

    8.8
    My stay was great. Just to short.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just a pity that I had put the two single beds together to sleep next to my partner.

    I loved the fact they tidy the room while I'm gone nd leave a sweet treat behind.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    7.9
    There were no face cloths available, and we were told that...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were no face cloths available, and we were told that it was 1 shower gel bottle and a bar of soap per room and we were 2 people so we had to share. Which was ridiculous.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    9.2
    The staff are friendly helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very noisy as it is on the street where all the main nightlife is, didn't realise this on booking but our own fault as it does actually say this in the further information we just didn't read! Would be fine if you were there for the nightlife!

    The staff are friendly helpful. We given bubbly, cake and chocolates in our room as it was our honeymoon! Cool room with great bathroom, the shower is huge and beautifully finished! Easy access to other parts of the city.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    5.8
    The receptionist was friendly, the breakfast staff service...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room we stayed in was not vacuumed at all there was food and crumbs all over the floor. The toilet basin was dirty. There were food particles and oil stains on the curtains.

    The receptionist was friendly, the breakfast staff service was mediocre.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    Been situated in long street.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom wasnt clean enough. There was long black hair on the shower glass and on the floor in the bathroom. Other than that I enjoyed everything about my stay...

    Been situated in long street. The hotel was comfortable. Awesome stay.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2018

    8.3
    Hotel was great, Very good Wifi, Very clean rooms, except for noise from the surrounding Area.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Noise from the Bar at the surrounding areas. It was difficult for me to do my work and/or sleep at night due to high level of noise. I will not recommend this place for anyone traveling for Business.

    Rooms were clean and neat. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    7.9
    I enjoyed it and Long Street was the location I wanted, NOISE , what noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Not under the hotels control but the beggers who accosted you as soon as you walked out of the door begging for food and then swore at you when you asked them repeatedly to leave you alone

    The manager went out of her way to correct issues we brought to her attention in timely manner.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    10
    Good stay wiil come back
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Parking difficult to find.

    The location and people very welcoming. The only negative was difficulty in finding assistance regarding the parking. Other the bar man and receptionist were very helpful. I will definately call again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    6.7
    Worth a try...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel is situated on Long Street which gets very busy and noisy at night. Not recommended to roam around after 6pm...

    Staff members were very friendly and courteous. We were offered a bottle of champagne once they came to know that we just got married. Room was very big and clean and we were very secure inside.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    6.5
    Nice comfortable place but you have to sleep through noise or not be bothered by it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely loud from street noise and clubs. Even the earplugs they distribute to guests are not enough to sleep through the noise.

    Very nice staff and the place was comfortable and clean

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2018

    6.7
    Value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we checked in, a cocroach was kliming on the wall behind the personhelping us. Its close to the breakfast area, so we skipped the free breakfast.

    Location. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    7.5
    Happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Obviously the noise factor, but I knew about it from the get-go, and the fact that they offer ear plugs makes a big difference.

    Staff ws really friendly and helpful. Felt at ease to ask any questions. Loved the view

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    8.8
    The room was perfect and spacious.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant staff was very rude, they were not helpful at all. Treated us like like we were an annoyance

    The room was perfect and spacious.. The location was ideal

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    8.3
    Not bad but better if you doing a party till 3am instead of sleeping :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Opposit side of the road is a very loud disco - but I think almost the whole long street is loud at night time. At chekin the guy made a photo copy of my credit card, both side. I was shocked.

    Spacious room, comfortable bed and good breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    9.6
    Free parking, the comfort of the room with amazing bathroom...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Terrible noise during the night (till the morning) from the bars around, poor breakfast

    Free parking, the comfort of the room with amazing bathroom and kind staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    6.7
    Good to stay if it is used as B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    To see that there is no discipline in some of the workers. If there are no clients at the bar at 10pm it does not mean that the barman can stand outside drinking alcohol. Breakfast room too noisy, employees do not have to have a loud conversation, on top of it a private conversation.

    The bedroom was comfortable and had a good view of the mountain. Reception was good and helpful. Just the way it should be.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    It was lovely and I would definitely recommend Urban Chic
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Honestly there was nothing I didn't like.

    I like the friendly, helpful staff. Oasis escape amongst the bustle when you want a break. I like that you can just step out into the party zone and then once you have had your fill you can go back to escape to a tranquil atmosphere. I liked that the water crisis is made known to out of town visitors. I also liked that the weather for a few days is reflected at reception. I would definitely recommend Urban Chic

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    7.5
    clean - but unfortunately in a very bad area of town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Oh my goodness!!!! The noise outside at night at the pubs and clubs!!! Unbearable!!!! Breakfast much too basic for a 4 star hotel

    Very clean room and bedding- loved the coffee bar in room

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2018

    4.2
    Will not recommend to anyone unless the price drops drastically to match what you actually get.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower does not drain the water properly. Too expensive for average facilities and tiny room. The parking could be managed better- I had to stop on the road at night so that my partner could jump out to hand back the remote.less than half the tv channels work.

    Breakfast,breakfast staff kind.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2018

    6.7
    It felt very safe once inside the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The noise coming from the street was unbearable even with ear plugs. Noise dies down at around 5.30 am in the morning no matter what night it is then the clean up noises start. Would never stay right on top of all the action again.

    It felt very safe once inside the hotel. Staff was friendly, room was clean. It was very close to all areas within the CBD, lots of security staff around and no major issues with safety although a few people tried to hustle us.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    One of my favourite holiday away
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    none

    Wow where to start first of all the staff are very helpful and amazing people that help make your stay more enjoyable location are perfect shops, clubs, restaurant's and beach all near the hotel. Breakfast excellent in the mornings and in the afternoon tea and cake and all of this is free cant believed it really amazing get away enjoy every moment thanx a lot.......

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    6.3
    Large Room, friendly service during the day
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Extremely noisy; could not sleep the music outside was so loud. Needs double glazing!!!!! Could not access the parking garage because of public parking across the access driveway; no security to stop public from parking there. Night manager not sympathetic or helpful.

    Large Room, friendly service during the day

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    9.2
    A great place in CBD
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The noise from the clubs and bars was a problem but fortunately they do provide ear plugs to cancel the noise

    The hotel was amazing, the food at the kitchen was great and it's in the heart of the CBD

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    7.9
    Lovely room and comfortable bed, staff very helpful and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no bottled water in rooms, long street noise is very loud but was aware of this before booking

    Lovely room and comfortable bed, staff very helpful and accommodating

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    Lovely hotel spoiled by night club noise.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The extremely loud music from the night club right opposite from early eve to 3am each night, followed by 1/2 an hour of people leaving, shouting and whistling, and clearing of bottles. The ear plugs didn’t work as so loud, so we had no sleep until around 3:30-4am each morning.

    Nice hotel, friendly staff and good facilities.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    6.7
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was no water or room service menu in the room. The tea/coffee tray was not cleaned. The room service number was incorrect. The staff upon exit was extremely unfriendly. I left a ring behind in the room and apparently it was not found.

    The breakfast was great. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The city vibe was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    7.9
    i enjoyed my stay,it is in the busiest area where almost everybody want to be.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I did not like the set-up of the kitchen breakfast,i was looking forward to the kind of buffer like breakfast where guest will have a choice of what to eat like it is done in other hotels.

    The hotel is of good quality,i was impressed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2018

    7.1
    Think better! It's central, but....
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The shower is taken in the dark, practically. There is no gym. The Long Street is quite noisy and I've noticed that there are too many beggars and drug dealers in the street at night. Don't stay outside the hotel after 7 p.m. It's not safe.

    This turistic 3 stars hotel has comfy bedrooms, spacious, excellent beds and linens. The breakfast is the higher point of the staying. Many bars, night clubs, restaurants availble nearby.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    3.8
    I would not recommenend anybody to book there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 6 nights

    It is very noisy and I only slept one night while I have booked for six nights. The staff is very hostile and unfriendly.

    Nothing I liked, hence I had to checked out the following day. I only slept one night instead of six, but I was charged the full price of six nights.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    Room looked nice and was comforable, except the terrible smell. Reception staff unfriendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Reception man was way below standard, unfriendly and made us feel unwelcome not one smile. I travel alot and the worst ive experienced. Also the lady on checkout. Receptionist is the first impression, and therefor first impression was bad. I wont return. The room smelled like sewer because the sewer cover in toilet wasnt covered.

    Rooms are beautiful and exceeded expectation. The breakfast exceeded our expectations and were excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    6.7
    Good value, average experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel had a strange smell. The hotel owners must be aware of this since they installed air refreshers on each floor - although they don't work that well. The wifi is also very poor/slow. The breakfast buffet has also been removed. It is located on Long street - the party street of the city. Although noise is to be expected, I feel the hotel can do more to sound proof the rooms facing the street.

    This is my second stay at the hotel. Nice big rooms within the heart of the city. Close to the Waterfront and Table Mountain. As a frequent traveller to Cape Town I can honestly say that this is good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2018

    6.3
    If you want to sleep, don't stay here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outside noise was incredibly loud, and unfortunately our room faced a strip of bars and nightclubs. Undoubtedly the worst night sleep I've ever had in a hotel. It was like trying to sleep beside a dance floor. The hotel was full, so we were not able to switch rooms. Reception provided earplugs, so the second night wasn't so bad.

    Comfortable big room.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    7.9
    Very enjoyable and the party noise did not bother me at all.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No access from parking to hotel, but ok. Few channels on tv. Cleanliness could be bit better but nothing that will not make me return. I forgot my unopenend bottle of mcc in the fridge😭😀.

    Close to all spots, breakfast, view

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    5.8
    Spacious room, comfy bed, tea and coffee kit available, free...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Windows not sealed properly, very noisy in room, couldn't sleep before early morning flight, no breakfast available if checking out early

    Spacious room, comfy bed, tea and coffee kit available, free car park, good WiFi

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    9.2
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If only they had a microwave and all dstv channels, nothing can be changed about the music in long street, sometimes we'd find ourselves dancing to it in the room 😂😂... otherwise it was perfect. Would recomment it to anyoneand would like to stay again

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    3.8
    Not to be recommended
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unacceptable level of noise all nights long!!!. No bar on Sundays and PHolidays. Emergency Exit blocked by furniture. You have to wait for someone to unblock access to hotel to get in or out. No toothbrush glass. No soap holder in the bath. No electricy adapter. No international tv except BBC.Not at all a 4 star

    Centrally situated

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    8.8
    Really great location and nice rooms. Would highly recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ask for a room that faces Pepper Street or is high up. The noise from the bars on Long is very loud.

    Very clean, excellent staff, breakfast made to order and free cake in the afternoon!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    6.7
    Not for a peaceful evening
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    What you see on the pics is what you get. The staff at reception and breakfast could do with some interpersonal training skills.the staff were behaved as though they were doing me a favour by just being there. The room could do with a revamp and perhaps the curtaining could be repaired or renovated.off course I was aware that long street does get noisy at night and if you want a good night's rest then this hotel is certainly one that should not he considered

    It's okay ...i don't think there's anything great about the establishment

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    9.6
    Big Like
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is really nice - very busy and loud, but for a young couple like us it was no problem at all. The room was nice big and clean. The breakfast was amaizing :)

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    7.5
    Good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was ok, some variety would be much better. We also had a day where what was on the menu was not available, that was a low for me.

    The room and reception service was very good. Thank you

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    6.3
    They refused to take an authorisation but rather wanted cash.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    They refused to take an authorisation but rather wanted cash. So I was turned away to go and draw money. Was chased out of the bar by the barman while I was still having a glass of wine.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    2.9
    Worst Hotel I have ever stayed in my entire Life !
    • People with friends
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Staff and specially **** useless manager !!

    Worst Hotel I have ever stayed in my entire Life !! The Manager very rude and even dont know How to talk with guest !! If u have alot of money to waste then stay in this property ! No secure , worst staff , in this way this hotel will be close soon ! WORST EXPERIENCE

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    6.3
    Very pleasant and clean
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Twin Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I want to contact the host because I lost my headphones there in the room I wanted to ask if he found it but I don't know how to reach

    The location is perfect

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.2
    Would definately return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury King Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Most of staff were great but breakfast room staff are so miserable.it became embarrassing,everything seemed to be a big effort for them.the actual food was excellent.management should have a word with them to at least smile or talk to customers.

    Location was very good,hotel was really modern,great views from windows of table mountain.

    Stayed in February 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Urban Chic Boutique Hotel & Cafe traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: