Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Val d'Or Estate 4 stars

R45, Main Road, 7690 Franschhoek, South Africa

#36 of 49 B&Bs and Inns in Franschhoek

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 425 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    8.7

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    8.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arranged for a late check-out however this was not communicated with the receptionist on duty and the approach was a bit of a let down. They can learn to be more diplomatic in handling this problem as it seems as if we had disregarded the rules.

    The bed was extra comfortable, loved the view from the patio - breathtaking. Peaceful and serene establishment,

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stayed in the main house and room was above reception and breakfast area. Stairs creaked so could hear every step taken. Other rooms in the adjacent building or on the ground floor would be better. Due to the rain the road had flooded with large areas to drive through with a small low car wasn’t easy.

    Nice size room and large bathroom. Great view from balcony

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 1 night

    We expected a bit more from the place seeing that it was R2200 per night. DSTV had no remote in the room The bed is advertised as a king size bed but it was 2 single beds pushed together and was a bit uncomfortable to sleep on.

    The scenary is very nice. Breakfast was very nice the next morning

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The accommodation was absolutely faultless, super comfy bed with crisp clean linen. The suite was beautifully appointed. Ample coffee, milk and bottled water supplied.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night

    they could improve on the coffee there's a bit of a gravel road leading up to the venue

    Friendly staff apon arrival - spacious room with comfortable bed and beautiful views from our balcony. breakfast was excellent, fresh juice and yummy omelette was amazing!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The approach road is dirt and not well maintained. I didn't mind the dirt but I did mind the corrugations and pot holes. The garden is poorly kept. It has the feeling of being neglected. The room we booked (the suite) smelled musty / moldy on entering. The kettle did not work, this was rectified, but I would expect that for an alleged 4 star accommodation this is all checked before hand. There are limited plug points in the room. The kettle plugs into an extension lead - not ideal and so too the heater. The plug point for the heater was not functional. The bathroom was tired. Mildew in the grout of the showers is NOT acceptable. Cracked floor tiles and and a general feeling of being neglected. This accommodation is certainly not what it may have been when it won the accolades in 2013. Breakfast was ok, nothing great. I would avoid this accommodation, there are many better options in and around Franschhoek.

    Location is good in terms of the estate being in a beautiful natural area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Self-Catering Cottage - Barn House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At night heard field mice / rats in the roof on the first night which kept me up but never heard them again and slept well the second night.

    Breakfasts were delicious. Ready to please staff but they weren't in your face all the time. Comfortable beds and heated underfloors made it so snug and warm. Thoroughly enjoyed sitting at the pool reading while getting some lovely warm sunshine.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The service at breakfast was poor for the standards expected from such a high quality establishment.

    Loved the location , property in general , as well as the quality of the rooms and facilities. The Gin Bar was amazing, although really expensive.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    Both the bedroom and bathroom were large, airy and well appointed. The breakfast was generous and freshly prepared. The staff were friendly, and efficient. The setting and the grounds were spectacular.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not much at all. Pool could have done with a bit of a clean, but we thought that was probably more to do with the local drought than anything else.

    Loved the location, but a car is definitely required. The gardens are lovely, and a great place to enjoy a quiet coffee in the morning. We would have liked the opportunity to explore a little more of the estate.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shower outlet was partially blocked which led to a very slow run off of the water Pool towels were not in room as suggested The public amenities can be improved upon - pool area and club house

    The 2 bed villa is very spacious, especially the bedrooms... Staff were really helpful Bottled Water provided Vegan breakfast catered for.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms would further improve if they had a fridge.

    On the Estate it is possible to relax and appreciate the mountainous surroundings of Franshoek on your on terrace or at the pool. The personnel is very friendly and very helpful, and the breakfast is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Coffee at breakfast was very strong and burnt tasting. Very expensive for b&b only. Disproportionate to other similar venues. Single occupancy in Champagne suite was much more expensive than other rooms in same venue, even though facilities were similar

    Beautiful setting, attentive staff. No facilities or options for lunch or dinner, but plenty of restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only thing, mentioned bikes but they were in town, so you couldn't cycle from the guest house... minor as the rest was great

    Pictures don't do it justice, lovely house and from our room, the views were amazing, perfect spot for morning coffee! The pool was a lovely addition to have a drink by and catch some sun.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t have BBC or CNN. But there was a selection of books in the room.

    We had a beautiful spacious room with a fantastic bathroom. The breakfast was generous.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was our third visit. There is nothing that we don’t like.

    Fabulous country setting. Breathtaking views. Jewel of a pool area. Large well appointed rooms. Personal caring service.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very minor thing - would be nice to have some better coffee in the room, the little sachets were not very nice flavour (very minor point).

    The staff were extremely welcoming and could not do enough for us. Room was very clean and everything provided that you could need. Breakfast excellent. Lovely pool to relax by

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Didn’t find staff that friendly on,y the gentleman on reception. Was given very expensive taxi to use by woman on reception as told u er doesn’t work that which we later found out wasn’t the case. The gentleman more friendly gave us a taxi company half the price. Also reception closed just before 830pm on the night before we checked out, no phone to call (in room) anyone as can’t use phone for international calls

    Beautiful setting and lovely 2 bed room with terrace. Beautiful stars at night

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The aircon was noisy - it sounded like pounding rain at times - and the wi-fi was a bit erratic but it was just unfortunate that I unexpectedly needed urgent and consistent internet access for much of my stay; this might perhaps not always be needed by holidaymakers.

    I could not have wished for a better place to stay while visiting Franschhoek. The setting is so tranquil and it is just a few minutes drive out of the centre of town. The room was huge and well equipped and we were offered a free bottle of wine and as much mineral water as we wanted. We had only one breakfast there but the food was nice and the service efficient. I highly recommend Val d'Or and would stay there again.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noises from the roof, may have been seeds from the tree over it. Mountain view was really garden view with glimpses of mountains. TV was located far too high on the wall. Mixed style and quality of furniture.

    The efficient air conditioning.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Beautiful hotel with incredibly helpful staff! We accidentally locked our keys in our car and everyone at the hotel was SO helpful - we would've never got the issue resolved so quickly without them. Would highly recommend to anyone!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    The receptionist could have been a bit more welcoming. Mosquitoes in our room kept us awake. Need some of those plug in mosquito killing machines.

    Delicious breakfast whilst enjoying a stunning view of the mountains.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The owner and her staff. The room decor and comfort. The beautiful garden. The proximity to Franchoek. The third time we have visited this property

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Self-Catering Cottage - Barn House
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    We have stayed 3 times and this year they had new pool loungers and our villa had an extra bedroom and bathroom. Staff friendly and nothing is too much trouble.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very poor wifi , quite pricey to get taxi to town , cost R240 return trip, only 6km drive. wouldn't put me off staying again , enjoyed our stay.

    comfortable beds , good air conditioning , great setting, very quiet and relaxing! Would stay again!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Airconditioner was dripping in our room, it was being fixed that morning.

    The bed was very comfortable and our room very well appointed. We had a lovely large balcony looking out over the gardens and up to the mountains. The young man on duty when we arrived was excellent and extremely helpful.Airconditioner was dripping in

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - the whole estate is going older and all areas need a refurbishing and more maintenance - the pics at booking.com are looking better than the reality - suites are situated directly to parking area - outdoor terrasse has an old, untidy floor and old furnitures - breakfast is in a lower style - the poole area is untidy and the pool dirty - overpriced, value for money

    - friendly staff, thanks a lot (other franschhoek experiences were not very friendly comparing to other destinations in south africa) - thanks for organizing reservations - free water in the room

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There are many mice on the property that kept coming into the room which spolity this lovely place. Perhaps the managemnt should do more to kerb the problem.

    The unit was a beautiful sized unit that accomodated us all very well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Two-Bedroom Villa
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only complaint I have is that there was no coffee in the tea station in the villa - sometimes coffee and biscuits are the preferred combination. Besides that everything was just Lush!!!

    The Two Bed Villa was absolutely Superb 😍 The views are breath taking #LookAtGod As lovers of a Good MCC Suzette organized us a few bottles within two hour which was bliss... Breakfast was simple but hit the right spot - a nice touch for self catering place! Bottles of water and a pint of Milk are available (replenished daily) along side tea and biscuits 💝💝 The biscuits are a lovely touch 💝

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wind was howling all night ( not the hotels fault)

    The bathroom was gorgeous, the table tennis table was a surprise as was Pepsi the dog who acted like a lifeguard by the pool ,

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    View from our room wasn’t exceptional but I am being harsh and also the road leading to the property was very bumpy with potholes.

    Gorgeous room, great staff that were helpful finding us a dinner reservation. The property was stunning with beautiful grounds and birdlife.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This extremely over rated property is also extremely over priced. By no means even close to a four star accommodation yet very pricy! Poor facilties, dirty breakfast room, poor taste enteriors, bad decor, bed, linens and window coverings. Its shameful to over charge especially foreign visitors like this.

    Absolutely nothing

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Self-Catering Cottage - Barn House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lovely grounds and the old house is very charming, the breakfast good and the service attentive. A warm welcome with a complimentary bottle of wine was a nice touch.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Set in beautiful gardens surrounded by the mountains. Checked in early allowed us to enjoy our day visiting Franschhoek and it’s winery’s. small pool to relax watching the sun go down. Kids playing with staff in the gardens. We stayed in a family villa with 1 double and 2 single beds, beautiful bathroom and small area to provide your own food, microwave, toaster etc. Breakfast room was lovely with excellent choice. Would thoroughly recommend and stay again.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too expensive compared to what you get. Not worth it for that price. Compared to other locations this was more than double the price

    Nice place, great location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff friendliness was okish and we have had much better breakfast in SA

    The location is a bit further off from the main road so you don’t get the street noise. Beautiful views.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Taxi's into town seemed expensive so be careful! The breakfast could've been better, it was included which was good. But would be better if they had a menu, I thought l was getting a cooked breakfast and l don't no whether it was the confusion but ended up with a plate of two poached eggs and a piece of bacon.. I think if u chose off a menu it would add more options and be a little easier! The muffins were very nice!

    The room was huge, the bathroom was huge, had an extra space where there was a sofa coffee table and tea/coffee facilities with a fridge that had fresh milk in and water (amazing touch) the rugs were amazing and so soft to walk on. The bed/pillows really comfortable! The staff were really helpful and friendly! The town is really nice. We went on the wine tram- Highly recommended it was a wonderful day!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The venue is rated 4 star and we would rate it 3 star. No telephone connection to reception, WIFI not good at all. No umbrella on the patio for shade. The breakfast was sub-standard. Over priced for the venue.

    Enjoyed the view and the location of the facility. The venue is rated 4 star and I would rate it 3 star.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 1 night

    We checked in at 14h00 and advised the front desk that we will not be having breakfast the next morning and it was confirmed that R180 will be deducted from our final payment. The next morning we confirmed this via SMS and although the response was that the R180 will be deducted the amount that went through my account still included the breakfast. We imediatly followed up and the response was not very friendly. As at today 24 hrs later the R180 has not been credited to my account! Disappointing, since we double checked!! Also no apology from the host!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps more of a selection on the cooked side of breakfast. One doesn't always feel like the same thing a few days in a row. But that's just me. I loved the breakfast, especially the mushrooms.

    Loved the strong coffee and the muesli. Room was great and spacious as was the bathroom. And of course the setting.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very cold bathroom - we discovered on the morning of our departure that the high window covered by a blind was wide open! Nice traditional bedroom wood furniture but overall appearance spoilt by dusty silk foliage and ugly flat pack wardrobes. Our late winter stay was disturbed by noise from renovation work during the day.

    Character property in beautiful setting and picturesque grounds close to Franschhoek. Lovely little pool area. Staff very helpful with restaurant recommendations and booking on evening of our arrival. Gorgeous view from our room. Appreciated fresh milk in our room fridge.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Little bit of a bumpy and muddy dirt road which was made worst with the rain...

    Nice and spacious room which will make it easy to find your bed after the wine tasting experiences that are around. Quiet, peaceful and pleasant staff.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately the bathroom in first room we were put in had not been cleaned properly (hair in the bath and shower) so they very promptly moved us to the room next door. This was even worse! The bath and shower were clean but the toilet was dirty- with urine stains on the seat and urine under the seat. They were very apologetic and upgraded us to the room downstairs. It was big and very comfortable. The bathroom was very clean and everything went swimmingly from there.

    Beautiful surroundings and delicious breakfast. Friendly and helpful staff. Picturesque location.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Lovely estate with gorgeous accommodation. Friendly staff and they even gave us free breakfast when we checked out! Thanks. We will definitely be back.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We stayed in one of the two bedroom family suites which are spacious with a living area, kitchen and two bedrooms and two bathrooms. Very clean and comfortable. We arrived at 2100 and a nice touch was the staff had warmed the room in advance. Breakfast is decent, nice juices, fresh fruit, yoghurt and a cooked breakfast if desired, a suggestion is an option like waffles for vegetarian guests. Overall a relaxing weekend stay in lovely surroundings.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wooden floors are a bit creaky

    The Barn Suites are very comfortable with magnificent views .Bedding and towels were of very good quality and the bathroom is big and comfortable.Staff are very friendly and helpful . Having coffee on the veranda , listening to all the birds was very peaceful and relaxing. Loved our stay

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The property is far enough out of town to give it that country feeling. The rooms are extremely spacious and very homely. Breakfast was amazing and the staff is very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Self-Catering Cottage - Barn House
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was perfect

    location is out of this world and the rooms are spacious and clean. What amazed me the most was the fact that after a Braai we had one night, when we woke up the next morning the whole area had been spotlessly cleaned and the grills had been taken away for further cleaning to reappear later in the day

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff extremely helpful. Organised a babysitter for our young children. As well as transport to and from the Tasting Room for dinner. Lovely relaxing place to stay

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very beautiful premises and garden. Staff is friendly and helpful. Breakfast was OK in terms of diversity, staff will come and ask you which hot plate to have (eggs...) and serve you with hot beverage (coffee...). very large rooms. Room service and cleanness was above expectation: bed sheets were arranged when we went out for the day, and then again in the evening when we went out for dinner, we were surprised to come back and see the room arranged and fresh towels replaced. Large premises with space for parking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We had decided to include a top class establishment as part of our honeymoon and we were not disappointed. The best part was the breakfast which was out of this world. The views were spectacular.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nobody was around when I had to leave very early in the morning (5am) and no arrangements for leaving the keys or to ensure payment was completed.

    Staff were very good and most helpful!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owners cottage where we stayed was brilliant. Beds really comfy. Beautiful bathrooms and some interesting art work.😘 Great sized accommodation for the 5 of us. The grounds were just stunning. The breakfast served was excellent, great quality, eggs cooked to perfection. A super venue that I would highly recommend, I look forward to returning.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Self-Catering Cottage - Barn House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Lovely guesthouse. We had a spacious suite which was great for a family of 4. Nice breakfast, beautiful environment. Very nice and quiet pool area. A couple of miles to the main street in Franschhoek with all restaurants

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very misleading images on the Val d'OR booking page. Our room was not in the main building, it was a unit in a 'barrack' style low roof building with room adjacent to each side. Our only view and day light came through the sliding doors, which served as the entrance. Old 70's COLOURED CARPET, OUTDATED AND OLD DRESSING TABLE, HORRIBLE PLASTIC FLOWERS in vases, ugly décor, mould on the ceiling of the shower...the list goes on. We slept there only one night and managed to book at another b&b for the second night. Never again at 'Golden Valley'.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms were spacious and comfortable and a lovely place to relax after a busy day out. The children loved the pool and lapa. The upper floor room had beautiful mountain and garden views.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No mosquito screens on Windows had to shut at night. Staff always did minimum not really interested in the outcome we did not feel welcome. Our safe did not work and in 5 nights no effort made to sort it out, we were told a previous visitor had taken the key! No master!!

    Good size of room. Size of the property

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A little distance out of Franschhoek itself but only R100 for cab ride!

    Apartment was of super standard with patio and lovely views out across estate & valley, close to swimming pool & main building with breakfast room. Nice cooked breakfast & buffet selection. Well set back from main road in & easy to find, well-signed. Not a wine estate but plenty nearby, we especially liked the Wine Tram set-up.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unfortunately we arrived on a cloudy day, obviously this is completely outside of the hotel control. Our drive back to Cape Town was spectacular.

    I like the fact that this hotel was slightly out of town, which made for a more relaxing out of town experience. The hotel can arrange taxis or there also a couple of Uber drivers in the area.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Familie suite offered less than expected in terms of space and furniture. Facilities like swimmingpool and furniture were not maintained well and old

    Spot was good. Nice gardens

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Two-Bedroom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely nothing I could fault this venue with, the only thing I didnt like was the fact that I only stayed one night and moved on. This will be my venue of choice for family for future

    The welcome and help by the staff was incredible. Check in was quick and easy, Immediately helped with our tons of luggage to our beutifull two bedrooms very spacious room with a great bathroom and a lovely patio. It was a perfect room for our requirements. I love the access to the gardens for the kids as also the pool area. Safety for the children was great. The breakfasts were great. Just the right amount of selection, offering both continental and English breakfast. I was so sorry that I did not make this my permanent base in Franschoek and I moved on to a 3 night stay and a really upmarket venue but was so disappointed that I called Val D'Orr and asked if we could come back. But sadly not because they were fully booked. We loved the feeling of not too many people and the privace was wonderful. A big plus was that they had the full bouquet of childrens channels which is such a bonus! Pool was clean abd sparkling

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 1 night

    the facilities in the room not in keeping with the type of accommodation ... eg mingy biscuits, no milk, shower that could not be acceptably temperature controlled

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just beginning to look a little tired in the public areas - felt the photos are a little misleading as suggests the property and rooms etc are much bigger than it really is. However a really lovely hideaway for those who appreciate nature and a peaceful environment.

    Lovely location, wonderful setting and very clean. Complimentary drinks in the rooms was a lovely touch.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only one small fault (and it really isn't easy to find one) is the breakfast buffet could be covered with fly protector domes but that really is it -everything else was excellent in every way -thank you.

    Lovely accommodation. Staff were excellent (owner is charming and extremely warm and accommodating. The words home-from-home are on this occasion very apt!) spotlessly clean and one of the most peaceful and relaxing places we have ever stayed. Very highly recommended.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely wonderful! The scene is so breathtaking! There's a pool for the kids and very quiet at night. The house is spacious, clean, comfortable and beautiful. Very modern and up-class decorated. The kitchen is huge and fully equipped. Braai place, wood and fire-lighters - everything you need! The rooms are clean and the beds are comfortable. Definitely a place to come back again!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    the cottage was very spacious and extremely comfortable . we could have moved in for ever. the beds were all very good size and furniture very high standard

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Our room above the reception area was noisy due to two fridges located in the bar below. It wasn't so disturbing but would have been nice if it wasn't there at all.

    Super location in nice gardens with pleasant pool. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • King Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The wifi could have been better but generally didn't expect it to be as good considering its remote location.

    I liked the little personal touches you only get in a guest house. The pool area was excellent and the location to Franschhoek a 5 minute drive away.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bicycle rental not recommended. They state to cooperate with a bicycle rental in down that delivers the bicycle directly to the hotel. In the end, we had one malfunctioning bicycle, had to pay a full day rental although we only had a half-day rental (because the hotel kept the bicycles the whole day) and had to go to the shop in town to pay the bicycles because the receptionist told us that she is not willing to take any card payments ("it is their business"). We would rather have rented the bicycles directly in town under these circumstances.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 1 night

    The general lack of maintenance especially wooden surfaces outside, no hot water when we needed a shower (only temporary), poor water pressure in the upstairs rooms, noisy wooden floors upstairs

    Friendly and helpfull staff, nice breakfast!

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • King Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast staff could be a little more smiley

    Easy and friendly check-in/check out Comfortable room and pleasant gardens Mandla was extremely helpful throughout the stay

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can't think of any at the moment

    Location,friendly and helpful staff, homely atmosphere,excellent rooms. The homely atmosphere is what appealed to me the most , and the accommodation excellent , I would like to spend at least 2 more days the next time I come

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite - Barn House
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Can't think of anything at all to improve the place.

    Superb location close to Franschhoek and several excellent wineries where we bought more boxes of wine than we intended to!!! Very comfortable room with mountain views and large modern bathroom. Quiet location but just a short trip into town where there are some very good restaurants.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Cottage
    • Stayed 1 night

    Shower head too short - you have to stand against the wall and water pressure was shocking. Main bedrooom as well as 2nd bedroom did not have enough hot water. This was a real let down hence the bad rating otherwise I would have given them Excellent on all accounts. But management did contact me to say that they have since sorted out the water issues.

    Beautiful garden, luxury accommodation, great beds, beautiful decor, spacious, well equipped

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Marvelous location Room is big and also the shower Very pleasant stay. Wish i had more time

    Stayed in June 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: