Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of The Vic Hotel

22 - 26 Cape Road, 6001 Port Elizabeth, South Africa

Review score

Based on 93 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.5

  • Comfort

    7.1

  • Location

    7.2

  • Facilities

    6.8

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 73

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room felt very small. The window dressing could not lift up. The result was that we felt boxed in. A view would make a difference. The fruit display and yoghurt for breakfast can be better- more variety.

    Booking, staff excellent. Safe parking. Comfortable bed, clean room and bathroom. Good warm breakfast.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the cleaners, eating same breakfast for 3 days, not getting water and toilet paper in the room.

    Staff was friendly and the room was comfortable

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very nice clean hotel. Friendly staff. Breakfast basic but more than enough. Will stay there again and will surely recommend it to friends and family. Within walking distance to St George's cricket ground.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On the 27/12/2017 we went to the bank we came back with the bank statement showing both payment we were told that the second payment will be refunded to our bank by 28/12/2017 bt it was not on the 3012/2017 we called the manager to ask abt the money he sad he tranfared the money bt the money was not there

    What I did not like is when the manager told us that we did not pay even though we payed before we arrive then we had to pay another R18,900 0n 26/12/2917

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noise from the lounge were a bit much in the evening, I was checked into a room with a broken shower door. And the breakfast did not have a vegetarian choice.

    The rooms were clean comfortable and the staff was friendly and helpful

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Clean towels available and sometimes no towels at all. Had to ask for towels and toilet paper everyday. On one morning they ran out of eggs for breakfast. I was told that they ran out of towels and had to tell them they needed to buy more.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Vic hotel? At door 3star guesthouse. Nobody at locked gate when we arrived. 15 minutes to get access. Payment already processed when I arrived. Room dirty. Holes in wall. No towels. No toilet paper... Not ready when we arrived at 18.30. After they confirmed our arrival at 13.30. Sugar in room. No coffee/ milk... At breakfast. Served from 8.00. Coffee arrived at 8.20...

    Nothing!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived around 6pm after a very long day of driving. The receptionist was very quick to snatch our card for payment without even a friendly greeting. We were handed a door key and had to request to be shown were our room was... were taken to the wrong room on the wrong side of the hotel 2 staircases later they eventually found our room but I could hear the man and woman whisper to each other if the room had been cleaned. They then promptly disappeared. We requested towels upon arrival and were told they would be brought to us. The carpet of the room was so stained it was disgusting and the room was certainly not what was shown in the pictures on Booking.com We went to dinner at 7pm. When we returned at 9.30pm there was no sign of receptionist or night manager. We went to the room to find they still hadn't brought any towels. Searched for a staff member and found nothing. Not even a note with an emergency contact number. By 10pm had to ask the security guard at the gate for a contact number for someone in charge to ask yet again for towels (I was apparently the third person to complain that evening ). Spoke to Manager by telephone who claimed they were short staff and that someone would be back at the desk at 8am but she would arrange towels. After 11pm the security delivered 2 small hand towels to the room. There was absolutely no hot water in the room. The bathroom floor was sticky and the shower floor was slimy. We left early the next morning without breakfast and were disgusted by the entire experience. The manager has not bothered to call and apologise or anything. Terrible experience, hotel lacked basic room provisions (towel, soap, hot water etc). I advise anyone to stay away. I have requested a refund but am yet to hear from the manager.

    Nothing... It was the worst "hotel" experience ever. STAY AWAY - Carpets were filthy and covered in stains . Curtains had brown marks - Bedside lamp missing a bulb - Aircon remote missing batteries - Cupboard door handle broken - No hot water at all. Shower floor slimy, bathroom floor sticky. - Had to ask for towels 4 times.. they arrived at 11pm and were small hand towels - No small courtesy soap to wash hands ( they apparently had run out and would go buy some) - No receptionist or night manager anywhere to handle any request after 7pm - Terrible value for money.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The entire placeAbsolutely nothing. Advertising misleading. What they offer should not be called breakfast.misleading advertising. Rooms very small. Security guard does the check inns. Place was smelly. Extremely disappointed. Was better to sleep in my car. Absolute rip off.

    Absolutely nothing. Advertising misleading. What they offer should not be called breakfast.misleading advertising. Rooms very small. Security guard does the check inns. Place was smelly. Extremely disappointed. Was better to sleep in my car.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It feels like the hotel is really old. The shower was dirty. The bed was not comfortable at all. The room was extremely small. Also there was kind of wet in the room. We paid like 70$ per night with breakfast which still I consider like too much for such place. As breakfast they served coffee (so so) tea, toasts, eggs. So I would rather have coffee at Starbucks.

    It is situated approximately 15 min from the airport. I would recommend it only for 1 night in case there is no other place to stay in. We liked the view of the building. The hotel is situated in an old building where you really feel the relicts of colonial past. I guess previously it was an Englishman property. The lady who helped to serve the breakfast was very helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a problem with airconditioning that wasn't working in the terrible hot weather. We were offered a fan, but it didnt really make a difference

    The staff is friendly and the service was excellent.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No windows opened in the room, air con did not work, tv hardly worked, room was not cleaned well, hair dryer attached to the desk so you had to bend down or sit on the floor to dry your hair. We booked out after one night.

    Staff were accommodating

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gata access they need to catching up,there are temores. And the one central number is a problem if the sustém is downloads there is no reaching the hotel.they need to have Direct lines

    The staff makes it feel like home

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its a horrible damp mouldy place that is old and run down. Even my clothes stank within hours of mould. This is not a motel instead a backpackers lodge. I have requested a refund for both nights.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wardrobe space was really small. The TV was not great and had no remote control. The bedside lamps were not really bedside and I couldn't put them on.

    Friendly staff who were prepared to go the extra mile. Breakfast was splendid.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    When we arrived at night there was only one towel. We requested another but the staff left without providing one

    Accommodative. They acceded to requested to have breakfast at 6am because we have to leave by 6.45am for airport. Good location. Less than 10 min to airport

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    I liked the place,it was clean.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Windows should be cleaned.

    Old English feeling

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    All its good

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Studio
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    Value for money

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was limited as we expect a variety of food

    It was just below what I expected

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The fact that we could check in late at night after unexpectedly coming to hospital from out of town

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Homely environment

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower

    Affordable accommodation

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very basic and with no options to choose from

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower head spilling water all over the bathroom. Linens smelly as if not dried enough. Leaking roof.

    Car parking safe

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    keep improving

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very neat and staff friendly

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator, but not a big deal.

    The classic Victorian architecture was pretty, the staff was very friendly and helpful. Great breakfast!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Manageress very helpful. We checked in late and she was very helpful amd accomodating.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi should be free.

    Staff were super helpful, and accommodated our departure at 5am for an early flight.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    22:00 reception was closed

    Breakfast should be served from 06:00 instead of 07:00

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The bed was not long enough for me

    Very close to beach and our wedding venue. Rooms very spacious !! Like the kettle and coffee.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Its reserved place,more of a pension hotel

    Extra bed

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Hospitality of the staff and the homely feeling of the property

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tv in the wardrobe, small room and old bathroom.

    Nice and helpful staff. Quite good breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Noisy and close to a road. Impersonal service

    Large room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    When I called I was told that there are no rooms left and when to bookings.com found a room.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Free Wi-Fi maybe

    Beds were comfy, toilet and showers were great

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wifi only at extra cost. Shower needs tlc.

    Very friendly staff. Safe parking.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast could have a bit more options

    The bed, the bath tub

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast Decor

    Nothing i really liked

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The first room didn't had water supply in the toilet and the second room's shower didn't drain properly.

    The hospitality of your staff..

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very close to good restaurants and central, secure parking, quite even though on main road

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    its a dump

    nothing

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Studio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hallway carpets are showing signs of excess wear & tear.

    Affordable, clean, centrally located, off street parking, easy to find.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was just perfect and we ended up booking through you for another night on our way home

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Windows don't open in bedrooms, TV didn't work - had to move to a new bedroom / they had to look for TV remotes in the other rooms, Didn't have towels in the new bedroom, Wasn't told about Wi-Fi, Wanted to check out as wasn't very happy with the accommodation ( first room ) but I was told that I would have to forfeit my payment

    The bed and pillows were very comfortable, I was upgraded to a better standard room for which I was thankful,

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Got woken up by the loud talking in reception by 06:00 in the morning which I feel is unacceptable especially since our room was right next to the reception. When we came out for breakfast by 08:50 there was no sign of any breakfast. The reception staff was not friendly at all and I booked myself and my fiance in because it was her birthday... dont think we will be visiting anytime soon again.Our bathroom basin was dirty as well.

    We booked into your Hotel on 02 May 2016 booked a bed and breakfast...the lady in reception was a lovely, friendly african lady. Beautiful building very vintage.

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    TV was old with few choices. Rooms small but sufficient for one night.

    Found it easily from Highway. Staff were friendly and helped with info on places to eat in walking distance, Breakfast was ample for a start to the day but would have been better earlier as we were touring.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Solo traveller

    I came over on the only night that your beloved ANC made a noise the ENTIRE night. The shower head could do with a replacement and the loo could get a new shut-off valve.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Maintenance of walls need some attention. Rooms small. TV's old in 1 of the rooms that we had. Top pillows not good quality

    Beds were comfortable. Decent basic breakfast. Good warm water presure. Great soaps, shower gel, lotion and shampoo.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Family with older children

    Pillows were terrible.Westbourne room needs another side table and each table should have a lamp.Tv needs to be ugraded, maybe a few more channels.The window needs a net curtain as the adjoining flats look right into your room.

    Place was very clean, staff friendly

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    It was a late booking, and although reception was closed, there was a friendly security guard who was able to let me in and give me my room keys. Comfy, and value for money

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    there was no entertainment, no room service regarding meals. The breakfast times should be extended or changed.

    The friendliness of the staff, the comfort, the location, affordability & the safety.

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    location wasnt good. our room we booked was very small. no free wifi or breakfast. we only stayed 1 night out of our 2 nights we booked

    staff / management was very good during our stay on NYE dec 2015

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location isn't the best. There was also a few things in the room that didn't work.

    The executive suite was great, and the Manageress was lovely.

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The rooms need some urgent upgrades to make them a bit more fresh. There was only one real channel on TV to watch for those that are not into sport. Breakfast is very limited and yet comparably expensive.

    The location of the hotel is not so far from the sea front and it has a lot of amenities comfortably near it. There is ample secure parking space. The hotel surroundings are peaceful and quiet.

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Most rooms need updating. Only one cleaner on duty who was overwhelmed. Hotel undermanned and the few staff who were all quite junior coped admirably. No sign until last day of any kind of supervisor. Pool was unusable and no pool furniture

    Friendly staff but under pressure during holiday period. Quirky nature of the building and furnishing. Location with decent restaurants nearby

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Poorly managed and maintained. I had to cancel duration of my stay due to unkept rooms and facilities. Promised to get refund on 8Jan 2015 for the days we made cancelation to date there hasn't been anything forthcoming. Extremely disappointed in the lack of commitment from management. Staff do try but little leadership & direction is provided.

    Not much. Maybe safety in hotel.

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Couple

    Perfect for our needs

    Breakfast was ample

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    There was not enough variety on the TV

    The staff were friendly and very accommodating sorted our problems fast and efficiently.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Carpets had abit of smell

    The location is central to all the attractions. Very nice property.

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Only 1 bath sheet towel but we are two people

    Comfy bed Great atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    There were not enough TV channels

    The staff were very friendly and the manager most accommodating to our needs

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    They need to provide free Wi-Fi for clients

    The reception was good and we were check-in fast

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The damp smell in the bathroom. The bed throw was not clean

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    The place is not neat

  • Reviewed: 14 March 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    Everything was excellent

    Excellent

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    None.

    Friendly staff Homely setup

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast very limited choice of food and excluded from room rates and is expensive

    Their hospitality and clean and nice rooms

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The steps are narrow and too uphill/steepy.

There are also 31 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 73

Browse The Vic Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: