Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Afrikana Guest Suites 5 stars

13 Watsonia Drive, Paradise, Paradise, 6750 Knysna, South Africa

#2 of 79 B&Bs and Inns in Knysna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 110 hotel reviews

9.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10

  • Comfort

    9.9

  • Location

    9.7

  • Facilities

    9.8

  • Staff

    9.9

  • Value for money

    9.7

  • Free WiFi

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Phantom Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    The staff were exceptional, all our needs were met; never left questioning where someone was if anything was needed, they were always available to help us with a smile. A personalized breakfast and amazing accompanying view made every morning bliss to wake to. The hosts were friendly, fun and informative, also readily available to assist us with anything, and being seen off by them when as we left was a novelty.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Matarolli Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing room and views, very comfortable, lovely people and attention to detail. Very nice touches of free drinks on arrival and leaving. Excellent experience!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Phantom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything about it.

    The view was awesome and staff were great, very clean and quiet just the way I wanted it. The fact that I don't have to go and eat in 5he dinning hall I can have privacy and eat in my balcony. Free drinks in the evening.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gouna Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    interior decoration could be warmer compared to some of the other boutique hotels we visited

    great staff, lovely views, fantastic breakfast and attention to details. overall a lovely hotel

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Phantom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful location overlooking the bay. The staff were so attentive and welcoming The decor was very contemporary and stylish Breakfast sitting outside overlooking the bay was amazing Owner took the time out to speak to you and was there to wish you on your way when you left.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gouna Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Beautiful boutique hotel with a relaxed atmosphere. Immaculate. Room was superb, everything you could want. Happy, friendly staff, that couldn't do enough for you. High quality breakfast. The best place we stopped at throughout our trip.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spitskop Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing amazing staff ! Awesome breakfast and they went out of the way for my wife who is vegetarian. Amazing views ! And special thanks to the owners of the property who helped us plan our trip.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spitskop Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wonderful people, welcoming us and catering to our every need. We stayed 2 nights and it was the highlight if our trip to South Africa so far, and certainly the very best service we received while in the country. Our room was phenomenal (the photos speak for themselves), pristine, breathtaking views of the lagoon, lovely touches like chocolates on the pillow and welcome and farewell notes. The owners, Ross & Bianca, obviously know their stuff when it comes to hospitality. Highly recommended!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gouna Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing... everything was amazing

    Ross & Bianca have made our stay as good as staying in any 6* Hotel Because of their experience on the Cruise Liners they have brought a level of service that I have only seen 2 before Ritz Carlton Naples Florida Park Kenmare Ireland So for 2 people to achieve this level of service ( Family Friendship and quality of Service ) it is amazing they have achieved this.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Phantom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was a bit of noise from the room upstairs due to quite a thin ceiling perhaps, which can’t really be helped but did disturb us a bit late at night / first thing in the morning.

    We loved our stay. The service was amazing and the breakfasts delicious. The small things like the drinks hour and the honesty bar all added to our stay. From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Phantom Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing that made me upset or ruined my experience while staying at the guest house.

    The hosts (Rossano & Bianca) and the Staff were exceptionally friendly, welcoming and always willing to go the extra mile to ensure that you were enjoying your stay at the guest house. The guest house has a fantastic view of the Knsyna lagoon/estuary as well.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Phantom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Fantastic villa - gorgeous decor, amazing staff. Welcome drink and chocolate covered strawberries were delicious. Breakfast on our balcony over looking the bay was wonderful and the food was incredible - the best breakfast we had on our whole 3 week trip! Afternoon tea and pre-dinner drinks a lovely touch. Staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. Only wish we had more than 1 night here - will be recommending to everyone!

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Noetzie Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to leave.

    This propert is simply gorgeous with fabulous views. The special attention provided by staff -- whether washing your car, bringing your breakfast to your private balcony or helping with your luggage and parking -- is exemplary. We travel at lot and this property is at the top of our list!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Matarolli Suite
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    The place was fantastic! Location, view from room, staff, facilities where all excellent. We will definitely be going back. Would recommend it to anyone 😄

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spitskop Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Weather could have been kinder but staying there was great compensation for rainy day!

    Beautiful place to stay, including views and facilities and staff. Perfect in every way.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gouna Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very nice hotel, with large rooms, a good view of the lagoon, and very good services. I have strongly appreciated the friendly welcome and treatment of the owners. Thank you so much.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Owner's Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Directions to the place a bit difficult if your navigator is not working.

    Everything about the place & the the fact that we were accomodated with our child. We were impressed!!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Owner's Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Best place to stay! Fabulous room! Great staff! Fantastic View! And it has very good free wine & whisky tasting everyday! Can't love it more

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Noetzie Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights

    One or two small suggestions regarding possible improvements were responded to immediately by Ross and Bianca, so I really have no dislikes about Villa Afrikana at all

    The service was perfect, staff anticipated needs, rather than reacting to them. Our hosts, Ross and Bianca, were a mine of information, and really, really, listened when talking to you, therefore were able to pinpoint additional things you might enjoy during your day's explorations, and were able to head off problems on any front regarding your stay. The villa and its panoramic views of Knysna Lagoon were just out of this world.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Matarolli Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No downsides here...

    Stunning 5 star boutique hotel in the hills overlooking Knysna. Close to the centre of things but enough distance to feel relaxed. The staff are wonderful and cannot do enough for you. The hosts are extremely welcoming and helpful. They go the extra distance to make your stay memorable- a welcome bottle of wine, little aperitifs arrived just before dinner, car was washed without us asking... Listen to their recommendations of where to go as you won't be disappointed! If you have time I would recommend visiting the Tenikwa cat reserve, go whale watching and visit the Pezula spa! Amazing trip - didn't want to leave...

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gouna Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The WIFI in the room was cutting out every5 minutes. That was really the only thing that prevented our stay from being perfect.

    Fantastic base for exporing Knysna. It was a 5+ star experience. We hated to leave.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gouna Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little noisy in the morning due to hard surfaces of contemporary design....only av issue if you want a lie in

    Fantastic staff, great location and owners were very welcoming and helped us in anyway they coulld. View from our suite (Gouna) was stunning....probably our favourite stay on our trip

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Phantom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing in every way possible.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Superb boutique hotel- superb views- staff are second to none in politeness and friendliness. Cannot recommend highly enough.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spitskop Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    NOTHING

    Simply amazing loved everything

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Phantom Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Owner's Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    This really is a top class establishment. Unbelievable service, beautiful rooms and views. Couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spitskop Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Better selection on the early supper menu

    everything

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Gouna Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First class staff and service in a beautifully decorated and furnished room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spitskop Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff, style and scenery.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Phantom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent, everything was perfect. I loved staying here.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Matarolli Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Ros and Bianca and the whole staff are just amazing!!!! thanks soooo much

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Phantom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perfect stay. Very friendly owner and staff.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Owner's Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    The quality of the accomodation super. Good breakfast and fantastic view.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Owner's Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    everything 100 % top!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Phantom Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cant walk to Knysna Yet transport is arranged swiftly

    Friendly warm 5 star service Priceless view Breakfast and souper on balcony, patio

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Phantom Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No really.

    Very good service from whole team.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spitskop Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast on our balcony looking over Knysna lagoon. What a luxury. We felt very spoilt from the moment we arrived. Can't wait to go back.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Matarolli Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool was not heater and driveway was very very steep!

    Fantastic welcome after a long days drive. Very modern and loved the decor!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Owner's Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything was perfect!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Spitskop Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything, superior service, excellent breakfast, great view from the balcony of our room

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Noetzie Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything. Staff and owners wonderful and rooms perfect.Couldn't fault it!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Matarolli Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was fantastic!

    Beautiful views, luxurious rooms, fantastic breakfasts and the service is excellent!!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Noetzie Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing! It was just perfect!!

    Perfect room setting - amazing views and very courteous staff. They even served breakfast in the room

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Matarolli Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower was not clean

    The views

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing!

    Faultless! A sublime choice to stay along the garden route, we couldn't really praise Afrikana Suites any higher. In terms of accommodation it was the highlight of our stay - glad we booked 2 nights and just wish we had time for more. The staff are attentive and couldnt do any more for you if they tried. The suite we stayed in was stunning and so relaxing - amazing panoramic views over Knysna lagoon and the town. Superb location close to restaurants and a short drive to stunning beaches at Buffels Bay and Brenton. Excellent attention to detail like having bottles of water at the bedside when you come back from a meal out or beach chairs and umbrellas you can take with you for the day. Book here and you will not regret it!

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything. Ross,Bianca and their staff were just superb,they could not do enough for you,arranging trips etc. The attention to detail Ross and Bianca provide is just first class. The view from our suite looking over Knysna and the lagoon was exquisite. One of the best places have ever stayed.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The ONLY downside is that the rooms have windows with blinds that let in plenty of light in the morning so not much sleep but everything else was WONDERFUL!

    Stunning hotel and beautiful room. Wonderfully friendly staff and owner. Exceptional view.

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Its a long way to fly to go back.

    Beautiful decore, with a modern twist on african design fillng the villa. Luxury room and service with a very personal and homely feel. Breakfast is amazing, they even gave us a take away basket the morning we left. Yum!

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None whatsoever.

    From the moment you step into Villa Afrikana everyone welcomes you as though you just got home! The staff and management are all very helpful and the facilities are world-class!!

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is nothing we diddnt like

    Where to start with the Villa Afrikana.... this is just a lovely place to stay. The service offered by its staff is second to none, and to be honest far exceeded most places of this level and our expectations. The attention to detail is amazing, from the complementary breakfast in your suite, if you want it, to the very reasonable prices in the minibar, to the amazing bathrooms - with lovely toiletries, soft towels, robes and slippers, large comfortable beds.... We have just had a wonderful time and will definitely be staying again and recommending this fantastic hotel to all our friends. Thank you guys for a fabulous stay.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    This is an amazing place to stay if you enjoy luxury surroundings and helpful, attentative staff. The hosts, Ross and Bianca, are fabulous and their attention to detail in the whole place is remarkable. Nice touches like little treats left for you when the beds are turned down at night.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Staying here was one of my highlights of my trip to South Africa. Really a top-class experience. It is no surprise that it is the number one place to stay in Knysna according to TripAdvisor. The staff are very friendly, hospitable, and professional. The villa is pristine, elegantly decorated, and has everything one could need. The rooms are luxury and clean, and the view supreme. And of course the opportunity to have breakfast in your suite with that splendid view...

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The place was perfect, well situated with amazing views. The staff and owners where extremely nice and able to balance been helpful and let us have privacy. The rooms are amazing and well thought out and done. We will definitely be returning again

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The wifi was hard to connect to and kept dropping out. Maybe it was better at times when nobody wanted to use it, but otherwise is drove us up the wall with frustration.

    Location, comfort, service, everything was of the highest possible standard. There couldn't be a better place to stay in the beautiful Knysna region.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing.

    We had a wonderful stay at Villa Afrikana. The owner and the staff were absolutely wonderful and made our stay as much enjoyable as possible. I really recommend this place. If you would like to feel at home in your holiday, book here!

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have stayed in a good number of guest houses in South Africa, but nothing beats the class and elegance of Villa Afrikana. From the welcome you receive on arrival to the comfort and spectacular view from your room to the wonderful breakfast, it oozes pure quality.

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Internet is slow which I think is the same for all the lodges that we stayed in during our trip

    everything was perfect the view the balcony the bed the way we were greeted and how helpful, welcoming and nice were the staff. This is one of the best places I stayed in in South Africa the breakfast is delicious and you can have it on ur own balcony which made it extra special.

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bianca and Ross are wonderful hosts who set the tone for the rest of their staff. Little touches like personal and individual breakfast service on your own terrace make this a great place to relax and unwind. During our stay we had a long and unexpected round trip back to Cape Town - Bianca on discovering this immediately put us a (free) packed lunch together for our journey. The staff were also so very attentive - Lovemore in particular (thank you Lovermore). We will definitely stay again when next in the area.

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was overly firm. When raised with management it was dealt with swiftly and soft rolltop mattress/duvets were put on the bed to make it softer to lie on.

    Modern Very large room with balcony Balcony with far reaching views (Spitkopf room) Huge bathroom with underfloor heating Managers and staff were very welcoming and helpful and pampered our every whim!

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing, It was just perfect

    It was our best accomendation we had during our SA trip (we had 13 different accommodations): our room was super clean, bright and had a nice view. The breakfast included everything you could ask for and the host and the staff was extremly friendly and helpful. We would stay their any time agian.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed could be more comfy.

    Views great! Staff and owners supper! Breakfast to die for!

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Outstanding establishment, great hosts and staff and the breakfast was excellent!!

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Nothing not to like!

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    The hosts

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Warm welcome, attentive staff, beautiful location, room and ambience.

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Excellent location, safe environment, luxurious accommodation and exceptional staff.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Wonderful Gouna suite overlooking the lagoon. Attention to every detail by lovely staff. Breakfast on private balcony. Heaven

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing whatsoever

    Truly wonderful hotel with equally amazing staff.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Service absolutely excellent with some of the best views in Knysna

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendly people.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Stylish & immaculate property with stunning views Wonderfully caring and attentive staff Marvellous hosts 5* most definitely

  • Reviewed: 4 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very professional, but at the same time a very warm and heartly atmosphere. Staff and owners very much involved in making your stay perfect.

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    amazing room great view Staff fully committed to vacation success quiet room very good bed excellent shower

  • Reviewed: 27 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing view, staff and breakfast.

There are also 14 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Villa Afrikana Guest Suites traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: