Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Chantè

7 Scabra Street, 6500 Dana Bay, South Africa

#4 of 4 hotels in Dana Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 35 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    7.3

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.2

  • Staff

    8.1

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    6.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: 25 September 2018

    7.5
    Good experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Unit
    • Stayed 1 night

    DSTV was on and off during our stay. Would have liked to have floor mats in front of the bed, especially when it's cold. Also no warm water in the kitchen to wash dishes

    Nice location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2017

    3.3
    Big disappointment
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Unit
    • Stayed 1 night

    Some lights did not work (3, kitchen, 2 bed lamps) and was not fixed on request. Extractor fan in bathroom was very noisy and disgustingly dirty. Very unprofessional receptionist questioned my Booking.com reservation, although all information was correctly reflected on Booking.com.

    Nothing - very basic. Although room was advertised as suitable for 4 adults and one child, it actually could only sleep 4 people. Only one extra blanket provided. Room very cold.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2017

    3.3
    Receptionist was in a hurry to leave.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Unit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist was in a hurry to leave. No bedside carpets on the tiled floors. Shower poorly illuminated and taps need urgent attention. Housekeeping??? Coffee insufficient - 2 caches for 3 guests. Curtains poorly hung,and insufficient.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    10
    Amazing stay! Close to everything. Dana beach is beautiful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Unit
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Theres nothing i did not like

    The cleanliness of the place

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    9.2
    Great and happy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Three-Bedroom Unit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Card parking in front of my door and main bedroom windows

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Cleanliness linen from the best I been to many hotels...
    • Group
    • Three-Bedroom Unit
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mabe change blanket in cupboard

    Cleanliness linen from the best I been to many hotels already view perfect deck beatifull seroundings.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2017

    9.2
    great central location and will definately stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Open Plan Unit
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds were comfortable and nice clean linen. Nice to have DSTV with the radio stations for listening music.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    10
    Very neat and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Open Plan Unit
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had no dislikes.

    Everything was to our liking and our stay there was very pleasant.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed it
    • Family with young children
    • Studio Unit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kitchen utensils was mix and match. Bathroom extractor fan was very noisy and dirty

    Like the view. And the braai area

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2017

    2.5
    Disgusting
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Two-Bedroom Unit
    • Stayed 18 nights

    ?

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    8.3
    Safe area for the children
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Unit
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No iron

    Safe area for the children

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    8.8
    Okay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Unit
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The banker bed was not comfortable for the kids and sink did not have warm water to wash the dishes.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    5.8
    Peacfull in the day
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Studio Unit
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are not sound proof can hear talking through the wall's late at night

    Peacfull in the day

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    7.5
    Staff was very friendly and helpful.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Open Plan Unit
    • Stayed 18 nights

    Parking space is a bit of a problem! No light at the braai at Villa 7.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 November 2016

    7.5
    Comfortable with all basic equipment
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Open Plan Unit
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room a bit small

    Quiet pleasant and safe area

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2016

    2.5
    We indicated online that we would be arriving late our...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We indicated online that we would be arriving late our booking was confirmed and our money take from my account but yet when we arrived they didn't check us in as we were too late

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    4.6
    Management staff friendly and tried to help as best possible.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Floors dirty, missing kitchen utensils and terrible pots and pans. WIFI and DSTV not working

    Management staff friendly and tried to help as best possible.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    7.5
    The area and he environment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    The room that istayed in was a bit stuffy. I think the previous people that stayed there were heavy smokers. Even my clothing has that scent. perhaps live the room open fpor a while after it was cleaned. it was very neat but judst the stuff smell.

    The area and he environment. Neatness and very quite place.

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2015

    5.4
    It took the staff 25 min to come and leave the key.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    It took the staff 25 min to come and leave the key. Had to call twice even if she first said it would just take a couple of minutes. We were standing there with two very tired children 20.30. The furnitures are old and not modern, not worth the money. The only positive thing was that the beds were confirtable.

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2015

    6.7
    Nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The coffee mugs were aged and stained. Not enough cutlery for 5 people. We didn't even each have a fork to eat with and teaspoons were sparse. I cut my finger, and not so lightly, on a sharp edge on the inside garage bolt as soon as we arrived because the part to hold on was cut off. We were only given 1 toilet roll in each bathroom. No servicing, no cleaning or emptying of bins, no clean towels except on arrival. 1 bath towel each and a 1 hand towel per bathroom to share - 3 nights - 5 people. Office was not manned except on our check in.

    Nice location. There are two bathrooms in the house. Central to beaches and shops by car. It is also possible to walk to beaches but uphill coming back. The ocean can be seen from the house. There's free parking and an interleading garage. The indoor open fire braai (barbeque) is a plus for winter both for cooking and warmth. Wifi worked well.

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2015

    6.7
    Enjoyed the comfortable bed but the duvet was too warm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Situated next to a road so traffic disturbed us. Smokey smell upstairs and no windows as right under the roof which made it stuffy. Quite far from the beach.

    Enjoyed the comfortable bed but the duvet was too warm. Liked the clean little town. Friendly staff.

  • Reviewed: 5 February 2015

    6.3
    Location was fine.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Kitchen - hot water problem to wash dishes. Had to boil kettle. No space to work Staff did not clean daily. We had to wait for key. It was lost.

    Location was fine. Staff at reception was friendly. Place was clean. Bedroom and bathroom were comfortable.

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    7.5
    It was a lovely location in close proximity to everything...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The bathroom shower needed a good scrub.

    It was a lovely location in close proximity to everything yet somewhat isolated.

  • Reviewed: 13 December 2015

    6.7
    Good price.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Cutlery etc. A bit basic. Didn't have a broom to clean the floor etc.

    Good price. Clean

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2015

    6.7
    Great location and peace, pet friendly!
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Facilities need attention

    Great location and peace, pet friendly!

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    5.4
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    was not told about what was done by the staff and what we had to do with the room.

    The location

There are also 13 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: