Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Paradisa Guest House 5 stars

9 Watsonia Drive, Paradise, Paradise, 6571 Knysna, South Africa

#27 of 79 B&Bs and Inns in Knysna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 90 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.5

  • Comfort

    9.4

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.5

  • Value for money

    8.7

  • Free WiFi

    7.8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location a bit hard to find. Decor a little tired, e.g., the carpets should be cleaned or replaced. Marilyn and Martin were welcoming and easy to work with.

    Cozy house.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    bedroom cupboards can be upgraded a little

    i loved the quality of the bedding the friendly service the gourmet breakfast the personal attention to detail

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Upon arrival I wrote to Marilyn to guarantee I booked a room with a view and explained that my husband and I are on our honeymoon. I got an immediate response congratulating us and offering a complimentary upgrade. We were completely blown away with the incredible view from any part of the hotel but especially from our second floor suite. The room was decorated in flowers shaped in hearts and we were given a special bottle of champagne to start off our stay. Marylin and Martin are beyond gracious hosts-booking reservations, offering recommendations, and are around for plenty of nice conversations. The breakfast prepared by Martin was as ascetically beautiful as it was delicious! We would absolutely not stay anywhere else if we are lucky enough to come back to Knysna!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Very charming B&B. Martin and Marilyn are very very nice. Martin’s breakfast is wondering, you won’t get any of these with any chain hotel.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coral Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Martin was amazing and makes the best chili sauce and the view was spectacular. We were unfortunate to have grey skies but I can imagine it is stunning with the sunshine. Breakfast was excellent and the rooms are well appointed.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Fantastic location overlooking Knysna and the Lagoon. Staff were great, very friendly and Martin's breakfast was 5 star cooking - great way to start the day. Lovely rooms and a great pool area to relax by. There is also a barbeque area beside the pool and if you can get 6 people to agree to it Martin will cook a barbeque for you - highly recommended.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location was a bit difficult to find.

    The hosts and the staff were all very friendly and helpful. The views from the property were superb. Amazing choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hot tub was too cool to use, disappointing as we'd booked the room in large part because of the supposed hot tub with a view, the pool was empty. Also,we expected a hotel but it appeared that we were the only guests staying in a room in someone's house, which seemed a little uncomfortable. Worst of all, the owner made us breakfast while unwashed, wearing boxers, and coughing heavily into our eggs. It also was the most expensive place we've stayed in South Africa and the least, by far, we enjoyed a stay.

    Lagoon view was nice, and the location was good, though not walkable to anything.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oyster Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The fantastic view, Marilyn's kind hospitality and Martin's 5* breakfasts... We loved it so much the first time we came back again! Having stayed at Villa Paradisa in November 2015, we booked to return in February 2017. Villa Paradisa really is paradise in Knysna. Marilyn and Martin's home is beautiful and has an amazing view over Knysna and of The Heads. The room we stayed in was very comfortable and has everything you could need. Marilyn's hosting is brilliant, she is so passionate and knowledgable about the local area and she is happy to recommend local attractions, things to do and places to eat (she also made all of our reservations for us). As first time visitors to Knysna, we really appreciated Marilyn's advice and recommendations. During our second stay, I celebrated my birthday at Villa Paradisa and Marilyn made sure that we had a bottle of bubbly delivered to our room which was such a lovely touch. Each morning, Martin prepares a fantastic breakfast which is not to be missed. Martin is an excellent chef and brings a unique twist to the standard eggs and bacon breakfast. His breakfasts are delicious and are part of the reason for our second booking! I am sure we will return to Villa Paradisa for a third time soon.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Urchin Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Perhaps a ramp for easy transport of luggage. We do not need staff to do this for us on the whole.

    Hosts exceptionally 'hands-on",knowledgeable. Open plan kitchen, dining and sitting rooms are their home and we felt very welcome guests.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a real shame that there is a power station along the coast.

    Staff provided extra special touches for our birthdays. The apartment had high quality furnishings and was very comfortable. Staff were v friendly.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views are simply to die for, location location location. The whole stay is designed around making the guest feel so special, the aptly named suites are magical and even the breakfast is a thing of beauty. Thank you to Marilyn, Martin and their wonderful staff for a perfect holiday in beautiful Knysna.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 23 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oyster Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing everything was perfect

    Everything . The most opulent stunning guest house you could imagine with the most wonderful and interesting hosts ..Martins breakfasts are fantastic

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Urchin Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facilities were first class and we enjoyed our conversations with our hosts. Martin cooks a wonderful breakfast, far superior to your usual " full English". A TV film crew turned up to shoot whilst we were there.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This has to be one of the best places I've stayed on our recent holiday to South Africa. It was top class with magnificent views over the lagoon in Knysna. Marilyn and Martin were great hosts and the food was great.We would definitely recommend this property.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast could have been a bit better. Wifi was very poor. Bed was comfy but for someone 1.85 mtr tall the bed was too short.

    View and position of the property

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is everything that previous guests have raved about, and our hosts were so helpful in making great suggestions to ensure we enjoyed our stay.

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Sea Urchin Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The friendly and personal attention of the owners and staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain!

    Couldn‘t be any better! Stunning view, tasty and rich breakfast, friendly staff!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Luxury and cleanliness

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Urchin Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing. All good.

    Great position, with beautiful views over the lagoon Lovely pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful setting, jacuzzi overlooking the lagoon. Excellent breakfast. Lovely staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coral Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed for two nights in January 18 and loved the hotel. It sits high above the pretty town of Knysna with exceptional views over the bay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Fantastic service - was met at every turn by helpful staff and owners. Beautiful views over Knysna from a lovely hot tub and pool

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Villa Paradisa is a place we will always remember - the hosts and the staff were incredibly charming. Oh, and breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The breakfast was very nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Oyster Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the warm hospitality of both hosts and staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hospitality....the breakfast...it was a the by far a beautiful experience

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Urchin Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing to complain about at al !!

    Everything staff were amazing !!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi was a bit slow, thin walls

    Best view over Knysna, big room, a comfortable bed and friendly hosts and stuff. What else could you ask for!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Coral Suite
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views from room supurb

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is superb, but also and above all the view,

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Oyster Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Access a little difficult but the view made up for this

    Fantastic view from bedroom and excellent facilities and breakfast

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Lake View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views were beyond anything you could imagine. The staff, the rooms, the whole house was out of this world.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Urchin Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Stay was too short

    Personal feeling and attention given by the hosts.and staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Sea Urchin Suite
    • Stayed 9 nights

    THE FRIENDLINESS OF THE HOSTS. BREAKFAST WAS DIFFERENT EVERY DAY.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A wider variety of DSTV would have been welcomed.

    What an amazing stay. The staff are very helpful, the room is outstanding and very comfortable. The views are absolutely breathtaking. The management staff are incredible, thank you Sandra for your hospitality. Breakfast was delicious. Felt like home away from home.

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I forgot to take a photo of how amazing my breakfast was before I ate it.

    Amazing views, friendly and welcoming owners. I'm not really a breakfast person, but I was blown away with the food! Martin is an amazing chef and I've never had a better more gourmet breakfast

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed could be better.

    It was an amazing place with a beautiful view. Really a paradise experience for me. cleanliness and rooms were very well done and you could see the personal touch and detailing in the whole place. Everything was done very carefully. Really nice owners and yes, breakfast was delicious. My partner and I had an amazing time.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Martins breakfasts were so good,you could not refuse!!!

    Martins breakfasts were 6Star cusine and Marian could not do enough to meet our needs and wants.The staff were excellent.

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A really palatial home, excels most London Hotels with an unbelievable view from every window of Knysna Heads and the whole estuary. Amazing! Great hosts and owners Marilyn and Martin. Martin cooks a great breakfast and will even do an evening BBQ if you wish. Lovely venue.

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Villa Paradisa is more like visiting your rich Aunt's home than a guest house. A wonderful room, beautiful breakfast and special hot items, suggestions for dinner reservations and directions to the best beaches. Make time to take a dip in the infinity pool.

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Internet occasionally cut out

    Marilyn and Martin were wonderful hosts. Breakfast was great - Martin is an excellent cook! Great views of the Knysna Heads

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The proprietor decided when we could eat breakfast, what we could eat and how much we could eat!!! TV reception with bunny ears in this day and age!!! Wi Fi - none!!! And when you enquire from the proprietor - not interested in your problem😳

    Amazing view!!!

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing

    The Owners are amazing!!! Friendly and helpful and Martin makes amazing breakfasts. Marilyn is always willing to assist wherever needed. Our stay was super amazing!!!!!

  • Reviewed: 20 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    owner asked me what i wanted for breakfast, then told me what he was going to make. i told him i didnt want that, and he made it anyways for me and my boyfriend:( womp womp

    absolutely gorgeous views from every angle of the house

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Not staying longer

    Excellent location. Marylin and Marting are very good hosts. Nice outdoor pool and jacuzzi. Very comfortable room, though it was not very well isolated noise wise (we could hear the toilet flushing and the shower drainage coming from the room just upstairs)

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Privacy of the room is limited Room is relatively small for the price paid, especially the bathroom

    Location was excellent with an amazing view over the bay and the lagoon. The house is really beautiful

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Absolutely nothing, this is THE PLACE to stay in Knysna

    The welcome you receive is amazing, they go more than the extra mile. Even during the frequent power outs, they strive for perfection

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing not to like.

    Everything. We really enjoyed chatting to the owners, such lovely people. The views were amazing, and the room was really comfortable and well equipped

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Little hard to find.

    Wonderful view.

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    N/A

    Amazing place, breathtaking scenery, very friendly couple and staff. Mouth watering breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Breakfast was amazing and the hosts were very helpful in setting up a doctors appointment for my son. The views can't be beat!

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Fantastic pool and hot tub and the sun beds were very comfortable

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Great views over the lagoon. Very nice family atmoshere and excellent service. Beautifuly decorated rooms.

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Bed was a bit soft

    Location and great breakfasts

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We really enjoyed our stay in Villa paradisa. The location was great and the owners of the place Marilyn and Martin amazing!

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The views are unbelievable and the house is immaculate. Perfect stay.

  • Reviewed: 10 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The room we had was lovely with a private entrance. The view was stunning.

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Wi-fi connection a little bit slow

    Position above the lagoon, seaview, staff, breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    e prepared for steep hill on entrance

    Totally luxurious, setting and view are amazing. Martins cooked breakfast is to die for!

  • Reviewed: 5 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Owners made it a pleasant and comfort stay

  • Reviewed: 18 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Price too high for the accommodation offered.

    View n breakfast wee excellent.

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Amazing breakfast & very homely and comfortable

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    None

    Marylyn restaurant recommendations are excellent. The view is amazing

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything about this place is fabulous. The view and pool amazing. Had a fantastic stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Felt like a homemawaynfrom home.

There are also 15 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Browse Villa Paradisa Guest House traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: