Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Villa Sunshine 4 stars

1 Rochester Road, Sea Point, Sea Point, 8001 Cape Town, South Africa

#173 of 249 B&Bs and Inns in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 101 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.3

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Double bed were made out of 2 singles with no double bedding. The noise level of other guests.

    The staff were very friendly and helpful. Modern furniture and spacious rooms.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty small room, but okay for a night or two

    - Though I didn’t mention arriving late the staff waited for me and was very welcoming! - Breakfast not included, but for 75R ready to order - Parking outside was okay and monitored by the staff

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast was not included. There were a couple of set breakfast options you could pay extra for.. but we could not just get some yoghurt with cereal and fruit for example.

    Super friendly and helpful staff, great room with balcony and sea view. Nice that they have the ´self help´ fridge with drinks in the hallway and we could make use of it ourselves.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent location: shops & restaurants are literally a 2 minute walk away, (beach is 4min), Waterfront is 15 minutes by car. The Villa itself is beautiful, view is 10/10. Everything is clean and the staff is very helpful and friendly! Best place to stay in Cape Town! Really feels like a home away from home in 5 minutes after arrival!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The noise of the fan in room 1

    The warm welcome of Jarod and the first clean swimming pool experience we had after visiting 3 other venues with pools.... Bravo !!!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It's a bit old and outdated. Has a little bit of a backpacker feel. Could be decorated a lot more modern and fresh

    Thebrooms were great and we loved the balcony with sea view and the fresh breeze

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room on the first floor is noisy, cause other customers don't respect comfort of others. Loud speaking at night/early morning. I think it would be better to make some rules about that

    Staff is awesome, very nice, kind and helpful people!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room with Balcony - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing I didn't like!

    I liked the fact that I could hang out even after my check out time because my driver was late, the comfortability and the caring staff was over all excellent. The honesty bar was a real treat!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    lovely staff, warm welcome, cosy and clean rooms with sea view balconies. location in seapoint absolutely perfect with all facilities just a few meters away from the villa.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The accommodation was perfect for discovering the wonderful city. Everything was well organized. The staff was nice and giving every help. The beds good and the wifi working. Thx.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The street parking feels unsecure, the room itself could do with a bit of a refresh i.e. the bed was two single beds pushed together and overall felt a but standard for a 4 star guest house.

    Excellent views and access to all that Seapoint has to offer. Great service in check in/out offering us a free upgrade to their sea view room. Beautiful pool and property/common area.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure and temperature was VERY variable (although Cape Town did have a drastic water shortage at time of visit). Didn't bother us at all but if you're the kind of person who leaves a 1 star review because you didn't like the shower then probably best avoided.

    Staff were wonderfully welcoming and attentive though not intrusive. Bonus touch of communal area fridge for storing food and drink (also contains minibar). Loads of storage space in the room too and a large balcony with a view of the sea and sunset. Location was AMAZING, quiet but close to a good strip of shops and eateries, 2 supermarkets, a hipster indoor market village and the sea. Breakfast is offered at the Villa for a fee but we didn't take them up on it so can't comment.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast and facilities were awesome. Peaceful environment and close to the beach, shops and bus stops. This place felt like a home away from home.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe needs a little updating - the tv in the bedroom is quite old, they need to get new towels too. They were clean but had some old marks.

    Excellent location, quiet area and i felt very safe.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No off street parking but street parking seems safe.

    Great location in Seapoint .Very close to all amenities and a short uber ride to the waterfront and all the sights. Nice little pool too.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast not the best, ,plenty of good options at the bottom of the street though.

    Fantastic terrace overlooking the sea. Nice small pool area and hosts were extremely helpful and friendly. Good security.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor value for money, definitely not a 4*. Beds were uncomfortable. Poor quality soaps in bathroom. Bedlamps were falling apart. Bad quality beach towels. The rooms need a makeover.

    The staff were very friendly and our room was beautifully cleaned every morning. Good location and lovely pool.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff need more training in customer service, not honest people. Off street parking on a narrow road not ideal. At half the price maybe. You'll hear everything happening in the hallway.

    Walking distance to the beach and restaurants

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2016

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I had a mishap while at the hotel and my hair stained some of the bedding.I was told that if they wouldn't be able to get the stain out at the dry cleaners I would have to pay for the damaged bedding. That was okay. Thursday evening as I was in a hurry to attend a function, my graduation,I was told that they couldn't get the stain out and would have to pay for the bedding. I agreed but asked to pay the next day when I was checking out as I was in a hurry and running late. I was told no, that I needed to pay right at that moment, and preferably in cash. What did they think? That I would pack out during the night? That I would ask the bank to cancel the transaction (since they were initially hesitant to accept payment by card)? Really soured my opinion of the place.

    Comfortable bed. Good location

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There is no proper heating in the rooms and overall I was quite cold at night.

    Very nice atmosphere, friendly staff and generally a very good experience.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Balcony - 2
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything

    I liked the way we were welcomed and assisted upon arrival. I loved the way the staff catered to our needs and comfort. Really excellent service for everything. I would defnitely stay there agsin.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe more dstv channels and a microwave in the room but without it ,my stay was leka

    The staff was friendly ,my room was very clean and smell fresh ,

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Close to everything, clean, friendly staff, good price

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The view was really great and the staff where really helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit of street noise in the morning (building/renovations nearby)

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There wasn't anything I didn't like.

    Just everything, it was peaceful, welcoming.. felt like home.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room

    Clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    View, pool, location and staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No fridge in the room

    Prime spot in Seapoint, close to the beach and shopping facilities including waterfront and Camps Bay

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have preferred aircon

    Location, room and privacy

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2017

    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Extremely efficient service. Very accommodating. Fabulous get away from the hustle and bustle of town, yet close enough to walk.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    All good

    Friendly service

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • 3 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    None

    Gud treatment from the staff

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Friendly, helpful staff and overall excellent service, will be staying at Villa Sunshine when visiting Cape Town.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was lovely. I will be back!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    everything fine

    Staff was really nice and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Room was cramped, bed is old, bathroom needs attention.

    Gareth was very friendly.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very good value for money and great location in sea point

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony - 1
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked the fact that the guesthouse was well located.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower curtain and slippery bathroom floor

    Nice and quiet area

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    English breakfast and cereal was fresh ,coffee on point

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No DSTV channels in room

    Very friendly. Room was lovely and clean. Good location.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there is no parking lot value for money is to low

    location is good and very nice and friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Balcony - 1
    • Stayed 2 nights

    They joined two single beds to form one double bed. Would have preferred one big bed.

    Two pin plugs in bathroom

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No shampoo, soaps , no Wi-Fi, no parking , had to park on the roadside, we had a hired car.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was comfortable nd nice nd clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room with Mountain View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    HVing no staff during the night. There should be someone always.

    Both guys were amazing !!! They deserve promotion !!!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is good and room was very clean

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double Room with Balcony and Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Very cozy and relaxing with attention to details, great services and a super friendly and cool staff. Great position in seapoint

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Free breakfast!

    I really like the customer service. In particular mike . He deserves a promotion!

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room with Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything! Very very nice :)

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2016

    • Solo traveller

    Heat control in the shower was difficult. Propably gas.

    The manager was super helpful and friendly, accommodation was clean and modern. Fantastic location and will definitely recommend staying here.

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    That my trip was so short!

    Staff were incredibly helpful and friendly. Immediately felt at home. I miss the relaxing space and definitely would stay there again. The location is ideal. So many attractions that are so close by.

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    A little bit of constructive criticism. Fix the DSTV set up but it's not a major issue.

    The hospitality from the staff was exceptional. It's is central to everything.

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    I booked and paid for a sea facing room and just before I arrived I was told that I was going to be in a mountain facing room without a balcony. It was more of a concrete jungle facing room than a mountain facing room and it really was very small.

    Great location and friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Unpleasant owner. Multiple things not working well (internet, gate lock, hot shower).

    Reasonably nice location overlooking the ocean (far view over rooftops). Close to shopping district.

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The TV could do with replacing, and it would be nice if there were more than 6 channels. Also, the double bed was 2 singles pushed together, so call and check first. Overall, though, well worth those little flaws.

    The staff were extremely helpful when asked advice about what to do/where to eat etc. The room had a lovely balcony with a view of the sea. The wifi was very quick and uncapped. Very reasonably priced drinks available at all hours. Large bathroom/shower. A generally lovely place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No private parking area. Can hear everything that goes on in other rooms.

    Close to Kosher amenities, beautiful view, safe area (can walk around after sunset), very clean, balcony, helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Didn't like the fact fact that yes the breakfast was healthy however we were given the same food everyday!!! for 7 days. Hopeless situation because we had paid already

    Warmth and friendliness we got from the two African attendants. The place was totally safe.

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The friendly staff welcome drinks and the beautiful view was amazing. Everything was to the highest standards from the actual building and swimming pool to the bedding, french press for coffee and the very comfy bed. Will definitely go again.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Bed requested was a double.I received 2 singles pushed together with worn out matresses on each. When I raised the discomfort a piece of foam was wedged between the bed with a fitted sheet covering this to hold all together. The duvet cover was torn and the had evidence of moth holes. The press-studs were broken and torn on the cover could close.

    Location is superb!

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I felt that for a four star property and the price per night, the Guesthouse should have a lot more DSTV channels to offer in the rooms. TV was very basic and old

    Staff very friendly and accommodating in all our requirements. Guesthouse is well situated.

  • Reviewed: 13 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    You don't have program of trip you just have information abaut it. I thing you should have facilities to book some trip from your customers.

    I like the view witch I have when open the window: "the head of the lion". Was near to shopping, restaurants, the beach. From the guest house you can feel the fresch air from the beach

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The staff are good and welcoming. It's quite a nice hood

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We have nothing negative to say.

    The staff were extremely helpful and the accommodation was worth more than what we paid for.

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Rate per night was expensive for the type of accommodation. Very small bed. Breakfast should be included

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Cost

    View

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Would prefer small fridge in room and maybe an air conditioner

    Staff, and nice swimming pool. Wi-Fi was good.

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location perfect, modern guesthouse, very friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2015

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    no air condicioner

    size of room and bed

  • Reviewed: 25 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Two single beds instead of a double.

  • Reviewed: 15 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No on site secured parking and no complimentary breakfast

    Having a lovely balcony

  • Reviewed: 21 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    small room....bedding is wear off.....DEFNITLY not a four star!!

  • Reviewed: 19 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Clean, nice, comfortable. Pleasant staff. I would definitely recommend.

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Everything was great! Nice service, good and safe location!

There are also 30 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: