Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Spier Hotel 4 stars

R310 Lynedoch Road, 7599 Stellenbosch, South Africa

#15 of 37 hotels in Stellenbosch

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 754 hotel reviews

9.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9.1

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.5

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing went wrong. I liked everything.

    Most of all I really enjoyed your breakfast. you're place is super beautiful, nice place to stay. you have a welcoming staff they do all in there power to keep you're clients happy. well done to them.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to say , wouldn’t change a thing

    Fabulous staff , so friendly. Nothing too much trouble . Beautiful room , hotel setting is outstanding. In a beautiful area . Security spit on . Would definitely recommend and will be staying again . Thank you for making our honeymoon special

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    1. Wine served were very average. Experience was nice - taste was not. Some other tastings around are much better. 2. Tray charge of 30 rands on each order could be reduced. 3. Few more options could be added in the dining menu.

    Almost everything. Will try to sum up: 1. Has host of activities for everyone. Specially the Segway tour in vineyards, birds interaction show, wine tasting area, SPA, picnic facilities with an organic store etc. 2. A buggy (golf cart) takes you anywhere you need within the property. 3. A full time kid's club is amazing - my daughter loved it. 4. Beautifully appointed room and bathroom - we loved the ground floor room with lawn. Capsule coffee machine is standard in the room. 5. You have bicycles to go anywhere in the property. 6. Superb landscaping. 7. Every dish we tasted was equally good. Breakfast was sufficient - complete with organic eggs from free running birds. 8. Fire place in the room was a nice touch. 9. There is a farm to table restaurant - we did not try it but read good reviews. 10. 24 hour room dining menu really helps. 11. Water conservation measures are really worth appreciation.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing in particular.

    Good friendly service. Quick n efficient golf cart pick ups from our room. Large, well appointed rooms. Good overall ambience.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The mat in the room was not very clean upon arrival And having come there to celebrate a weddings by anniversary and a birthday the experience could’ve been a little more personalized with some human interaction regarding that. 2 delicious deserts was brought to our room late Friday night when we were already half asleep and the staff member knocked twice really quick and opened the door saying he didn’t think we’ll be in ... the grouting in the shower looks like mound at first glance

    Breakfast has a great variety staff are friendly and helpful. The food preparation is excellent and the quality of the produce is evident. Dinner, wine tasting superb steaks are highly recommended for meat lovers however the veg that comes with it is just superb. Bianca at the spa does the most amazing massages if deep tissue is what you like

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast and dinner was excellent! I personally think the bathrooms need an upgrade - gardens are beautiful - loved the red wine which was a gift in the room - thank you

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant is expensive with no options for travelers on a budget. No microwave in room. Closest shops is in Stellenbosch, about 15 min drive.

    The accommodation is unique, it looks like a village. The breakfast is really good. The property has many activities.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The Spier hotel is total luxury ! The staff are friendly and very attentive to your needs. Food and wine tasting superb! Hotel rooms are incredibly furnished and comfortable! A real experience in Stellenbosch.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Restaurant full with a very large coach party - not very welcoming & very noisy. Staff tried to do their best but it was not the 'romantic' last night in SA we were looking for!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing!

    Our room was lonely and big, the grounds of the hotel/winery we're beautiful, staff were so helpful, breakfast and dinner we're both delicious! Would definitely recommend this hotel! And you have to do the wine tasting and Segway tour, BRILLIANT!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The variety of the menu forroom service could be more, as we only eat halaal meat. However, I enjoyed the hake and my partner the cheese platter which is under the dessert.

    The whole experience was lovely, if not excellent. The variety of the breakfast was superb and my partner commented on the excellent service of your house keeping staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s actually quite close to the road. One can hear cars. The doors make a big noise when opening and closing. I like extremely quiet places. Most people would not even notice it. If you are sensitive to noise I hope this comment will help.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff were so helpful and friendly. Rooms are huge and comfortable. There is loads to do, we used the free bicycles, did a wine tasting session, hired segways to do a vineyard tour, ate in the lovely restaurants, made our own picnic from the farm shop, had a dip in the pool... was a lovely stay!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Friendly, happy and very helpful staff, a sign of good and respected management. Good food. Spoilt at the Spa. Beautiful surroundings. Cannot ask for more.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - We were traveling with an infant, which the hotel was aware of ahead of our booking and placed us in an upstairs room, which is not ideal considering we had a pram and the stairs are rather steep (and potentially slippery). We asked to be moved downstairs and also to have adjoining rooms next to my parents. We were told at reception that the room we had booked on Bookings.com was upstairs and this, according to reception, was in the description of the room on bookings.com. Upon reviewing the booking I made I just cannot see where it 'clearly' states that a (Standard Double / Twin Room) is upstairs in the description. While the reception team were eventually able to help with our request to move downstairs they were little put out by this change - The bathroom in the rooms need to be updated, they are looking a little old - While breakfast is fair it could do with a little improving

    - On a whole the hotel staff were absolutely lovely - The room decor was very nice - The location was perfect for our early morning airport trip

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Had a wonderful stay which was quiet, safe and with large, clean rooms and beautiful surroundings with restaurants and walks and pools and art and and...on this gorgeous wine estate.. Friendly staff. Yummy breakfast. Thanks Spier it all just works like clockwork. A pleasant surprise and self sustaining. 👍🏻

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A spacious, clean well appointed room close to the main hotel building with extremely comfortable bed and good bed linen and a large airy bathroom. Lots of space around the hotel and in the grounds to relax in but also within a short drive to Stellenbosch for shops, restaurants etc

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That we only booked 2 days!!

    Everything. A warm welcome set the tone. Caring staff, lovely room, excellent choice of restaurants, an abundance of public relaxing areas. Plenty of secure parking. Everything was immaculate. We only wish we could have stayed there longer.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to complain about but the Western Cape is suffering extreme drought. Spier has put many water saving methods into operation which some might find a minor inconvenience, such as restricted flow of water from basin taps, but it is totally necessary and respected. Their water saving and recycling methods ensure the grounds and pools are well maintained.

    Beautiful landscaped grounds enabling long walks and cycle rides (cycles provided), Eagle Encounters bird of prey rescue and rehab centre is excellent, good on site restaurants including fun wine tasting experience, lovely swimming pools, easy distance from international airport.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The weather!

    Lovely hotel and grounds; excellent breakfast; very relaxing; super friendly staff; eight restaurant and the hog roast restaurant. Room had a sunny terrace with sun beds.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For the cost, I think the breakfast was very underwhelming (except the bacon, that was delicious!). I have stayed in hotels overseas for similar prices and personally found them to feel overall more luxurious and better value for money.

    The staff we encountered during check-in and check-out, as well as the gentlemen who drove us around in the golf carts- they were fabulous! Would recommend the property based on them alone. We also had a wonderful wine tasting and dinner at Hog House was outstanding (even though slightly overpriced). Finally, the beds and linen are out of this world!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The dressing table and side pedestals need drawers. During the summer months the heavy duvets should be replaced by lighter ones.

    Breakfasts are excellent. The rooms are very spacious and comfortable. The hotels restaurant is excellent. The grounds are beautifully maintained.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night

    The restaurant staff needs to be bit more in tune with what they are doing and they could do with so more enthusiasm. Other than that they were awesome.

    The breakfast was awesome. The food on the whole was great including the staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved the decor of the rooms and they were really spacious and clean. We also visited the spa and did a Segway tour while we were here. Staff could not have been nicer or more helpful. Wine tasting a must! Preferred the actual hotel restaurant to the Eight restaurant on the hotel grounds, but nothing was wrong with it, that was just personal preference. Would definitely recommend Spier for a nice couples weekend away!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The evening menu in the hotel restaurant was disappointing. If not able to be on terrace the room was soulless.

    The site and the environmental ethos was outstanding.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    For a top class hotel the restaurant was quite disappointing, a limited menu not as good as other places we stayed. There did not seem to be enough staff on either, so service was quite slow. I also tried to order a Martini at the bar, but with no vermouth they could not do this, so again a bit disappointing for a top class hotel.

    Spier was the most expensive place we stayed in South Africa of our 9 different stops, and it was very top class but probably not the best place we stayed. Unfortunately we did not have time to explore the site which is extensive. If you stop here make sure you leave time to do a tour of the grounds/wine tasting etc. The room however was lovely, very large and good size bathroom. No real view from the outside seating. Had a lovely big pool that we only found when we were leaving.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Would have preferred more cupboard / hanging space for our clothing

    The attitude of the staff was excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The allocation of a room that made access to the main parts of the hotel very easy for someone who had limited mobility.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast is perfect as usual. The driver was kind enough to respond to our sudden request to go to Franschhoek. All staff were very kind and attentive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurants didnt have a variety off food. No lamb or chicken. Places were fully booked at supper. Main restaurant had the worst buffet we have ever been too. Hoggard restaurant made us wait 2hrs supper with staff not apologetic and eventually we took food in takeway. Theres definately and understaffing issue.

    Facilities, wine tasting and rooms were good.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The shower of both rooms i stayed had quite a lot of mold. I showered with flipflops as it didnt look too clean. Cobwebs in room is also not great. The lovely staff and overall facilities makes up for this so i can overlook this but management should really resolve this ....

    Always fab to stay here. Running trail is great. Cocktails very nice and just overall so relaxing to stay here.the staff is always friendly and so nice!! Love staying here.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast excellent. Bed a delight. Staff very friendly and helpful. The surroundings always a mood tranquilizer. I visit Spier every chance I get and it is one of my favorite destinations. It makes my heart smile!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Service excellent. Other things to do like use of bikes to go around the estate and see wild birds and raptors Also Segway & eagle sanctuary as well as the various places to eat & drink near other wine places to visit

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms were not particularly clean, there was so little water in the shower it was almost impossible to get clean.

    The staff were very helpful and tried to sort out any problems

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The rooms could be updated a bit.

    Everything :) Staff was very helpful. The atmosphere of the place was amazing, very well groomed gardens and buildings in top shape. Great restaurants on the premises. Go and try Eight and also Hoghouse. We only had great food while staying at Spier. Would go back any time. The best was to get there is by rental car.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with Terrace and River View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The food was delicious as it is home-made and very fresh!! Even my children enjoyed the vegetable in here, which is unusual... Staffs are friendly and the facilities are good! It is nearby other good winery.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    it's about 15 min drive from downtown. some how big flies used to get into the bathroom every night, so i had to make sure they are out of the room (not dangerous, just doesn't look nice)

    Great estate with lots of amenities for guests. staff are really friendly and they have a really good breakfast. The rooms are really spacious rooms with a nice terrace.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    1.There were so many things to do in and around the hotel premises that we almost never left to go any place else the entire week we stayed there! 2.The staff were amazingly polite and helpful, very welcoming. 3.Jenna Burchell's 'Singing Rocks' exhibition was mind blowing yet calming to the soul!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bit overcrowded at the restaurant for breakfast. Would recommend The Spier to open up seating possibilities underneath trees or umbrellas on the wide open lawn to allow for more privacy and relaxation, instead of having to listen to the conversations at the neigbouring tables, just because the tables are so close.

    Super great Estate. All amenities in walking distance: Deli, picnic area, craft market. Food offered is excellent! Garden rooms are excellent. Great, friendly and well trained staff.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Pool area was good but kids running around it in the late afternoon, so not that peaceful. Eight restaurant wasn't as good as we hoped.

    Room was outstanding. Love that they have running routes around the property - the 10km is a killer!! I ran with my husband - we were of course perfectly safe on the run but not sure I would do it alone. Loved that we always got a sun lounger despite the fact that there aren't many available. They serve pink sparkling wine which is DELICIOUS! Hoghouse restaurant is an absolute must, the food is exceptional!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The cooked food was generally not too good. the pool is too small for the size of the hotel, they desperately need to build a bigger pull especially for the festive season.

    The hotel has a modern country feel, the staff are friendly and always willing to help. The gardens are beautiful plenty space to get lost for a long walk or read in your own space. very relaxing environment.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    A male staff making advances on my daughter. And unprofessional behavior conduct of the security guard questioning us what are we doing at Spier when we were taking 5KM walk in morning of 26th.

    Some of the staff members are friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was not ready when we arrived. We were still waiting after 3.30. Our room was very dusty and dirty under the beds with the last persons slippers still under the bed with some sweets left behind, also above our bed up at the ceiling there was a spiders nest. There should at least be a complimentary bottle of water in the rooms. We found paying R25 for a small one was over the top.

    Main Swimming pools was clean and well maintained, with plenty of seating. Most of the food was well displayed and prepared. Staff was very accommodating considering the amount of guest leaving and arriving at the reception area. Debbie-Lee Godreey was outstanding and sorted out our room immediately I made it known that it was 3.30 and we were still waiting for our room. Well done Debbie you made our holiday even better. We have been back to Spier a few times and will be back again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Though it did not spoil our experience, the facilities are due for some smaller refurbishments/renovations in the bathroom.

    The rooms are large, comfortably furnished and the bed was outstanding. We had none of the issues other guests had. We enjoyed the good breakfast, wine and relaxed atmosphere to calm down after a couple of weeks traveling.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Christmas eve dinner was a bit of a disappointment. Nothing special - just dinner from the al la cart menu.

    All the things to do and the very friendly staff

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We didn't get to try the hog house because we were sat at a table and then no staff came back for almost half an hour, very disappointing.

    Segway tour was awesome!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were given two single beds which we told them about, but they never made it into a double while one of our party, travelling on her own, had a king size bed.

    The food was very good and the poached eggs were excellent

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Last time we came here hotel guests could do the wine tasting for free, but not anymore.

    It is our second time to stay at Spier but it is always in line with our expectation. Nice breakfast, clean room, warm staffs! Location is excellent, you can go wherever winery you want in Stellenborsh in 10-15 min.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We were around 30 people at the Hoghouse (one of the restaurants available @ Spier) for dinner and it was an absolute mess when it came time to pay. The manager didn't know what was going on and avoided talking to any of us, sending her waiters out to do the job instead. Most of their beer selection was sold out as well :'(

    The staff at were absolutely incredible. They very always happy to help and went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Nothing......

    Absolutely everything, from the beautiful spacious garden room, private swimming pool, fabulous staff, delicious food, Craft Market, Eagles Encounter, Wine tasting, Cycling, Sedgeway Farm Tours and stunning annual White Lights Festival!!!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was bliss- nothing to moan about!

    Move away from the hussle and bussle of life and find your self in this true gem! The convenience of quality restaurants in your backyard and still being able to sit back, relax and take in views that exceed expectations.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Using bathtub bit of hassle but totally understandable in light of drought problem.

    We stayed 2 nights with our 3 year old and all the staff were friendly and engaging and always taking time to talk to us and to our little boy👍Fantastic big room close to pool, Hoghouse BBQ delicious, sumptious breafasts and a cute kids club to boot! Friendly ladies at kid club! Can totally recommend the Spier to all who are contemplating staying there- perfect for families. Overall 5/5 and the staff really make this place memorable - we’ll be back👍👍

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff is very friendly. We love staying at the Spier and would love to stay here if we visit again in the future. Love the Segway and Eagle Encounter activities on the farm.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Upon arrival, we tried to get two of those bikes on site that hotel provides on a complimentary basis, but none of those were usable (the tires were flat). When trying to find a better alternative, we faced a major miscommunication with some of the staff due to lack of professionalism. It actually disappoints given the fact that it was the first impression on day 1. The picnic area was pretty good, very relaxing - you can get a basket full of goodies from the self service kitchen area and enjoy the sun underneath the beautiful oak tree. Other than that, for me it is always about the first impression, because you never get a second.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Space round a pool a bit smalll given size of hotel

    The suite was amazing. Staff very helpful and caring Amazing garden and jogging path Great food .- breakfast is awesome

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very comfortable accommodation. Choice of restaurants all excellent quality and service. Staff very professional and helpful. Beautiful grounds to enjoy. Bikes freely available. Exc

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with Garden Terrace
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Waiting to pay bills at restaurant and bar. At bar especially , lazy barman not watchful or particularly knowledgeable. At breakfast the distance between our nicetable and hot food and waiting for coffee

    Ambiance and location Friendly reception and bellboys

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were friendly and helpful, but it took a very long time to get the bill for dinner the first night and we asked 3 times for coffee and tea the next morning. Also the juice glasses seemed to run out very quickly. There are plenty of staff around and the are quite knowledgeable about the amenities.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Spier is an amazing and beautiful place from the wine tasting, bird sanctuary and the artists making the mosaics. Spier is also doing great things for the community. We had a fabulous time there. The room and facilities were fabulous too.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our dinner at the restaurant was definitely not what we expected ad we were very dissappointed My husband wasn't able to eat his meal and sent it back - the staff didn't handle the experience very well

    The Hotel staff were friendly and very welcoming! The room was very comfortable, The breakfasts were delicious and perfect start to the day.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is relatively more expensive comparing to other wineries.

    Beautiful property and modern ambience. Great wine tasting experience. The room is roomy and nice with fire place

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The dinner, between the starter and the main course there was a long wait ofore than 1 hour without anyone providing information as to why... that was a bit of a disappointment in an otherwise fantastic stay

    The facilities and scenery is very special!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was surprised to find out on our return to the room after an evening meal that someone was there and re-arranged things in the room (curtains were drawn and blinds closed, pillows moved from the bed to the seats, light turned on, small water bottles placed on the bed side tables). It was a nice gesture overall but unexpected, and I did not feel comfortable that someone just entered the room while we were away.

    Secure, interesting and beautiful extensive grounds to walk around were great. Quiet, clean and very large and comfortable room. We were dropped at the room with our bags by a golf cart so did not have to carry heavy luggage all the way there. Choice of foods at breakfast, in particular a lady who cooked eggs to order.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Students from the local uni use the pool for free in the daytime, making it hard for residents to get a sun lounger.

    The staff were the most helpful we have ever encountered anywhere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not central in Stellenbosch but not a big deal - easy to get to and the property feels more like a retreat in itself :)

    Loved the style of this whole property. Very unique. Beautiful estate with enough to keep you occupied for days. Lovely big rooms which were very well appointed, super comfortable and clean. Effort from staff on friendliness was above and beyond. Would definitely recommend.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Wine tasting only between 09h-17h. We had to rush to attend a tasting. It would seem logic to me your hotel guests can also attend wine tastings after 17h.

    The breakfast was extremely varied. Room was spacious and luxurious. Restaurant was value for money.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didn't stay long enough! I don't have a bad word to say about this place - it is incredible and we will definitely be back! It is not in central Stellenbosch which might be a downside for some but it made it the perfect retreat for us.

    I could not recommend this hotel more highly. It is outstanding. The rooms are spacious, light, well furnished and of very high quality. All the staff we came across were friendly and willing to help if you need anything. The grounds on which this property is based includes a wine cellar, multiple options for eating, a pool etc. It is a great retreat.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A highlight of my year is my pilgrimage to the Western Cape and a firm favourite is Spier. Always great food and the gas fireplace is a charm! I am a repeat repeat repeat customer with great experiences each time

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • With a pet
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    At least two different white and red wines in the room. The guest fridge should contain something to chew on! What about mini bottles of spirit? Why are not small pets allowed?

    Very good bed, well equipped bathroom. Free transport between locations very good.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The replacement of used items. For example, if any of the toiletries were used they were not replaced.

    The simplicity of the room which was aesthetically pleasing. Lots of light and spacious.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The reception staff when I arrived quite late at night - very friendly and even offered me a glass of wine! The surroundings are beautiful and the staff are all excellent and well-trained. I will definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we couldnt take home the green and soft blanket from the room with us:)

    Very classy, lots of things and wine to taste! Amazing and friendly staff. Good resturants and the picnic option is great, very beautiful surroundings and facilities. Great location close to a lot of other wineries!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Luxury Double Room with River View
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Nothing to complain about. Just a perfect stay.

    The staff, facilities, room, everything about Spier was just fantastic. We loved it so much we added an extra day to fully enjoy all that Spier has to offer. Great, great hotel. I would definitely come back on my next trip without hesitation. We stayed 10 days instead of the 9 we planned on. You won't be disappointed at Spier Wine Farm at all.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    Customer Service Excellent. Wiseman at check in was very Friendly and Super Helpful. Tiaan and Team in Breakfast room was Fabulous. Real wonderful Proudly South African Welcome Experienced.Appreciated!!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Luxury Double Room with Terrace and River View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Limited options on room service - very expensive!

    Extremely friendly and helpful staff!! Very comfortable bed - especially extra length! Fantastic breakfast - lovely venue, and excellent selection!!

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Size of television in the big room.

    Comfortable spacious bed, large room. The options during breakfast was exceptional and the staff tendered to our every need.

    Stayed in August 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Spier Hotel traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: