Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Whalesong Hotel & Spa 4 stars

1 Marine Drive, 6600 Plettenberg Bay, South Africa

#14 of 18 hotels in Plettenberg Bay

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 132 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    7.6

  • Facilities

    7.4

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 49

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.6
    Overall comfortable stay could do with some more tv channel options
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the breakfast option was included on the ad when i booked and only found out at the premisea that it wasnt included because i booked using booking.com

    Bed was comfy and appreciated the fact that there was an electric blanket and heater in the room as it was a rather chilly weekend

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.0
    Definitely not value for money.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa was mostly closed. Toilet is in need if replacement. Yukky. Old pillows. Noise of nightclub across the road 2am.

    Porter helped with luggage. Nice bath. Waiter helped with recommendations when we did not like the in-house restaurant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    7.5
    Comfortable stopover
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Electric sockets too far away from a mirror for drying my hair. Rooms could have been cleaner.

    Plenty choice for breakfast. Food good. Handy location close to the main road and the town. Friendly staff. Only stayed two nights but totally adequate for our needs.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    7.9
    Good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No wifi in your room (even though it’s not that bad as it sounds) As a hotel you could have gotten away with 5 years ago but at this level of service and quality there should be wifi everywhere! (it can be a deal breaker for some to book a room here, that would be a shame cause it’s a great hotel. Also it’s easy to fix!) And we heard the boss having discussions with her staff for three! times. We felt it’s a bit inapproriate for costumers to hear...

    We had a lovely 4-night stay at Whalesong. Yes there is a busy road nearby but it wasn’t bothering at all. Yes the light from your balcony can’t be switched off, but you can shut the blinds ;-). You’ll get used to the no wifi in your room (just download some of your fav Netflix series in the lobby and check your email/whatsapp less often). The rooms are really large, comfy beds, big bath, private balcony with lovely scenery, clean rooms every day and yummy breakfast.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2018

    3.8
    Never Again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff was not anywhere to assist with luggage. Terrible layout of room with no air conditioning or working fan. Lights outside rooms can’t be switched off and noise from the freeway is unbearable. Shall not recommend to stay and value for money is poor.

    Near town

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    9.6
    Quaint thatched chalets with distant Plett beach views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wi-fi was only available in the reception area not individual rooms which I would expect for a 4* hotel.

    We were enticed into the restaurant on our first evening by John and, although the menu is a little limited (only a couple of starters and desserts) the main course food was excellent and the service and entertainment (especially demonstrating the 'click' sounds of his native language Xhosa) we received from our waiter John made our evening.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    7.9
    I recomend this place for reasonable price very nice design an beautiful view from restaurant terrac
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not any view from window. Only bush To early closed bar and not even snacks to buy.

    Coffee served for brfst poor and thin. But paid espresso from bar was ok.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    7.1
    Johan
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For the mount of money you pay you would expect decent television channels with an better reception and not only 4 channels with reception that seuns to come out of the 80s with snowy images on all the channels and with a room this big surely we could have had the option that our 10 year old son could sleep with us instead of renting another room

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2017

    8.8
    Amazing view from the hotel to the bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Internet was not available in the room, only in the lobby, which was pretty disappointing Our room was far from parking lot (the good thing is the hotel staff offers help with luggage)

    Amazing view from the hotel to the bay Spacious room with bathtub- great in the middle of a road trip:)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    5.4
    A potentially outstanding hotel needs some tlc
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel needed updating wi fi only in reception windows and door shook during the night it all needed some attention reception staff were nice but needed to be more helpful

    Food was fine restaurant staff lovely

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2017

    7.9
    Great property and value for money. Great way to know Plettenberg Bay more.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We were the only guests when we arrived,the general manager was arround but she never came to welcome us. When we left she passed us at the parking bay without a hello or goodbye or how was your stay with us. There was no personal touch especially when we were the only guests on the property-but the rest of the staff were excellent.

    Cold breakfast was excellent- Staff went all out to please; from lighting the fire just before we arrive to rearranging our beds from twins while we were out for the day.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2017

    6.7
    Pleasant stay but not all rooms have view to enjoy a sundowner from
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view from balcony from the unit that was given to us. No glasses provided, had to ask reception to bring some. Also no TV remote also had to request it. feel they could have prepared these item prior to arrival

    Room nice and clean with comfortable bed and linen. En-suite also very nice

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2017

    7.5
    Good location and ideal for an overnight stay during a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel could do with a coat of paint. In particular, the bathrooms could do with a revamp. Even if only changing the aging, and paint peeling toilet seats.

    Good location and ideal for an overnight stay during a Garden Route road trip.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 April 2017

    9.6
    Friendly and efficient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We only stayed over one night.. and it went smoothly.

    The place is on the main road, so we found it very quickly. We backed in as a stay over on our way to Jeffrey's bay. The Rooms are spacious. There's lots of parking. The breakfast was standard (as Im very fussy of what I eat, this is a great thing). The staff really goes out of their way to assist guests with their needs. Be it, a booking to dive with sharks, horse riding, walking with leopards- or suggest availability on a specific day, they are really friendly. The bathroom was beyond our expectations... Neat, stylish, super clean... I had a bubble bath as it rained the night we got home from supper. #perfection. The environment is friendly. All and all, a good experience. I'd stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2017

    8.3
    Lovely overnight stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A window blind needed mending, otherwise no faults.

    We only stayed one night on a stopover as part of a road trip and was a lovely place to stay at. The location was good and staff very friendly. They came round to get the beds ready for the night, including switching on electric blankets so minimal effort was required by the guest, amongst other things. Beds were comfortable and room was spacious. A very calming atmosphere at the hotel which is perfect for relaxing after a long journey or a day out sightseeing.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2017

    6.7
    The good and bad of Whalesong.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was quite a distance away from parking or reception. No help with baggage. Lights in room were faulty. Blinds in front of windows did not work and could not block the really bright light right in front of our room.

    Good service at reception and breakfast. Actual bunnies in the garden during Easter!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    6.7
    Little more effort will go a long way.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The first block is to close to the parking. Guests coming in late are loud coming up from parking. The ceiling fans are old and very noisy. Smoke from the informal settlement nearby is then first thing I smelt when opening the balcony door.

    Friendly staff. Easy access to hotel.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2017

    7.9
    good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was small, the receptionist told me we would have a separate bedroom and the kids would be in the lounge. However it was one small open plan room and there was no privacy. The espresso machine was faulty and made a horrible cuppacino.

    Meals in the restaurant were value for money. The views are amazing. They arranged flower petals on the bed and a bottle of JC Le Roux in the fridge because it was our wedding anniversary.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    7.9
    We liked it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The internet is a bit intermittent and you have to use it in the reception area.

    We did eat in the restaurant on one evening and it was really good food although a little expensive compared to the town restaurants. The staff were all very helpful ,responsive and friendly. Its very conveniently located both for the town and the N2 and its very well maintained. Some beautiful views over the bay from our balcony and the restaurant. We liked it enough to stay an extra night.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2017

    7.1
    It was fine can be better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed and we phoned reception to request more towels but that took fir ever to arrive

    Well the bed i slept on was worn to the one side ( two singles beds pushed together ) my partner did phone to ask if it was a double bed in our room and it was confirm but the bed and not enough towels provided

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2017

    10
    amazing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the fact that the wi fi was only available at the reception area.. was a bit inconvenient.

    friendliness of the staff and their willing to help. and the hotel is super easy to find.. so great location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    8.3
    Stay with a lovely view over Plettenberg Bay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    It is not easy to get to reception, especially for older people. A hand railing at the steps will make a big difference. Free Wi Fi in the rooms. The ceiling fans made a noise, so we could not use them at night. Air cons will make a big difference. Even burglarproof on the windows to open them at night.

    The food was excellent. The service very good. Friendly staff, The view excellent.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2017

    3.3
    There is really nothing that I can report that was not of a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    This was a very very unpleasant stay. The whole place is a bit like what I would imagine a budget roadside motel to be like. I don't think I have ever seen thinner / flatter pillows or experienced such old bed linen in any hotel or accommodation of any kind. Coupled to the pervasive smell from the bathroom that literally smelt like a room full of urinals in a public toilet - this was neither hygienic nor in any way enjoyable. I would discourage anyone from considering staying at this place.

    There is really nothing that I can report that was not of a poor standard.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2016

    4.6
    was expecting a little bit more.. could have been much better..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The thatch roof is a turndown.. we requested a cake to be organised but was a flop. The garden is not well kept. The breakfast was not great.

    The place is close to the main road and easy to find.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money and great service
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Being woken up early with vehicles loading and unloading outside my balcony

    The staff were very friendly and it was good value for money

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    5.4
    Where not to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Looks worse for ware

    Not much

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    7.1
    The beds not suitable for married couple
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The beds not suitable for married couple

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.9
    No whales
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location not great

    It was a pleasant surprise

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    8.8
    No WiFi in room
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No WiFi in room

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    7.5
    Stunning view to wake up to
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were a bit unfriendly. No service at all at the restaurant.

    The location and view from the room were stunning

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 February 2018

    10
    We had a whale of a time here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View was fantastic. Excellent dining room and bar. Very reasonably priced. Loved it. Great staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 February 2018

    9.2
    Stay at Whalesong
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms a bit tired. Need to be freshened up

    The service

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    5.0
    had booked for my parents and had to move them. unsuitable for elderly as rooms far from reception
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bedrooms and bathrooms

    nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    6.7
    The bath was lovely, beds very comfortable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Parking down a hill, room smelled damp, they asked for payment which had been paid in advance,

    The bath was lovely, beds very comfortable.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 December 2017

    5.8
    It will do
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Renovation needed

    Staff and restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    5.8
    acceptable for an overnight stay, but in Plettenberg?
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    staff friendly, accommodation fairly priced , the facilities are in need of a revamp and modernising

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 November 2017

    10
    Our stay was comfortable.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathwater was running outside and was smelling.

    Breakfast was good. Room service was good and fast.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.9
    Big spacious rooms with view
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Only free wifi in reception - none in rooms. Not a lot of parking near rooms.

    Big spacious rooms with view

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    4.0
    avoid this venue
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no reception.. had to get infi wifi etc from other guests. absolutely no lighting at night

    nothing particularly

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 September 2017

    4.2
    Nothing to write home about.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel seems to be run by the staff did not see any person in charge. Not terrible but won't go back.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    8.3
    We liked the electric blankets on the beds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    WiFi is only available at reception which is in a separate building.

    We liked the electric blankets on the beds.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2017

    7.9
    Booking online was R995 - walk in rate was R650
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Booking online was R995 - walk in rate was R650

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    9.2
    3days not enough, a week would have been perfect. March is a great month weatherwise.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Needed a car to get around. No problem as i had a car.

    Food was good. Rooms excellent. Great position with views of the sea.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    7.9
    Overall good stay. Very good location. Friendly and helpful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    no flat sheets on bed

    quick responce off staff

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2017

    9.6
    We will be back. I will certainly have my husband book a stay for us again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Far way to walk with heavy bags

    The food, service and staff was excellent.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2017

    10
    Would have preferred a room in front with a better view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The shower did not drain out properly but filled up in the shower basin

    Would have preferred a room in front with a better view

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    10
    Awesome stay just too short
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    The view was amazing

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 November 2016

    9.6
    Enjoyed our stay!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bedroom & bathroom was nice & spacious. Comfy bed.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2016

    5.4
    A little disappointed..
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Receptionist manner. Spa closed at 5pm. Bar was closed. In need of a refresh. Overpriced.

    Parking. Porter helping with luggage.

    Stayed in November 2016

There are also 41 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 49