Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Whalesong Lodge 4 stars

83 Cliff Street, De Kelders, 7220 Gansbaai, South Africa

#8 of 22 B&Bs and Inns in Gansbaai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 84 hotel reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.6

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.4

  • Staff

    9.7

  • Value for money

    9

  • Free WiFi

    8.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 32

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    What a beautiful place! Wonderful decor & atmosphere. The room was super big with an amazing view. We only stayed for one night unfortunately, but hope to go back during the whale season. Thank you for a lovely stay!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Helping hand with the suitcase would have been great. You have to lift it up via two staircases to top floor.

    Beautifully arranged house with much care for details, cosy atmosphere. Scenery simply fantastic with direct view to the ocean. There is a nice living room Which you can also use as guest. Breakfast was excellent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That we only could stay for 24 hours

    There's no better place & owners are just great and helpful. Team is professional and dedicated. Their recommendations have been very much appreciated Location for whalewatching is unbelievable ( looking out the bedroom-window .....

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was wonderful with the most fabulous views of the ocean. The owners were very welcoming and had taken the trouble to book a restaurant for us for our first night with them. Only sorry we couldn't stay longer.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The whales could have popped up on our days....

    Breathtaking view from the bed, bathroom, balcony etc. (we had the sea view front) Very cool owner and a perfect team taking care of the guests. Was the best room on the whole trip (and we had a lot of very nice lodges).

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The layout of the guesthouse meant that guest could find space to themselves . Friendly Staff were available in the background during our stay always willing to help if requested. They floated around ensuring our every need was anticipated

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    My only complaint was not staying for at least another night!

    This small, beautifully designed guesthouse offers style and design well beyond even the usually high standards in SA. It's a colour drenched little bubble of taste and luxury sitting right on the edge of the water, with stunning views in all directions. The welcome was warm, the room and balcony so beguiling we settled in for a long afternoon of sunshine on the water and wave watching. The owners are truly original in their style, and truly generous in attitude. A huge pleasure.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved the well stocked honesty bar and incredible view from our room. Most gorgeous sunset! Have left feeling so relaxed - will definitely be back!

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If the side front balconies extended to the front of the building it would be a better experience because the view is the biggest asset

    Setting...staff...management

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No toilet doors

    Great location as one can smell and see the ocean from your room . Food and drinks were well put together . Very clean and staff excellent . The overall experience is world class .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Limited intimacy in the Suite with strange en suite bathroom. No whale in November but sharks at breakfast table (hé hé). A little bit far from Hermanus.

    we had the nice Suite with an outstanding view. Kind hosts with some very good travel recommendations re. wines and penguins. Parking, living room and breakfast variety.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small pool but we already knew about that, and only 1 sunlounger by the pool.

    Friendly and helpful owner's, great views, relaxing and excellent choice for breakfast.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beautiful decor, homely, lovely friendly owners and staff with great aesthics everywhere and Devine local and homemade produce. Saw whales from the deck and stunning sunsets and views.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights

    stunning views from the room ! sunsets from room and balcony amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no real view

    Friendly staff and helpful owner. Clean, comfortable room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Need air con in rooms

    Location and the manner in which this B and Bbis run

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything! So friendly and helpful. Great location! Would strongly recommend. Loved it!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Owner present when we arrived

    The staff were very friendly and we liked the fresh fruit and snacks and coffee that was on the house.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Magnificent Sea views and excellent hospitality

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little more privacy in the toilet would be appreciated.

    Great views. Nice people.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    almost nothing! :) Room was ok, you will like the decoration or not. as said previously, there is no door or wall which will separate the bathroom from the bedroom. Nothing to worry about if you are a couple, but just to let you know. We expected the owners to be a little more talkative than a short and stressy "good morning" at the breakfast table. The woman seems to be a perfectionist in everything she does. She momentarily was really harsh to the staff in front of the guests, which made the atmosphere a little tense.

    Outstanding location! First row to the ocean, overlooking the whole bay. you can enjoy the sunset while having a glass of wine on the living room's balcony. breakfast was excellent, homemade jam, a rich variety of eggs and everything you will need. staff very friendly and always present and attentive. Thank you for the nice stay! it was actually too short to calm down a little more, but we certainly come back!

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No complaints.

    Great view,tastefully designed rooms, extremely accomodating owners. Interesting guests, Breakfast was delicious, the living room was cozy and inviting, and oh the view...

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    useful additions would be: a fridge in the room and airconditioning (quite hot in the room in February)

    Extremely nice view across Walker Bay (top front room) and very nice ambience. Breakfast is a treat. Nice owners & great service. Bonus: we saw a whale in February (!) which is very unusual :-)

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    There is Absolutely Nothing to dislike about Whalesong - unless you are planning some kind of riotous extravaganza - which no doubt could be arranged - but you would need to be sure all of the other guests wanted the same as you !

    What can I tell you about Whalseong..... From the moment we arrived it was superb. Met on arrival by the hosts Laney and Stanley and shown to our room. Their 5 staff, are just super and absolutely nothing was a problem. We spent a week sleeping and resting - it was spectacular. The atmosphere and environment made us both shut down and relax - which we both needed. We cant thank you enough for the super week we had ! The best things about Whalesong - in no particular order : The Staff The Breakfast The Quality of Sleep No TV The Location The Atmosphere

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing at all!

    Really lovely little hotel! We had the suite, which had floor to ceiling windows and a terrace. Gorgeous views of the ocean and walkers bay. The room was well appointed with everything we needed to feel at home. I liked the little touches - candles, a praline every night, home baked tarts, cookies and cakes. The owners Stanley and Lainy run this place with a lot of heart! Great location for coastal walks and proximity to Gansbaai (10 min) for shark cage diving.

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Honetly, there hasn't been a thing to complain

    Perfect location: breathtaking scenery, super nice hosts and boutique style architecture. Breakfast was amazing as was the afternoon cake.

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    A bit expensive by SA comparisons e.g. R2100 for 2 adults per night vs equal R1150 B & B in Queenstown for 2 adults per night. Missed Whale season!! Failed to speak/understand German language!!

    Immaculate all round presentations Great welcome given throughout Great New Years Eve Champagne Die Kelders quality of life excellent Exercise on stairways and frontage!! Honesty bar a good guest message

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    nothing, I liked everything

    best breakfast offered offered, beautiful rooms, happy staff, spectacular views

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    nothing

    the friendliness of the staff, the great view, the excellent breakfast, the chocolate truffle in the evening

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Lovely room with the sound of the sea!!

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    bed was too small

    beautiful location, view on the sea

  • Reviewed: 3 February 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing

    Fantastic location, comfortable well decorated house and friendly staff

There are also 4 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 32

Guests also reviewed these properties: