Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Willowbrook Country House 4 stars

Morgenster Avenue, 7130 Somerset West, South Africa

#6 of 7 hotels in Somerset West

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 29 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.6

  • Comfort

    8.5

  • Location

    8.2

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 24

  • Reviewed: 28 February 2018

    10
    We'll be back in 2019 God willing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Nothing, or we wouldn't go back there all the time!

    This really is the place to stay in Somerset West. A quiet, set off the road location with the river Lourens running at the bottom of the garden. Everything is provided for you in the room and the pool is an added bonus. Lisa (the Owner) and Maggie (the Manager) are little diamonds!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    9.6
    Lovely comfortable guest house with friendly staff. Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If I have to nitpick, it would have been nice to have an indoor lounge to relax in. There are tables outside but only 2 chairs in the dining room next to the fire. The dining room was always open so the tables were free to use should you wish but a nice comfy sofa would have made this the perfect spot.

    Lovely staff made all the difference to our stay. Excellent clean and comfortable rooms. Own patio onto garden with lovely walk to nearby river. Great breakfast, nothing was too much trouble. Close to some lovely wine farms, Morgenson for excellent wine and olive oil tasting and Lourensford for the great wine and Sunday market.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    6.3
    The Hoyas was small and had a nice little garden around the rooms , all the windows and the door was
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The petite room was old and didn't smell good , my room wasn't as nice as the rooms that was offered to the rest of our group , it wasn't renovated and I felt really depressed inside , I was glad that it was only one night stay. When I complained , I was told that this was the room I requested , didn't make sense , since the other room my nephew had was only few dollars extra .

    The breakfast was good

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2016

    9.2
    Quiet, peaceful and relaxing stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The overcooked beef steak I had for dinner.

    Good hot breakfast with fresh juice, spacious room with radiant floor heating, large bathrooms. Quiet and relaxing stay.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2018

    10
    Beautifully situated between wine estates in mountains and gorgeous coast for whale watching
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super helpful owner Lisa went out of her way to plan great itineraries for us. Excellent breakfast

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    10
    Owner and stuff all welcoming and efficient, even in low...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Owner and stuff all welcoming and efficient, even in low season where we have been the only guests Any time again!!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    9.6
    Comfortable and more than adequate
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfortable and more than adequate

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    9.2
    Greatness
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Lisa is very helpful and friendly

    Atmosphere and the great staff

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    10
    Ideal place to stay and in a beautiful area of Somerset West.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are spacious.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    7.5
    I enjoyed the quiet atmosphere and loved being close to the mountains and surrounded by trees.
    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Internet so not strong enough. Management don't seem to be present.

    It's quiet and clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    8.3
    enjoyable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    no two prong adapter

    Good breakfast selection and a welcome pool

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    9.2
    Our room's safe and wifi did not work, but apparently...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room's safe and wifi did not work, but apparently only temporarily.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2016

    9.6
    Comfort of the bed and your rooms were specious and food...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Comfort of the bed and your rooms were specious and food delicious

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    10
    Everyone was really lovely and extra attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Petite Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everyone was really lovely and extra attentive. I had a fantastic stay at Willowbrooks and can't wait to visit again.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2016

    10
    Please let me take this first opportunity to comment on...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Please let me take this first opportunity to comment on Willowbrook House after a very long return journey to New England. I had a good rest at Willowbrook following two weeks of travel between Joburg, Kruger Park and the super madhouse environment of old Long St Cape Town. My original reservations were made with booking.com and further communications via e-mail with Lisa (over the period of about 6 months prior to my stay) and it was already an indication of a very competent hotel executive who cared about her guests Lovely property in a natural setting with a very warm welcome from Maggie. Excellent lunch and dinner the day of arrival and a fully cooked English style breakfast the following morning. I decide then to take all my meals in house during the next three days staying @ lovely Willowbrook . Also Dee was exceptional host in Lisa's absence over the Saturday and Sunday W/E. However I saw her verbally abused by an angry couple who arrived in a foul mood. Complained about the booking process and found same meal I was very much enjoying not too their standards and departed in angry huff. Terrible behavior ! I am not sure of the outcome of this event but as retired Human Resource person what I saw was Dee simply doing her utmost please the ungrateful. (shameful) Finally tell both Pumpkin and Boniface of intention to return soon and I will always remember their kind attention to my food and comfort with good laughs at meal time.

  • Reviewed: 2 January 2016

    8.8
    The peaceful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It is definitely geared towards overseas visitors and rather expensive for locals. R40 for a pot of tea for 2!!!

    The peaceful location. Spacious rooms. Excellent food. Friendly staff

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2015

    9.6
    Tucked away in a quiet corner of Somerset West.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Tucked away in a quiet corner of Somerset West. Very convenient for visiting the surrounding areas with a couple of wine estates on the doorstep. Room was large and clean with a good breakfast watching the mountain back drop in the distance.. Staff both friendly and helpful.

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.2
    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff is second to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff is second to none. The central location is perfect for visiting the area and the perfect peace makes it very restful. Lovely to come back to after a busy day.

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2016

    6.7
    The property can be upgraded/maintained a bit better
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The property can be upgraded/maintained a bit better

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2016

    8.8
    Peace and great staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Bed a little too hard

    Peace and great staff

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2016

    4.2
    The room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Very poor pool ,food at breakfast not under cover.

    The room

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2015

    10
    sitting in the garden having breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    sitting in the garden having breakfast

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2015

    6.3
    Cold room, no milk for coffee in minibar.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Cold room, no milk for coffee in minibar.

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    10
    Lisa was extremely helpful and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Nothing

    Lisa was extremely helpful and welcoming. She really looked after us. The location is wonderful and next to the most beautiful wine estates.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 24

Guests also reviewed these properties: