Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Winchester Mansions Hotel 4 stars

221 Beach Road, Sea Point, 8005 Cape Town, South Africa

#49 of 152 hotels in Cape Town

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 459 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.7

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    8.4

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8.1

  • Free WiFi

    8.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Dedicated parking at 80 ZAR

    Huge bed, nice seaside views, tasty breakfast, friendly personnel, calm and cozy - all you need. Look for specials and price discounts as 100% can bite you for a long stay. Definitely will come back.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Stay here for a great intro to Cape Town! Excellent service, friendly staff, amazing architecture and rooms. Will be back for a longer stay next time!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    SABC 3 wasn’t airing for my entire stay 😔

    The bed was so comfy, food was amazing and oh the staff - so welcoming and warm. They went out of their way to accommodate me, someone even helped me find a makeup artist 👩‍🎨

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Modern Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Staff - some good to ok, but many seemed apathetic or bullied by management Maintenance (electrics, door jam, paintwork)

    Location, decor, food, historic style, and the atmosphere in the bar

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Maybe having a rooftop will be a great addition to the amazing hotel

    The hotel is just on the promenade and from there you can easily access all the attractions of Cape Town The situation in front of the beach makes it ideal to watch the sunset from the restaurant and bar of the hotel The staff is helpful and very nice Breakfast is rich and diverse The spa in the hotel is a great plus as well Rooms are spacious, comfortable and have all the requirements

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a lot. The staff have even found the shaver I left behind!

    The staff were extremely helpful and the Hotel has a characterful traditional feel, making one more at home than in modern hotels.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Classic
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Poor service in the bar area - we went twice and both times service was very slow so don't go here if you're in a rush or you're hangry!

    Large comfortable bed and bedding, beautiful courtyard where you can enjoy breakfast (which is amazing), very friendly staff, lovely turn down service. Nice, peaceful atmosphere in a great part of town.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room service wasn't the best.

    Breakfast was super delicious. There was so much on offer, including bubbles for breakfast mimosas if you so wished! Bed was really comfortable. Service was top notch!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Balcony Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    All the staff was so friendly and helpful. Such a nice room, with a beautiful view. Super comfortable bed. More than enough space in the room. You can go for an early morning stroll on the promenade, with enough time to enjoy a leisure breakfast afterwards. The Hotel has a very homely feel. I was very impressed with all the info supplied concerning the drought and water shortage in the Cape. This is our second time staying at the Hotel and we will be back

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Cannot think of anything off-hand

    Service was excellent and all the staff were extremely helpful and friendly, nothing seemed too much trouble for them, especially Thalia at reception and Stacy-Lee at reservations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A low level hum from what we think was equipment from the pool , like a generator type noise but not a generator .

    Friendly and helpfulness from the guy who met us at the airport . All the staff and the hotel .

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing, all very good,

    This hotel is a great example of how a hotel should be run. The staff are excellent, they are friendly polite and pleased to attend to anything you may request. We have stayed there before and you see the same faces . It feels like they are a family, The breakfast is outstanding. A buffet service , the quality is high and well cooked. There are comp drinks in the rooms and a turn down service. Little touches that mean a lot, The location is on the ocean in a great spot. It’s nice to walk along the promenade , look at the sea or watch the hang gliders land.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would be nice to have seen the fountain working ... but that was NOT the Winchester's fault...Cape Town had no water...

    It is one of those hotels where you calculate how much it would cost to live there permanently. The Staff were polite, professional, fun. I could not recommend it more.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    DOSE NOT PROVIDE HALAL FOOD !! ROOM IS A BIT SMALL

    BREAKFAST IS GOOD STAFF ARE SOOOO HELPFUL & FRIENDLY LOCATION IS WONDERFUL VERY GOOD SERVICE

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Classic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Wonderful hotel, excellent staff and food. My wife really enjoyed her long Spa session, I enjoyed the courtyard for drinks and bird watching. The courtesy car trips to city were excellent, staff recommendations for visits etc great. loads of available information about the area. Pool magnificent.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Modern Classic
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Rooms could do with a make over - as could the entire hotel really. It could be super, but is just looking a little tired and shabby round the edges. Bar was small and always seemed packed - not something i would normally complain about, but when you can't seem to ever get a seat at the hotel bar, maybe its not such a great thing.

    Nice terrace for breakfast, decent location right on the waterfront, pool gets sun almost all day long (pool isn't massive, but its fine for a dip and for kids), bar was open late (always a good thing!), staff were very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was a plunger in the room, but no coffee, sugar, tea or creamer.

    It has always been a dream of ours to stay at the Winchester Mansion and we will definitely do it again.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Pool was good and safe off road parking good at a small charge. Great area for walking and getting into city centre Hop on hop off bus stop directly opposite hotel.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Swimming pool more for refreshing than swimming.

    Great to be in a high quality hotel, with its own local culture. Not a hotel you could find on any place in the world. Sunday’s jazz brunch and saturday’s high tea are famous.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Classic
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel needs renovation. I won’t go into details out of appreciation to the staff but We won’t be staying there next time.

    The service from each member of the staff was extraordinarily. Great location. Cool bar restaurant downstairs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    All the airconditioners outlets just outside our room was a bit of a disappointment...

    Location, beautiful hotel, comfortable room, life music at dinner and good food.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The prize / quality ratio in the restaurant was a bit high. The cape townian habit of asking the client "how are you doing" about 7 times while eating; once would be enough for a Scandinavian.

    The location has easy access to downtown. The hop on hop off busses stop in front of the hotel. You can sunbathe, swim and take a massage ( wich was excellent). My room had even a rarity in South Africa: a hand shower. Interior is stylish.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Modern Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights

    WiFi was not great

    Food and service in Harveys restaurant was great. Great location and views out to sea from our room incredible. Reception staff were awesome and could not have done more for us. I would recommend this hotel for either business or pleasure.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have never in my life received such poor service and been treated so badly by a hotel! A real embarrassment to the Cape Town tourism market and to South Africa as a whole! The room was old, dirty and had no external windows. The only way to see out was to open your curtains and look straight into a corridor where everybody can see you lying in bed! Then, to try and make extra money, the hotel had rented the courtyard area (to which all rooms are attached) out as a function venue. Music was blaring at a ridiculous volume and when I tried to work (and later sleep) it felt like I was lying in a night club! When I told the hotel staff that I wanted a refund and to leave to stay at a proper hotel, they were as rude as I have ever experienced and REFUSED to refund me! A disgrace to SA hospitality. I would highly recommend staying elsewhere.

    Not much

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    On sunday we had breakfast & no one offered us coffee/tea.we had to eat our breakfast with no hot beverages.The complimentary wine & lager is a nice touch-only for those who drink,maybe offer something else to guests who dont take alcohol(chocolates,juice or cocktails)

    Great breakfast,comfortable bed with crispy linen.The complimentary wine & mini bar is a great touch.I had a great mango non-alcoholic cocktail in Harveys bar.We also had the most amazing sea views from ourcroom & balcony (room 304)

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom was a little dated.

    The hotel offers a lovely breakfast in a pretty courtyard (during summertime) and the location is excellent. The room was very comfortable and staff friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Suite
    • Stayed 7 nights

    Due to the lack of rain of the last months - the swiming pool could not be used. Because we booked this hotel because of the outdoor pool - this was very disappointed. Compared to similar European hotels - the price is high - we paid +/- 325€ per night for a family room;

    Breakfast was a typical English breakfast - which was of very good quality - but with little continental alternatives - limited choise of bread - no fresh yohurt - good fruit salades. If you stay for 1 week or more - a wider variety of bread and local products would be advisable Spacious and nice room with a view -> the price is rather high !!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The duvet on the bed was very thin and did not fit inside the whole cover. Was disappointing for a four star hotel. I also asked for a modern revamped room but was given an older one which really needs attention.

    Lovely ambience. Waiters friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wouldn’t like to see the building renovated but a really good spring-clean wouldn’t hurt. It’s not that’s it overly dirty. Just redo the silicone in the showers and some grouting.

    Our second stay in four years. Great old feel about the Building. The courtyard is spectacular. Great waterfront location. Beds soft. Staff extra wonderful. Amazing breakfast. The building has character. We like that!!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Winelands tour that the hotel recommended was not very good which was unfortunate since we chose the full day excursion.

    We loved the location which offered a wonderful view of the ocean and park area preceding it. The walk to the V & A area of Cape Town was a fun experience in itself. We found the staff in all areas (front desk, bar, dining) to be more than accommodating which made for a nice 4 day stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check in was lengthy as the card machine seemed not to have connection. I ordered Nachos and they were inedible, rock hard cheese stuck on over processed and flavoured tort chips with a few chopped tomatoes on top - awful. . I ordered hot chocolate that evening it took ages to arrive and when it did it was freezing. The dressing table wood was all bubbled and chipped, making the room look very cheap and tacky.

    The waitering staff were very friendly

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an issue on arrival at reception but this was sorted out in due course. Problem was with the booking system, to be taken up with booking.com

    Great location in Cape Town, buzzing at weekends, tour bus stops outside and the hotel offer a shuttle to the Waterfront. Needs booking though. Sunday Jazz Brunch was brilliant and a great way to spend a couple of hours or so.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an issue on arrival at reception but this was sorted out in due course. Problem was with the booking system, to be taken up with booking.com

    Great location in Cape Town, buzzing at weekends, tour bus stops outside and the hotel offer a shuttle to the Waterfront. Needs booking though. Sunday Jazz Brunch was brilliant and a great way to spend a couple of hours or so.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an issue on arrival at reception but this was sorted out in due course. Problem was with the booking system, to be taken up with booking.com

    Great location in Cape Town, buzzing at weekends, tour bus stops outside and the hotel offer a shuttle to the Waterfront. Needs booking though. Sunday Jazz Brunch was brilliant and a great way to spend a couple of hours or so.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was an issue on arrival at reception but this was sorted out in due course. Problem was with the booking system, to be taken up with booking.com

    Great location in Cape Town, buzzing at weekends, tour bus stops outside and the hotel offer a shuttle to the Waterfront. Needs booking though. Sunday Jazz Brunch was brilliant and a great way to spend a couple of hours or so.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Royal treatment. The staff is really helpful and make sure that your stay is top quality. They also help in case you book trips or other activities with outside operators. They really went out of their way, especially the Young receptionist who did the daytime shift, to make sure that I would get on my shark diving tour (the people from the shark diving company had messed up the pick-up schedule). The location is Amazing, just a couple of meters from the ocean. The Hop on Hop Off Bus stops exactly in front of the hotel. There are bars and restaurants close to it and the Promenade along the ocean is perfect for walking and jogging. They also have a shuttle service if you need to go to restaurants in the vicinity. If I am not mistaken it is free of charge if within a certain distance. What to say? AMAZING PLACE

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location overlooking the ocean, with front veranda makes this unique. Non high rise, colonial feel with modern interiors and inner courtyard adds to this.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Classic
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Plumbing. The hot water in the bathtub was brown. Maintenance came to fix, claimed they had done so but it was only marginally better.

    We liked the level of service, friendly staff, location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Omlettes could have been tastier - rather bland ! Perhaps some recognition that I have stayed at the Winchester several times - like a 'welcome back' ?

    Beds are extra comfy - breakfast - good buffet . Service friendly and co-operative. Excellent position and cosy ambiance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 July 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room cannot be completely darkened. The light from behind the front door blinds shine directly on the bed and is the cause of restless sleep.

    The staff are always very helpful and professional. The breakfast is very good. The wine selection served are always great. I liked the complimentary drinks and snacks in the room. After the room was cleaned, the cleaning manager came to ask if we were happy with the room and we required anything else. This is great. Sitting on the stoep at Harveys, enjoying the sea view and sunset while watching people on the promenade, is one of our enjoyments when visiting this establishment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The grout in the bathroom could be cleaner however we understand that the hotel is in the process of cleaning up older rooms.

    Fourth time at this hotel and there was nothing wrong with our stay. Being a returning guest they had several sweet things arranged for us - a wonderful touch. All communication with the hotel was noted and arranged for us. We will keep coming back.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing I didn't like

    Very friendly staff and great service. Free shuttle service to the v&a waterfront. Lovely big rooms and bathrooms. Excellent food in the bar and restaurant and great cocktails. Great location and sightseeing bus stop directly opposite

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    We ordered a food special at the bar which took a little longer than expected - other than that there is nothing bad to stay about this hotel.

    Over 5 nights we REALLY loved our stay. The detailed touches for a returning guest was wonderfull with a small box of chocolates and a bottle of wine in the room. We took the opportunity to experience almost everything the hotel has to offer and was not disappointed with a single thing. This was a wonderful hotel and we're very thankful for all the staff making our experience a wonderful one. Special thanks to check-in, restaurant staff and the cleaners. You really feel welcome here.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant was very disappointing. We invited a family member to join us at breakfast. He ordered eggs and bacon, it took ages, and once it arrived it had to be sent back TWICE. Bacon and eggs??? I was not impressed. Apart from the food and service in the restaurant the hotel was great

    The location is great and the rooms are lovely.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The coffee was awful at the restaurant. The didn't like that the parking cost additional. I belive this should be included in the cost.

    Loved the spoils for the start to our honeymoon. The location is amazing.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Modern Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Paying the full amount of the bill plus a deposit for the bar in my credit car before we were given our room was a complete put off . The breakfast was average and we were basically thrown out of the breakfast room on Sunday because they organize brunch so they told us quite unceremoniously to leave as soon as possible . The decor is outdated and some of the furniture even broken . We requested late check out since we are genius in booking.com and not only our request was ignore by the hotel but they phoned us to ask us to leave the room . Generally unpleasant staff . It felt unfriendly and cold . We will never stay there again .

    The location and views is about the only thing we liked of this hotel .

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    All was perfect for me.

    The Proximity to the Promenade and to the V and A. Also availability of shuttle to V and A. I enjoyed the breakfast outside dining atmosphere.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service at reception,should have advised more clearly that have to reserve parking,had to park in the street quit a distance from hotel.Service in Pub/diner area was very bad and staff rather obnoxious. Bedroom area rather small,design of room/windows such that cannot appreciate sea view.

    Breakfast was good with good with nice variety

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    rooms will probably need a spruce soon

    love everything about the Winchester! super friendly staff, comfy beds, beautiful building and setting, great breakfast spread, great bar & view!

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would have liked a seaview room but did not request it!

    Love the location - just perfect to stroll on the Sea Point promenade. Amazing staff - friendly and helpful. Great​ breakfasts in the iconic Courtyard

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Classic
    • Stayed 1 night

    Since the parking is very poor there was no one to help with the suitcases. I had to go into the hotel look for someone leaving all the suitcases on the pavement.

    The comfort and the cleanless of the rooms was fantastic.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Classic
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are looking a little tired. Bar was expensive - R65,00 for a glass of house wine. You have to pay an additional R75,00 to park you car in the hotel grounds.

    Location is great. Breakfast was good. Bar has a lovely atmosphere. Staff were friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Classic
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast could do with some extra choices especially for vegetarians, considering that Winchester hosts the famous brunch - breakfast is quite bare.

    Room was nice and big, with a little sitting area facing the sea. Reception staff fantastic - helped booked various excursions.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The employees were not so "happy" as other South African services. They were very processual so no time for smiles. But they worked well. Pool was not clean as it could be.

    Location and security of the surroundings. Everyone knew where the hotel is. It is at a 40min walking distance to waterfront, so take a uber instead if you are not in a mood for walking.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were amazing. The best customer care I've had - better than 5 star hotels I've stayed at. The location is beautiful. Room 326 is by far the best

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed lamps need replacement. Window metal strips fell off leaving glue exposed. Not what I would expect of a 4 star hotel. No electric outlets next to the bed. Had to leave cell phone at the desk to charge over night which is inconvenient.

    Staff were very friendly and helpful. Liked the sense of humor of some especially. The view and location is unbeatable for a walk, hop on the bus or even paragliding. All right in front of the hotel! The rooms and building in general has character and charm.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check-in was a bit slow.

    A really well located and beautiful hotel. We were only there for a short stay but wished there had been time to go in the lovely looking pool. The breakfast was great too.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The carpets in the bedrooms are old and tired. When people sit at the pool, if they fold their towels after they have used them, then you don't get a fresh towel. I noticed that they don't change them for the next person.

    The staff are lovely and very helpful. the old world charm is great. the indoor restaurant is a lovely setting and the food is good.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 1 night

    Service for our meal was slow, including bringing the bill.

    The breakfast selection is great, the bed was very comfy, the sea view is pretty, there is parking (ZAR 75 per day).

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    the bathroom could do with an upgrade

    loved having drinks and a light meal on the bar terrace in the afternoon watching all the activity going on - great vibe

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Our bedroom was small and quite dark. It was difficult to move around the bed area due to lack of space on one side. This is an old building and the rooms and bathrooms feel dated and look a bit tired. Could do with an update.

    The beds were comfortable. Some of the staff were great, but others less so. Special mention to Bertha who served us our first night in the restaurant. She was on the ball and fun and very efficient. The courtyard area is very beautiful. The breakfasts were good - especially the woman who did the eggs. Best poached eggs I've ever had. There was a good choice of cold and hot options. We ate in the restaurant a couple of times and the food was generally good. The seafood platter didn't live up to expectations but the springbok was delicious. The free shuttle bus to the V&A Waterfront is very handy.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 11 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No balcony at the hotel, and booking.com said our room had a balcony.The furniture need to be changed. Room service is poor.

    The staff was helpful and friendly

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bar and front terrace are very popular with locals, with the result that at times it is impossible to get a seat outside - and at these busy times service was occasionally slow. Orders were taken quickly enough but there could then be quite a long wait before the drinks arrived.

    The hotel is in a prime location, directly overlooking the sea in the Seapoint district. It is close to the trendy Waterside area, and not far from central Cape Town. It is a lovely old building , with rooms located on three floors around a delightful courtyard. Our room was quiet, spacious and very comfortable. There was good free WiFi throughout. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful and food was of a very good standard. Breakfast was an extensive buffet, with a cooking station for fresh eggs / omlettes etc. We ate twice in the restuarant in the evening and on both occasions service and food were excellent. We found it to be a very relaxing base from which to explore the wonderfully vibrant city of Cape Town.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area is very poor .sun beds uncomfortable no mattresses.few sun shades, Rooms at the back have no view or outside light .overlook a block of apartments Old dated television all looks a bit tired needs smarting up.

    Resturant excellent

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Hotel is managed excellently, queries are handled fast and efficiently. Staff are proffesional, friendly and accomodating. Amazing breakfast!! Website photos are accurate. Beautiful hotel.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    False marketing when it comes to the standard rooms. They first say that the Hotel is "Atlantic facing" which is true... "some of the standard rooms are mountain facing" and we hoped to be able to have a sea facing room... The truth is; None of the standard rooms are sea facing, they are either facing the inner yard, the parking place or the mountain...

    Nice and friendly staff Good food

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Modern Classic
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The service in the bar is hit and miss. You can order drinks and fifteen minutes later your still waiting for them to be delivered . The same happens when trying to get your bill. Poor service. Avoid the rooms overlooking the courtyard if possible . You have to keep your blinds closed for privacy. This makes the room dark and dreary.

    Good location for visiting the Waterfront and Camps Bay. Good service at breakfast and in the main dining room at night. Lovely terrace outside the bar facing the seafront .

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Wouldn't change a thing

    - Location - perfect for exploring Cape Town with a Red Bus stop opposite the hotel & a shuttle bus on hand - Helpfulness of staff - nothing was too much trouble despite travelling with two v small children - Hygiene - everything and everywhere was spotless - Great food

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Unfortunately we had bad luck with our room, it was smelly. We were given a different room which solved the problem, but it was not as nice as the first one. Location in on the ocean front, but the main road makes less enjoyable

    A nice hotel on the main street at the sea. The courtyard is wonderful and the breakfast is excellent and includes champagne. The location is on the ocean front, however the promenade doesn't have much to show, no beach and not many bars or restaurants. The hotel bar is good, but directly on the main road. All in all a well run place, but not a highlight on our trip in South Africa.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were serviced very late every day. Most days, after 16h45. Room service was very poor - taking over 45 minutes for a pot of tea. Towels were stained. Had to request coffee for rooms most days, and they ran out of white sugar

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 December 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    TV Channel options too limited - still! Missed the previous 'Welcome Back message' in the room (small things count). Some attention to details lacking - no laundry bags. Filter coffee option in rooms (plunger)?? Service - while mostly friendly is sometimes unpolished

    Location Some really friendly staff (even if lacking a in 'polished' service) Charm of building, courtyard and bar/terrace.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I can honestly say i cannot find faullt with this amazing hotel.

    The beds were so big and comfy. Facilities are excellent and staff cannot do enough for you. There is a courtesy bus into the V&A which is frequent and accommodating. The views of the ocean are fantastic with the most amazing sunsets you can watch whilst having dinner on the terrace. Food is fantastic whether eating in the restaurant or bar area. It is the second time we have stayed here and we absolutely love it and would recommend a stay here.

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sea View
    • Stayed 13 nights

    Better pillows - very soft and flat. Very disorganised in the Bar area and sometimes it would take up to 30 minutes to get a drink and tables were left for a long time with dirty glasses. Outside in the bar area, it would be good if under the tables were swept often as food was left lying and it encouraged ants.

    This was our 2nd visit to Winchester Mansions and really love this place. Staff are so friendly and the rooms were spotlessly clean. Shuttle bus to and fro is a great asset.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location and the friendly staff. Feels like you are at home as I have stayed at the hotel a number of times and they all remember me and welcome you back with a smile and referring to you by name.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2016

    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Badly informed, unfriendly staff. No opening windows in a bad smelling room. Denied breakfast at 9:50 on Sunday morning due to their preparation for a jazz band that we were not informed about. In fact the guy that checked us in said breakfast was until 11 but could be stretched to 11:30!

    The position

    Stayed in August 2016

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: