Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Windsor Hotel Hermanus 3 stars

49 Marine Drive, 7200 Hermanus, South Africa

#18 of 19 hotels in Hermanus

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 952 hotel reviews

8.2

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    9.3

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    8.5

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location and wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location. With sea view balcony there was a good chance of seeing the whales from your room. The coastal path whenright past the hotel and was a lovely walk.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    4.6
    For the price....leaves much to be desired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Please see above

    The view was great, I expected a bit more for the price. Food was average, kitchen manager had no class and not suitable for front of house. Loud talking to some people yet no proper greeting to others is definitely not being proffessioal or hospitable. Service staff were pleasant and polite. Payment method gave no warning of deduction from account. Upon entering the hotel the balance was already requested. Payment balance could not be detected on system the following day. No upfront warning of strike, restaurant closures or any suggestions as to where to eat for supper. Guests just left to get whatever is available.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.5
    I was satisfied with the facility and would certainly visit again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bedding in the one room was marked/scuff marks / possibly not clean and bed was made up, upsidedown ie the bottom of the bedding was at the top of the bed.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    9.2
    Great location right on the coast and easy walking distance...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff a little aloof but others very friendly.

    Great location right on the coast and easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. The room was big and very nice with a great shower. Huge selection of food at breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 July 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our mountain view room had no voil curtains so couldnt leave main curtains open. Also no teaspoons/stirrers for the tea/coffee.

    Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    9.2
    Excellent location at good price - will stay there again!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Rooms did not have comfortable chairs to relax in. One tiny little soap is not sufficient for two people, consider a shower soap as well.

    Excellent location, on the beach in the centre of town. Lounge with a lovely fireplace in winter.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 May 2018

    8.8
    quaint place unbeatable location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The biggest drawback of the place is that they don’t do any meals other than breakfast! Hermanus being a small town, everything generally shuts by 8,we thought since it’s a hotel we could order in but were shocked to find out that they serve on 2 kinds of sandwiches. Most of the hotel was empty therefore we expected a slightly better price than what we got.

    The property itself is set in an absolutely stunning location, the view is unbeatable (make sure you get a sea facing room) the staff are friendly (mostly) The rooms are big, comfortable and clean. The bathrooms are a good size too! Hermanus being a small town everything is less than 10 minutes walking distance from the property. Great WiFi too!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    That no request was to big for any of the staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    That no request was to big for any of the staff. They were always friendly willing to help and was always looking for ways to make the stay more comfortable than it already was.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints

    Lovely location right on the cliffs and the hotel is charming -- it dates from 1890s although facilities all modern. Staff were helpful and friendly.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    2.5
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We didnt stay at Splash because when we arrived the manager said there was a problem with our reservation, without explaining what the problem was. We went to another guest house, where we stayed.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    9.2
    The rooms are modern, with nice views over the sea or over...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are modern, with nice views over the sea or over the mountains. excellent location and private parking on site . Nice breakfast . Staff was very helpful and a nice beach 20mim away !

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect holiday destination...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Continental pillows and bar fridge will only add to this comfortable setting.

    The perfect holiday location with stunning sea view from bedroom. A charming, vintage setting and beautiful warm and homely interior. Superb breakfast nd friendly staff...awesome stay!!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2018

    9.6
    Lovely hotel!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nicely decorated rooms, good quality bedding, big shower, charming old vintage style, friendly staff, affordability, excellent location, delicious breakfast

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 April 2018

    9.6
    Perfect choice for a short trip to Hermanus.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Check-in was quick and friendly. I was offered a glass of wine by a very friendly staff member (Kanya) which was nice. He also assisted me with my luggage. The breakfast was great and is served in a room with a lovely view over the ocean.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2018

    9.6
    A rare gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing was wrong

    Location, friendly and informative staff, good breakfast, welcoming glass, comfort in enormous bed, security,... edging to being a 4 star!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 March 2018

    7.5
    It was enjoyable with friendly staff & a great view from our room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    A little old & dowdy. The general interior, not the room. Very convenient location for our purpose for overnight stay on our visit to Cape Town.

    The view

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2018

    5.0
    I was in room 317, right nest to the fire alarm.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I was in room 317, right nest to the fire alarm. It woke us on the Friday evening and I contacted reception. It continued to sound all night. The next morning I called reception and asked if the problem was fixed or that they could move us into another room, they said it was sorted. That same Saturday night the fire alarm woke us again. So no sleep for us or an apology. I am really disappointed.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 March 2018

    9.6
    Honeymoon at the ocean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpets in the room were very dusty. They should put a safety gate on the ground floor patios.

    I've always loved Hermanus. The hotel is located right opposite the ocean so what better can you ask for. Everything is in walking distance.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    7.9
    Very good medium type hotel in an excellent location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was average in comfort value, extensive repainting makes it look very nice but our room was a bit basic.

    A good medium class hotel which is good value for money. The best part is it's excellent location, the breakfast was also excellent with friendly and attentive staff.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2018

    6.3
    All in all a nice establishment in good setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Airconditioning. Bathroom sliding door does not close to an extend that one has full privacy. The extractor fan was only working intermittently. The selection of TV channels is poor and picture quality on half the programs was poor to an extend that you could not watch it. In today’s day and age excess to all round internet should be a basic offering.

    Setting of hotel. The downstairs lounges. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    10
    As enjoyable as always and in particular we enjoyed our sightseeing trip to the Heaven on Earth vall
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing to dislike

    As returning visitors we knew what to expect and were not disappointed. As always the level of comfort was excellent, the staff friendly and helpful and the breakfast second to none.The hotel location and sea views could not be bettered

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 March 2018

    7.5
    Good vews from dining room and good breakfast .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Got a room at the back of the Hotel, although there was rooms with a sea view available. Staff friendly and helpful.

    good breakfast , clean room , got a complimentary bottle of bubbly for our wedding anniversary

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    5.4
    It was a painfully average experience for the price. I wouldn't recommend it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In light of the price per night I thought our entire Windsor experience lacked a certain finesse. The staff lack enthusiasm, the decor of our room left a lot to be desired, no airconditioning, and the hotel was very noisy (children running up & down the corridor, inebriated guests loudly making their way to their room in the middle of the night).

    The view & location is great.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2018

    10
    Its rustic charm and it is situated very close to all...
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tour busses unfortunately park outside hotel and can obscure the fantastic view

    Its rustic charm and it is situated very close to all amenities. The sea facing rooms have a magnificent view

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    7.5
    Perfect location if a bit noisy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I said it was a busy hotel it is also very noisy in the morning from around 6am with coach and van loads all getting up for a 7am breakfast dash. We waited until 8:30 / 9:00 for breakfast, worth it. Might be worth the hotel putting some suggestive signage in place to cut the noise levels down!

    The Windsor Hotel is a well located and busy hotel. In the UK I would put the rooms on a par with a Travelodge. The breakfast is top notch with slightly too attentive service from the waiting staff. Hermanus sites are close by and there is free parking on site (we parked right outside our ground floor non sea view room).

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    6.7
    The convenience of the position.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We asked to move from the ground floor room and unbeknown to us we were put in an unrenovated 1 st floor room. Although room was clean the bathroom was very dated and grubby. We did not complain as we were there for such a short time but realized afterwards that we had booked originally into a new room. Reception should not have moved us to an unnrenovated room without informing us. Our impression therefor was that the place was run down. The receptionist on checking us out clarified the situation. We should have paid less for that room.

    The convenience of the position. Bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 March 2018

    9.6
    Most enjoyable!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pillows on the bed were a bit hard & the tv reception is not so good & it's a pity there is no pool table or games to enjoy while having drinks @ the bar

    The massive breakfast was fantastic, the staff were very friendly & everything was spotless.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.2
    Sensational place by the sea
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Well there was no mini fridge in the room, other than that the place and staff were amazing

    The fact that it's by the ocean, great rooms, awesome food and friendly staff

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 February 2018

    6.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy double room with patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No air conditioning, if you get a room with patio you can not have any doors open for fresh air and wind is so small. Maintenance work being done

    Location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    9.6
    a lovely hotel by the sea
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no lift. But not a big deal for us and they helped with our luggages. There is no air conditioner. Also not a big deal as they provide a cooler unit. It’s quite chilly at night because of the strong wind.

    Perfect location by the cliff paths with sea view. Room is pretty and comfortable. Breakfast is good. Walking distance to good restaurants.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 February 2018

    7.9
    Great position and views but needs upgrading...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The outdated bathroom and the smell in the bedroom. It smelled like the carpets need to be replaced. Very unpleasant smell as we opened the door.

    We like the position, the breakfast the size of the bed

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2018

    9.2
    The Windsor Hotel is the depiction of an elegant and peaceful stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The fact the tour busses park in front of the lounge foyer windows and block the view. They should be allocated a place away from the Lounge windows and the congestion on the pavement and in the foyer in the morning when the ONE NIGHT travellers leave. Maybe tour guides should get that sorted that it doesn't interfere with other tourists that are not part of a tour.

    I love the wonderful dining room with views of the sea while having breakfast. I love the old colonial lounge settings in the lounge foyer that allows people with (NON SEA FACING ROOMS) to enjoy a coffee or wine with a lovely view.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2018

    8.3
    We had a perfect wedding annivesary and good value.
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    TV Should have all available channels. Matrass to hard. Room should have an air con. If there was a lift it would have been great. I still think it was good value.

    The view and location is spectacular worth paying for. Ambiance perfect.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    6.3
    the hotel location was excellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the room service could have been much better. they dont even provide a single bottle of water. they had emiled that they'll provide us with a bottle of champagne as we were on our honeymoon but we didnt get any when we came. We dont enjoy champagne so we asked them for a bottle of juice instead, which also we didnt get. There was no AC in the room, only a small table fan.

    the hotel location was excellent

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    9.6
    very comfortable and relaxed stay. best staff and service experienced in our 5 wk stay in Africa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    no swimming pool. room fridges had to be requested, but were very quickly delivered and installed.

    service and staff were outstanding. breakfasts were excellent with large choice. the 'old style' lounges and leisure rooms (eg snooker, tv and sea view rooms) were very nice and very spacious, most having big and comfortable settee s and armchairs.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    8.8
    Lovely stay in peaceful, beautiful surrounds. Just some comfy chairs in room please!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    While the room had been renovated (on second level) it would have been nice to have a fridge there (although a staff member said one could be arranged) and there were only two upright dining room chairs to sit on besides the bed. More comfortable chairs or a sofa would have been much appreciated.

    See above.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    9.2
    Great location, access to seaside walks across the road! Lovely hotel & staff, defintely recommend!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast, in comparison, was quite ordinary in the way it was presented and how it tasted (the hot food).

    Loved the décor and the thoughtfulness that went with it - lovely lounge areas, cosy, comfy, private. Rooms were crisp, simple, yet cosy and elegant. Every staff member smiled and greeted me, all the time! Simply lovely.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2018

    10
    amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This place will charm you with its history and location! Breathtaking vies from the windows! Comfort and fantastic views in one of the best areas of south of Africa!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    10
    Loved this hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Loved this hotel! Beautiful location, staff were lovely and breakfast was amazing especially the freshly made pancakes! Thank you for your hospitality!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    7.9
    Food was great and your lady Karen was tops.
    • Group
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked three /four months in advance and asked for a see view. Ended up looking at the hotel roof.

    Food was great and your lady Karen was tops. Very pleasant and professional.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2018

    9.6
    Superb location and excellent value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The taped music needs to be updated or changed more frequently.

    Excellent location - could not have been closer to the ocean! Fantastic buffet breakfast included in price of room.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    3.3
    Just bad facilities and bad services from night staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy double room with patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Bad services and no views. Black out that night in the region, sat in the dark in the lounge area and eventually asked staff for candles. They were all standing around, not very helpful. Sat in the lounge with other guests watching the sunset, when getting dark no help from staff!!

    No views, unhelpful. Were told by desk that they would see if there was another room available with better views, but never called. Booked for two nights but cancelled the second night and got accommodation. Instead of paying R1600 for better views, we paid R15oo with excellent facilities.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    8.3
    I really enjoyed my stay, and would be back. Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I would have liked a playroom or activities for kids. A more child-friendly approach. Also, the bathrooms in my room was very old fashioned. A make-over would be great.

    The staff was very attentive and friendly. The proximity to the best spots in Hermanus was amazing. I could walk anywhere - great when traveling with a toddler.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    6.7
    This is a rather clean, well-kept but dated establishment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room with Patio
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The lack of storage facilities for clothes in the room. The ground floor sea-facing rooms are at risk of intruders hence the patio doors must stay locked on even the warmest nights. The all-pervasive piped piano music nearly drove us nuts.

    The staff were helpful and friendly, there was adequate free parking and the location is superb for both the view and its proximity to restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    I enjoyed the stay very much.I would go again,but would prefer a sea view!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I didnt get a sea view from my room,we had a view of our parking area. During the booking,if booking.com could spesify that i dont have a sea view,i would rather pay more to get one!! A small fridge would have been nice. The reason is that i bought my own milk,coz i drink a lot of coffee and the hotel only give 2 little milk containers. Wifi was fine after 18:00 for downloads,but during the day you can just browse on the internet,and cant even download an update on the cellphone.

    The bed was very comfy. Hotel and our bedroom bathroom was very clean. Service good and friendly.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    7.1
    Pleasant
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower Water all over the outside shower area after showering That I was asked on arrival and departure to settle the Bill. On both occasions I advised them and gave them a copy of my full payment.

    Beautiful View absolutely amazing.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    3.8
    Tired. Must keep up with the competition.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The tune “the man I love” was played on the piano over and over on a loop. After the third day of hearing this, I could have throttled the receptionist. She told me to put this on trip advisor. The location of the hotel is deceiving. There is a road between the hotel and the sea. Therefore the hotel is NOT on the sea.

    Comfy bed

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    8.3
    A lovely and refreshing stay! Thank you!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Wifi in room was exceptially poor. It was so slow we did not make use of it which was very disappointing. The DSTV channel, Kyknet did not work and could not be fixed. Staff were helpful and friendly but we experienced poor communication in the matter and was unable to resolve the problem. This was disappionting since that was the only channel we wanted to watch.

    Thank you, we always love staying at the Windsor. The renovations looks beautiful, We love the new showers and close proximity to the town centre and sea front. The staff was always helpful and very friendly! We always enjoy the extraordinary breakfast! Thank you!! We just miss the black and white checked tilling in the reception areas. That was always a very special, unique and beautiful part of the Windsor for me. 🙃😊

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    Great situation. Just what I wanted.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    Great breakfast. Cupboard / hanging space not sufficient. Although there was on site parking, there was not sufficient for everyone and sometimes we had to park on the street.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    6.3
    Well located but take a sea facing room with a balcony to enjoy the view.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The reception on arrival was not up to standard I wanted to change our room to a sea facing room but the quote was much higher than what was quoted over the phone.It was a take it or leave it attitude.

    Location was good .Right in front of the sea Breakfast was limited in choices but good.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    5.0
    Walking distance to shops and restaurants as there were no...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room with Patio
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Not enough parking available on-site and you have to be back early from your daily excursions to get a spot.

    Walking distance to shops and restaurants as there were no restaurant on the premise.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 December 2017

    8.8
    Brilliant l location and breakfast. Close to town hub. Brilliant breakfast. Only missed snack menu.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Economy double room with patio
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms are quite small. It would be nice if ordering some light snacks ( sandwiches etc) later in day/ evening as well.

    Very good location, walking distance from shops and restaurants. Nice seaview. Best breakfast ever.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    9.6
    A relaxed getaway next to the sea.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you want a bar fridge remember to ask for one as the rooms don’t automatically come with one. The coffee in the restaurant could definitely be improved and maybe a cuppacino machine be introduced? They also need to leave two soaps in the bathroom not one. Of course I could have asked for another one but it should have been automatic - one for the shower and one for the basin.

    The beds were so comfortable, the lady, Annie, who looked after the kids was superb! The staff were always on hand to help and nothing was too much trouble. It is a brilliant family hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2017

    10
    Lovely overnight stay in comfortable and picturesque surroundings.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Just be aware that half the rooms face the sea, the other half do not.

    The room was clean and comfortable. The room was quiet, had a TV and internet. Although we didn't have a room with view there were plenty of communal lounges to enjoy. There was even one downstairs with a fire going which was lovely. From the hotel it was literally ten steps to the ocean and there was a lovely walk round the cost to the new harbour. Breakfast was buffet style and was delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.3
    Business Stay in Hermanus
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The hotel decor and general impression feels a bit rundown, but I also understand very old Hotel, and maybe the funds not always there to renovate. Plaster coming off the wall in the bathroom. Staff were sometimes friendly, sometimes very unfriendly - depends on the time of the day -especially the breakfast staff

    The location is excellent with great views. Hermanus is a very lovely town and is scenically very beautiful. Walking distance to all Restaurants Nice touch to have some free wine when you check into the Hotel Breakfast was great, good variety Although a street runs in front of the Hotel, it is very quiet ( out of season though ) Good security In all - a good stay, but not on par with other 3 star Hotels

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    5.8
    Our shower had very little water coming out , accommodation...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our shower had very little water coming out , accommodation seemed like servants quarters breakfast could cater more for vegetarians especially after being told about our diet.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    8.3
    Lovely breakfast, with views over the bay .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My only disappointment was that with the current critical drought be experienced in Cape Town, that there was not a single message, that I saw, and none in the room, to save water. Important that every visitor to Cape Town be told repeatedly to save water ...... the drought is bad, really bad!!!

    Lovely breakfast, with views over the bay ........ stunning

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 December 2017

    8.8
    Loved the view from the room!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Staff was very friendly and worked great for us. They do their job well, but necessarily the type to go above and beyond if you have above basic needs.

    Location and room with sea view were excellent! Easy parking in back of hotel. We had a fabulous stay

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    8.8
    Great short stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great 1 night stay in the room facing the sea. Comfortable and safe, was great to watch the sunset directly from the little balcony! Was too late in the whale season though so no sightings from the room. Delicious breakfast!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 December 2017

    6.7
    Good- would stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff seemed very unhappy and scared to interact with the quests - this was the complete opposite to the other places that we had visited around Plett where the staff really seemed to enjoy their work.

    The property was in a superb sea front location. Unfortunately,during our visit, the tour buses for some of the hotel guests park directly outside the panoramic windows obscuring the magnificent views from the public areas!

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 December 2017

    10
    Wonderful relaxing couple of days.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Traffic noise was at times a bit too much, but all due respect to the hotel, there's not much they can do about that. Otherwise everything was perfect.

    Lovely modern room, very comfortable bed, friendly staff and very good variety of foods at breakfast.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    8.3
    Very comfortable stay with lovely view over Walker's Bay. Would strongly recommend a sea facing room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    This was our 5th visit to the Windsor Hotel and it was nice to see the rooms had been refurbished. The only suggestion is that it would have been nice to have a comfy chair in the room instead of the upright/dining type chairs.

    Excellent waterfront location. Very convenient to walk to restaurants and shops and save the inconvenience of parking.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    9.2
    Excellent hotel in a great position
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very warm. I suspect in summer it would be too hot.

    The ambience of the hotel and its position on the sea front of Hermanus. The hotel has been updated but has retained its period elegance.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.1
    Stunning views over the bay from our seaview room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a very dated, old-style hotel with basic room and general facilities. If we hadn't booked a seaview room we would have been disappointed.

    Stunning views over the bay from our seaview room. Very short walk to the centre of town. Staff very willing to help carry bags upstairs without expecting a tip (hurried away before we could reach for our money!).

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 17 November 2017

    7.9
    Lovely and enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No fridge in the room.

    Lovely breakfast, lots of variety. Within walking distance to restaurants, beach, shops. Great view from the rooms that have a sea view.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    9.2
    Whale watching from your room. A perfect place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    The location is perfect for whale watching, even from the terrace/balcony if you have a sea view room. Everthing was completely satisfactoring.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    9.2
    Relaxing, stay served its purpose, worth the money spent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing in particular.

    Accommodation in general was good. The only non-positive (I do not want to use the word negative) when we entered the corridor to the bedroom was the typical smell of an old building. The staff (all of them) were excellent. Customer service excellent - even chased away the beggars.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Great Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Sea Facing Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bit concerned about the towel stuffed under the sliding door to the outside. Presumable to stop rain coming in. Luckily it stayed dry !

    We booked separately for a second night following a change of plan and had a sea view room. you could sit on the sofa and watch the waves crashing on the rocks. Hotel was bit dated but clean and comfortable. Staff very helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 November 2017

    8.3
    Good for a short stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location great. While eating breakfast we saw whales in the sea !. Staff were friendly and helpful. Rooms were comfortable and clean though a bit dated. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 November 2017

    8.3
    Was a greatly resorted hotel building on the foreshore of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy double room with patio
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was a greatly resorted hotel building on the foreshore of Hermanus, Staff were very friendly & helpful it was close to the Markets, Restaurants & shops in Hermanus, secure & safe for ourselves & our vehicle.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    7.5
    A very good choice for anyone visiting Hermanus to do a little whale-watching.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Double Room - Annex
    • Stayed 1 night

    No view at all but then that would probably have required a more expensive booking.

    Location was yards from the seafront so excellent for someone there to look at the whales. It was also easy to find. Someone was on hand on arrival to point out where to park and take to reception.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2017

    10
    Oldstyle Charm
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I like the fact that one stays over where our grandparents use to stay when they visited Hermanus.

    Old style charm. Memories of a real hotel dating from the early 20th century.. I love the little spaces for just curling up to read or look at the ocean. I love the wooden furniture dating from a hundered years and older. Never become "modern" Every seaside resort needs a hotel like the Windsor the way hotel's use to be in the old days.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    7.9
    Stay there for the vies and value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom seemed a little "tired" but the bedroom had been spruced up since my last stay.

    Fantastic view from room. Lovely to have a log fire in a small sitting area. Great views also from breakfast room. Great to have so many electric sockets in the room for charging gadgets. Staff really pleasant and helpful

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    7.9
    The sea view is spectacular.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms are somewhat cramped and basic. Nice bed and linen though.

    The sea view is spectacular. We even saw whales. Also, the proximity to restaurants makes it an ideal location

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2017

    8.8
    It was nice, seeing the whales was a bonus.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room with Patio
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I booked a room with a patio which was at the rear. It backed on to the car park so all we saw was the back of cars. I would pay the extra for a higher floor facing the Bay if I was to go again.

    Perfectly placed for whale watching, there were some in the bay as we arrived. The accommodation is a bit dated but clean and comfortable. Breakfast was excellent and set us up for the day. A 5 minute walk to Main St. I would stay here again.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Guests also reviewed these properties: