Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Japan hotel reviews

Japan Hotel Reviews by Real Guests

Recent Reviews for Hotels in Japan

  • Santiago Guesthouse Hiroshima

    Hiroshima, Japan

    Average Review Score: 8.5
    • Positive section of review

      The hostel is very well maintained and was kept very clean throughout our stay. The aircon was easy to use and the bedding was warm enough too. The double rooms are a great size!

    • Negative section of review

      It’s sometimes annoying that the showers are only on 1 floor so you either have to wait for the lift or use the external staircase with no shoes on

    Reviewed: February 15, 2019 Stayed in February 2019
    Rebecca New Zealand
  • The Millennials Kyoto

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      This place is so cool!! The pods are comfortable and the sliding storage under the bed is genius, the acoustics in the rooms are really great so other guests can come and go without disturbing you, the common area and kitchen is comfy and clean and really well stocked. The free beer hour is an awesome idea too, and there’s free coffee/hot chocolates all day. The bathrooms are kept really clean, and they’re designed with usability in mind too. The staff are really friendly and they all speak English really well!

    • Negative section of review

      Sometimes the pods can get very warm, and there’s not quite enough room at the end of the bed to get changed even when it’s folded up

    Reviewed: February 15, 2019 Stayed in February 2019
    Rebecca New Zealand
  • Chisun Grand Nagano

    Nagano, Japan

    Average Review Score: 8.9
    • Positive section of review

      Great location, flawlessly clean, friendly and capable staff. A hassle free stay

    Reviewed: February 15, 2019 Stayed in February 2019
    Rebecca New Zealand
  • Greenheim Suitengushita / Vacation STAY 1689

    Otaru, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9
    • Positive section of review

      A very interesting experience, like staying at an authentic Japanese apartment

    • Negative section of review

      Photos on the website looked better.

    Reviewed: February 15, 2019 Stayed in February 2019
    Mi1ky Singapore
  • Hotel Route-Inn Abashiri Ekimae

    Abashiri, Japan

    Average Review Score: 8.1
    • Positive section of review

      Hotel location is perfect. Right across Abashiri Train Station. Furthermore there are 2 bus stops across the road, which makes transportation to Menambetsu Airport very convenient.

    Reviewed: February 15, 2019 Stayed in February 2019
    Lee Hong Kong
  • Niseko OAC Lodge

    Niseko, Japan

    Average Review Score: 8.7
    • Positive section of review

      Staff was very friendly and accommodating! Great value for an unforgettable vacation!

    Reviewed: February 15, 2019 Stayed in February 2019
    Kelsea United States of America
  • Niseko Konbu Onsen Tsuruga Moku-no-sho

    Niseko, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.3
    • Positive section of review

      Japanese culture

    • Negative section of review

      Hard to get around shuttle bus schedule rigid and sparse taxi expensive and long wait

    Reviewed: February 15, 2019 Stayed in February 2019
    douglas Australia
  • Hotel Apple Land

    Hirakawa, Japan

    Average Review Score: 8.2
    • Positive section of review

      Apple onsen

    • Negative section of review

      The location a bit far

    Reviewed: February 15, 2019 Stayed in February 2019
    Pek Singapore
  • Heiseikan Shiosaitei

    Hakodate, Japan

    Average Review Score: 8.5
    • Positive section of review

      Good buffet spread for both breakfast and dinner. Good view of the ocean with ample onsen facilities. Good location near to the airport serviced by airport limousine both ways (to the city and airport) with bus stops right beside/across the hotel.

    • Negative section of review

      In-room onsen bath was too small and could be bigger.

    Reviewed: February 15, 2019 Stayed in February 2019
    Erick Singapore
  • Hotel Nikko Narita

    Narita, Japan

    Average Review Score: 8.5
    • Positive section of review

      Always a good experience. Facilities,staff,location and rooms always excellent.

    Reviewed: February 15, 2019 Stayed in February 2019
    Anonymous Australia

Highly Rated Hotels in Japan by English-speaking Reviewers

  • Onyado Nono Nara Natural Hot Spring

    Nara, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      Modern Japanese-style hotel. Very clean and a great location. Free late night ramen!

    Reviewed: September 21, 2017 Stayed in September 2017
    Chris Canada
  • Home Hostel Osaka

    Osaka, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      super comfortable to stay there, clean, convenient, and staff are super nice. Will stay there again

    Reviewed: April 28, 2018 Stayed in April 2018
    XIUMEI China
  • SHARE HOTELS HakoBA Hakodate

    Hakodate, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      Space is bigger compare to other hotels in tokyo/kyoto and i love the bathroom..

    • Negative section of review

      No elevator in the old building where they have private twin/double rooms with private bathrooms (different building with the dorms with bunk beds and shared bathroom).

    Reviewed: May 10, 2018 Stayed in May 2018
    Devi Indonesia
  • Hostel Fish in a River

    Takayama, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Beautiful cozy little family hotel. Only three rooms and the friendliest owners. You feel like part of the family

    • Negative section of review

      None at all

    Reviewed: June 15, 2017 Stayed in June 2017
    Ondrej Czech Republic
  • Kyoto Morris Hostel

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      We're do we start. The hospitality is amazing , the staff kept our luggage since we arrived early. It's An new hostel , they thought of it all. Let's start location , it's in the middle of a quiet neighborhood. Easy access to the palace and the main busy streets. You don't need to take the train only for a few attractions , the best way in kyoto is by bus. You can get an all day pass in the bus for 500 yen and do as you please. Download google map and it will give u bus stopes and all. When you arrive in kyoto station , go to the bus area go to A2 and take 205 bus it will drop you off in kawaramachi marutamachi stop , find the circle K and make a right and the hostel is 50 meters. Let's continue the bottom floor is amazing we're they have a full kitchen , refrigerator. BF was great and the time is even better 7 to 11 am, for those that want to get up late. They have an amazing lounge so modern and cozy. They have a smoking area super nice. Ohh BF is 500 yen PP. The bathroom was one of my favorite areas , they have shower rooms for ladies and men and in the shower rooms they have all the best Japanese blow dryers even the dyson supersonic. Everything is so clean , washers and dryers are free free. The rooms were comfy we got a big comfy bed good enough for 2 adults and a 2 year old. Tip, we put our duffle bags under the bed for better space. Over all I wanted to stay longer , it felt like home they loved my baby and it was amazing. I loved this hostel

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing much to dislike , only a few suggestions. I Wish they had 2 bike chairs for children , because this will allow if 2 children stay 2 families can enjoy it. Second I know it's a hostel, but I wish they made at least 3 rooms for rent with bathrooms for families. But no big deal.

    Reviewed: July 23, 2017 Stayed in July 2017
    Duwhatulove China
  • J-Hoppers Kumano Yunomine Guesthouse

    Hongu, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      Very clean. Good common spaces with well equipped kitchen. Quiet in the evening and at night. An onsen on site (as well as one in the town). Beds have curtains and give good amount of privacy.

    Reviewed: April 9, 2018 Stayed in April 2018
    Tom United Kingdom
  • Capsule Hotel Hakodate

    Hakodate, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      The staff were super friendly and kind, and the bed was amazingly comfortable.

    Reviewed: May 11, 2018 Stayed in April 2018
    Lilith United States of America
  • The Millennials Kyoto

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      Cool staff, easy to extend your stay on the day. Comfortable, big for capsules cabin.

    • Negative section of review

      The iPod battery doesn't stand a full day.

    Reviewed: June 2, 2018 Stayed in May 2018
    Jerome Belgium
  • 22 PIECES

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      This place is really amazing and not your usual hotel room. The items they used are first class. The hair dryer, the soap, the appliances (yes, you can cook in the room), mattress, air-conditioners, etc. There are 22 others high end electronics or appliances that you can borrow for free. The staff are super friendly. Specially James and Theresa who made our stay even more pleasant. In addition, we can have 4 in one room.

    • Negative section of review

      Although it is near the Kyoto station, I would still prefer it to be even closer.

    Reviewed: May 21, 2018 Stayed in May 2018
    Pang Canada
  • Hana-Touro Hotel Gion

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      Everything, the room , the stuff the location all is great

    Reviewed: October 5, 2017 Stayed in October 2017
    Ilan Israel
  • Guesthouse Murabito

    Yamanakako, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      2 minute walk from bus stop, cheap bike rentals and you can bike anywhere in short distance. Near lots of restaurants. Marino and Keisuke are more than very helpful in making sure you’re comfortable and know where you are going, they make you feel at home.

    Reviewed: April 3, 2018 Stayed in April 2018
    kaelyn Canada
  • Hana Hostel Fujisan

    Fujiyoshida, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      Very close to the station. Clean and all facilities included. Loved the stay.

    Reviewed: August 22, 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    Anonymous Japan
  • Hotel Monterey Himeji

    Himeji, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      The property’s location is ideal. It is near shopping, historical sites, and the train station.

    • Negative section of review

      The staff was not as warm at this property than other hotel experiences in Japan. Some were pleasant, while others seemed to “cold shoulder” my family and I.

    Reviewed: July 12, 2018 Stayed in July 2018
    Anonymous United States of America

Highly Rated Hotels in Japan by All Reviewers

  • Kyonoyado Senkaku Bettei

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      The location seemed inconvenient at first because it’s far from Kyoto station, and a taxi driver (almost 100% of taxi drivers in Kyoto fully understand locations of ryokans and hotels including business hotels) didn’t know Senkaku-bettei. But actually, the location is perfect if you are planning to go to Kiyomizu temple or Ninen-saka (these are really close to Senkaku-bettei), Gion, and so on by walk. All facilities are clean and new, and the furniture is beautiful classical Japanese design so you can enjoy this comfortable modernized traditional Japanese style. My favorite is the lanai on the second floor (master bed room). The owners, Mr. & Mrs. Yamano, prepare some free bread for breakfast so I highly recommend you to have breakfast on the lanai. The owners are very kind and nice, of course!! In short, I couldn’t find any unsatisfactory points during our stay at Senkaku-bettei.

    Reviewed: April 2, 2018 Stayed in March 2018
    Lily Japan
  • Residencial Las Flores 1F

    Nago, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Clean comfortable and friendly staff.

    • Negative section of review

      Location. Can't see the sea.

    Reviewed: April 3, 2018 Stayed in March 2018
    Patrick Singapore
  • Mokkoan

    Tokyo, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      I really enjoy the Japanese Style.The host are so kind and speak good English .They have a large garden with different kinds of trees and flowers.They told us many traditional Japanese lifestyle.

    • Negative section of review

      I like all the things

    Reviewed: April 17, 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    Ritty China
  • Kyoto Machiya Cottage Karigane

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.9
    • Positive section of review

      Loved the traditional feel and charm of the Machiya. Rika and Shimo went out of their way to ensure our stay was comfortable and pleasant:) They also helped plan a surprise for my parents anniversary:)The traditional breakfast was delicious. The pillows and futon were very comfortable (two of our family members had back issues and loved the futons).The bathtub was our favorite feature along with the fully functional toilet:) The tub can easily fit 6ft person in it. And the ceiling is high enough to accommodate a 6ft person, two low areas with a beam (will need to bend down in two places if your 6ft) but perfect fit everywhere else:) The bikes they provide were comfortable and easy to use to get around the area. We drove there, parking is around the corner for 600yen a day:) All in all, it was a perfect peaceful experience four an adult family of four:)

    Reviewed: September 14, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Allison United States of America
  • Gallery Nozawa Inn

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Food, room, bath. Our hosts went extra mile to make our stay and sightseeing comfortable. Short walk to many bus stops and the railway museum. Very quiet neighborhood. Gallery has only two rooms so it is really like being a guest in a Japanese home. You can even do your laundry.

    Reviewed: September 17, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    RYSZARD United States of America
  • Hakuba Cottage Gram

    Hakuba, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      you will find everything you want in this place. good view very nice people, the owners are very kind , we'll definitely come back here again!

    Reviewed: February 22, 2017 Stayed in February 2017
    Pukis Thailand
  • Kyonoyado Gekkoan

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      Thank you Shin & Ken, our stay in Kyonoyado Gekkoan was perfect. The traditional Japanese house is beautiful and impeccably clean. Highly recommend staying here.

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing

    Reviewed: April 12, 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    Yoojin South Korea
  • sumica apartments

    Nikko, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      Location and facility

    • Negative section of review

      Noise in bedroom of moving cars outside on the road did not let us sleep well

    Reviewed: October 23, 2017 Stayed in October 2017
    Anonymous India
  • Hana Hostel Fujisan

    Fujiyoshida, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      Very close to the station. Clean and all facilities included. Loved the stay.

    Reviewed: August 22, 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    Anonymous Japan