Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Japan Hotel Reviews by Real Guests

Recent Reviews for Hotels in Japan

  • Auberge Amanohashidate

    Miyazu, Japan

    Average Review Score: 7.1
    • Positive section of review

      Very close to the station & main attractions. You can go for Onsen & Breakfast in morning in the big hotel right next to it.

    • Negative section of review

      Toilets are not cleaned properly.

    Reviewed: September 19, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Shiv Japan
  • Hotel Asafuji

    Fujikawaguchiko, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.3
    • Positive section of review

      Staff are very helpful and polite! Details in orientation of hotel facilities! Great Japanese dinner and breakfast!

    Reviewed: September 20, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    LITING Australia
  • Hotel Emit Ueno

    Tokyo, Japan

    Average Review Score: 8.5
    • Positive section of review

      room is very clean. It's good that toilet were saparate.

    • Negative section of review

      There aren't Ofuro, can shower only.

    Reviewed: September 19, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    ryokouhito Thailand
  • APA Hotel Kanazawa Ekimae

    Kanazawa, Japan

    Average Review Score: 7.3
    • Positive section of review

      The hotel's just outside the station, so convenient for travelling to/from Kanazawa and for getting around town by bus. Lots of places to eat in the area and a convenience store downstairs.

    Reviewed: September 19, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Michael Japan
  • Osaka Guesthouse Sakura

    Osaka, Japan

    Average Review Score: 8.3
    • Positive section of review

      The personal place even it is a shared dormitory. The cleanliness and comfortness.

    • Negative section of review

      The shower room which is at the basement meanwhile the dormitory is at the 2nd floor and above. And, the environment are quite and it scares me to walk alone there during the night time.

    Reviewed: September 20, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Acetrella Malaysia
  • Class Inn Nago

    Nago, Japan

    Average Review Score: 8.9
    • Positive section of review

      Location was OK a bit of a walk into the busier areas of town. Parking on site was excellent. Room facilities were excellent except for the bed size. They inexplicably have the "semi double" size beds which are cramped for two and oversized for one. Booked for 2 persons and this was their offering. Plenty of area in room for a real double bed but the penny pincher sin head office must have had their way! Pity, it could have been the best hotel we stayed at otherwise. A twin room would be the way to go at this place.

    • Negative section of review

      The bed size.

    Reviewed: September 20, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Sean Australia
  • Red Planet Nishiki Nagoya

    Nagoya, Japan

    Average Review Score: 8.7
    • Positive section of review

      This is a really nice place to stay. The decor is fun and facilities really good. I'd stay again. Also really great value.

    Reviewed: September 20, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Michael Japan
  • Hostel Ann

    Nagoya, Japan

    Average Review Score: 8
    • Positive section of review

      Really nice host speaking a good English, near Osu by walking which is my heart stroke in Nagoya

    • Negative section of review

      The pillow

    Reviewed: September 19, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Anonymous France
  • Dormy Inn Premium Shibuya-jingumae

    Tokyo, Japan

    Average Review Score: 8.4
    • Positive section of review

      Good location. Clean and comfortable. Staff really helpful and spoke excellent English.

    Reviewed: September 19, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Anonymous Australia
  • Centurion Cabin & Spa Kyoto

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average Review Score: 8.5
    • Positive section of review

      Location, there was lots of shopping and restaurants around it.

    • Negative section of review

      Bed was uncomfortable, A/C was terrible and the only lounge was on the first floor.

    Reviewed: September 20, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Anonymous Japan

Highly Rated Hotels in Japan by English-speaking Reviewers

  • Mugen

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      From the moment we stepped in Tome & Katzus we felt like we were coming to a home away from home and a real sanctuary. We were looked after exceptionally well and Tome's enthusiasm is hard to beat. We loved everything about our stay from the beautiful surroundings, lovely ceramics, and the food; but especially our hosts. As an architect I loved our downstairs room with its contemporary take on a traditional Japanese Ryokan. Tome organised us bikes and gave us great tips on where to eat and suggestions of what to do. She also went beyond the call of duty helping us organise future accommodation (incl checking we'd got there) and l organised a lost item to be returned to me from another part of Japan. We can't wait to go back and hope that one day Tome & Katzu will come to visit us in NZ.

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing to dislike

    Reviewed: September 23, 2016 Stayed in September 2016
    David New Zealand
  • Oak Hostel Nara

    Nara, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      The location is very convenient, the staff are very friendly, helpful and accomodating. And I left my baggage free if charge plus unlimited coffee or tea.

    Reviewed: October 24, 2017 Stayed in October 2017
    Rhea Thailand
  • Kyoto Morris Hostel

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      We're do we start. The hospitality is amazing , the staff kept our luggage since we arrived early. It's An new hostel , they thought of it all. Let's start location , it's in the middle of a quiet neighborhood. Easy access to the palace and the main busy streets. You don't need to take the train only for a few attractions , the best way in kyoto is by bus. You can get an all day pass in the bus for 500 yen and do as you please. Download google map and it will give u bus stopes and all. When you arrive in kyoto station , go to the bus area go to A2 and take 205 bus it will drop you off in kawaramachi marutamachi stop , find the circle K and make a right and the hostel is 50 meters. Let's continue the bottom floor is amazing we're they have a full kitchen , refrigerator. BF was great and the time is even better 7 to 11 am, for those that want to get up late. They have an amazing lounge so modern and cozy. They have a smoking area super nice. Ohh BF is 500 yen PP. The bathroom was one of my favorite areas , they have shower rooms for ladies and men and in the shower rooms they have all the best Japanese blow dryers even the dyson supersonic. Everything is so clean , washers and dryers are free free. The rooms were comfy we got a big comfy bed good enough for 2 adults and a 2 year old. Tip, we put our duffle bags under the bed for better space. Over all I wanted to stay longer , it felt like home they loved my baby and it was amazing. I loved this hostel

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing much to dislike , only a few suggestions. I Wish they had 2 bike chairs for children , because this will allow if 2 children stay 2 families can enjoy it. Second I know it's a hostel, but I wish they made at least 3 rooms for rent with bathrooms for families. But no big deal.

    Reviewed: July 23, 2017 Stayed in July 2017
    Duwhatulove China
  • WeBase Hostel Kamakura

    Kamakura, Japan

    Average Review Score: 8.9
    • Positive section of review

      Very clean and beautiful decoration hostel. The location is also good. Just few minutes from the train station and beach. The staff are very good.

    Reviewed: October 23, 2017 Stayed in October 2017
    Phanthip Thailand
  • SHARE HOTELS HakoBA Hakodate

    Hakodate, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      I've backpacked across Europe, S America, Japan and China and this is the best hostel I've ever stayed in. Perhaps because it's really a lovely hotel with a shared room. Lovely staff, amazing bathroom and toilets, great room with lots of air con to keep you cool in the capsules. Amazing location right by the warehouse district. And a cool vibe overall. Book here. You will love it.

    • Negative section of review

      The only negative was I had to wait for 10 minutes in the check in queue as others were checking in too and only two staff. My only complaint and shows how good it is.

    Reviewed: August 21, 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    Mohsen United Kingdom
  • Hiromas Hostel in Kanda

    Tokyo, Japan

    Average Review Score: 8.5
    • Positive section of review

      It was very modernized. The bed was comfortable. And I liked the level of safety in facilities in the rooms

    Reviewed: May 1, 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    Melissa Japan

Highly Rated Hotels in Japan by All Reviewers

  • Mugen

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      From the moment we stepped in Tome & Katzus we felt like we were coming to a home away from home and a real sanctuary. We were looked after exceptionally well and Tome's enthusiasm is hard to beat. We loved everything about our stay from the beautiful surroundings, lovely ceramics, and the food; but especially our hosts. As an architect I loved our downstairs room with its contemporary take on a traditional Japanese Ryokan. Tome organised us bikes and gave us great tips on where to eat and suggestions of what to do. She also went beyond the call of duty helping us organise future accommodation (incl checking we'd got there) and l organised a lost item to be returned to me from another part of Japan. We can't wait to go back and hope that one day Tome & Katzu will come to visit us in NZ.

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing to dislike

    Reviewed: September 23, 2016 Stayed in September 2016
    David New Zealand
  • Sakura Suite

    Kyoto, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Because there are only three rooms it feels really intimate The owner could not be more attentive- even walking us to the right bus stop each morning to make sure we found it! It's really right in the middle of where you would want to stay in Kyoto. Nespresso machines in the room so start your day with a delicious coffee. Umbrellas available to take if it's raining (we needed them!) Great little breakfast made just for you (at whatever time you'd like). Owner reachable by WhatsApp at any time.

    • Negative section of review

      Really can't think of anything!

    Reviewed: September 7, 2017 Stayed in September 2017
    Krysty Canada
  • Kawaguchiko Cottage Minami

    Fujikawaguchiko, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      The room is very large, living room on the first floor and bedroom on the second. Great view of Mt Fuji through bedroom window. Host is very nice and can speak English well. Lots of bicycles for rent which are in good conditions. Very close to the lake. Food delivery available. 10 mins walk to Lawson. 5 mins walk to bus stop.

    • Negative section of review

      coffee made from machine smells weird, that's it

    Reviewed: June 20, 2017 Stayed in May 2017
    BarneyLi China
  • Mokkoan

    Tokyo, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      I really enjoy the Japanese Style.The host are so kind and speak good English .They have a large garden with different kinds of trees and flowers.They told us many traditional Japanese lifestyle.

    • Negative section of review

      I like all the things

    Reviewed: April 17, 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    Ritty China
  • Hostel Kaniwa

    Miyajima, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Location is superior, just behind the pier, staff are extremely helpful and friendly, room is very clean and new.

    • Negative section of review

      Maybe the toilet is a bit small

    Reviewed: November 5, 2016 Stayed in November 2016
    Cheng Singapore
  • Hakuba Cottage Gram

    Hakuba, Japan

    Average Review Score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      you will find everything you want in this place. good view very nice people, the owners are very kind , we'll definitely come back here again!

    Reviewed: February 22, 2017 Stayed in February 2017
    Pukis Thailand