Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Germany hotel reviews
  3. Berlin Federal State hotel reviews
  4. Berlin hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg

Reviews of Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Storkower Str. 160, 10407 Berlin, Germany

#558 of 596 hotels in Berlin

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 7501 hostel reviews

6.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    6.6

  • Comfort

    6.2

  • Location

    7.4

  • Facilities

    6.4

  • Staff

    7.4

  • Value for money

    7.3

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    3.3
    Won't go there again, and will tell others not to go
    • Group
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathrooms were catastrophically a disaster. Not only the floor that I was in, but all the floors that i checked ( 6, 5, 4, 3). You can call the bathrooms SMOKING ROOMS!!! Breakfast could be better, strangers sleeping in the living room, where you are supposed to eat and talk with others in comfort. Actually didn't even feel safe with people shouting in the corridors and the GUY playing guitar in the stairways!! No enough hanging places in the rooms (only 3 for 8 people). Again, the bathrooms were DISASTER!!!

    Descent internet coverage. ATM in the building

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 18, 2018

    7.1
    Great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beds were squeaky facilities weren’t the cleanest. There aren’t enough staff. The staff were lovely but they were always swamped and waits at reception for easiest things were very long. Other guests smoked (weed) in the bathrooms and weren’t the best.

    Great location. I wouldn’t go for a shared bathroom they weren’t the best. But it is cheap and I guess that’s what you get.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    7.5
    When I told about the problem by reception, they called...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Man's bathroom was extremely dirty and there were problems with toilets.

    When I told about the problem by reception, they called stuff immediately.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    5.0
    Staff friendly & helpful, didn't have to pay extra...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom was not clean when arrived. To do a load of washing took all day as dryer not efficient. Floors not clean. Very noisy people coming & going all hours.

    Staff friendly & helpful, didn't have to pay extra for extra drying time. Sheets & beds clean. Decent location.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    7.1
    - The room was very clean, also the linens and bathroom with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - The walls are so thin - The private bathroom is very small and there was no picture of the shower - The housekeeping refused to change our towels, we had to get one from them and one from the reception!!!

    - The room was very clean, also the linens and bathroom with shower gel - Super close to the tram and S bahn - The staff is welcoming and helpful

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 16, 2018

    3.3
    It was near the U ban and S ban and was easy to go to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no hair dryer. Bed sheets looked like dirty. The pillow was awful. The breakfast cost 4 euros after check in but they made us pay 6 euros. The breakfast was awful!! Dishes looked dirty. There was no tasty food. We booked 4 bed room but they took us to different room.

    It was near the U ban and S ban and was easy to go to the city center. They let us check in before we were supposed to check in, that was a nice. Staff was helpful.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2018

    8.8
    Very good value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleaners came in 3 times even though we paid for late checkout

    Great value for money, very comfortable beds, very good value bar. Really nice communal spaces. Very close to the tram. Supermarket next door.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    6.3
    Next to the Hotel there is parking, Wifi signal is good, in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    In the room found some hair from previous people, a bit noisy because walls are thin

    Next to the Hotel there is parking, Wifi signal is good, in the room was everything what is needed, in general for one-two days is a good option to stay

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    7.9
    To sum up I recommend. it's good place for budget travelers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 7 nights

    In the room was just bed, so we didn't had possibility to hang or put our clothing anywhere, and was a little bit cold.

    Bed were fine, room was clean too. Great location. comfy common space.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    5.4
    To high price for low standards
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's a very big and noisy hostel, we had a room with shared bathroom and it wasn't a good idea when travelling with a 6 year old child. The twin room on 4th floor needs a proper cleaning, even the walls and the small sink corner should be washed from the stains and dust that cover it. There was to little stuff downstairs so there always a queue to check in - for us it took more than 10 minutes. At the bar there are no hot drinks, coffee and tea are only from the machine at the reception.

    The location is good, at the corner there is a tram to the centre, every 10 min you can ride to the Alexander square. 100 m from the hostel there is a Burger King - good option for breakfast. If you have a car than you don't need a stamp fr the green zone - the hostel is just outside the zone. On the opposite side of the road there is a free parking and on the weekends there was always a free space on it.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2018

    7.1
    Location and bathroom
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Mixed rooms: these two days that I stayed there were the most awful during my whole vacation, before accepting people to live in the hostel you need to consider who they are!

    Location and bathroom

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    2.9
    assistance inexistenze many of the services on the page were not there,
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    assistance inexistenze many of the services on the page were not there, including the hair dryer that in 5 days I was not given, with -3 degrees outside I ended up getting sick for wet hair. Absolutely discouraged, at the same price you can find better

    good position

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    8.3
    Good location near Velodrom and Swimmenhalle.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Drainpipes in the shower do not work well. Hairdryer on my floor didn’t work but it was possible to use one on another floor.

    Good location near Velodrom and Swimmenhalle. S-ban station and Tram-station are very closely to hostel. Good service and everyday cleaning. There’s space with tables and benches on the ground floor where one can eat/spend time with friends.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    5.4
    Cheap prices, nice shared area and bar.
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We rented twin room, there was only bunk bed and sink. No table, hangers, bed lights. Walls are very thin and hostel look like need some repairments. Sink has separate taps for cold and hot water, which is impossible to use.

    Cheap prices, nice shared area and bar.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 2, 2018

    5.8
    enough conditions just for two nights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Dirty floor in room - dust. Closed wardrobe. I had to exchange my card because it did not work correctly in the beginning.

    Quite big variety of ingredients at breakfast. Tasty.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 30, 2018

    4.2
    Cold welcoming at the reception, the bathrooms and toilets...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Cold welcoming at the reception, the bathrooms and toilets are terribly in need for cleanliness. The access card for the rooms doesn't work correctly as you must try 10 times before the room opens up

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 28, 2018

    6.7
    Super cheap and right beside metro station
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Place was super dirty. Bathrooms smelt and looked terrible. Room smelt like fish. Outlets aren't by all the beds, so you need to charge your things across the room (makes setting alarms horrible).

    Super cheap and right beside metro station

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 27, 2018

    5.8
    Clean and friendly staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Private rooms look like a prison and are not comfy at all. The private bathroom looks like a caravan shower. I know its cheap but for a little bit more money you have a nice hotel.

    Clean and friendly staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    4.2
    Not good
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was way too small. It was not useful for a proper shower. They didn’t have sufficient hairdryers which is really a problem for me. The heater was not working well the first night. And they tried to fix it and came to check it, saying it’s working not. But it was not working at all!!

    The bed is comfortable. Near the station.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    6.7
    Quiet rooms and good value for money.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Problems at check in. Even though I notified in advance that there may be an error with our card they assured my partner over the phone that everything was fine until my partner arrived before me and was denied entry. so while i was rushing through connecting airports we had to find another card to pay. All that could be been solved if someone actually replied to my email. No one really wanted to help in at the front desk.

    Quiet rooms and good value for money. Easy access to town.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.6
    Room served the purpose, clean & comfy with our own...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bar area was shut (with reception staff having no knowledge of this) on Saturday night (Nov 24th) it was our last night with a 4am alarm before heading home & didn’t have a chance to relax with some drinks/food before hitting the sack.

    Room served the purpose, clean & comfy with our own toilet & shower. Excellent bar area, with friendly and helpful staff throughout. The ‘dirty burger’ was world class.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    7.1
    A little bit disappointed
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 6-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Too few plugs available in my opinion. My main critique,actually, was the cleanliness, especially of the bathroom. I believe mine was an exception as in my room there were people living there for months, but still not a great first impression. In addition I found the blanket with some hairs and not tide, that led me to think it haven't been changed. Though I find it strange cause I've seen the cleaners change the others' beds.

    Very large room and lot of services offered. Position not really close to the centre but easily accessible whether by tram or train. Very good the staff, they solved fastly any problem that happened and they made me feel welcomed.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2018

    4.6
    Rooms were dirty and had been smoked in (there was still a...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms were dirty and had been smoked in (there was still a shower cap over the smoke alarm when we got to the room). Was cheap to stay, but expected a little better

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    5.8
    ok i guess
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sheets and bathroom were dirty, toilet didn't have a lid. Bathroom was really small. It said on here that towels and soap and stuff is included. It was not, you had to buy everything.

    Staff was nice, location was good, because it was close to the public transport station

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    6.7
    The rooms were clean, good location of hostel, nice...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was no kitchen to use unfortunately. So we had to buy tea coffee food from dinning room.

    The rooms were clean, good location of hostel, nice atmosphere, stuff was friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    8.3
    Best place when you plan on being out the whole day
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    As said, the check-in after 14:00 kinda bummer but well, nothing that would ruin our day. Heating in our room was kinda tricky. It was on full but only half was actually hot. On the other hand, temperature was okay for me but low for my friend. However I am sure if talking to staff they would have done something about it so not really problem. We had room with private bathroom which was kinda small and there was no soap but still comfort was in hand with the price.

    Most of the personal was really nice. First meeting was around 13:30 and we were unpleasantly told to wait till 14:00 which after 5 hrs drive with pregnant friend was kinda bummer. However next day we got to borrow hairdryer from staff, got free tea and also few nice smiles :) Even this is hostel, I have to say it was pretty quiet. Good location, 2-3 minutes to tram connecting you to city center ... just perfect.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    4.6
    Stay only in emergency.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Very very thin walls; I didn't see any shelves anywhere where I can put my things (in bathroom or in rooms), in room there is only one small metal locker, so I had to put my things on the floor; lousy beds.

    Cheap price

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    2.5
    no cleaniness, toilets were worst. water taps are worstly designed you cannot have mix of cold and h
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    no cleaniness, toilets were worst. water taps are worstly designed you cannot have mix of cold and hot water. worst hostel I have seen in my life

    nothing

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 21, 2018

    6.3
    Easy access and good public transportation options.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Breakfast provided could have been cheaper. Extremely small room's bathroom - exactly like on a boat's cabin.

    Easy access and good public transportation options. Typical youth hostel. Spacious rooms.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    3.3
    The staff in the reception very friendly!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was not clean, some of us even didnt have bed sheets and why there is a separate tap for hot water and cold one, what if I want a warm water. It is impossible to use such sink. Not recommended!

    The staff in the reception very friendly!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    8.3
    good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    a lot of noise in the hallway all night long, but this is not the property’s fault, it’s because of rude tourists

    good location. good value for money. friendly staff.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    10
    Everything is good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom is too small, but I can stand it.

    Everything is good. Very close to the tram. Not far away from all the attractions. The place is quiet as well.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2018

    8.8
    Great view from the 7th floor, helpful staff members and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was quite small, but we didn't spend much time there anyway. The soap dispenser was empty

    Great view from the 7th floor, helpful staff members and funny postcards for free near the entrance. Located right next to the S-bahn station 'Landsberger Alle'

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    5.0
    HOPEFULLY THEY WILL FIX HIS CLEAN UP CHECKING PROCESS SOON
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I spent two nights there, during the first one, one guy entered to the room unexpectedly claiming that it was his assigned room and saying that I should go to the reception desk in order to solve such issue. Notwithstanding, he realized that his stuffs were removed from the room and he went to the reception for solving the drawback. The day after I went to ask about it and they changed my room since according to the clerk, I spent the first night at the wrong one. The worse came when I entered to the new assigned room, it was not clean at all. I went to my meeting and when I came back to the hostel (evening time), the room was still dirty as the last guest left it. IT WAS REALLY DISAPPOINTED!

    :(

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2018

    6.3
    Ok but could've been better
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had an argument with the staff at reception and this wadis the first time had such an experience.

    Overall it was not as bad my rating would suggest but I think the staff should've been more professional at the hostel. Rest all went well.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    6.7
    Had a bar and a restaurant.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillow had blood stains. Showers were only protected by a curtain and I felt unsafe. No towels provided. No shampoo. The hair dryer did not work and would become really hot and red inside. What ruined my experience was not the staff but actually the room mates. One snored so loud nobody of us in the room had a decent sleep, another would sleep naked.

    Had a bar and a restaurant.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    9.2
    I really enjoyed my stay at this hostel. If I come back to Berlin I'll choose this hostel again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The staff was very kind, helpful and friedly. The location was perfect, very close to the tram station. It was easy and fast to get to the center by tram. The quality of the hostel was higher than the price.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 15, 2018

    2.9
    Don’t waste your money on this
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Showers and toilette boxes were excessively small and I’m not even above average height and size. Bathroom was not clean either. The bed was damp and the room was crowded with crazy people. Since I had to be at the airport at 4am and I couldn’t stand being in that room anymore I left for check out at 12am just to find the guy from the 24/7 front desk to ask rudely “what, now? At this time?” while looking down at his phone. Totally NOT WORTH IT even for the price and I’d never recommend it even to an enemy. Berlin is full of hostels at affordable prices at more central locations and with better infra structure. Don’t stay here

    The hostel is just around the corner for both the S-bahn and the Tram só it’s easy to get out of that place

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    5.8
    1. Clean showers/toilets
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1. We booked two beds in a 4-bed bedroom, but when we checked in the guy said that we can't live together cause they don't have a room like that for us. He proposed to move us to a 6bed bedroom and we agreed. 2. At 12 pm i was woken up by the staff, it appeared that we were placed in a room that 3 girls booked and payed for only for themselves. So we had to move to another room at night. 3. When we left for a walk we left a phone changer and a bottle of water on the window, when we came back it was gone. I found the cleaning lady, she didnt speak english but in a few minutes she gave us the charger back. That was straight up stealing. 4. No working hairdryers

    1. Clean showers/toilets 2. Pretty clean rooms (nice if you don't get robbed) 3. Some people from the staff are nice 4. Close to the subway and supermarket

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 14, 2018

    3.8
    Cold and ugly.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location not ideal, it's close to the train but nothing goes on in the area. Staff not too friendly, very few wall sockets around. In the room again no socket available in the upper bed, no individual reading lights either. You have to make your bed (good luck with the upper bed in the dark). Toilets and showers were very dirty.

    Basically nothing. It's cheap but you can find much better hostels for the same price.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    2.9
    No heating in 6 days!!!! Check it before booking!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heating was not working the first night and after 3 days complaining they told us that the radiators are not working in almost half of the building. 6 nights in Berlin at 8*C with no heating. We asked for a room change but they said there were no more doubles rooms with the heating on in the whole building. If you cannot offer a proper service you shouldn't rent the rooms. An extra duvet was not enough! Ridiculous! In addition to that, Really unfriendly people at the reception desk, you can hardly get a word from then. We will never come back, the worst Generator EVER!!!!!

    Location-wise.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    8.8
    The stay was excellent by hostel standards.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was really small, but we expected that because of the price.

    The place was very clean and the staff was friendly. They also gave us bonus towels.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 13, 2018

    3.8
    Cheap place to sleep in Berlin.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Bed in 6-Bed Mixed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I booked this hotel as I was impressed by Generator Amsterdam - that one is nothing like that. Huge disappointment. Huge, noisy, understaffed, grim place.

    Next to S.Bahn - all I can think of.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    4.2
    Location only.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 6-Bed Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    When We arrived, the counter person charged me 15€ extras without explanation neither a receipt. The counter staff were nasty and didn’t know anything. Any question we asked, they weren’t able to provide information.

    Location only.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    7.1
    Basic hostel that does what it says on the tin
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6-Bed Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    The facilities were very dated, bathroom was very small and we got a staff member coming to knock on our door about a noise complaint when we were all just talking at 10pm. It's a hostel people should expect there to be noise!

    You pay for what you get at this hostel. There was no toilet roll in the bathroom when we arrived and the elevator to get upstairs was very slow and rickety. Good place to stay if you're heading out in Berlin as you go in and out as you please at any time of night or day and just need a simple place to sleep.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    6.7
    good location, really close to S-bahn, grocery shop just...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    there was nothing besides beds and a sink (in a room for 4 people) - no chair, no table. no wall plugs or lamp by the bed

    good location, really close to S-bahn, grocery shop just around the corner. the wifi was super fast!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 11, 2018

    8.8
    At all, it was good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleaning maintanence came to the room without a knock when we still had our legal time to stay. It was unreapectful and inappropriate

    The reception guy was really friendly

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    5.0
    cheap, but do not go there for comfort
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    rooms were not cleaned upon arrival. the lockers seemed unsafe, because we opened another persons' locker by accident while the case was still in there (the mechanic had to fix it?). the smoke detector batteries ran dry and we needed to fix this ourselves initially. Somewhat loud people / environment at the bar downstairs. Snoring neighbor

    cheap and the location was OK

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2018

    4.6
    Beds are comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Location is terrible, far from the city, between office buildings. Reception is pathetically inadequate, with queues to check-in and out exceeding an hour! Terrible lack of cleaning, at one point the entire row of toilets was overflowing with poo It's a massive hostel, occupied mostly by school groups, families, and old people. Zero atmosphere Also, no kitchen and zero cooking facilities

    Beds are comfortable

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    5.0
    Generators are NOT all the same
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Surly staff, really poor food (definitely NOT “the best in Berlin” as they claim!). Stained bedding

    Location is excellent next to the station. We stayed at Gen in Dublin - a far superior experience!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    4.2
    Heater didn't work, shower was bad.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 6-Bed Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The bathroom was crammed and very small, the heating in our room was broken and they promised to move us to another room but never did, we got a small heater but it was still quite uncomfortable, they could only provide us with some blankets. Location was not the best, it's in Prenzlauer Berg but not the most accessible area.

    The hostel had a big bar at the lobby and a good coffee machine.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    5.4
    Instruction shows free parking but not available actually.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 6-Bed Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Instruction shows free parking but not available actually. The light facility was out of order. The staff changed the room on next day because I requested again. They didn't do that in their side.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    6.3
    Ok room, lack of comfort due to noise level.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The walls were not sound proof at all, kept awake all night by other guests especially big groups extremely loud in the corridor and despite being on the 6th floor we could still hear them outside. Restaurant wasn’t open at 5 like it said it would be so we weren’t able to have a hot meal on our first night.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.5
    It was ok for that price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It would be great if there were a little table to put the things on.. bathroom was too small.

    It was the cheapest one that we could find with good location (it’s not the city center but it’s just next to S bahn and tram) there’s big supermarket, DM and cafe..

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    5.0
    Meh
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was fine by hostel standards, but for the price tag, it was not a great experience. Huge hordes of highschool tour groups, no atmosphere whatsoever.

    Location was decent, easy check in

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    4.2
    I guess it was better than sleeping outside in the cold!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    It was super noisy, rooms smelled really bad and seemed like not taken care of at all! Rooms where the best becaused the restrooms, well these were like taken out of a scene of the walking dead! They were smelly, filthy, absurdly unwell maintained and honestly after seeing metal sinks this had a vibe like being in prison, or the closest to it that I can ever imagine.... Honestly If I had to do it again, I would rather pay double and make sure to stay away from a place that It simply lets go like that for the fact that they are affordable. I am not kidding when saying that it was horribly filthy... there were urine puddles in the bathroom aisle, super smelly, toilet papers trash everywhere, and if talking about toilets... well for the sake of being decent lets just say that I walked 7 floors of this hostel until I found a decently usable one... and that is just because I couldn't get away with not going during my whole stay... believe me I tried!

    It was inexpensive a very well located coming from the airport right next to the metro stop. Also when going to Berlin Downtown its a breeze taking the metro and being there in a short time!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    7.5
    Awesome service!
    • Group
    • Quadruple Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Separate taps with cold and hot water, no handshower in the shower. About the room - it's ok, but it would be nice to have at least a hook to hang a coat, not only a sink and a bed.

    Awesome service! Free WiFi in the whole building. It was really clean.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    6.7
    You can stay here if no other choice
    • Group
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Heating did not work. Boiling water machine did not work, when we arrived (near midnight). No kitchen facilities for guests. No individual lighting near bunk beds. No chair. No table. Check out at 10 A. M. You have pay if want to leave baggage for a while.

    Hostel is huge and clean

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    6.7
    We booked family room with bathroom but we got a room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked family room with bathroom but we got a room without bathroom. If we didn’t start to argue, we would get no reparation. You should organize it better.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    8.8
    Recommend! Great value, great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It wasn’t a problem for me but the private bathroom in the room was very compact so if you haven’t stayed in a hostel before and expect a spacious bathroom this isn’t for you. It could be a little noisy in the corridors particularly when people are coming back at night but I did sort of expect that given a lot of young people staying there. There was a woman who I think was in charge of a group that wakened some people staying in the rooms next to me each morning and I could hear every word she was saying but that was nothing to do with the hostel. Like I said I did expect a little disruption since young people and groups would be staying there, so it comes with the territory. But maybe leaders of groups could be a little more considerate of other guests staying as not everyone is in groups or wants to be wakened in the morning! Perhaps consider having a “quiet” section of rooms for likeminded people or solo travellers like myself? Might not be logistically possible but just a suggestion. I also came back late one night and wanted a bottle of water and I had to wait to pay for it while a small group checked in even though there appeared to be two members of staff there but only one was serving the counter. None of these were major points that would prevent me from booking again.

    Brilliant location. Both S Bahn and Tram stations less that 5 minutes walk away. Shops and Burger King also close by. Alexanderplatz was just a few stops on the tram. The room was basic but I wasn’t looking for anything fancy I had booked a private room with bathroom and I had everything I needed (ie bed and bathroom!) The bed was comfortable to sleep in and there was a power socket next to it which is a plus. The bar was great and had a good selection of quality beers and the staff were friendly. I didn’t eat at the hostel but the food seemed popular and reasonably priced. This was my first experience in a hostel and I have to say I was very pleasantly surprised. I would definitely consider staying here again.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 26, 2018

    8.0
    It’s a nice place, perfect location and I will recommend this place to my friends.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A bed isn’t very comfortable, absolutely stupid washbasin with 2 cranes

    Amazing location, very friendly staff, clean showers, big eating area. For this cost great deal!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    6.3
    Good for one night if nothing else available.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Front desk people very helpful and friendly. Rooms and bath very small. Just add a shower to an airplane bath and there was our bathroom. No place to put things while taking a shower. Towels and soap was given on 1st day, none there after. We stay 3 nights. Poor insulation on Walls. You can hear neihhboors like they were in your room , could hear their toilet flushing. Could here people walking and talking on hallways. If you are light sleep you wont be able to sleep there. The place is huge with lots of backpakers and noisy people. This is a host although private rooms were not cheap. Directions to hotel should be provided it on website, like what train or tram direction to take, what station or stop to get off to get to hotel, from main transport stations. Hotel is near public tranport but Very difficult to reach the 1st time, w/o knowing where what station to get off.

    Very close to public transport metro and tram station. About 15 mns to alexplatz . Room was clean and trash empty every day. There is a big supermarket, restaurants and coffee shops arround the corner.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    5.8
    Excellent price and position. Nights can be agitated. Very basic service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The screams and the running in the corridors during the nights were not needed. The shower is really basic and small. I have not tested the Breakfast or the Restaurant but they were not specially inviting. The choice of restaurant around is very limited and basically it is between Fast Food and overpriced candle dinner.

    Price was good, staff was helpful, Internet worked fine and the metro and tram station next door are super convenient. The room had the essential and the water was hot.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    5.4
    We booked 2 beds in a 4 bed-room, but no one checked in and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Single Bed in 4-Bed Dormitory Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The toilets was tight and very dirty and no hanger in the rooms. The laundry also didn't work.

    We booked 2 beds in a 4 bed-room, but no one checked in and therefore we were alone in a private room. Inside the room also was spotless.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    4.6
    Staff was friendly, check in was fast and check out even...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Well... ok, it's budget hostel, but our room didn't even had a single hook where to hang our jackets. Or a seat, besides the bunk bed, which was only thing in the room. Oh, wait, thrash bin was also there. Yes, and in men's bathroom also, cloth hangers were nowhere to be found. And toilets on the saturday evening was a disaster.

    Staff was friendly, check in was fast and check out even faster. They also helped and printed out my boarding pass for evening's flight. In restaurant, service also was quite nice.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    8.8
    Nice for the price and for few days stay only
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Although the bathroom was shared there wasn't much privacy, especially in the shower area. It was hard to adjust the temperature of the water which caused taking cold showers :( Having no table in the room was also uncomfortable. And it could get pretty loud with open windows when trains arrived in the station.

    The localisation is great. There are markets nearby, places to eat and train station. The room was small but for sleeping only it has fulfilled its purpose. The staff was very nice and elevator is a great bonus!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    5.0
    Good location, no chance of sleeping
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Large school groups unsupervised I’d stayed in the Barcelona Generator which had a clearly divided Hotel/Hostel and naively assumes this Generator would be similar. It wasn’t. I was taking my 16 year old son for a few days to Berlin so thought this would suit us both and our budget so booked us a twin room. The room was tiny but clean and had towels, toiletries and a cracking view across the city. Breakfast was very basic but ok for price. However the hostel management needs to look at how they deal with school groups and noise levels. Each of the three nights we were there saw youngsters running and shouting along corridors and banging on doors. Walls are paper thin so you can hear every word of conversations and the rest!!! from adjoining rooms. I don’t think it’s unreasonable to expect to be able to sleep during the night and this won’t happen here! Avoid

    Right next to a train and tram station Very easy to get to from airport and trams very easy to use to get around the city.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    4.2
    The lounge is good if you have to work.
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I paid 2 euros to leave my luggage at the hostels luggage room, but when I went to pick up my luggage was gone. The so called "manager" shrug his shoulders and said "There's your answer right there" when the cleaning lady said it wasn't on the lost and found room. You guys need to hire people that care about their customer's.

    The lounge is good if you have to work.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    5.0
    Loud, a bit dirty but practical
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Noisy neighbours that took 3 attempts to actually quieten down as staff just repeated “please be quiet” but nothing else. Pillow cushion (not cover) had a hole in the centre when your head is supposed to rest. “Sticky” light switch.

    Good location but whole experience was dampened by not being able to sleep until 3am.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    9.2
    Good value for money!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    If your windows overlook S-Bahn, it may be a little bit noisy but you can always rely on earplug to fix the problem :)

    I'm not sure about those negative comments here :| The place is CLEAN, spacious rooms are in it. There are lots of toilet cabins so no lines in the morning, which is important. Location is great, the building is just overlooking S-Bahn station.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.9
    Great and fair hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great and fair hotel! They charged my credit card at the time of checked in not like Hotel Mardin that they have charged my card a day before I arrived at the hotel, plus they have charged for extra day. Until now, there's no news from either Hotel Mardin or from booking.com despite of the email regarding my refund.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    5.0
    Di not trust the hostel facilities!
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Left my luggage in the luggage room and paid 2 euros for it. Next time when I came to pick it up someone stole it. The staff couldn't care less... Saying "That's your answer right there, the luggage room isn't insured" So WHY ARE THEY CHARGING FOR STORAGE??????? I didn't leave it there for free!!! Staff is appalling!

    The lounge area is good to work.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    7.5
    Facilities were good and the location is near the train...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It was very noisy. Doors constantly slamming, and all neighbours conversation can be heard.

    Facilities were good and the location is near the train station.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    5.8
    Generator can do better
    • Solo traveler
    • Single Bed in Mixed Dormitory Room with Shared Bathroom
    • Stayed 6 nights

    S-L-O-W check-in! The hostel is far too big for ONE receptionist to efficiently handle guests. Everyday there was a long line of travelers being attended to by one employee while a nearby co-worker appeared to be doing nothing more pressing. I was 4th in line and check-in consumed close to half an hour!! Pathetic Cleaning staff are loud and shout at one another. €€€ Overpriced drinks €€€--including Pepsi and water--and, again, s-l-o-w (thankfully there are two supermarkets close by)

    Great WIFI reception stayed strong throughout my stay, and EVERYBODY was always online. Hot showers👍 Location is directly at Landsberger Allee metro stop

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2018

    5.0
    Ok, but not as good as in the past. Need to renovate
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Twin Room with Private Bathroom
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed sheets although cleaned, they had stains. There were also stains on the floor. The bathroom also was clean but extremely small and old. Finally there were many people to check in and there were only two people at the desk, we had to wait 40 minutes(!) To check in.

    The price was the attraction.

    Stayed in October 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Generator Berlin Prenzlauer Berg Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: