Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Symposion Hotel Post 4 stars

Ortsplatz 5, 4801 Traunkirchen, Austria

#6 of 6 hotels in Traunkirchen

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 231 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.4

  • Comfort

    7.6

  • Location

    9

  • Facilities

    7.3

  • Staff

    8.6

  • Value for money

    7

  • Free WiFi

    8.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 31

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    8.8
    A nice place to stay in the heart of Traunkirchen
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wooden deck of our room needed cleaning (power wash). Internet was very poor (at times it was almost non-existent in our room).

    Good breakfast. The historical aspect of the hotel. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2017

    9.6
    2nd time stay at this hotel. Excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is my second stay here. If it is not so impressive one time is enough. Warmly Welcome even I checked in quite late. Good Room. Perfect View. Relax and Enjoy stay.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    9.2
    Trauenkirchen is a beautiful, peaceful place to visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No dislikes

    The hotel is set on the edge of the Traunsee Lake in Trauenkirchen overlooking the Alps, with wonderful staff and a good Restaurant to meet all our requirements. The setting is so peaceful and relaxing with wonderful views and spectacular scenery. Swimming is possible in the lake and small boat rides can be hired there too for exploring the lake, a must. We would have liked to spend some more time there, and hopefully we will return.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2017

    7.5
    Traunsee Visit
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Parking for hotel was limited and about 100 meters away from hotel. Very narrow one-way streets to parking area and be careful, as it is easy to confuse hotel's lot with other parking for residents only.

    WiFi was ok for email but not fast enough for streaming data. Bed & room were comfortable. Food and service in restaurant was very good, especially the lake trout from Traunsee.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    9.2
    Lake view hotel with good restaurant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Basic room, but no major issues.

    Perfect view of the water and lake area. Restaurant had delicious fresh seafood. I recommend the smoked fish. We were able to get a free transfer back to the train station , so did not need to walk. Fresh cooked eggs at breakfast, a plus.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2016

    4.2
    Don't arrive 1 minute too late for your dinner. You will not be served.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We could get NO FOOD after driving 6 hours and arriving at 21:30. Not even offered a piece of bread, this is even when the kitchen is still churning out food to the other guests. No more orders could be taken. I have not seen this type of non existing flexibility on any of my travels, ever (I have not been to North Korea yet). As they know the village is so small and there is no other option for food in the area, I rate this as very poor human understanding and empathy. We had to wait 9 hours for breakfast to open. So if you arrive after 21:00, bring a picnic bag.

    Location by the lake

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    8.3
    Great location and breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great location and breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 June 2018

    7.9
    Great position on the lakeside.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great position on the lakeside. Very good restaurant.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    8.8
    above my expectation in general
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bar would create a little noise at night

    room style fit for me

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    9.6
    Very spacious and clean room with amazing view over the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very spacious and clean room with amazing view over the lake

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    8.5
    Good place
    • Business trip
    • People with friends
    • Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Convenient location.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2017

    6.7
    It was a nice short stay in very near ce little country town on beautiful lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was somewhat hard.

    Nice hotel in nice town nicely located in beautiful county side.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2017

    8.3
    Room and food
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Badhroom, some lamps did not working at room, price was little to high

    Room and food

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2017

    2.9
    very bad experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    very bad experience

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2017

    7.5
    Short Trip
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No Parking available

    Nice Breakfast

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2016

    10
    10 out of 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Room was lovely, view was out of this world and the staff were on the ball!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 October 2016

    3.8
    Unkind staff, not good for 3 people, too early making a bed
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unkind staff, not good for 3 people, too early making a bed

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 18 October 2016

    7.9
    Beautiful surroundings
    • With a pet
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    surrounding landscape

    Stayed in October 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2016

    10
    This is an elegant, charming and welcoming place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The location was really pretty. The breakfast was generous and tasty. The evening meal superb, really authentic, great wines.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2016

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very good location and food

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2016

    9.2
    It is located directly by the beautiful Traunsee Lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing! We will love to come back to this place again.

    It is located directly by the beautiful Traunsee Lake. We are extremely lucky to be given a room that faces the lake so the view is spectacular. Room is spacious, clean and modern yet cosy. Do try out dinner at the restaurant as they serve really good food!

  • Reviewed: 15 September 2015

    4.2
    The Hotel is more old than moder and new.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The Hotel is more old than moder and new. The Bathroom was smelling after taking a shower, because the airflow is not solved correctly. The biggest dissapointment is the restaurant. You can reead on the door about all awards this restaurant has got....but we had a bad and unfriendly experience. The pancake first was too cold, we had to send it back, after we got it back was extremly hot from the microwave. My husband asked what the Salzburger Nockerl is exactly...after a short description he ordered it, because he wanted to taste some local specialty - he is Austrian from Kärnten -. The waiter did not mentioned that the Salzburger Nockerl is a huge portion - enough for 4-6 people as a dessert - although he also knew that we have ordered a pankace for me. We got the dessert for my husband which was an extremly huge portion of eggs and sugar. He was able to eat 1/10 of the portion, rest we had to leave on the table. They charge for this "Nachspeise" €15. I think it would have been correct to inform us, that this sweet is a specialty and the portion is oversized and even two people are not able to manage it. Instead of informing the guests they were smiling behind us when we have left. I do not think this is a high level services. I would never go back to this Hotel, especially not for 135€ per a night for two.

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2015

    8.8
    Great location with big, comfortable room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Great location with big, comfortable room. A lovely big breakfast of fresh bread and an assortment of cheese, meats and spreads was offered. I would stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2015

    8.8
    We had a room with a view on the lake and mountains which...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Unfortunately it is quite loudly there, a street, a church tower with two bells. Most of the staff was nice (in teh reception for example) but some young waiters and waitresses were a little remote and not that open to the quests.

    We had a room with a view on the lake and mountains which was really magnificient. Clean, comfortable, good service (which exceptions), good breakfast and restaurant.

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2015

    7.9
    Sehr freundliches und entgegenkommendes Personal, Sauberkeit...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Der gemauerte südseitig gelegene Balkon speichert an sonnigen Sommertagen die Wärme wie ein Kachelofen, sodass es in der Nacht lange heiß ist im Zimmer, was die Schlafqualität massiv beeinträchtigt, - etwas Begrünung und ein Deckenventilator würde sicher Abhilfe schaffen

    Sehr freundliches und entgegenkommendes Personal, Sauberkeit, Frühstücksbuffet mit guter Auswahl, umweltschädliche Portionspackungen werden dabei weitestgehend vermieden.

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2015

    10
    The staff were so friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff were so friendly. The food was excellent had dinner one night. The view from the bedroom window was to die for. Excellent value and great place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2015

    10
    We had an excellent view of the lake from your window.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    We had an excellent view of the lake from your window. While there I was able to rent a bicycle and cycle to Gmunden which was 11 km away. Very small town (around 2000) which was fine by us.

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2015

    7.5
    Cross the road and you are straight in the water in the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Room got quite hot (summer) but otherwise couldn't really fault it

    Cross the road and you are straight in the water in the lake

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2015

    9.6
    Perfect location on Traunsee, smiling and very helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No negative experience!

    Perfect location on Traunsee, smiling and very helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2015

    10
    It is in the most beautiful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    That I only had one day there.

    It is in the most beautiful location.

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    9.2
    Staff very helpful & great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff very helpful & great location

There are also 12 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 31

Guests also reviewed these properties: