Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Senator Hotel This is the official star rating given to the property by an independent third party - the Hotelstars Union. The property is compared to the industry standard and scored based on price, facilities and services offered. Use the star rating to help choose your stay!

Oppenheimer Landstraße 81, Sachsenhausen, 60596 Frankfurt/Main, Germany

#152 of 221 hotels in Frankfurt/Main

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 406 hotel reviews

7.5

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.8

  • Comfort

    6.9

  • Location

    7.7

  • Facilities

    7.1

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.4

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 68

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2018

    6.7
    Overall I found it good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was little noisy and also hot

    Room was good only it was little noisy as the train line was near to hotel. But rest of things were good. I liked the staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.2
    Comfortable and functional friendly hotel run to a high standard
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights

    Wifi is a little weak at times, but just adequate.

    Friendly hotel run at a good to excellent standard of organisation and cleanliness. Good breakfast, comfortable beds, adequate room for a long stay with refrigerator and some cooking facilities if needed. Not central, but residential, but well located to get about and some interesting restaurants and nightlife nearby, also good supermarkets. Suited what we were there for (tennis) just fine.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2018

    5.8
    Reasonable price close to the heart of Sachsenhausen and the...
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The décor is very outdated and cleanliness not great. Beds are also old and the neighbouring railway line is very noisy.

    Reasonable price close to the heart of Sachsenhausen and the city. Breakfast is very nice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    4.6
    Shabby hotel, not so good location
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    There is no reason why you should pick this hotel. You can easily get better value for your money. Contrary to what it says on the hotel's website, it is not really close either to Museumsufer or Sudbahnhof. No airconditioning, no minibar (unless you pay a daily fee of 20 EUR for a room with a kitchnette). Wifi was down for three days in a row. Clean but stuffy with a wall-to-wall carpet. Lot of noise through the night from passing trains.

    The room was quite big.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    Excellent businesslike hotel conveniently located for tennis players.
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    For a small 3-star hotel the breakfast was fully comprehensive and of good quality. Although the rooms are a little small the facilities are of a good standard and kept very clean.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    7.5
    The hotel staffs are very nice and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed mattress in the room assigned to me and my husband sagged and was uncomfortable.

    The hotel staffs are very nice and helpful. My family and I had our breakfast in the hotel and we were happy with their breakfast buffet. Good choices but still reasonably priced.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 June 2017

    10
    Great Value!
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Honestly, can think of nothing.

    The staff at the front desk were always available, helpful, polite, knowledgeable and welcoming. The accommodation was small but adequate for two women traveling together on a budget. The beds were comfortable. The room, including the bathroom and kitchenette, was kept very clean. The breakfast room was cheerfull and the women serving was attentive to all our needs. The food was fresh and all you can eat. I could not be happier with the service and accommadations. We received more than we expected at such a moderately priced hotel. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    10
    Breakfast is very good with a lot of variety.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Trains near the hotel can be heard slightly during the night. They didn't disturb our sleep so there's nothing to complain about.

    Breakfast is very good with a lot of variety. Hotel is next door to Lidl and Tram station, S/U bahn station is also quite near.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2017

    2.9
    Close to Sbahn and supermarket
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    One of the worst experience ever... very rude workers, called at the last time to inform check out time.While trying to package valises she came upstairs and and yelled that we had have our last 15 min. And at the desk she continued to shout.Unhospitable non flexible artiste caused us to forget some of our equipments there.and when called back she said she has no information about it.Please don't waste your money there

    Close to Sbahn and supermarket

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 December 2016

    9.2
    Excellent value, warm and comfortable, highly recommended for South Frankfurt
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 28 nights

    Only minor minus was the breakfast, which ended at 10, too early at the weekends - needs to be 11 or even later for recovering party-goers.... Also toward the end when I'd invariably come down, the hotel staff and what looked to be the room servicing ladies, appeared from the staff area and helped themselves to the buffet, which was a less than impressive sight.

    Very comfortable and warm, a bit of a quirky voucher system for the wifi which each lasted a week and had to be obtained for each wifi connected device, but the printer broke down midway through my stay and they opened the wifi up permanently - result! Hotel also very close to town centre and convenient for Sachsenhausen Altstadt and the fleshpots there. My room had the added bonus of a small galley, which saved a fortune in preparing my own meals instead of having to eat out. The hotel is only a couple of minutes walk from the 61 bus route that connects directly with Frankfurt Airport.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 5 November 2016

    7.5
    Nice breakfast; convenient location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Oddly the entrance to the parking lot was marked with an arrow pointing out. Somewhat confusing seeing it was the only entrance to the parking area.

    It was a short walk down to where I had meetings over a series of days. To leave the car there was cheaper and less expensive than trying to find parking closer. Many places I've stayed at advertise free Wi-Fi but the signal is so low it is unusable. The Wi-Fi at the Senator was a nice change: it worked well.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    5.0
    Hotel where you can feel like homeless
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 11 nights

    If you really need wi-fi internet, than you should feel like homeless and have to go to railway station, which is not so far from the hotel and only then you can have internet, because you can do nothing with that hotel's internet. By the way hotel is and looks very old. Tv showing only German and Russian channels Breakfast is very simple. The relation between the price and the quality is terrible. I definitely do not recommend this hotel.

    One good thing - location, nothing else!

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2018

    7.5
    Train noise
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Train noise

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 September 2018

    2.5
    very expensive for relation qulity/price
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    very expensive for relation qulity/price

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 August 2018

    7.9
    The staff, the location and breakfast are really good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 10 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Too bad that it doesn’t have AC.

    The staff, the location and breakfast are really good. For that price, it’s hard to find better in Frankfurt.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    9.6
    I am going to stay here again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I liked the location. This is close to Sachsenhausen also safe.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    7.1
    Very slow Internet
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very slow Internet

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    8.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 June 2018

    6.7
    High price during the fair in Frankfurt
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Good location

    High price during the fair in Frankfurt

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    7.9
    Frankfurt.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Frankfurt.easy access

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    2.5
    worst room
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    450€ for 1 night In a 3 stars hotel is a shame

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2018

    5.8
    TOOOOO OVERPRICED!
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    TOOOOO OVERPRICED! EUR 400 - without breakfast! Unbelievable!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    10
    Super
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    -

    very friendly staff, very clean

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    8.3
    Excellent breakfast with ingredients procured from local...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent breakfast with ingredients procured from local farms. Very friendly staff and peaceful setting just outside the city

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    9.2
    I received what I expected and I will stay again in the future.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No refrigerator in room. Looked like it had been removed for some reason.

    Desk staff was very helpful and pleasant.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 March 2018

    7.9
    Good
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Good value for money; convenient location - close to centre, yet quiet; parking. Exactly what I needed for a brief business stay in Frankfurt.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 March 2018

    8.3
    satisfied
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    wifi wasn't working for me.

    good value and location

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    6.3
    Average
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning is slightly over average. Matrass should be changed urgently, ASAP.

    Free wi-fi is ok but could have been faster.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    10
    Best in Europe
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nonthing

    Staff act like as your friend

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    8.3
    Very basic
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No English channels on the tv

    The bed was small but comfy!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2017

    7.1
    Very helpful staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Super loud train station right next to hotel , very limited parking spaces and no legal street parking

    Very helpful staff

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    8.3
    nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    no airco

    close to train station excellent breakfast clean room. parking

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2017

    8.8
    Location and suitability
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location and suitability

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    9.2
    Noisy location but good value.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really close to train tracks so a bit noisy at times.

    Great breakfast for a boutique hotel!!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 December 2016

    10
    Will definitely be back!!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were very helpful and professional, breakfast was very good and the rooms were very comfortable. Great place to stay!!

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 9 November 2016

    5.8
    Could have been better for that price
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For 5 days they didnt change the bed sheets!

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 11 March 2016

    8.3
    My room unexpectedly had a kitchenette.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The hotel is tucked away a bit, lodged between a few high buildings and an enormous LIDL. Their parking lot is tucked away further still which makes me a bit worried about oversight to prevent theft. Both entry to and exit from the parking lot is via a single, narrow lane whose markings suggest you're not allowed to enter at all.

    My room unexpectedly had a kitchenette. I didn't need or use it, but I rarely encounter hotel rooms with this in them.

  • Reviewed: 19 January 2016

    5.0
    Good location, in front of the train station.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    Room was really cold, specially the bathroom. Reception closes in the evening so you have to access the hotel facilities through the bar.

    Good location, in front of the train station. Well connected and easy to park the car. Staff is friendly

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2016

    7.9
    The area was more suburban so you get a good, quiet nights...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Reception is sometimes on break and there's no way to get their attention.

    The area was more suburban so you get a good, quiet nights sleep - it's also in/close to one of the hip suburbs. Breakfast spread is not large but still tasty - the bread everywhere in Germany is great. Location-wise you can take the tram/train into the city proper, or walk. While walking does take longer it gives you a reason to cross the bridges and see some great views (on sunny, or foggy, days).

  • Reviewed: 23 October 2015

    7.1
    1) Location.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    I stayed three times at this hotel mainly because of the location. However I consistently disliked 1) their mattress and pillows: they were too soft and old for me and the pillow too high for my taste; 2) their internet connection: too slow most of the times to the point I couldn't check my emails and too unstable to connect to the point I had to ask for another password in the reception almost every day. 3) You can still find a good price for your stay there if you book in advance, but most of the time I found too expensive for the services they offer, specially due to the two points I mentioned above.

    1) Location. There are at least two supermarkets close by, a swimming pool 10 minutes away and lots of restaurants in the area. The U-bahn station is also 6 minutes away. Perfect for me. 2) The fact that most if not all of their rooms have a minibar with a small kitchen sink in the room. That's perfect to prepare my own breakfast or snacks and keep them in the fridge when I feel not going out for food.

  • Reviewed: 5 October 2015

    7.1
    Good rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    We initially booked for 3 nights but had to change it to 2 nights. We notified the staff before 11am and they asked us to wait till a senior staff arrived at 3. Following this they said they cant refund us for the 3rd night (not even partial). So in the end we got ripped off. The owner had no intention to give us even a partial refund when we notified them before the preferred the check out time. Parking is extra! Also the location is a bit of walk from the train station.

    Good rooms. Very spacious. Safe location. Staff are friendly.

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2015

    7.9
    الفندق نظيف و موظفين الإستقبال يجيدون الانجليزية و الواي فاي...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    لم يكن هناك شئء سئ لكن الفندق ليس فخم و الإستقبال ضيق nothing bad, but the hotel isn't luxurious and the reception hall is narrow

    الفندق نظيف و موظفين الإستقبال يجيدون الانجليزية و الواي فاي جيد وموقعه قريب جدا من كل المواصلات العامة فمحطة الترام Oppenheimer Landstraße على بعد دقيقتين مشي و به خط 14 ياخذك حتى حديقة الحيوان و الباص رقم 61 من نفس المحطة ذهاب وعودة إلى المطار صالة 1 و 2 كما ان الفندق قريب من مجطة القطار و المترو Südbahnhof أيضا شارع المتاحف museumfur على بعد أقل من 15 دقيقة مشي Clean hotel and receptionists speak English, also WiFi signal strength and speed are acceptable. the location is very good and near to all public transportation. 2 minutes only from oppenheimer Landstraße tram station where you can find bus 61 going directly to airport terminal 1&2 in addition to tram line 14 which can drop you in front of the ZOO and another locations. Also Sudbahnhof train & metro station is near .

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2015

    9.6
    This hotel was chosen because our son had recommended it.
    • Couple

    This hotel was chosen because our son had recommended it. (He himself had spent a month in your hotel). It lived up to our expectations in terms of price, convenient location, great breakfasts.

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2015

    9.2
    Nice quiet and clean area, not far away from the centre.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The cleaning lady would occasionally forget to lock the room door. Nothing was missing though, but that didn't make me feel very secure.

    Nice quiet and clean area, not far away from the centre. Ideal hotel for an average lone traveller, who'd rather stay away from the noisy business hub of the city.

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2015

    2.5
    The room was awful and filthy with insects and spiders.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The room was awful and filthy with insects and spiders... The hotel overcharged for everything, refused to give a refund for breakfast service which they failed to deliver i would never stay here....

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2015

    8.3
    We stayed there to visit our children who live within...
    • Couple

    No A/C

    We stayed there to visit our children who live within walking distance. Room with kitchenette very adequate for us. Near many restaurants, the train to downtown and grocery store. Missed A/C during terrible heat wave, but would definitely stay there again.

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2015

    8.3
    Nice Breakfast for small money(7EUR)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    little bit loud if you are sensitive because it is located very close to the rail station. The bed was too soft to have a good night.. little bit. but, generally, it is worth to stay for the given rate. 47€(Single Room)+7€(Breakfast)

    Nice Breakfast for small money(7EUR) Wifi works fine You have a supermarket next to hotel near to the rail station Nice Restaurant nearby! really worth to visit! called Colosseo on the corner!!!

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2015

    7.1
    The hotel was in a good condition overall, clean rooms, easy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Be really careful when you book. I stated in my Booking.com reservation that I was travelling with 1 child of 9 years old, but there was no extra bed. Instead the child had to sleep in the parents double bed. Also, if you need refrigerator in the room (even mini-fridge) you have to book room with kitchenette! WiFi (free) is extremely slow. Staff not flexible to changes.

    The hotel was in a good condition overall, clean rooms, easy parking (for a price). Nice bedding and daily room cleaning.

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2015

    7.5
    This hotel is located in a quiet and safe area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    My room smelled like smoke, but at least it was located on a very quiet side of the hotel.

    This hotel is located in a quiet and safe area. It is within 10 minutes from the Sudbahnhof metro station and there are restaurants within 5 minutes walking and also a large supermarket. The room was nice and the WIFI was very fast!!!

  • Reviewed: 2 April 2015

    7.1
    close to bus stop (L61 every 15 mins)
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Tiling in bathroom quite old Got a smoking room although non-smoking was ordered (not sure if hotel or booking.com is to blame here)

    close to bus stop (L61 every 15 mins) good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2015

    9.2
    I went with a friend on holiday, we were in a twin room with...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    I went with a friend on holiday, we were in a twin room with the kitchenette, nice room, newly refurbished, I didn't have any problems with the noise of the train (I read some complaints in some reviews about this) Hotel close to the city centre and only a few minutes from the Metro station

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2016

    6.7
    All 3 rooms we had smellt from smoke :-(.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    All 3 rooms we had smellt from smoke :-(.

  • Reviewed: 17 April 2016

    7.9
    Good standard.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Still very weak Wifi. Seen complaints for same in earlier reviews

    Good standard. Good value for money. Good breakfast

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2016

    7.9
    Breakfast is very good
    • Business trip
    • Group

    No toothpaste, no boil water machine

    Breakfast is very good

  • Reviewed: 8 March 2016

    7.5
    Good place, good and kind staff
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Good place, good and kind staff

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2016

    5.0
    Wifi very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The breakfast was very poor

    Wifi very good

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2016

    9.6
    Centrally located, close to grocery shops, train station and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No problems

    Centrally located, close to grocery shops, train station and buses extremely convenient. Good value for money, staff also helpful.

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2015

    2.5
    my stay was very unpleasant, would not recommend to any of...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    my stay was very unpleasant, would not recommend to any of my collegues. Wifi and room service too bad quality.

  • Reviewed: 19 November 2015

    7.5
    Hotel is well placed: so many shops around.
    • Business trip
    • Group

    To use the kitchenet you have to pay an additional money. It is close to station, noisy all the time

    Hotel is well placed: so many shops around.

  • Reviewed: 28 October 2015

    8.8
    area
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    area

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2015

    9.2
    Great variety for breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    No english speaking television stations.All in Deutsch Russian French????

    Great variety for breakfast.

  • Reviewed: 4 July 2015

    7.1
    breakfast and free wifi.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    price was a bit too high than expected. Information on ordering of other meals was not given.....

    breakfast and free wifi.

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2015

    7.5
    Amazing breakfast!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Nothing to not like here

    Amazing breakfast!!!!

  • Reviewed: 11 May 2015

    7.9
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2015

    6.3
    Room Nice and clean
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Very noisy from Trains passing every 10 min. My room was at the backside of the hotel, maybe better on the frontside

    Room Nice and clean

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2015

    8.8
    Nice neighbourhood, although not too close to the centre and...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Nice neighbourhood, although not too close to the centre and in the vicinity of railway tracks. Nice kitchenetts, comfortable, pleasant.

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2015

    2.9
    The staff.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The staff. The clearance

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2015

    5.4
    The room was too close to the railway and had to chance room.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was too close to the railway and had to chance room. Not much better. Not enough sound proofed.

There are also 26 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 68

Guests also reviewed these properties: