Stays Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Attractions Airport taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Iceland hotel reviews
  3. Reykjavik Greater Region holiday rental reviews
  4. Reykjavík holiday rental reviews
  5. Reviews of Vaktahouse

Reviews of Vaktahouse

Garðastræti 23, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

#9 of 140 Holiday rentals in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 25 hotel reviews

9.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10.0

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    10.0

  • Facilities

    9.9

  • Staff

    10.0

  • Value for money

    9.5

  • Free WiFi

    10.0

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2020

    10
    Just Brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. There was nothing that could have been done that would have made our stay any better. The house was immaculately clean, well presented and very warm. Having fresh cakes, tea and coffee and supplies in the fridge made this a 6* stay for us.

    This is a fantastic property right in the heart of the city. Immaculately presented with lovely touches on arrival we were really impressed with the house, the location and the reception on arrival.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2020

    10
    Authentic, cosy and delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Everything. The location. The décor. The beautiful pastries on arrival and drinks in the fridge/ available as well as other tasty bits and pieces. The willingness of the owner to chat and share her enthusiasm for the property and Reykjavik. By the end of it we could only agree. We just loved everything and didn't want to leave. Thank you Magret . A special experience. Don't change a thing!

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful and the host gave us a warm welcome. Fridge was filled with goodies and drinks. We would certainly stay again!

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2019

    10
    Excellent house and great host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Margaret meet us at the house and explained & answered any questions. Very nice and helpful. The house was neat and clean. Excellent location. Within walking distance to most.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2019

    10
    Comfortable stay in the heart of Reykjavík
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps not suitable for families with small children - the steps going up to the loft are winding and steep and could be treacherous if you’re not careful. Otherwise, my only complaint is that we didn’t stay longer!

    Our stay in Vaktahouse was outstanding and far exceeded our expectations! Margrét met us at the door and showed us around, asked if we had any questions about our stay or the city - she was the perfect host and even set us up with some fruit, bread and other items, which was great! The location couldn’t be better, just steps from downtown Reykjavík and the pier with access to shopping, bars and MANY restaurants. The house itself is simply adorable. It’s in excellent shape, super clean, extremely comfortable and perfect for a family of four. It was well stocked with gorgeous amenities. We opted out of using the car because there is a cleaning fee if you use it, but I’ll tell you, you don’t need it. Everything is accessible by foot or bus, the city is easy to get around. I highly recommend staying here if you come to Reykjavík. Thank you Margrét!

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2019

    9.6
    Iceland at its finest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricing

    Everything was perfect. Understated luxury accommodation with designer touches. Margret was reactive and welcoming. Location..location...location. The car was cute and provided a way to visit the surrounding towns

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2019

    9.6
    Will be back again someday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything - just be aware that there is no completely private/separated room. All beds are upstairs under a slanted roof separated by curtains.

    Beautiful little house with amazing charm - and on top of it they gave us such a wonderful welcome for our long weekend!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just lovely.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2019

    10
    Perfect family holiday. Loved Vatka and want to stay there again soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Margret was the perfect host. Vatka was so cosy, tastefully decorated and the car to sightsee in was the icing on the cake! We are planning our next trip back again. Loved Iceland!!!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2019

    10
    Amazing place. Amazing hospitality. Most recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to say here. It’s definitely the best in Reykjavík.

    The house was super clean and comfortable. Amazing hospitality from Margert’s Part. She made sure nothing was missing. There is absolutely nothing to say that was missing. The car was a plus. Loved that we had a car under our order to drive anywhere. Especially that taxis and public transportation is hard to deal with. We really liked how Margret made sure we were comfortable and we had everything we needed. She searched for the northern lights for us to see it. She did all she can to make us enjoy our vacation.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2019

    9.2
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    attitude very kindly ,location perfect, willing to provide extra help and arrangements, flexible enough! So enjoy the stay!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2018

    10
    Wonderful experience, I only wish I could have stayed longer
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would recommend this lovely house. Everything from A to Z was perfect.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We absolutely loved Vaktahouse!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host and the property are the best I’ve ever met! The two nights were way beyond my expectation. The host prepared everything for us and the house is warm and convenient!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Lovely historic cottage in Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing negative!

    Everything! The historic cottage was pristine, beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable and within easy walking distance to all the sights in Reykjavik. We loved it so much that we made arrangements to stay on our return stopover! An extra treat was the lovely owner, Margret, who went above and beyond to provide every possible comfort for us! And, the car was wonderful with its preprogrammed excursions! You will absolutely enjoy Vaktahouse!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful Vaktahouse, beautiful Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 4 nights

    To leave the house..I wish I could stay longer.

    We spent 4 nights at beautiful and cozy Vaktahouse and we felt absolutely welcome and like home. Margrét was all the time available for us on the phone before we arrived and while we are staying, we met her on our arrival in the house. We cannot asked for more comfort, everything what you will need is in the house and the beds are very comfy, kitchen is excellent and we loved the cute reliable car, it was an extra plus for us to go around Snaefellsnes and the South. It was a very special experience to stay in a old house with history like Vakta. I would love to come back to it and can imagine to live there longer, because in the area around you will find everything you need for a perfect stay too and its just a 15min walk from BSI station. Thanks a lot again, Margét, I do miss Vakta already. By the way, the wifi is excellent, for people, who need it on holiday!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning fee for the car was a bit of a surprise

    The home was very nicely decorated and in a great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A beautifully restored old building. Quirky and full of character. Very comfortable. Pastries, skyr, fresh bread, cheese and wine provided by the host. Perfect for a small family. We borrowed the bicycles, and had a lovely cycle along the bike path to Grotta lighthouse on a warm sunny day. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2019

    10
    Perfect for families!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback was that the stairs were fairly narrow and steep. They might be difficult for older people if families are traveling with grandparents.

    We loved Vaktahouse! Our kids loved the little alcoves upstairs for sleeping and the privacy curtains that made each one into its own little hideout. We loved that the kitchen had just enough equipment to make a few meals, and Margret was very generous in providing some starter groceries with wonderful Icelandic pastries, yogurts, fruits, bread, cheese, jam, tea, coffee, milk, and juice. Margret was very welcoming and helpful. We loved the location - just a short walk away from everything, but it still had a little yard for the kids to jump around in. It was a wonderful little home in Iceland and we had a great visit!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2019

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2019

    10
    Fantastic time! Close to downtown, restaurants. Great upkeep and cleanliness. Snazzy design to place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in February 2019

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!