1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Iceland hotel reviews
  3. Reykjavik Greater Region holiday rental reviews
  4. Reykjavík holiday rental reviews
  5. Reviews of Vaktahouse

Reviews of Vaktahouse

Garðastræti 23, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

#4 of 94 Holiday rentals in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 23 hotel reviews

9.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10.0

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    10.0

  • Facilities

    9.9

  • Staff

    10.0

  • Value for money

    9.7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 23

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Every part was lovely.

    We LOVED our stay. They accommodated us checking in early very last minute because we arrived to the city more quickly than we expected. They had wine and pastries when we arrived, with a well stocked kitchen. Access to the car was amazing, and we loved the location of the property. Don't even get me started on the decor too, it was homey and beautiful and so cozy. It was such a sweet touch to our visit to Reykjavik - HIGHLY recommend staying here!!!

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 24 February 2020

    10
    Just Brilliant.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Nothing. There was nothing that could have been done that would have made our stay any better. The house was immaculately clean, well presented and very warm. Having fresh cakes, tea and coffee and supplies in the fridge made this a 6* stay for us.

    This is a fantastic property right in the heart of the city. Immaculately presented with lovely touches on arrival we were really impressed with the house, the location and the reception on arrival.

    Stayed in February 2020

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2020

    10
    Authentic, cosy and delicious
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing

    Everything. The location. The décor. The beautiful pastries on arrival and drinks in the fridge/ available as well as other tasty bits and pieces. The willingness of the owner to chat and share her enthusiasm for the property and Reykjavik. By the end of it we could only agree. We just loved everything and didn't want to leave. Thank you Magret . A special experience. Don't change a thing!

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 8 November 2019

    10
    Outstanding property, ideal location, wonderful host and simply a joy to stay here!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Nothing.

    Vaktahouse is not only a truly unique and stunning property set in an ideal location in the old part of Reykjavik but the entire experience of staying there was simply a delight. Little touches from pastries, wine, beer and treats on arrival to outstanding dressing of the property as if it was a cover spread in a magazine. Stylish, little expense spared in terms of decor, thoughtful, comfortable yet felt like a home. To top it off Margret our host could not have been more charming, informative and helpful. Gold stars on all counts and 100% recommend this property to anyone lucking enough to get a booking.

    Stayed in November 2019

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was wonderful and the host gave us a warm welcome. Fridge was filled with goodies and drinks. We would certainly stay again!

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2019

    10
    Excellent house and great host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Margaret meet us at the house and explained & answered any questions. Very nice and helpful. The house was neat and clean. Excellent location. Within walking distance to most.

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2019

    10
    Comfortable stay in the heart of Reykjavík
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perhaps not suitable for families with small children - the steps going up to the loft are winding and steep and could be treacherous if you’re not careful. Otherwise, my only complaint is that we didn’t stay longer!

    Our stay in Vaktahouse was outstanding and far exceeded our expectations! Margrét met us at the door and showed us around, asked if we had any questions about our stay or the city - she was the perfect host and even set us up with some fruit, bread and other items, which was great! The location couldn’t be better, just steps from downtown Reykjavík and the pier with access to shopping, bars and MANY restaurants. The house itself is simply adorable. It’s in excellent shape, super clean, extremely comfortable and perfect for a family of four. It was well stocked with gorgeous amenities. We opted out of using the car because there is a cleaning fee if you use it, but I’ll tell you, you don’t need it. Everything is accessible by foot or bus, the city is easy to get around. I highly recommend staying here if you come to Reykjavík. Thank you Margrét!

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2019

    9.6
    Iceland at its finest
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pricing

    Everything was perfect. Understated luxury accommodation with designer touches. Margret was reactive and welcoming. Location..location...location. The car was cute and provided a way to visit the surrounding towns

    Stayed in July 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2019

    9.6
    Will be back again someday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved everything - just be aware that there is no completely private/separated room. All beds are upstairs under a slanted roof separated by curtains.

    Beautiful little house with amazing charm - and on top of it they gave us such a wonderful welcome for our long weekend!

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Just lovely.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 March 2019

    10
    Perfect family holiday. Loved Vatka and want to stay there again soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Margret was the perfect host. Vatka was so cosy, tastefully decorated and the car to sightsee in was the icing on the cake! We are planning our next trip back again. Loved Iceland!!!

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2019

    10
    Amazing place. Amazing hospitality. Most recommended.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing to say here. It’s definitely the best in Reykjavík.

    The house was super clean and comfortable. Amazing hospitality from Margert’s Part. She made sure nothing was missing. There is absolutely nothing to say that was missing. The car was a plus. Loved that we had a car under our order to drive anywhere. Especially that taxis and public transportation is hard to deal with. We really liked how Margret made sure we were comfortable and we had everything we needed. She searched for the northern lights for us to see it. She did all she can to make us enjoy our vacation.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 14 February 2019

    9.2
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    attitude very kindly ,location perfect, willing to provide extra help and arrangements, flexible enough! So enjoy the stay!

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2018

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 4 nights

    We absolutely loved Vaktahouse!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2021

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely one of the most charming places we’ve ever stayed in. It was comfortable, in a great location, everything about our stay was exceptional.

    Stayed in August 2021

  • Reviewed: 19 April 2019

    10
    Perfect for families!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only drawback was that the stairs were fairly narrow and steep. They might be difficult for older people if families are traveling with grandparents.

    We loved Vaktahouse! Our kids loved the little alcoves upstairs for sleeping and the privacy curtains that made each one into its own little hideout. We loved that the kitchen had just enough equipment to make a few meals, and Margret was very generous in providing some starter groceries with wonderful Icelandic pastries, yogurts, fruits, bread, cheese, jam, tea, coffee, milk, and juice. Margret was very welcoming and helpful. We loved the location - just a short walk away from everything, but it still had a little yard for the kids to jump around in. It was a wonderful little home in Iceland and we had a great visit!

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: 5 September 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in September 2021

  • Reviewed: 12 December 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in December 2019

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2019

    9.6
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in October 2019

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2019

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in August 2019

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2019

    10
    Fantastic time! Close to downtown, restaurants. Great upkeep and cleanliness. Snazzy design to place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 4 nights

    There are no comments available for this review

    Stayed in February 2019

Showing 1 – 23

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!