Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Vaktahouse

Garðastræti 23, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

#69 of 150 Holiday rentals in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 18 hotel reviews

9.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    10

  • Comfort

    10

  • Location

    10

  • Facilities

    10

  • Staff

    10

  • Value for money

    9.3

  • Free WiFi

    10

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 12

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    The host and the property are the best I’ve ever met!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The host and the property are the best I’ve ever met! The two nights were way beyond my expectation. The host prepared everything for us and the house is warm and convenient!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2018

    10
    Lovely historic cottage in Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing negative!

    Everything! The historic cottage was pristine, beautifully decorated, extremely comfortable and within easy walking distance to all the sights in Reykjavik. We loved it so much that we made arrangements to stay on our return stopover! An extra treat was the lovely owner, Margret, who went above and beyond to provide every possible comfort for us! And, the car was wonderful with its preprogrammed excursions! You will absolutely enjoy Vaktahouse!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    10
    Beautiful Vaktahouse, beautiful Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 4 nights

    To leave the house..I wish I could stay longer.

    We spent 4 nights at beautiful and cozy Vaktahouse and we felt absolutely welcome and like home. Margrét was all the time available for us on the phone before we arrived and while we are staying, we met her on our arrival in the house. We cannot asked for more comfort, everything what you will need is in the house and the beds are very comfy, kitchen is excellent and we loved the cute reliable car, it was an extra plus for us to go around Snaefellsnes and the South. It was a very special experience to stay in a old house with history like Vakta. I would love to come back to it and can imagine to live there longer, because in the area around you will find everything you need for a perfect stay too and its just a 15min walk from BSI station. Thanks a lot again, Margét, I do miss Vakta already. By the way, the wifi is excellent, for people, who need it on holiday!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 July 2018

    9.6
    A beautifully restored old building.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A beautifully restored old building. Quirky and full of character. Very comfortable. Pastries, skyr, fresh bread, cheese and wine provided by the host. Perfect for a small family. We borrowed the bicycles, and had a lovely cycle along the bike path to Grotta lighthouse on a warm sunny day. Highly recommended.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    10
    Amazing stay in an amazing country! Highly recommended.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Margret had fruits, cheese, bread, wine, Skyr and Icelandic pastries which we enjoyed and saved us a lot of money in an expensive country. The house was warm and welcoming and felt like home. The car was a great added bonus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 February 2017

    10
    We loved it!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleaning the car before we left the property!

    Attention to detail was exceptional from a welcome pack to things to do leaflets. Very centrally located.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 December 2016

    10
    This is the perfect little vacation house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing!

    This is the perfect little vacation house. It has everything you need, from a dishwasher, to fast wifi, to phone chargers you might have forgotten. But more than that it is absolutely gorgeous, a beautiful old house, decorated with wonderful taste. Kids (and grownups) will love the attic sleeping area. I wish my own house looked like this!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2018

    9.6
    The home was very nicely decorated and in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The cleaning fee for the car was a bit of a surprise

    The home was very nicely decorated and in a great location.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    It was nice and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was nice and comfortable

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    10
    Warm and Wonderful !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Warm and Wonderful historical home. On very quiet residential street yet close to all the restaurants and nightlife.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2016

    10
    Perfect location for a long week in Iceland
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    nothing

    Very comfortable and clean, great location very hi standard of accommodation

    Stayed in October 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2016

    10
    Lovely!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    It felt a little pricey, but it was my first time renting a guesthouse so perhaps I'm not in tune with current pricing.

    Lovely! All of the small touches. The place was decorated beautifully using local artisans.

Showing 1 - 12