Skip to main content
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Iceland hotel reviews
  3. Reykjavik Greater Region holiday rental reviews
  4. Reykjavík holiday rental reviews
  5. Reviews of Vaktahouse

Reviews of Vaktahouse

Garðastræti 23, 101 Reykjavík, Iceland

#2 of 263 Holiday rentals in Reykjavík

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 31 hotel reviews

9.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.8

  • Location

    10.0

  • Facilities

    9.9

  • Staff

    10.0

  • Value for money

    9.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2023

    10
    Fan-freaking-tactic
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location is fantastic. It’s only a block away from some great restaurants shopping and local spots. Fair warning must be given. If you get into the super comfy bed that is tucked away you may not want to get out. This place is definitely the best spot to stay when in Reykjavik.

    Stayed in October 2023

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2023

    10
    Best place to stay in Reykjavík🌟
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    -

    Welcoming services especially nice variety of food and drinks. Possibility to use car. The house was lovely!

    Stayed in July 2023

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2023

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Everything was amazing!

    I liked everything about this property. Location!!! The house was super cozy!!!! I would highly recommend renting this house it did exceeded my expectations. Very easy communication and access to the property.

    Stayed in July 2023

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2023

    10
    Could not ask for better accommodations in Reykjavik!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I loved this characteristic and so did my daughters, ages 7 and 9. However, my husband is 6’4” and found the cozy upstairs a little too cozy. Just a heads up for you taller travelers.

    The location could not be better; within walking distance to great restaurants and sites. The included car allowed us to take day trips at our own pace. Margret was lovely and greeted us with keys, details and recommendations. She treated us to delicious baked goods from a favorite bakery, fruit, bread, cheese, wine and beer. It was enough to feed a family of four for two breakfasts! I would recommend Vaktahouse to anyone traveling to Iceland.

    Stayed in July 2023

  • Reviewed: 24 June 2023

    10
    A magical place!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The property is beautiful. The attention to detail is better than we could've imagined. Local artisans' work can be seen in every inch from the dishes to the textiles. Margret is a very kind and gracious host. I had a lot of questions and Margret was always quick to respond and oh-so helpful. My family arrived on my son's 11th birthday and Margret helped organize delivery of a delicious cake from a local bakery. There were also pastries and assorted beverages, cheese, milk, etc. so that when we arrived very jet-lagged, we could focus on resting and refueling. Vakta house is a magical place!

    Stayed in June 2023

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2023

    9.0
    a fairy tale
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Margarets House was our home for a few nights. The house has a lot of charm. I felt like I was in a Swiss chalet or in a fairy tale. Only the snow was missing. The rooms are small but very intelligently furnished, so that you can stay there comfortably even as a small family. The kitchen has everything you need and is well thought out (that's not always a given). We missed nothing, and I had to laugh when I even found a salad spinner there....perfect. This is for me one of the most important items of daily use. Margaret also spoiled us with very nice little surprises in the fridge. In generall I had the impression that Margaret is a person that wants her guests to be well. Thank you Margaret we will be back.

    Stayed in April 2023

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2022

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you searching for an totally unique place then you can stop search now. Location is excellent. The host Margret is excellent. The house is on of a kind. If you also consider that you have access to the car then even the price is excellent. Just go there and you will understand.

    Stayed in November 2022

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2022

    10
    Best rental property I have ever stayed at! Excellent value!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not a negative - just an fyi that the beds (1 queen, 2 twins) are upstairs in a loft - accessible with some narrow/steep stairs. Perfect for single 20-somethings but perhaps less ideal for older individuals or people with disabilities.

    Vaktahouse is the best rental experience I have ever had. Vakta is an adorable little cottage right in the center of Reykjavik - we could basically walk everywhere in the city. Margret is super helpful and goes to great lengths to ensure an excellent experience for guests, from a list of restaurant recommendations to a bottle of wine and fresh bread on the table when we walked in. We were four 20-something friends who spent most of our time out exploring, so for us the amount of space was perfect. The car was an added bonus too, and was great for our day trips to blue lagoon & the golden circle. Overall, we are so happy we stumbled upon this little place and I would strongly recommend to family and friends!

    Stayed in September 2022

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2022

    10
    A beautiful, stylish, quirky but cosy little house. it was stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    nothing

    A truly exceptional place to stay!

    Stayed in August 2022

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2022

    10
    A truly delightful and special place, thanks to Margret!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There's nothing we didn't like. One thing to be aware of is that the sleeping area is up a narrow spiral staircase in a loft with low ceilings in part. We thought it was comfortable, but it would be tricky for people with mobility issues.

    Margret was an extremely warm and thoughtful host. She went the extra mile on everything to make our stay special, from a delicious welcome spread of pastries and snacks to promptly fixing the problem when the wifi briefly went out to giving us great recommendations of where to go. And Vaktahouse is beautifully decorated, charming, and cozy, yet also with all modern conveniences one would want. Being able to use the car (automatic transmission) that comes with the house was a very helpful bonus.

    Stayed in August 2022

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2022

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The most amazing little house, incredibly well equipped, welcome pack of food on arrival. Good contact from host to ensure all was ok. Would completely recommend. Loft bedroom area has 4 beds with curtains between areas, very comfortable.

    Stayed in July 2022

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2022

    10
    We loved both the location and every thoughtful piece of Valtahouse. I can’t imagine staying anywhere else in the city!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Every detail was thought of for both a beautiful space and guests comfort.

    Stayed in July 2022

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2022

    10
    best stay in our trip by far, couldn’t recommend more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    absolutely nothing

    it was perfection, best location, no detail missed, my kids loved it!

    Stayed in June 2022

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2022

    10
    Wonderful, charming little home in the heart of Rejkjavik.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If there was one thing I could say, perhaps more space for three people. But that would be silly considering the history and charm of this gorgeous little house! It is perfect for two people.

    The welcome upon arrival was wonderful, especially for travel-weary guests. Incredible pastries and more hit the spot and was such an unexpected pleasure! The home is perfectly appointed, so charming and with a rich history. Everything you need is there and it is clear that Margret has put a lot of thought into making sure that her guests comfortable, from fresh towels to large shampoo, conditioner and body wash in the shower, coffee, and so on. And of course, the location is perfect. It is close to everything but still on a quiet street where you hear little besides the fresh Icelandic breeze. Margret is a superb hostess, and she went out of her way to make sure that we had an amazing time in Iceland!

    Stayed in July 2022

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2022

    10
    Perfect cozy historical home to stay when in Reykjavik
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The house is small but we expected that. We had great family bonding because of the coziness. It would be nice if the washer also had a dryer but we found out that the heating tubes works just as well in drying our laundry. Overall, really didn’t have any issues. We loved staying in the property.

    It’s a beautiful property! Despite being constructed in the 1840s, the renovations and upgrades has all modern necessities and comforts in it. The location is perfect. The small garden is pretty. The complimentary car that goes with the rental is very clean, runs without problems and is automatic. The welcome was beautiful with fresh flowers, fresh bread and pastries from the local bakery, a bottle of wine, a Brie, fruit basket, skyr and cold beverages in the fridge, etc.

    Stayed in July 2022

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2022

    10
    Staying here was an absolute treat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 5 nights

    (ignore Booking's sad face emoji! replace with "thinking" emoji!) I would suggest bringing an eye mask for stays during the midnight sun, as the house doesn't get completely dark, with all the lovely windows. And while not near the main, busy streets, there is still some light vehicle/motorcycle noise. Definitely manageable, and worth it, given the city's easy access. (Helpful hint! Keep your luggage downstairs by the hangers, not up by the beds!)

    I loved staying in this small, historic house, in the old west side of Reykjavik. The house is impeccable: finishes, paint, detailing. It was nice to have the option of using the available car (I ended up not using it). Bonus! receiving welcome treats from our hostess, after a long red eye flight! The house also has great suggestions for activities, food in the city. All is accessible with short walks. I will miss unlatching the little gate to get in! Just wonderful!

    Stayed in June 2022

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2022

    10
    Beautiful and unique experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Such a unique stay! amazing hospitality and amenities. The attention to detail in the home and car were amazing and we loved our stay.

    Stayed in June 2022

  • Reviewed: 14 June 2022

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great location. Beautiful olden house with lots of character

    Stayed in June 2022

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2022

    10
    The cherry on top of a wonderful visit to Iceland!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    it was perfect in every way! Wouldn’t change anything.

    We loved EVERYTHING about this home. Margret met us and shared the story of the house. It is a true treasure and we felt blessed to experience the rich history it held in its walls. We wish we could have stayed here longer! Exceptional!!

    Stayed in June 2022

  • Reviewed: 26 March 2022

    10
    Perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everything

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2022

    10
    Two words. Perfection. And thank you Margret.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Absolutely nothing.

    Absolutely everything - you could not find anywhere that tops it! A very special historic home with a stunning and cosy interior in the best location in Reykjavik. Every single detail was carefully considered and created by the wonderful host, Margret. As well as the home itself, she provided her very nippy car, a wonderful welcome with pastries, wine, tulips, bread, cheese, milk etc and was there for us with anything we needed throughout our trip. It absolutely made our first stay in Iceland perfect.

    Stayed in February 2022

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2021

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. Every part was lovely.

    We LOVED our stay. They accommodated us checking in early very last minute because we arrived to the city more quickly than we expected. They had wine and pastries when we arrived, with a well stocked kitchen. Access to the car was amazing, and we loved the location of the property. Don't even get me started on the decor too, it was homey and beautiful and so cozy. It was such a sweet touch to our visit to Reykjavik - HIGHLY recommend staying here!!!

    Stayed in July 2021

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2022

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not a personal complaint but sleeping arrangements would be difficult for someone with limited mobility. Stairs are steep and narrow and beds below knee level.

    Kids loved the hidden bed at the top of the stairs. Perfectly located an only a few minutes walk from stores and restaurants. Host was friendly and very accommodating allowed us to store luggage for a few hours beyond checkout time.

    Stayed in July 2022

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2021

    10
    Wonderful stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Holiday Home with Car Rental Included
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Definitely one of the most charming places we’ve ever stayed in. It was comfortable, in a great location, everything about our stay was exceptional.

    Stayed in August 2021

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!