Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Al Codega 4 stars

Corte Del Forno Vecchio - San Marco 4435, San Marco, 30100 Venice, Italy

#20 of 301 hotels in Venice

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1082 hotel reviews

9.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.6

  • Comfort

    9.2

  • Location

    9.6

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.6

  • Value for money

    8.6

  • Free WiFi

    9.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing- the location of hotel is within a protected courtyard so maybe tricky to find initially. But with fantastic directions from staff, the courtyard serves to keep most of the noise of the main areas away.

    Staff were very friendly, helpful and attentive. Breakfast buffet had a lot of variety and options. Hotel facilities were clean, sophisticated with elegant decor. Central location and absolutely perfect for our stay. I would come back here next time.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    There was nothing to dislike!

    The hotel was ideally situated; our room overlooked the courtyard. The staff were pleasant and extremely helpful. Breakfast was good and there was plenty of choice. The hotel doesn't have its own restaurant, but there are plenty to choose from in, many in close proximity. We shall certainly stay at Hotel Al Codega again.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location in Venice is of utmost importance, and the Hotel Codgea is perfectly located to enjoy the attractions and then easily return to the hotel's quiet, peaceful square. The staff was friendly and helpful, the their breakfast exceeded our expectations.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room was "Venice-style" looked great and was very comfortable and roomy. The staff were excellent and helped us greatly to navigate the area and find our way back to the hotel. Also the morning breakfast, included in the room price, was great. Many selections and good quality food.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I would have preferred a softer mattress and pillow, but that is personal preference , and in no way detracted from our lovely time. There is very little outside space in Venice, so our hotel was no exception, they made us so welcome, it was in no way a problem.

    The position of the hotel was wonderful, and staff so helpful and friendly. Breakfast was excellent, well served and imaginative. Beautiful decor, and style, well looked after beautifully, with love.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Nice and helpful staff. Thank you Jadranka and Lorenza. Excellent location, near to San Marco and Rialto, but very quiet. Excellent breakfast, very clean and comfortable rooms. It was a perfect stay 😊

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The only issue was that the room was very warm because the AC hadn't been turned on yet and we had to close the big beautiful windows because of the noise outside.

    Beautiful breakfast. Wine and pastries waiting for us when we came back at night. Very clean and comfortable room. The staff was very helpful with restaurant suggestions and directions. We really had to hunt for the hotel as there are no big signs on the very small street, but that added to the delight of finding this quaint hotel with a beautiful courtyard that always reminded us that we were in Italy.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Fantastic stay the hotel was very clean and lovely decorated. The staff were very helpful and the location was perfect right in the middle of all the attractions and city.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 31 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent location - 3-minute walk from St. Marco , but very quiet : the window overlooks the courtyard. Tasty and various breakfast, nice and helpful receptionists

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Slightly dark room, ask for one facing the courtyard.

    Loved this hotel, minutes from St Marks and Rialto. Exceptionally clean, staff are fabulous. It’s not the most luxurious 4* I’ve stayed in but you really don’t need that in a city. This hotel has everything you need at great value.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing..everything was great.

    How relaxing it was very quiet although it was located close to both Rialto Bridge and St Mark's square. The breakfast was plentiful you were never short for choice.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    wifi on 4th floor didnt work

    The location was superb, close enough (7 min walk) to s. marco, and far enough so that the carnival didnt get in the way. The staff was very helpful, the hotel very clean, and breakfast excellent.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I will say, that if you are arriving late us as it's hard to understand if that is the hotel in the square, it doesn't have its name lit up anywhere or identifications, except on the wall once you get closer.

    Good location. Clean rooms! Breakfast not the biggest selection, but all fresh and nicely served. It is Venice, so don't expect massive rooms, the rooms are small, but all clean and nicely done up. The staff was friendly and everyone spoke English.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing (A little bit difficult to find the hotel for the first time, although it is situated at very good location.)

    Perfect location between San Marco and Rialto, but very calm and hidden place. Friendly and helpful staffs. Charming small hotel in classic style. Marvelous breakfast.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom although very clean was a bit dangerous as I slipped a few times walking in on the tiles even in bare feet. The bath fittings were not very well located as the hand shower was fixed too low which again was dangerous should anyone slip. Breakfast scrambled eggs need to be kept hot. There is a small room as you walk in with a table, chairs and a small bed which is useful to put some of your stuff as the bedroom is small although enough to just sleep at the end of a long day. There is a rug on the floor which although looks very nice is another danger for slipping as it sits on a highly polished wooden floor .

    Bed was exceptionally comfy. Had a great nights sleep after long days of sightseeing. Reception staff were very friendly and more than helpful . Nice variety for breakfast to set you up for a day of sightseeing. Room decor was of a nice quality in a traditional style.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have no complaints.

    The staff was excellent! They suggested an amazing restaurant for dinner. They helped me when I was feeling ill. And they were always friendly and helpful!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    What a lovely Hotel. Super friendly staff, lovely room. Very clean. Someone takes great pride in maintaining the facilities. Superbly well situated. A short walk to St Marks Sq and Rialto bridge. Excellent!! recommend!!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Really hard to find, set in a lovely quaint courtyard but not easy to locate though have to say this is Venice in general!

    Staff couldn't have been more friendly and helpful, giving local information, answering our questions and helping us to book trips out of hours. The breakfast was also wonderful, fantastic choice of continental delicacies and fresh made juices!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Only a few things to be honest and things that for us it didn't really effected us so much but it would have been nice to have...Such as some robes in our bedroom. A sign do not disturb [ not that they did] A bit more plugs around the room. The room didn't have a balcony but probably because of what we paid for the room.

    The location of the hotel is perfect for who wants to stay in the city center of Venice. It is great for those who want a nice small cosy hotel to stay in. The staff is very nice and helpful!! ALOT! Apart from sending me instructions beforehand on how we can arrive from the airport to the hotel, the even gave us a map sent by email and another detailed one of the city and one of the staff came in to put our luggage in our room and we took the elevator and he took the stairs - very kind of him. He also showed us around the room and how to use certain things !food is amazing ! Our only regret is that we didn't book a half board booking. We loved to just enjoy our breakfast because it was delicious! The room and cleanliness was impeccable. They always came to clean it. There was a minibar, a small TV, a heater, a window and basic things of course. The light was not bad as well. It was pretty great. The elevator of the hotel wasn't working but in a few minutes they fixed so pretty awesome indeed!! The wifi was quite good as well.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was the perfect stay, with a great location (near San Marco Square and the Rialto Bridge, near all the good restaurants). The staff was very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast was delicious and we appreciated that on the last day we checked out very early and we received a bag with breakfast to go. Everything was great and we recommend it. We would definitely come back.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 January 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Excellent breakfast buffet, good selection of beverage, tasty small sandwiches and a good selection of pastry. Perfect location in a quite courtyard, within short walking distance to Piazza San Marco and Rialto bridge. Very friendly and very helpful staff at the reception desk.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The locality is very central. It’s quite and private away from main roads. The staff are most helpful and the breakfasts are fantastic.

    Quiet Hotel in a private enclosed piazza - difficult to find on Day 1.Tip - with Hermès shop on your RHS turn run into next alley and then First right into a tunnel leading to the courtyard.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    View was straight onto a wall.

    The king sized bed was so comfortable, I haven't slept so well for a long time. There was a lot of attention to detail at the hotel.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel was easy enough to find (for Venice) and was close to a boat taxi stop which was helpful. They have a 24 hour desk which makes late check-in and early check-out easy. We left early on the day of check out and they prepared a breakfast box for us which was very helpful. The rooms look exactly as they are shown in photos

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The breakfast was great, simple but a great choice! Rooms a little dated however added to the look and feel of the hotel, English TV channels would have been nice when in the room changing etc. However that is being very picky! Great stay overall

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Very pleasant hotel in an almost hidden courtyard...very tastefully decorated, welcoming and helpful personnel and an excellent breakfast. Location between San Marco and Rialto bridge and market is very convenient.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing was that bad but the TV remote was worn out and very difficult to use. The hotel was very warm but we could open the windows so not a problem.

    We had a great couple of nights, it was easy to find a couple minutes walk from Rialto bridge and St Marco Square. The room was large and comfortable with a good size en-suite complete with a full size bath. The included breakfast was good with a wide range of food, they happily catered for coleliac with a range of bread and biscuits. I would recommend this hotel we had a great time and would definitely go back.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Al Codega was a wonderful place to stay. Hidden in a delightful courtyard close to both Rialto and San Marco, it provided a respite from the hustle and bustle of Venice whilst being close to the action. All the staff were friendly, helpful and very efficient, a delicious breakfast was provided and there was a comfortable space for relaxing and reading the paper. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    This is our fourth stay at Al Codega, which speaks for itself! The staff are very friendly and obliging, the breakfast buffet is very extensive, and our room, which had a small separate seating area was lovely. The location, in the centre of Venice, makes walking round the city so convenient. As the hotel is situated in a lovely courtyard, there is no city noise at all. The location also gives easy access to many restaurants.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Noisy people next door (walls suprisingly thin) and people coming and going all night with cases kept me awake.

    Location was fantastic. Courtyard setting quiet and away from bustle of venive. Rooms clean and well appointed. Staff friendly and breakfast good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    A superb property perfectly located for exploring Venie. A mere 5 minutes away from both Rialto and Piazza San Marco. From the warm greeting, comfortable and clean accommodation, through to the delightful breakfast, we couldn't fault our stay at Al Codega. It met all of our needs for exploring Venice for the Biennale.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Only minor downside was , the shower was very dark. We have deep set , low voltage down lights over ours at home.

    Everything you could wish for was supplied. The staff were exceptionally helpful and friendly. Super breakfast with great service. Booked our transport to the airport and helped transfer our luggage which made such a difference to easing our journey home.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Great hotel in a great location that is equally accessible yet hidden away in its own courtyard. Rooms and breakfast were great and staff were very helpful.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Everything in the mini-bar is chargeable but it’s quite easy to buy mineral water and everything you need from the Coop mini-market which is about 5 minutes walk away.

    Wonderful experience living in a boutique hotel located in a Venetian courtyard. Very quiet within the courtyard and yet less than 5 minutes to Piazza San Marco and less than 10 minutes to the Rialto bridge. Plenty of shops, restaurants, gelataria, etc everywhere you look. First impressions were great with the front desk personnel greeting us with a warm smile and lots of recommendations for sightseeing and restaurants even though we arrived rather late in the evening. All the front desk staff including Jadranka were very friendly and helpful. Stayed in the Junior Suite which was a wonderful experience - nice views on the fourth floor of the hotel and spacious. The bathroom was fine but perhaps in a perfect world could have been a little bigger but it was comfortable for us. The hotel is only ten years old and filled with antiques by the owner. Breakfast was also very memorable - served on the first floor in a lovely dining room which had the ambience of an English drawing room which had views of the courtyard . Lots of cold cuts, cheeses, pastries and biscuits to try. Would definitely love to stay here again when I return to Venice.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 September 2017

    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    An excellent hotel located extremely centrally on San Marco, yet with blissful silence in the room. The staff are outstanding, the rooms are comfortable (including good air conditioning) and the breakfast is extremely delicious. It was our third stay at this hotel and we are very much looking forward to returning.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was only one down side to this hotel, and that was the confusion about how the heck to get there in the crazy windy labyrinth that is venice streets... It's a great location right between the San Marco district and Rialto bridge. Close to everything touristy you'd want to do. That might be the case with many hotels in lovely Venice

    Hotel was beautiful, comfortable lovely bed, air conditioned, comfortable luxurious bathroom, and staff were sweet and helpful. Breakfast was the best of our entire time in Italy! Amazing spread.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was tiny, smaller than the room on our last cruise boat (claustrophobic small) Bed was full size, not queen size as advertised. For two grown adults this is not comfortable to sleep on! Hotel staff wasn't very helpful answering our questions

    Perfect location for touring Venice Great breakfast, loved the bruschetta Air conditioning worked - important as it was very hot outside

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing to dislike.

    Our experience was perfect. The staff were amazing. Always happy to help and very professional. The hotel is in a perfect location between st marks square and the rialto bridge. Only 5 minutes to each. The rooms were a good size, very clean linen was changed every day. Definitely coming back. 5 stars.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 2 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It isn't so much a dislike as a "heads up" that electrical outlets are scarce so just be aware if you have multiple electronic devices to bring an adapter that can fit two or more!

    Perfect location between St Marks and Rialto. Hotel is hidden in a courtyard so you have to really plot it before you go as GPS gets funky within Venice. My single room was tight but fine. Staff were terrific! Very accommodating and engaging.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The TV could have more English speaking channels and it would have been nice to have had somewhere to sit outside.

    Very comfortable bed and very friendly staff

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Rooms are small and the hotel is a little tricky to get to. If you travel to Venice, map out exactly which water taxi stop to take and the easiest way to get to the hotel. You will have to walk with your luggage to the hotel. There are no cars on the main island so getting to and from with luggage can be a bit tough.

    Morning breakfast was excellent, good wifi and hotel service was excellent. It is a great hotel if you are looking to save a little bit of cash but still stay in a clean, safe environment. The nicer hotels in Venice will easily run over $200 - $300 a night while this was about $180. Also, the hotel provided email instructions of how to get to the hotel, which is not exactly on a main road and the streets in venice can be tricky. Also, it is right between Ponte Realto and Saint Marc's Square the two big attractions in Venice.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints!

    Great central location but in a quiet nook in the city so crowds and noise were kept at bay. Excellent attentive staff, breakfast was sensational. Great hotel.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing that we did not like

    We loved the friendly, helpful staff, the clean well appointed rooms, the excellent breakfasts, and the location was perfect. Tiramisu and french brie for breakfast is wonderful. Of course there was plenty else to eat too.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Minor points : The a/c was a little difficult to adjust and a little weak when very warm. Breakfast staff were a little impersonal. Overall a lovely stay and we're very happy to return for the next Biennale!

    Wonderful location! We were greeted like old friends as they remembered us from 4 years ago! Personnally escorted to our lovely room to remind us how everything worked, lovely touch! Immaculately clean with daily service. Very comfortable bed and very quiet, good shower although small. Great service such as booking the restaurant and happy to assist in any way. Good varied breakfast with great presentation of juices.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms were a bit small but beautifully decorated with old world charm. The directions were a little bit difficult to follow according to my GPS . There were a lot of bridges and steps so when visiting be sure not to take a lot of luggage

    The people were very friendly and the hotel was beautiful. The breakfast was phenomenal!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 June 2017

    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Everything was great.

    Beautiful hotel centrally located in a small courtyard away from crowds. Close to St. Marks square. Breakfast was great - made me a box breakfast when leaving very early - and WiFi worked well. A really great place to stay in Venice. I would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel poorly sign posted and difficult to find. Map supplied was not helpful. We also didn't like having to lodge our room key with reception on the second floor each time we went out.

    The location between San Marco and Rialto was superb. Breakfast was lovely and staff were helpful. Room was clean and comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is central to St Marks's and Rialto. All of the staff were welcoming and extremely helpful with our travel arrangements. Clean and quiet, and a truly great breakfast.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room, although charming, felt a little small, as well as the shower. I did not mind, but my companion felt a little uncomfortable due to a slight suffering of claustophobia.

    The hotel staff was super friendly and professional. Breakfast buffet was comprised of homemade tarts and pastries, mini sandwiches, juices, etc. Coffee was served in fine china. The price was better than other 4 star hotels in the area.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing not to like. Wifi was a little temperamental but nothing major.

    Loved the location, the Venetian feel of the property, the size of the rooms and the friendly staff.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing not to like at this property

    It was a bit of a challenge to find the property, LOL, but what isn't hard to find in Venice! We had a young lady working at the front desk come and rescue us from somewhere in the neighborhood, after a little restaurant tucked away in the middle of nowhere called the hotel for us . She showed us to the hotel, the day before, so we would be familiar with where we were going once we disembarked from our cruise ship. The next day, on our return, we were greeted by a wonderful woman who helped us with our luggage and directions on where to go and what to do. The property was a 10 out of 10 the staff was a 10 out of 10 the breakfast was a 10 out of 10 and we couldn't have asked for a better experience. I would recommend this property to anyone and everyone I came across !

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Whilst this hotel does pretty much justify the price you pay for it, a tray with tea & coffee in the room wouldn't go a miss.

    The hotel is a little hard to find initially but when you do its location is perfect. Tucked away a few yards from the main walkway between San Marco and Rialto and no more than a 5 minute walk to both tourist hot spots. The staff were excellent, all very welcoming and keen to help in what ever way they could. Breakfast ranged from basic cereals to a very high class buffet, all readily available from 07.30am to 10.30am every day. The room was spotless and comfortable, it included a safe, mini bar and a rather trendy hidden tv, i'll leave that for you to discover.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Our room was exceptionally small and for $ 300 a night, and even though we were in expensive Venice with high-priced real estate, we expected a tad more space. This is something for us to take up with booking.com, we think. In a 23-day and night Italian vacation, we had the worst rooms in the 8 hotel rooms we stayed in and booked with them. We had used booking.com for 2 previous Italy trips and this was not the way it was before. Previously, we had patios and this time we only had 1/8 rooms with a patio. We also had spacious rooms before and not so this time.

    Two things stood out: first, the location of the property which was in the heart of the historic centre of Venice while also being easy to get to from the water taxi and second, the staff. Salvatorre and Rachele were highly competent and professional and the 2 hotel employees that were memorable. My husband would have added a third high point: the breakfasts. We stayed four nights and four days and he never missed a breakfast; they were that good.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Nothing.

    This is the second time we have stayed at this hotel. We find it perfect. The hotel is very well located, it is spanky clean, the staff are friendly and very professional and the breakfast is excellent with a big choice.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Prices are high but that's the price you have to pay when willing to stay close to and within this scarcely available land amid the waters.

    The location is great, having proximity to the main attractions, especially the Rialto bridge and San Marco. Being run by a family (most of the hotels are converted from residences and are being run by their owners themselves) it gives you a cozy feeling.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There was nothing we didn't like

    Amazing hotel just wish we had booked more than one night. Very central yet in a quiet courtyard away from all the hustle and bustle

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Just a little trickly finding the hotel when arriving in Venice for the first time at night - directions provided by the hotel in advance could be a little more specific to help the final few metres of the journey.

    Fabulous location, just a few minutes walk from both Rialto and St Marco. Wonderfully quiet in a private courtyard. Very attentive and friendly staff. Good breakfast. For Venice, good size of room.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    That the mattress was on the floor.

    The staff was outstanding. Friendly, helpful...very nice to deal with. The hotel itself was fantastic, clean, close proximity to most everything. Everything I expected and more. My only complaint is the bed...it was comfortable but every low, like on the ground. I'm taller and I prefer a taller frame, other than that it was comfy. And the breakfast spread was heavenly, fresh, homey...like visiting that friend that knows how to hostess with the mostess!!!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The tourist Tax is charged in cash which is a problem as I would prefer to charge everythng to my card instead.

    Had a Good Room and the Bed was very comfortable. The Breakfast was amazing. The bruschettas were worth waking up for. The location meant that we could get up late and sleep late while still being able to enjoy the city during its entire working hours. Very close to St. Marks Square and Rialto Bridge, and also umpteen restaurants. But at the same time since this hotel is in a small square of its own, it is very quiet during the nights as well. Would visit again

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Small room, but expected in Venice. Still charming.

    Location is excellent. The staff is very courteous and friendly. The hotel is located in a beautiful courtyard. Very peaceful and quiet, right in the heart of the city center. Not hard to find at all, with the instructions given by the property. We walked all the way from the train station. Very good breakfast!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It's difficult to pinpoint anything negative about the Hotel Al Codega. If I were to say anything it would have to be the price, but the beautiful room and service made me feel I was getting a good deal.

    Where to begin... Our stay at the Hotel Al Codega was the pinnacle of our honeymoon in Italy. The moment we walked into the small quiet square where it is located we loved it. The staff were extremely friendly and I cannot say enough good things about them: they were helpful with recommending activities, restaurants, and tips for getting the most out of exploring Venice. We stayed in one of the suites, which was stunning. Beautiful Victorian decor. The daily breakfast was fabulous and the waitstaff were courteous and attentive.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel's security was a little bit over the top. We were told at check in that we needed to leave our key at the reception every time we left and picked it back up when we came back. We couldn't take the elevator without it stopping at the floor reception is on. It felt more like a prison as the staff was highly aware of where we were at all times...

    The hotel was in a great location close to St. Marco's square. It was extremely clean and the breakfast was well beyond expectations.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Hotel might be a little difficult to find with your luggage.

    The breakfast was amazing. Location is also very good. It's clean, quiet and comfortable.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    We'd have liked housekeeping to take care of the room in the morning rather than in the afternoon but it wasn't a deal breaker for us.

    What a gem! The location of this property is just perfect: a quiet patio right next to all of Venice's main attractions and plenty of shops and restaurants around. It's a 5 min walk from both St. Mark's square and the Rialto bridge. Our room was impeccably clean and the bed was large and very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and attentive to all our needs throughout our stay. Breakfast was definitely the highlight of our stay at the property: what a treat! Fresh and delicious local products; we started every day with a huge smile on our faces :-)

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 March 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like.

    Friendly helpful staff, comfy bed, lovely room, nice courtyard, great breakfast, very peaceful atmosphere, extremely relaxed, really close to all the sights like San Marco and the Gran Canale.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a bit hard to get to the hotel when we arrived to venice, but not that hard either :)

    I went to Venice with my wife for our honeymoon and we found everything just perfect. Amazing staff, constantly aware of any need, comfy rooms and remarkably clean (said by my wife considering she is nuts about this). Last but not least, an amazing variety of italian bits for breakfast. Just PERFECT

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Staff friendly and efficient and helpful. Excellent location. Breakfast superb. Quiet location. Small bar if you wanted, reasonably priced. Would stay again and highly recommend. Was not difficult to find the hotel, went straight there, even in the pouring rain! Watched the you tube video someone had put on and followed the map, simples! Not always easy to get your bearings and did put phone on roaming a couple of times, a great city, but expensive.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The king bed was actually two single beds put together, which was very uncomfortable to sleep in the middle.

    Great staff, good breakfast and a very nice stay in general. Highly recommended

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    No Tea and Coffee making facilities in the room, having to pay extra for this facility.

    Small family feel to the Hotel, and friendly and helpful staff. Quiet and very clean.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We liked it all!

    We enjoyed the whole ambiance of the hotel,it was friendly and had character,clean and comfortable! This was our second visit as we loved everything about it!

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: 20 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pretty poor overall. It is not a 4 star hotel as advertised. Maybe 2 star. It not good at all. Don't stay here if you have an option.

    Not much at all. Will not stay here even at a much lower price. It's bad.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was delicious and all the staff were extremely helpful. Hotel security was above and beyond and no request was too hard. The location was hard to beat!

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We couldn't stay longer !

    The best breakfast in a hotel , they take great pride in what they serve . I remembered it from 3 years ago and it was the same, if not better ! Great position also .

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Breakfast, was only continental, although many options. Only cooked option was scrambled egg, which was put out in dish which went cold very quicklyMachine to toast bread switched off all time, so had to go in 5-6 times to toast. Cream for tea, no milk.. Otherwise very pleasant stay, and would return

    Warm and comfortable room, in a central location. Friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would be great to have at least one channel on the TV with English speaking news. The room was quite cramped but I guess that is part of the course in Venice. (perhaps a sign outside the courtyard to point out where the hotel is)

    Lovely and warm in the freezing Venice temperatures. Helpful staff, good breakfasts and comfy bed.

    Stayed in January 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Hotel Al Codega traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: