Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

View vacation packages to

  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. USA hotel reviews
  3. California hotel reviews
  4. San Francisco hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre Hotel

Reviews of Hotel Del Sol, a Joie de Vivre Hotel This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

3100 Webster Street, Marina District, San Francisco, CA 94123, United States of America

#114 of 270 hotels in San Francisco

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 330 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.8

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.5

  • Staff

    9

  • Value for money

    6.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2019

    7.9
    Super friendly and accommodating staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Poolside Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was quite dark. No fridge in the room either.

    Super friendly and accommodating staff. Great location - walking distance to Marina Green and The Golden Gate Bridge.

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2019

    4.2
    You have to go down to the small reception area to get your...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    You have to go down to the small reception area to get your breakfast and bring the food back to your room. This is more of a motel than a hotel. We booked for 4 days but decided to cut our stay by 2 days.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 29, 2019

    10
    LOVE IT!
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only negative if any is the size of the bathroom showerhead. I know it's for water conservation but there are more modern options that project a larger spray.

    my 3rd time staying at this location. Amazing staff! This location is called "Cow Hollow/Marina". so many food options and everything is within a good walking distance. SF is expensive!! This is a fantastic option and value.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2019

    6.7
    Not what i bought and paid for
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Room Selected at Check-In
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Assured my 2nd floor room was the "poolside" room i selected and paid for then told next day i was "upgraded" to a suite and not given the poolside i paid for and asked for. Pointed out website offered free bicycle rental and free continental breakfast- but then charged an "urban amenity" fee of $15 per day to cover those items. Oscar assured me website did not state that and tried to show me- after he read that, he looked at me and said "what do you want" and "if you want to downgrade yourself" back to a poolside, you can certainly do that. No apology for being lied to the night before or that their website contradicts their charges.

    Decor/Sunny Colors/pool - evenjng staff friendly and helpful with maps and questions, pointimg out places to see

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    8.8
    If we have the dog, we'd stay again
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Poolside Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Video entertainment leaves something to be desired, fairly limited. It would be nice if they informed us that parking was $30.00 (but that DOES include in and out privileges ) A small refrigerator in the room would be nice especially since they are seeking families with kids.

    Great location, close to Marina and Union Street districts. Very dog friendly which is why we selected it in the first place. Rooms are clean and comfortable and have been remolded. There is an in-room safe. Very good Continental Breakfast. Friendly staff.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    9.6
    Oscar was amazing - so helpful and knowledgable about the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    On first impressions of the Hotel it was very garish! If colours were subdued it would be more appealing on first impression!

    Oscar was amazing - so helpful and knowledgable about the area and getting around. Good location - close to restaurants and shops and a short bus ride to Fisherman’s wharf and major attractions

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2019

    8.8
    Great hotel with an awesome location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Would have been nice with a mini-fridge to keep water and snacks.

    The continental breakfast was great - better than what we paid for at our previous hotel. The staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: May 10, 2019

    10
    Fresh, friendly and fantastic location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to say goodbye :(

    Fresh, friendly and fantastic location. Staff always greeted you and gave plenty of suggestions on what type of activities were in the area. Lots of pastries in office area + drinks at anytime...cookies are great family looked forward to 3pm when the tray arrived with fresh baked cookies.

    Stayed in May 2019

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2019

    8.8
    Great staff, decent rooms, A Very pleasant stay indeed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No Coffee maker in the room, bathrooms r quite tiny! Price seems very high for location n room offered.

    Super helpful staff, super clean rooms n linens, decent location, good breakfast and coffee, 24hrs Coffee tea and cookies. Loved the front desk friendliness. Don't be misled by the motel like feel of this place, we booked this as a last resort as Most hotels were sold out in downtown, but were pleasantly surprised , great place, lovely staff, great Coffee n breakfast. Clean spacious rooms.

    Stayed in April 2019

  • Reviewed: April 1, 2019

    10
    Loved it. Will definitely stay again when in the city.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Poolside Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The elevator wasn't working. The lighting in the room could have been better so one person can get ready there while the bathroom is in use.

    The staff was super friendly and helpful. The breakfast was fresh and the coffee was pretty good.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 27, 2019

    7.9
    Family motel in a great location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cute and fun decor and vibe. Great location. Nice and easy parking. Pool was a hit with the kiddos. Felt very comfortable and welcoming for our family.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 25, 2019

    10
    Location is great for kids.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing- had no problems with my stay

    Location is great for kids. Playground within walking distance. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Lots of fun things to do within easy driving distance. Hammocks were fun. Nice outdoor sitting area. Snacks and coffee in the office were a nice treat.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 21, 2019

    7.9
    Too expensive for what it offers.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is included in the price but it is served in the reception which is a very small room, so It get’s crowded in the morning and as there are no tables to eat, people eat standing and talking by the pastries. We got a room on the third floor and there was no elevator.

    The localization was very good and the room was comfortable and clean.

    Stayed in March 2019

  • Reviewed: March 5, 2019

    5.8
    Not professional and low quality
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 8 nights

    I have been in this hotel for 8 nights, only at the check out i’ve been told that in their opinion there was bad smell of smoke in my room so they applied 250$ fee for that. I smoked in the garden and nowhere is written that you can’t smoke in the garden. I didn’t have to possibility to check the room with someone from the hotel because they weren’t available and then I was checking out and I had to go; it’s the first time it happens to me. At the reception people are changing every day, so some of them know that there is a complimentary car service and others don’t know, one guy is not able to print an invoice so I have to wait for next worker in the next morning, and so on… Breakfast is very basic and there is no place to sit! You can just eat standing, or sit outside in winter, or eat breakfast in your room. Even if we supposed to have coffee/tea machine in the room I had to ask for it because there wasn’t.

    Location is good, and rooms are comfortable.

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2019

    9.6
    Very nice staff, and enjoyed the free bycicle rental
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The first night, I only slept when the noisy neighbours went to sleep.Apart from that, very calm environment

    Very nice staff, and enjoyed the free bycicle rental

    Stayed in February 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    10
    Bring the family or dog and enjoy your trip!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Poolside Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There could have been more protein at breakfast, babybel cheese or boiled eggs (but the pastries and bagels were delicious). Parking is a little tight, but doable. Not a lot bad though, we really enjoyed our stay.

    Room was spacious, even with the pack and play for the baby. Staff was attentive, friendly, and very kind. Right next to the pool, which would have been great if we weren't FL chickens. No A/C, in our particular room but it's SF in December, so we didn't mind. Heat worked well.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: January 1, 2019

    10
    Loved it!
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathrooms are compact. It was fine for me but a little tight for my spouse who is well over 6 feet tall. Also, we noted the elevator was out of service at the time of our visit, We can do stairs, but others might have an issue.

    Hotel Del Sol is fun and quirky with bright colors and lots of interesting art. The location is very convenient, between Union and Chestnut Street, with many dining options a very short stroll away. We were upgraded to a 2 room suite on arrival as the facility was not super busy. The rooms are compact but conveniently arranged. I was surprised at how quiet our room was, in the middle of the busy city. Breakfast is good! After seeing the same thing over and over at many hotels, we were very pleased with the delicious array of European style baked goods that are delivered fresh daily. The clerk made good dining suggestions. All in all, it was a hit and we would stay here again for sure.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 23, 2018

    8.8
    Although it was a little far to walk to the bay it was the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to walk up stairs but that was my fault should have asked for bottom floor.

    Although it was a little far to walk to the bay it was the cheapest I could find for car parking.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    5.4
    Good location
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First room was dirty, full of hair on the bathroom and bed was not clean either. Later was moved to a smaller room that was better but first impression stayed. Its more like a motel really, breakfast is few donuts that are available in the reception and workers could be more helpful. Wouldn’t stay there again.

    Good location

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: December 7, 2018

    8.5
    The staff were very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Poolside Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wish there was a boiler in our rooms and simple cutlery would be nice!

    The staff were very friendly. Place is simple, but there is an understated comfort and friendliness about it. :)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    7.9
    Very helpful staff, price, large rooms/bathroom, comfy...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No “space” (crowded) in the reception/breakfast room, funny smell in the room sometimes

    Very helpful staff, price, large rooms/bathroom, comfy beds,

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    9.6
    Lots of soul at hotel del sol
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location, and great vibe. A cool oasis in the hip part of SF. Great place to relax in the courtyard after a busy day sightseeing. Simple but good breakfast included.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    7.1
    Serve hot coffee & tea & juice & cookies all day.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The most expensive hotel we had in USA while not value so much. The lift was out of work during our stay. The breakfast was very limited and only breads, jam/butter and yogurt. And have to take it in room. Not nearby any attractions and we had to take taxi or bus to anywhere. but good for self-driving family.

    Serve hot coffee & tea & juice & cookies all day. The room was fairly enough for family and deco was good. Like the poll but too cold to enjoy. Stores and restaurants are walkable.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    7.9
    Nice staff nice area it’s a motel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The price during the dream convention. I had no choice but to visit at this time. I had a 48 hour cancel option. I tried to change my stay from 5 to 3 nights but it seemed this would be a rebooking which would cost even more. Booking dot com referred me to the hotel who referred me back to booking. Com who didn’t reply to my email so I just gave up. I did want to get refund for 2 nights I didn’t stay but in the end I didn’t.Nice

    The walk in wardrobe with iron and board. Spacious room. Nice bathroom. Going downstairs to collect breakfast and bringing it back to room. The area had nice restaurants and bars and it was quiet at night. If you like walking, it’s easy to get to some attractions

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 6, 2018

    9.6
    Cute, clean, friendly
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    San Francisco is expensive. For $500 less we could have stayed in a dump in a sketchy area, for $1000 more we could've had the same size room in a big name hotel with no pool. This is a quiet, safe area, super clean property with lovely staff. One thing- they swiped our card/no chip reader which set off a security alert. It was resolved on the spot with a phone call but you may want to contact your bank beforehand to avoid this. Really great, charming little motel with comfy beds.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2018

    7.9
    Exceptionally nice staff.
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Though appearing very clean, the room had a dank mold odor (50s era hotel near ocean).

    Exceptionally nice staff. The hotel shows wear in the public spaces, but the rooms were surprisingly clean given it's one of the few in town that accepts pets (we brought our large Bernese). Short walk to dog park, marina and cow hollow amenities.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    8.8
    The staff was kind and helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bathroom was small, and the light didn't work properly.

    The staff was kind and helpful. The location is good, Pier 39 is just half an hour by public transport.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    6.7
    i'd stay in a pinch - but value to price isn't there.
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    it was really expensive. the room was 2 beds and was $300+. parking was $30 a night for self parking. the lights in the courtyard stay on all night, so the blinds don't to a great job of blocking that out.

    great location, and really nice staff. it was easy to check in and check out. parking was easy. the place is updated, but air conditioning is still a side unit in the room. pool is great and location was close to everything we wanted to go to.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    9.2
    Hotel Del Sol's location is perfect, you can get to so...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Poolside Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights

    It would be lovely to have more fruits and vegetables for breakfast. If you stay like us for a whole week then it can get bland really quickly. Also considering the amount of rooms there could be more tables+chairs by the pool, there definitely is room for that!

    Hotel Del Sol's location is perfect, you can get to so many different districts just on foot! Loved the neighborhood and the restaurants closeby for example on Chestnut and Fillmore Streets. Checking in and out was really fast, staff at work was always attentive and friendly. Specially would like to point out Oscar who was working at the reception daily and was superhelpful! We didn't need much help ourselves, but overheard people checking in/out, looking for recommendations, asking help with parking, luggage etc - he really is a star at Del Sol! Originally we booked a poolside room, but we had a clogging problem in out bathroom the second day and got upgraded to a better room on the third floor. The room upstairs was newer, brighter and quieter. Thank you for that aswell!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    7.9
    Staying in Hotel del Sol
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    - Limited breakfast variety and limited space to eat your breakfast - not clean swimming pool

    - internet coverage very good - very friendly and helpful staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    8.3
    Quirky hotel and great staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really liked the reception staff - they were both incredibly helpful & nothing was too much trouble. Good location & great for local restaurants. Easy parking.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: July 30, 2018

    4.6
    *hithole
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The Marketing of this place is excellent as it is actually a very basic motel and is nothing like the pictures on the web. It was the worse place we stayed on our holiday. It's very tired, the pool is full of debris and you have to eat the breakfast outside in the cold. If it was cheap that might be be ok but it's not!

    Staff were all really lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 20, 2018

    8.8
    Very clean, good location and perfect for a few nights, for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was comfortable but not very spacious for 4 people.

    Very clean, good location and perfect for a few nights, for a small group. Staff was incredible. Simple breakfast but good choices.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 19, 2018

    7.1
    Fair location - although not very close to main sights.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Extremely poor breakfast. No covered room to eat breakfast. Although we travelled in July it was extremely cold in the morning so we were freezing each day while having breakfast. Altogether very expensive compared to provided services.

    Fair location - although not very close to main sights. Many restaurants nearby.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    4.6
    Nice personnel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Price ca 500 USD in total per night which is really excessive given quality of 1/ rooms, 2/ building itself, 3/ very weak breakfast, 3/ location and many others. Nobody informed in advance about 54 usd per night of additional charge for bicycle (never used though), limited breakfast, slow internet and small swimming pool. Plus 30 usd per night for parking. Overall very badly spent money. Very expensive for low standard.

    Nice personnel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 12, 2018

    7.9
    Great neighbourhood but expensive hotel and think it’s cheeky to charge extra for a fridge.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Had to pay $25 to rent a fridge for the room, despite there being space for one. Toilet easily blocked and when advised desk, they handed me a plunger!

    Great neighbourhood with lots of good eating places. Helpful desk clerk. Free bikes and pastries for breakfast.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.6
    Loved this quirky fun hotel where they obviously want to exceed expectations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Poolside Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Parking fees though cheaper to gab many places and pretty standard in San Francisco.

    Lloyd(?) at the front desk was extremely helpful and went to great lengths to help us get around the city by bus. Decor may not be a veryones style but we loved it as it contributed to a bright happy atmosphere. Free bikes were a great bonus as were hammocks and little central garden area. Pastries and cookies in front rec prion also a great touch.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    Great escape within the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is great place to stay when you want to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. It is a quiet secluded hotel with a swimming pool that is close to all the sites, shopping, and Financial District.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    7.9
    Good value place to stay in San Francisco Bay Area
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Probably not in the best location in San Francisco for a tourist. Staying here, we found we often had to walk further or catch extra buses compared to staying elsewhere in the bay area. Wi-Fi performance wasn't very good either.

    Staff were very friendly and very helpful during our stay. Room was a very good price and represents one of the best value hotels we were able to find during our stay in San Francisco. The room itself was quite nice and colorful and was comfortable to stay in.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: June 3, 2018

    10
    Great place in Cow Hollow near all the San Fran action
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 8 nights

    Staff were very knowledgeable about the area and extremely helpful with every part of the process. Really close to public transport for a short trip to all attractions and restaurants.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 28, 2018

    8.3
    Bed and pillows were great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bed and pillows were great. Loved the walk-in closet. The bathroom was small, and we would have liked a tub, but it was very clean and functional. Pastries and coffee were good and plentiful, but we only got yogurt one day. Limited stock? The courtyard and pool area were good places to relax away from the street and out of the wind. We would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 24, 2018

    7.5
    Very nice and helpfull staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Poolside Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    No breakfeast restaurang, only simple breskfeast buffé where you pick up your breakfeast and if good weather you can sit outside or bring your tray to your room.

    Very nice and helpfull staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 21, 2018

    8.3
    Nice place with way too many noisy kids and oblivious parents staying there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel is way too kid friendly. There are hammocks, pool and play area in a central courtyard. The many children staying the weekend were screaming and playing starting about 7:15 am. Frankly I would have liked a bit more sleep. Walls are also thin...

    It’s a cute hotel in a great location for the activities we had planned. Restaurants within an easy walk were good. Room was comfortable.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 20, 2018

    9.5
    We enjoyed our stay!! Our room was immaculate, had a great view, and Oscar was a tremendous host.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Poolside Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    "Didn't like" is way too strong. Rather "something of note": The pool had no water in it as a result of undergoing repairs. Not a problem given that it was too cold to be in the pool while we were there. In the future, good guest relations via the website should mention something like, "Our pool is currently not available at this time while it undergoes repairs." The web site should also mention that the hotel is undergoing a renovation and, as a result, noise associated with the construction begins early in the morning and lasts throughout the day.

    Oscar was more than helpful during the registration process. Not only did he get us into our room somewhat ahead of the usual check-in time, he offered great suggestions of places to visit within walking distance and recommended a great place to eat (Rosie's).

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    8.3
    Its reto 50’s - 60’s which is ok.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Poolside Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was comfortable and had everything we needed. The shower was small, but sufficient. The staff were very helpful.

    Its reto 50’s - 60’s which is ok. Would be good for young families. The hotel currently and for the next month are under construction to upgrade it to withstand a large earthquake. This is good, but the noise was not good. They did give us a substantial discount for the noise inconvenience, which was very helpful and fair.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    6.3
    great location but wish the construction was something I was made aware of
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Breakfast was simple continental but no breakfast room meaning you bring up to your hotel room. The most disappointing part was I don't recall the mention of renovation/construction by the website so everyday was filled with very loud construction noise just outside our door and the staircase, walkways were dusty or sandy/muddy when it rained.

    Staff was very friendly and helpful. They were welcoming and ready to go out of their way to help me, esp with my pet.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    5.0
    Terrible place with the only advantage - a good location
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel offers pool and elevator on booking.com, but both of them are not available. For the regular hotel without pool is is too pricey. Also there are very loud construction works in the hotel, that starts in the early morning even on weekends. Staff is rude and unprofessional and also gives different information each time you are facing troubles. When we decided to cancel a part of our stay, they forced us to call booking.com first and refused to do anything without this call despite of the fact that a day before they just told us that we can check out until 12 and they don't need anything from our side. Had some issues with paying with card, something was wrong with the terminal. Beds are very small and uncomfortable. Breakfast is bad. WiFi is okay, but that depends from room to room from ok connection to a really poor.

    Location is really good

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 26, 2018

    10
    Oscar on reception was excellent knew area very well and was very helpful pointing out places to eat
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Poolside Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Unfortunately lot of building work going on but did not cause any problems as work was only carried out during the day when we were out

    Didn't use pool

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 13, 2018

    9.2
    The room was clean and everyone was really helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast is simple, but was ok for 3days

    The room was clean and everyone was really helpful. Fishermans warf and Lombard street are about 20mins walk, Union square is 20mins by bus.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 10, 2018

    5.8
    Breakfast in the garden but terrible internet connection
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe King Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    internet was unstable in the room very difficult to browse the drawers of the cabinet opened when we walked around posing a risk of hitting them it is always a lot of staff movement in the garden that makes the experience somehow unconfortable. some are carrying towels for example, some throwing the dirty ones from 2nd floor balcony to ground floor for example

    Reception Desk Staff. We looked for some green areas and we needed tips. we traveled by SF Bus and all the required information came from them coffee and orange juice were available 24/7 and pastries most of the time. even when we left, long time afte check out time we enjoyed some

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2018

    4.2
    would save probably save up more and stay at another hotel.
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Poolside Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There is a certain bad smell which I don't know where from. Maybe because we are at the street level? One time, there was a rat which crossed out path. There was no place to eat breakfast: you get your breakfast and you find a place near the lawn or eat at your room. I understand that there's no more area for it but I hope that the hotel can find a way. We could also hear steps of people at the room above us.

    I like that Oscar was more than helpful and that the property was close to a lot of diners and a large supermarket. The cleaning ladies were also very polite and did their work well. We had clean rooms everyday. The breakfast choices were limited but the breads and muffins are actually delicious.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    8.8
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No mention when booking that breakfast is in reception and you can either eat outside or take up on tray to your room . Not keen on either as it was winter and freezing cold and not great eating in your room . This should be stated in description of motel . Breakfast ok if you like sweet things but otherwise only an apple that wasn’t sugar ! And packet porridge ... breakfast could be improved without much extra cost ...

    Great location , friendly staff and good room . Room was clean and ok in size, great decor .

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 17, 2018

    10
    Amazing! Would totally go back there!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Poolside Queen Room
    • Stayed 7 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Motel that has been renovated and refreshed as a hotel. Beautiful linen and very comfy bed! The hotel staff were lovely and went out of their way to look after you. They even baked chocolate chip cookies every afternoon! Good location - safe - easy to get around on bus/ walk to fisherman’s wharf. Lovely area!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 9, 2018

    7.5
    Funky decor, comfortable hotel but would not choose again due to pet-friendly policies.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was an underlying ‘manky’ smell in our room. It seemed to come from the carpet and was worse when we came in with damp shoes after rain. Housekeeping always left the bathroom window open during the day. As this is a pet-friendly hotel we wondered about carpet cleaning if pets have been in room? Also pet owners cannot be trusted to maintain hygienic habits with their pets: there was dog excrement on the fake grass and smeared on paving in the courtyard. We would not happily choose a pet-friendly hotel again as a result of this visit also a previous visit to a pet friendly hotel that saw us kept awake by whining dogs left alone in the room next to ours.

    Friendly staff, special mention of Edric who was on afternoon shift and gave us recommendations. Good location, close to the Bay bike path and beaches also lots of dining and shopping options on nearby Union St. Comfortable beds, adequate light breakfasts, good housekeeping service.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2018

    3.3
    Nasty place with bad vibes
    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Poolside Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Couldn't reach them by phone ahead of time-line was busy for days. Parking rate changed from 20$ to 30$ daily overnight. Construction was going on. It was loud and dirty. The room was horrible-small and dark with a tiny shower. There was a swanky veneer of fake niceness but it wasn't enough to dress up a crummy over priced poorly run flophouse.

    Really nothing

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: December 11, 2017

    7.9
    Staff was warm and welcoming.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was awful, did not get a good night sleep. Room was right near the stairwell and could hear everyone as they came and went.

    Staff was warm and welcoming. The location was great and parking cost was reasonable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    7.1
    Location was good, breakfast was ok, just pastrys and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I had to pay extra for every little thing: refrigerator, parking... and it wasn’t all disclosed when I booked the room. Parking was for small cars and we had a big suv which barely fit.

    Location was good, breakfast was ok, just pastrys and oatmeal, the staff was very helpful.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 18, 2017

    6.3
    A bit expensive for what they offer. You definitely pay just for the location...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very simple breakfast and not even a breakfast room. You can sit outside with your bagel, in the rain ;) Swimming pool as not very clean and floor very slippy.

    Perfect location - close to shops and restaurants

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2017

    7.5
    Great staff, clean room and bathroom, poor mattress.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Poolside Queen Room - Disability Access
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was too short (I’m 6’4”) and hard/ lumpy. The pillows were flat.

    Brittni at the front desk was friendly helpful and accommodating. She really made a difference in my stay there.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2017

    6.3
    Satisfactory but could be improved
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights

    There was no microwave in the room - this was really inconvenient! Nor was there anyway to make tea or coffee in the room, unless you have a kettle, again inconvenient and seems a nonsense. Yes one can walked down to the Office for coffee, but why not make things convenient? The room smelt really musty and the carpet was old and seemed dirty - it needs to be replaced. Accommodation in San Francisco is incredibly expensive overall, including here.

    Staff were helpful and breakfast was fairly good. Property is old but they have attempted to brighten it up with colour etc. Location was quite convenient to the Fisherman's Wharf area. Bed was comfortable and air con worked well.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 7, 2017

    8.8
    Comfortable, clean, staff were amazing, super location! Good value for money for San Fran.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Quite a lot of children were staying when I was there, the room wasn't totally sound proof so made it hard to have a day time or early evening nap.

    Super clean, comfortable, extremely friendly and courteous staff! Amazing location, right beside Union Street and Marina - both great for shopping, spa, hairdressers, restaurants and bars.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    6.7
    Had a decent couple of nights, nothing special.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loud kids playing in the pool. Option of free night-only parking on the street not communicated. Quite far from downtown.

    Decent breakfast, cozy courtyard. Wi-fi was fine.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2017

    10
    I would reccommend this hotel to anyone
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Poolside Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It would have been nice to have a mini fridge in the room.

    Good choice and plenty of food. Orange juice was very nice and the coffee was good and hot.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2017

    7.1
    Really nice hotel, just avoid room 101.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Poolside Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Obviously the first room we stayed in for the first night (101) was pretty dire and incredibly noisy and we got literally no sleep so that wasn't the best but once we moved I couldn't fault the place at all.

    We initially checked in but were given a room right by the stairs and the pool which was incredibly noisy, we asked if we could possibly move which we did the next day and the staff even moved our bags and picked up a few items we had left in a draw which was incredibly nice of them and very honest. The rooms are nice and clean, the breakfast is actually a nice touch in the morning, the staff are friendly and location wise its really good for getting around San Fran as everything is walkable or you can get them trams/buses from Lombard St.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2017

    7.9
    Great location, comfortable room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Poolside Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Noise from the street outside (but we were in the only room on the Ground floor with Air Conditioning), and other guests using the staircase outside the room late at night...

    Manager was knowledgeable and welcoming.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 12, 2017

    8.3
    Friendly and knowledgeable staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Would have liked a fridge in the room.

    Friendly and knowledgeable staff. Good location to Fisherman's wharf, and short walk to bus stops to get elsewhere

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2017

    7.1
    The staff is friendly, helpful and customer service oriented.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel furnishings are showing (and feeling) some age. There was no hot water on one of my mornings. I'm not a fan of cold showers!

    The staff is friendly, helpful and customer service oriented. The property is in a great location and the decor is bright and funky. The coffee, scones and breakfast items are a nice touch, as are the cookies in the afternoon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 9, 2017

    9.6
    Would stay again :)
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We ended up complaining about rude guest who were smoking in front of our hotel room and talking super loud at 1+2am in the morning two nights in a row

    It was close to everything we wanted to walk to

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2017

    8.8
    Great little find! Lovely staff, nice rooms and parking (not free)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Poolside Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The breakfast is green apples, pastry or porridge which becomes very carb heavy after the first morning. I think fruit, cheese, charcuterie and yogurts would be a easy solution to make this breakfast suit everyone.

    The air con is great! Excellent staff!! Spacious rooms!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2017

    9.6
    Wish i had more time here. Loved everything about my stay. Such a cute little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Poolside Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff especially the male manager in the evenings are all so very friendly and polite and alwys so very helpful. Such a cute hotel in such a great location. Loved that i could make a hot tea in the foyer

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2017

    5.8
    Disappointing, need to be refreshed. Too expensive regarding comfort & facilities.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Hotel parking extension (30$/night) is not safe, our car glass was broken & digital camera stolen (hidden at the back & smoked glass) during the day while the hotel staff didn't warned us that the hotel parking was not secure (but a neighboor told me it happens very often..!!). Hotel did not took the responsibility, just refund the parking fee. Included breakfast is really poor & not easy going: too much people in the small reception, not enough place to help yourself, not enough chairs at all to sit. You have to sit on the ground in the garden, even when it's cold & raining. We finally took the breakfast in a diner which is not so far. I think hotel Del Sol looks much better on pictures than it's in real, it really need sot be refreshed. It's not a bad hotel, rooms are small but clean & confortable. It could be a nice mid class family motel but price is much too high regarding the comfort & facilities. I would not recommend it in the summer time.

    The way rooms are around a cute patio makes it calm & quiet.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: July 18, 2017

    9.2
    Great hotel, fantastic staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Enforce quiet time 10pm to 8am, noisy kids in courtyard 7-8am. Street noise Friday and Saturday nights.

    Excellent staff, very friendly and helpful. Great continental breakfast, fresh pastries. Coffee available all day; warm, homemade cookies at 3pm!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 15, 2017

    7.5
    Lovely staff, quirky motel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Queen Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing really but so expensive compared with a lot of other centres!

    Staff are all really friendly and helpful. Good neighbourhood to be in - not central but easy walk to a couple of good dining streets. Outdoor pool would be good to cool down but weather did that instead! Managed all we wanted to do from this base but expect to walk a little!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 10, 2019

    5.0
    Great location with heated pool
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expensive for quality of accommodation and noisy

    Great location with heated pool

    Stayed in June 2019

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2019

    9.2
    Great location, friendly staff and nice pool area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Great location, friendly staff and nice pool area.

    Stayed in May 2019

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: