Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa 5 stars

Next to Endurance Village, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

#50 of 421 hotels in Dubai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2881 hotel reviews

8.8

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.2

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.7

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    9.6
    Breakfast at Al Forsan was excellent.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Al Hahdeera arabic buffet - food selection were limited and largely overcooked. Duvet somehow felt a little damp and not fluffy nor comfortable.

    Breakfast at Al Forsan was excellent. All staff were very friendly and helpful. Rooftop bar is perfect to watch desert sunset. Love the pizza and cypress salad at Le Dune pizzeria. Pool is great, and the resort have all kinds of activities (complimentary camel ride, desert safari, fat bike ride, etc) to enjoy. We went to the camel ride and the safari - absolutely amazing!

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    . We will definitely be visiting bab al shams again and we look forward to it.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We loved everything about our stay. The rooms, cleanliness, serenity, discreetness and politness of the staff, the subtle but superb luxury. Location is amazing. Food/ restaurant options all excellent. Lots of activities:things to do. True arabian nights atmosphere

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2018

    10
    Paradise in the middle of the desert!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing at all

    If you really want to get a way from the world and stay in luxury, eat great food etc. then this is the ideal place. Old wordly, quiet, leaves you in a zen state. Even the food by the pool was heavenly especially the salads! Super friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    9.2
    The room was lovely and had a very nice middle eastern...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    We opted for the arabic buffet dinner which I thought was over-priced. The food and entertainment were average for the price you paid.

    The room was lovely and had a very nice middle eastern design. There was a beautiful bathtub in the room. I also liked the pool area a lot and the breakfast selection was good.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2018

    7.5
    they sent cake for honeymooners.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    they knocked the room to do honeymoon setup when we already in the room doing things, like... you should surprise us with the deco, we dont want to see you do the setup.

    they sent cake for honeymooners. staffs are friendly

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 October 2018

    10
    A must do
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I have never travelled to a resort and had nothing short of first class service with everything catered for , staff so friendly and so obliging in every way, making my stay something I’ll never forget

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    10
    Stunning Dessert retreat!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could not fault our stay!

    Beautiful facilities and room! Wish we could have stayed longer. The pools are so tranquil and the the room was stunning- like another world. Staff were amazing and organised a surprise and upgrade for our anniversary which was most appreciated. Would definitely stay here again.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2018

    9.2
    GREAT experience. I would love to come back soon.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Maybe the kids invading the infinity pool on Friday but it´s normal cause the hotel apparently was full., and the lack of dunes around the resort. Just a different type of "typical" desert.

    All the staff was simply great! The customer service and the resort in general exceeded my expectations by far. Special mention to all Al Sarab´s staff (rooftop terrace) and to the Guest Relation one.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 September 2018

    4.6
    😑
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very small room, Bathroom needs paint urgent Balcony-terrace area very dusty and not privacy Birthday setup should be done before we arrive not while we are in the room housekeeping staff insisting to open door saying: open door to setup for your birthday 😯😯😯really?

    😑

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Al hadeerh desert restaurant , night shows .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room size was small , there was no view from our room , Al Hadeerah Restaurant is expensive ,buffet price need to reduce for hotel guest .

    Al hadeerh desert restaurant , night shows . The architecture of the resort . Very nice swimming pool .

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2018

    10
    Excellent for Honey Moon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No complaints at all.

    Staff was very helpful and very friendly and there was also many complementary stuff such as camel rides or photo with falcons. I don't remember a better hotel experience than this, so far.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2018

    10
    The staff were the kindest and most accommodating, both in...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff were the kindest and most accommodating, both in the resort and Al Hadheera restaurant, the room, the pool, the architecture, the ambience, the food, entertainment ... everything was superb and breathtaking ... definitely recommend to both tourists and residents 😍🤩😁

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2018

    9.2
    Swimming pool area is one of the best in Dubai, the staff...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The pillows are a bit uncomfortable

    Swimming pool area is one of the best in Dubai, the staff are very friendly and super helpful and we did have a wonderful time at AlHadeera restaurant. One of my favorite resorts in Dubai !

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 September 2018

    8.3
    Love it as I was looking for a relaxing time
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It is far a way from city almost 1 hour drive Very high price for massage and spa

    It is a nice resort with all you need Nice staff Clean ,, exelent room sevices and comfy beds All goods in resort

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for a weekend getaway from Dubai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't really think of something I didn't like. Bab al Shams is just superb and I highly recommend it!

    It was surely one of the best hotels I've stayed in. Being the low season in Dubai they have more competitive prices and the guest are able to enjoy the facilities without crowds. They were extremely nice by treating us with a birthday cake for my wife and a room upgrade. I'll definitely go back.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    4.6
    Its a good place to have a dinner maybe, but not for a stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Location is too far n there are no other attractions in this area except the hotel itself there, overpriced hotel and all the restaurant options also here are really expensive (standard stay price= buffet dinner for 2) Vallet services will mess up your car so better park it yourself Pools are over rated too

    Arabic theme, friendly staff

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    10
    Any time again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Excellent breakfast choices, very helpful and friendly staff, high quality amenities and room/resort maintenance. Amazing views from Al Sarab Rooftop Lounge and excellent staff, like Mr. Georgios from Moldova made our stay memorable.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    7.9
    Patricia is amazing, the customer service at the breakfast...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The rooms start to get a bit old , the pool bar was closed it’s sad coz it’s nice to have a drink by the pool for the sunset. The price advertise was 445 aed on the booking.com we end up paying almost 800 aed per night for the “taxes “ it’s too much. The food is very basic and not very tasty a bit over priced for the quality

    Patricia is amazing, the customer service at the breakfast is very nice all the staff is very smily and at your service. Pool is beautiful and chill

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 August 2018

    8.8
    I'm a regular and it hasn't changed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Response on facebook was not answered correctly and then the delay n replying again as to my request for lilo's meant it was too late and we had already checked out, need to be prompt.

    I'm a regular and it hasn't changed.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 August 2018

    8.3
    Nice experience for hotel in middle of nowhere.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Kind of expensive,after they include some extra taxes that needs to be pay.

    Nice experience for hotel in middle of nowhere. Resort isn’t that big but it’s clean with great infinity pool. This can be good idea for visit once to change routine if you live in uae.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 August 2018

    9.2
    Our Air-conditioning broke down in the middle of the night...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our Air-conditioning broke down in the middle of the night which made for very uncomfortable sleeping conditions. We were only given a few discounted drinks as compensation for loss of an entire nights sleep.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2018

    5.8
    Shot break at Bab Al shams
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Beduen style of the hotel becomes annoying after sometime. The room was stinky and felt outdated. Breakfast is very poor selection. It was hard to manuver with baby stroller, too many steps. Food is average and too expensive.

    Great staff, pool was nice, kids friendly pool, overall we had good time

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 August 2018

    9.2
    Unforgettable!! Will definitely want to come back when the weather is better!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hadheerah and masala were both closed. I hoped that at least one of the two most popular restaurants should have been kept open! I was quite disappointed at that.

    The service at Dunes and Al Forsan restaurant was excellent! The scent in the beach towels! The cleanliness of the entire property Mr. Hakem, who dropped us to our room, was extremely polite and courteous Mint Lime drink at the reception at the time of check in was so refreshing! The complimentary chocolate cake and Patchi chocolates offered was a good gesture

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 August 2018

    8.8
    An Oasis of tranquility....total relaxation and first class service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The a/c in our room did not go below 23 degrees (room 207) and increased to 25 during the night. Technician advice was that because our room had a balcony it prevented the a/c from going lower, even with balcony door closed and curtains pulled during night it varied between 23-25. Our son's room next door (208) was at a very comfortable 20 degrees the entire time of our stay. Worth noting temperatures outside during our stay were 40+ with 80-100% humidity.

    The staff were fantastic, so helpful and friendly, lovely breakfast service with great variety offered. Special mention of Mr. Hany in Al Forsan for 'First Class' customer service /interaction, he is an ultimate professional who definitely made our stay more personal. We loved Masala Indian restaurant and our experience was enhanced by our wonderful wait person 'Anthony', he helped us chose from the menu and was very knowledgeable about the composition of each dish. The chef's signature dish he recommended was lovely.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    EVERYTHING IS EXCELLENT.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The toilet rolls.. It’s too thin. ✌🏼I hope there’s jacuzzi.

    The pool. The complimentary camel ride and falcon. The Archery. The Cleopatra pool. EVERYTHING actually.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2018

    10
    Despite there being an issue with the electricity in the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Despite there being an issue with the electricity in the room, the evening manager moved us to a same standard room and all staff were quick and eager to help.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2018

    6.7
    disappointed, but there are not other choice in this area next to the horse riding
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Terrace Twin Room
    • Stayed 10 nights

    Beware of the check in they will lock a huge amount of your credit card then at the check in they will hold the double amount that you will get back the difference after 15 days ??? the bank told 30 days, so have some amount in your credit card not to be locked ..

    the bedroom area very quiet, but not very comfortable, too tricky and i had to claim for breakfast table in a room, room services quick but very expensive menu and drinks, TV channels too many in Arabic only few for entertainment or movies, WIFi, speed terrific so i could connect my computers to watch other things on TV and download some apps, despite a large area swimming pool but the water temperature not really chilled, good to have cold water in a bathroom, definitly just a place to sleep only and running so far for outdoor activities, witch make the night so expensive including the 40 % divers taxes, not the place to be in this very hot season...

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Relaxing
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was perfect

    Amazing customer service, the staff were polite and accomodating but not overbearing. My bedroom was spotless, so much attention to detail. The pools were beautiful and the pool towels smelt incredible! It's the little touches like that that made my stay special.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    From the minute you arrive to the minute you leave you are...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing...

    From the minute you arrive to the minute you leave you are treated so well...we love coming back to this hotel. Rooms a re superb. We have 2 children and a superior twin is big enough.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 August 2018

    10
    Amazing 5stars hotel great for a staycation away from Dubai.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing.

    Amazing 5stars hotel great for a staycation away from Dubai. Friendly and helpful staff, always ready to look after every guest. Great swimming pools and buffet breakfast so various with so many type of cuisines. For couples, family and solo travelers

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    10
    Recharge in the desert
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The whole feel created a relaxing environment. The horse riding (the add on, not the short one) was a lifetime bucket list item. Dinner was fantastic. Wish we could have stayed longer.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 August 2018

    10
    Amazing experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We dont have anything that we didnt like.

    We really enjiyed our stay. Apart from our amazing room we were immediately upgraded with the desert view we requested. Attention to detail everwhere furnishings, linen decorative pieces the facilities are fantastic. The staff were do freindly & attentive.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 August 2018

    5.8
    The AC.
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The AC. We are in the middle of desert and in July the weather outside so hot. And the AC they fix it between 24 to 22. They have to a just that in winter different even your stay without AC

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 July 2018

    10
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The pool closes far too early and should be allowed to “at your own risk” be open into the late night especially with the warm desert nights. Because it is so far away the gift shop should have a few thing “just in case” such as flip flops. I forgot to pack mine and had no alternative for pool days

    Everything... it has become a yearly traditional come here for a weekend. There is nothing not to love.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    10
    Amazing weekend getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very attentive staff, super relaxing atmosphere (rooftop bar “al sarab” for sunset), delicious food (breakfast has a huge variety, especially amazed by plant based milk, gluten-free options etc.), rooms are spacious and very clean! All in all a very nice resort for a couple of days to disconnect from the busy city life and pamper yourself!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2018

    9.4
    Peaceful place and nice escape from city hassle and noise,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Spa facilities are expansive than anyother full services 5 star hotel & resort so we had to skip it.

    Peaceful place and nice escape from city hassle and noise, all staff was so much friendly, especially Mohammad at Alsarab roof top cafe, Subin and Ahmed at reception.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Absolutely an unforgettable experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    This is the best desert experience you will ever have. Friendly staff, beautiful resort, amazing accommodation, great entertainment and fantastic food! One of the best hotels we have ever stayed at and they cater for kids which was great for our year old! Will definitely go back!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 July 2018

    10
    Wish I stayed longer!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing - it was lovely!

    Was such an easy stay! The staff were absolutely fantastic, very attentive, welcoming and friendly. Lovely desert resort and well equipped rooms. The guide on the camel ride was so accommodating. A large selection of food at the restaurant. Wish I'd stayed for longer!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    10
    The resort is amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The resort is amazing. We had the most amazing time & were looked after beautifully by the friendly & ever helpful staff. I would recommend Bab Al Shams to everyone.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    6.7
    I didnt want to write this as generally a great place, but this stay was very poor!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    -Air con broken -Mattress hard -Woken up at 9am to check mini bar?? -Main pool closed with no prior warning -Receptionist laughed when asked how the stay was & i mentioned the above??!! Even when i mentioned being a senior manager for a large travel firm that brings revenue to the resort & a regular customer -General inabilty to comprehend when you're customers are annoyed! One guy trying to tell me about the weather in the desert over and over while I'm trying to explain the above and the receptionist is laughing?! Just bizarre

    -The main meet and greeter guy at reception. He's always a class act. He should be manager!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2018

    7.5
    Beware of the charges
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I wanted to extend for half a day as the climate was extremely hot and i dint want to travel with my 10 month old son and was charges for almost the full day Everything is extremely overpriced in their Menu

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 July 2018

    9.2
    Amazing birthday!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Arabic restaurant should have menu service instead of only buffet.

    This is a whole Arabic style resort in an desert area at the city edge. The staff were very considerable. When they realize it was my birthday, they well prepared the room with happy birthday decorations on the bed, together with cake and chocolates. Very warm initiatives! Thanks much!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 July 2018

    7.1
    The hotel layout, the rooms and the pool were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Some of the staff were very rude and was fake smiling. At the lounge the food was very limited and since that was the only place the World Cup was playing in the resort we asked if we could order a pizza from the restaurant and bring it to the lounge, we were told it was “impossible” without any explanation and In my opinion that’s not how you treat your guests. I would understand if it was a different chain but it’s the same hotel so wherever I eat my pizza should be my business. I could have ordered room service and brought it with me to the lounge and it would have been the same thing. We were also sent to the Arabic restaurant 1 hour before they opened by the staff without informing us that they are still closed. We wanted to play pool table around midnight in the lounge and we were sent away telling us it’s closed while people were still inside.

    The hotel layout, the rooms and the pool were amazing. Activities was a big plus

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    10
    this is an absolute oasis in the desert, our terrace room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    not given info about activities so missed the camel ride which we would have liked to do.

    this is an absolute oasis in the desert, our terrace room was clean, comfortable, spacious and luxurious. We had drinks at sunset in the roofop bar and then the iftar buffet dinner which was good value and delicious food. pool area is serene and relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 July 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Firstly the upgrade was superb, followed by the food and performance which is absolutely different from the norm. My husband got special vegetarian meal prepared by the chef which was delightful and sweet.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    9.6
    This is a place you will never forget.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    This is a place you will never forget. Turn off the phone and enjoy everything around you. Watching the sunset on a roof top terrace having shisha...happy!!!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful stay we would like to experience again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is absolutely nothing we didn’t like.

    Very warm welcome, staff always smiling and helpful. Room was clean, and bed comfortable. Pool was the best, with the mini golf next to it, and complimentary camel rides offered between 17-18h which was great thing to entertain kids if you came with family. Entire resort is just great escape from the city. Wonderful experience.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    10
    Beautiful special stay in the desert
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing

    What an amazing beautiful place! The room decor was elegant and unique, the amenities were lovely, the pool amazing! The staff were attentive and the restaurants we visited were high quality. We couldn't have asked for a better experience!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    10
    Perfect resort to relax and recharge
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Having to go back home.😞

    We were upgraded, which was a nice surprise. We could check out late the following day. Staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. Would come again

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 June 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful and full of good memories.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I can't think of anything.

    A resort in the middle of the desert with wonderful pools and entertainment facilities, welcoming staff, and peaceful ambiance nested in a replica of an old Arabian town with camels, horses, ponies and falcons; what's not to like.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    7.1
    Good for a short stay only.
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and beverage offer was over priced and of poor standard. Difficult to stay for long periods because if the food offer. F&B staff were pushy to make sales. There should be an adult only pool as it was difficult to relax without screaming children.

    The greenery and architectural layout of the hotel.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2018

    10
    The location, the design, the staff and most of all the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The food and drinks are very expensive! The dinner at Al Hadheerah was overpriced, the food wasn’t very good and the entertainment was lacking in quality. If I could do it all over again, I’d skip eating at Al Hadheerah, stay at the rooftop pizza restaurant, enjoy a great meal and have shisha!

    The location, the design, the staff and most of all the tranquility of the pool with views to take your breath away! The rooms are stunning, the beds are incredibly comfortable and the staff was friendly. Highly recommend this hotel!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 June 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful oasis in the desert
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    From our previous stay I remember this as being an hotel for a romantic get-away. We went during a quiet period but I couldn't help but noticed that there were a lot of sun beds around the pool. I imagine it could become very busy when the weather improves.

    The architecture of the hotel is beautiful and there are lots of nooks and crannies to explore and quiet places to sit and relax. The roof top bar is a wonderful place to sit back and to enjoy the stars in the evening. The staff are friendly and attentive.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 June 2018

    9.6
    We simply love it
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Bas Al Shams has been one of our favourite spots for some time. We've been a few times and we continue to really enjoy it. Very charming design in the middle of a wild desert... a really relaxing experience. Rooms are beautiful and the beds are soon comfortable. The pool is really fun, with or without kids. Food options are also quite varied but nothing beats the staff.... they are too friendly and helpful. We love it!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 June 2018

    9.2
    Kind and professional staff, perfect service and room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Advising to change towels on the pool area as they are very old,damaged and full if wholes.

    Kind and professional staff, perfect service and room service, very clean and great atmosphere!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 8 June 2018

    9.6
    Before my trip, I sent email to them about adding one more...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Before my trip, I sent email to them about adding one more bed and they were very helpful and replied very quickly. I also made reservation for Ramadan night buffet. They all replied promptly. Appreciated! Super nice infinity pool that you may never have in anywhere else in Dubai. Very nice water quality and desert view. Super large bed that my mum, my sister and I can stay together. I guess would be great for couple. The free camel riding session is also quite interesting. We enjoyed a lot. Definitely will visit again. Nice road-view by driving. No need to change car or worry about the transportation if you are driving there. Excellent!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2018

    10
    Excellent Get away
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    EVERYTHING! clean room, friendly stuffs, good food, and very nice infinity pool. My friend and I enjoyed amazing hospitality in Arabic atmosphere for quick get away from a busy life in the city. Had such a relaxing stay. we will definitely come back!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 June 2018

    9.2
    Best resort and city break in Dubai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Was hoping for a room upgrade since the hotel was empty and the fact that I'm a returning customer and have been there for at least 5 times in the last 3 years alone. KYC is still weak. Cannot identify a returning guest.

    The rooms are amazing, so are the facilities, the restaurants and food there. It is an amazing place for a city break!

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 June 2018

    10
    In love with Bab Al Shams!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Absolutely fell in love with this place! We unfortunately experienced a severe sandstorm on our second day and still wanted to do so many activities. Will have to go back!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    10
    Property is beautiful, spotlessly clean, and decorated...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property is truly in the desert. You should understand prior to visiting that if you are without a vehicle, you will be limited in your activities. Tour companies only come out if you pay for the upgraded private tours. If you are looking for a relaxing vacation and spending time poolside, it is perfect.

    Property is beautiful, spotlessly clean, and decorated wonderfully. Pools are awesome, and so refreshing in the heat. The rooms have had excellent attention to detail with the decor.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 June 2018

    8.8
    nice place to experience, but!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    in the bar, there was a drunk guy who was annoying all the precious time. and it took like 20min to take him out of my table. this was most embracing moment.

    good thing about here is the location. very rare to experience atmosphere.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.3
    Nice weekend out of the city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The property lacks if maintenance. The pool has a lot of uneven surfaces as well as the paths between the room clusters. The room was dark with minimum lighting provisions and the effect was accentuated by the material selection of the interiors.

    Nice development surrounded by the desert. Designed to resemble an old city with the main pool as the core of the resort.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 June 2018

    8.8
    Beatiful resort, with nice swimming pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    You can see highway from your room, which defeats the whole idea of being in the desert. Also theres no shower facilities to use, if you already check-out and need to change.

    Beatiful resort, with nice swimming pool.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 June 2018

    8.8
    Absolutely beautiful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    For those who want silence, perfect, it‘s about 45 minutes away from the city.

    Absolutely beautiful. The hotel is amazing with it‘s breathtaking architecture. I have nothing to complain about.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    10
    Paradise in the desert
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Although the food was great, staff in Indian restaurant were pushing the special (double the price) a little too much.

    The nature walk was fabulous and we learned a great deal from the wonderful tour guide. The facilities were super and very clean. Recommended place to take visitors to the UAE. The cold showers by the pool were very refreshing! Good variety of pool activities like giant chess. The Indian restaurant was wonderful- great service and food was delicious (special order made to suit us). Very helpful, efficient and very speedy room services.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2018

    7.5
    Lovely staycation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    During breakfast we heard one of the senior members of staff talking very badly to the coffee maker - this really upset us as we thought it was very unnecessary. The pool is quite grimy in the corners and sides, a pool hoover or clean is needed.

    The Arabian atmosphere here was lovely. The facilities are very nice and the breakfast was great! Beds are comfy and bathrooms are decorated nicely.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 May 2018

    9.6
    Nice place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    There were stingy ants by the pool.

    Whole place was tidy and beautiful. Room was clean, bed was a little hard but pillows soft. Staff was very polite and helpful.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 May 2018

    9.6
    Perfect for relaxation
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Drinks are a little on the expensive side.

    Great location and an excellent pool for relaxing throughout the day. A good selection of restaurants all with good food and service. Nice rooms .

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    6.7
    Start and end poor - the middle was enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Check in and check out was very poor. Only a handful of staff on duty. Was busy so service levels by the pool were very slow

    Facility is stunning! Masala Is median restaurant was very tasty!

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    7.9
    Most amazing architecture and beautiful views from the pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Terrace Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was incredible however food in other restaurants was seriously overpriced and below standard. The heritage village with buffet restaurant which offers ‘the true desert experience’ was a complete let down tourist trap. Unbelievably expensive and definitely not worth the visit.

    Most amazing architecture and beautiful views from the pool. Spacious and beautifully decorated rooms with lovely garden patio opening up onto the pool area.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    9.6
    Unique desert hotel experience short distance from Dubai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    They need to replace the salt and pepper shakers at the pool and perhaps could offer some healthier dinner options. The pool food (the salads) were a little bland.

    The pool is incredible as was the room - an amazing place for a weekend or longer away. We had a lovely short stay. The food was generally very good and they do a good job at entertaining everyone -highly recommend.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 May 2018

    6.7
    - Breakfast was really nice, a lot of fresh juices, fruits,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    - The rooms are really clean and have been cleaned several times per day. But all the outside areas, incl terrace (for which we paid extra for), pool, pool areas and benches could have needed the same attention. Even for a desert resort, that should have been much better. - In my opinion too expensive. They take a bit of too much advantage of the remote location and overcharge you even for a simple bottle of water. I think multiplying the price on "booking.com" times 4, gives you a rough idea of what to pay on checkout (incl. taxes, fees, breakfast, water and drinks, etc for 2 people)

    - Breakfast was really nice, a lot of fresh juices, fruits, live cooking station etc ... - The hotel provides free and extra-pay activities during the day. - The staff was nice and really attentive, after day 2 the staff already called us by name and recalled previous orders from memory. - The pool area was nice - Outside of the hotel have been several nice, little trails lit up with torches

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    7.5
    Great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Pool area needs revamp. Pool Towels need changing to New ones. Few staff at pool area Bicycles should be available to guests.

    Great location Perfect scenery Good pool access Good service all in all

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    8.3
    Great weekend escape from Dubai.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Terrace King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The pool and the facilities felt quite crowded during the day.

    The hotel is a short drive from Dubai, but feels like it is completely secluded. The hotel is design in the Gulf Arab style and is a great desert resort experience.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    10
    The staff was very friendly and accommodating.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff was very friendly and accommodating. The room was clean and very nice and the food was 5 Star. We were very impressed and would highly recommend Bab al shams. We were with our 1 year old and the resort is kid friendly.

    Stayed in May 2018

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Bab Al Shams Desert Resort and Spa traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: