1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. UAE hotel reviews
  3. Dubai Emirate hotel reviews
  4. Dubai hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Bab Al Shams Desert Resort - Dubai

Reviews of Bab Al Shams Desert Resort - Dubai 5 stars

Next to Endurance Village, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

#81 of 534 hotels in Dubai

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 2350 hotel reviews

8.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9.1

  • Location

    8.9

  • Facilities

    8.9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    8.0

  • Free WiFi

    8.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more- opens a dialog box
Write a review

Showing 1 – 25

  • Reviewed: 27 May 2022

    9.0
    Excellent all around, would stay again!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Terrace Desert View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Pool!

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2022

    9.0
    Very relaxing and comfortable stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Great service, lovely bed, relaxing setting away from the city

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 21 May 2022

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    That the Italian restaurant wasn’t open.

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2022

    8.0
    good but has been better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It’s getting a facelift and needs it.

    old Dubai feeling

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2022

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    - late at the checkin, however they upgraded our room - buffet price for the dinner at Arabic restaurant was too high ( 450 AED pp) - at the check out they charged us for drinking water at the pool (22 AED for 2 dirham local bottle of water) which normally comes for free in 5 star hotels - food at the restaurant for lunch was very bad ( a la carte)

    Beautiful view from the balcony, comfortable beds and pillows, bath and shower were amazing, good pools with a desert view.

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2022

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the staff were fantastic - very accomodating

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 8 May 2022

    10
    Perfect for a 2 night stay or short staycation
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Desert View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant options were quite limited.

    Location is special with the feeling of being right in the middle of the desert and with a traditional design/feeling. Quite different from the standard Dubai beach hotel. Pool was good and the pool bar had a good selection of food and drinks.

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2022

    9.0
    Very nice place! Like Qasr Al Sarab, but a bit smaller and much more affordable
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Desert View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The mattress was very firm, which is not good for my back, and there were quite a few small flies in the room. Like little mosquitos but they didn't bite. It was a minor annoyance.

    The resort was very clean and relatively quite. I enjoyed the swimming pools. The food at the rooftop lounge was very good and I enjoyed the live music.

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2022

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Terrace Garden View Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Mosquitos

    Quite place , good for relaxation Food was excellent

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 4 May 2022

    10
    Desert Dream Resort
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could use more cleaning in the rooms in the more discreet areas, light fixtures, decorative pieces, etc. All the places people wouldn't typical or usually look. Or so you think.

    The Iftar and show were amazing, property was nice, and excellent customer service everywhere. Thank you Kamilya, Linet, Saleh, Wency, Trish, Kim, Nagy, Boulos, Michael Mendoza, Yovana, and all others.

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 3 May 2022

    8.0
    desert palace but not value for money
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    extremely expensive for every add on. archery, etc is priced too steeply.

    very beautiful location. in middle of desert. beautiful property and nice rooms.

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2022

    9.0
    Superb
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Desert View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    At the apt that we've stayed there were a lot of mosquitos. It's the design feature with dark cool entry zone to the apt and a lot of mosquitos fly in when you open the door to the apt. We advice to take an electric power mosquito killer with you.

    Everything was at the top level. Comfort of stay including all meals: breakfast, lunch and dinner. Unexpectedly delicious meals at the pool. The place is very silent and relaxed. My wife and I enjoyed very much.

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 2 May 2022

    10
    Tranquil and truly special
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    N/A

    We loved everything! We have been visiting Bab Al Shams for the past 15 years since we have moved to Dubai. Many daytrips, staycations, New Year's Eve celebrations, and this time: my birthday. The place never diappoints. Location, desing, hospitality - absolutely amazing. It is a tranquil place out in the desert and the atmosphere is always amazing. Best choice to make my birthday weekend memorable! Food is also great; good breakfast buffet selection in Al Forsan . Dined in Masala and had drinks on the Rooftop. Do not miss Masala! Incredible Indian food. Truly hope that the new management is not going to turn this hotel into another typical 'flashy' Dubai hotel. The best feature of this hotel is the authentic Arabian design! It is beautiful and special, and stands out from all the usual Dubai hotels. Change is good but keep it special!

    Stayed in May 2022

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2022

    10
    Amazing. it’s really worth it☺️
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    if I have to write something, I can say location

    free camel ride. great decolation

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2022

    8.0
    Very good
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Terrace Garden View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I booked a horseriding excursion via Bab Al Shams with the nearby stables. Unfortunately, I fell off the horse and injured myself- due care was not taken by the stables, this is just something to be aware of, should you wish to book the same. Unfortunately, I sustained a long term injury which I am still receiving treatment for. The nurse at the hotel also has limited training and gave me incorrect medical information but after much negotiation with hotel management they did waiver the cost of the excursion for me.

    Bab Al Shams transports you back in time, it is designed like a Medieval Arab Fortress. Beautiful pool area, landscaping and water feature. Rooms are in keeping with the traditional design and come with a bath tub for added relaxation. Very peaceful ambience and secluded terraces for privacy. The dinner in the evening is great for the horseshow, however, the food although plentiful is not the greatest in terms of taste and quality.

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2022

    8.0
    Great short, calm and tranquil staycation with a very different vibe from anywhere else in Dubai
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Terrace Garden View King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Breakfast was extensive, but as a real foodie I was disappointed with the quality of the pastries/croissants (but that is me being very picky!)

    the room was really quiet and cool even without the AC (however we did put the ac on to sleep). The pool area was quite busy but plenty of sun loungers and a good choice of healthy food as well as the usual fast food for those that want. As avid cyclists we took our bikes with us and cycled directly onto the Al Qudra cycling track from the hotel.

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2022

    9.0
    Superb
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    staff was lovely and kind (esp Chatur, Jamal) . some great activities on site. Al Hadheerah restaurant had some great shows with the most spectacular buffet. it was a great desert experience!

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2022

    9.0
    great getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the shower could've been better

    great place for a romantic getaway

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 25 April 2022

    8.0
    You must try this resort at least once in your life!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No shuttle bus from dubai or abu dhabi. At reception and the main entrance there was no person when I arrived.

    Amazing and Beautiful place, peaceful and chill. Room condition also very good. I liked here's atmosphere. You can have dinner at Al Hadheerah Restaurant but I recommend you to make reservation to take better table before you go. I'm very satisfying with here's breakfast. you can have almost everything you want.

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2022

    8.0
    A different, interesting experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    not much restaurant selection.....but understand it was Ramadan

    All generally good... Very good guide on Desert safari

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2022

    10
    Exceptional
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior King Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Atmosphere

    Stayed in March 2022

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2022

    10
    very nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Terrace Desert View King Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    calm lots of sunbed many swimming pools; perfect for kids iftar diner: impressive :-)

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2022

    9.0
    beautiful resort, great service - would be more relaxing with adult only pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    no adults only pool - the shallow kids pool was mainly empty while babies, toddlers and young children were allowed to take over every other pool. Not the place for a romantic relaxing getaway.

    decor, staff, Al hadeera restaurant

    Stayed in April 2022

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2022

    9.0
    Exellent
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Room with Balcony
    • Stayed 1 night

    Everything !!!

    Stayed in March 2022

Showing 1 – 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: