Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Argentina hotel reviews
  3. Santa Cruz hotel reviews
  4. El Calafate hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Imago Hotel & Spa

Reviews of Imago Hotel & Spa This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Calle 669 N°40 , 9405 El Calafate, Argentina

#34 of 74 hotels in El Calafate

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 393 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.9

  • Comfort

    8.9

  • Location

    7.8

  • Facilities

    8.6

  • Staff

    8.7

  • Value for money

    8.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.7

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: December 10, 2018

    9.2
    The hotel is amazing!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    You might want to bring a power strip, since the number of sockets in the room are very limited.

    The hotel is amazing! We had a great time there. All the staff were very friendly, the massages amazing and the swimming pool great! Although the hotel is about 4km away from the town, the hotel has shuttle services.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 3, 2018

    7.9
    Staff was great during our stay and even looked further for...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room didn’t have proper insulation so some wind and rain came in during a cold and stormy night. The pool was suppose to be open at 9 am and we had to wait outside for some maintenance to happen. Considering the 11 am check out we missed relevant time to enjoy it — something annoying if you consider that as a differential once comparing other hotels in town.

    Staff was great during our stay and even looked further for some specific infos we needed. Great place for couples. Breakfast is very good, compared to similar ones we’ve tasted around the region.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2018

    7.9
    On my next visit to El Calafate I will look for somewhere else to stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location is too far from city centre. The wifi hardly works. And, the pool is lovely & big but only has 4 poolside chairs. Apart form these chairs there’s no where to sit. There were 2 couples at the pool taking up all 4 chairs, and when I showed up, there was no where for me to put my things. I asked reception for a chair but was told sorry there aren’t any more.

    The staff were great. It’s a fancy hotel with very large clean rooms. The breakfast selection was good. The hourly bus shuttle to/from city centre was good although it starts around 5pm until 9:30pm.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    8.8
    Really nice, relaxing spot.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Really nice, relaxing spot. It’s a 3k walk to the city center, but if you walk along the lake it is beautiful. The hotel offers hourly shuttles to and from the town in the afternoon. We didn’t do these, but they seemed easy to utilize. Great restaurant that serves breakfast and really nice food for dinner

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: May 1, 2018

    10
    Pure relaxation after the hiking adventure
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great relaxing hotel break after some hiking in El Chalten. They have a great spa area and I can recommend the pool. Breakfast and room service are also good compared to the standards in the area.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2018

    8.3
    Swimming pool and spa.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Massage was not great. Staff couldn’t speak English. Only 2 people could - and they were really nice and helpful. Dinner at the restaurant was not that great either - we were the only ones that night and our food was undercooked (still not fully defrosted). Although staff was very apologetic and amended this promptly.

    Swimming pool and spa. We used these facilities to relax before a long international flight. Had not find any hotel with pool during our trip.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2018

    5.0
    The owners need to travel abroad to realise what's wrong here.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Constant power outages, no back up power generator. Internet didn't work 80% of the time, and when it did, it was like 1990 dial up speed. Very poor.

    The pool was ok.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2018

    7.5
    Cozy room, friendly staff and spa services reasonably priced.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room smelled like mold. Restaurant food was not good and very slow service. The free shuttle into the city that goes every hour doesn’t start until 2:30PM so we ended up paying for a taxi to get into town earlier.

    Cozy room, friendly staff and spa services reasonably priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 9, 2018

    6.7
    Would not stay there again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Service was erratic. Some very good people and a few interactions were dealing with soviet era guard in a Gulag. The first expernce at front desk was abysmal .

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 15, 2018

    10
    Would stay here again in a heartbeat! GREAT!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It's sad that the exterior surface of the hotel is showing wear and tear. It's so beautiful and quiet in such a barren area

    We loved the hotel so much, we stayed another night! Reception with Veronica was great, she was so nice and competent! Our room wasn't ready, so we were upgraded and felt so privileged! Our tours to the glaciers took most of the days, so we were only able to appreciate the pool and sauna on the last day of check out. Unfortunately, the hotel was totally booked and we had to leave, otherwise, we would have stayed even longer. Loved the lavendar plants around the property - better than in France!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: February 14, 2018

    5.0
    good views
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    tiny crowded pool, hotel very much out of the way (you will be the first one to be picked up early morning for tours and last one to be dropped off), small stuffy rooms, breakfast 2 star maximum

    good views

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: February 2, 2018

    10
    Beautiful hotel, excellent service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The services at this hotel are superb. The breakfast was exceptional, the spa was very relaxing, and the hotel even offered a courtesy shuttle service every hour to get into town!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: December 15, 2017

    10
    Perfect hotel, great dinner, wonderful staff
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    The best efficient staff that I have ever meet. They are always ready to assist you. I work with tourist and I travel a lot this is been so far the best staff ever. Nice breakfast. Wonderful dinner. The best dinner after 1 month travelling in South America. Great heated swimming pool. Perfect shuttle service to town

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2017

    7.9
    Nice hotel with great view, spa area and pool.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice hotel with great view, spa area and pool. The hotels restaurant provides great food and the staff is very friendly and supportive. The hotel shuttle provides free rides to downtown which is nice since the hotel is not located in the center.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2017

    7.9
    Overall, very satisfied. The staff were all friendly, helpful and very professional.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Shuttle service was infrequent on one of our days which required either a taxi or a fairly long walk back in to town.

    The staff were all very helpful. Some spoke better english than others. The restaurant meal and staff was also excellent.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2017

    6.3
    It's not a 5 stars hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had to wait a lot in the bar and in the restaurant. We didn't like that we had to go through the reception to go to the pool. Weak wi fi (in the first room it didn't work at all). There's no jacuzzi (as appeared in the picture). The robes were small and weren't soft. The walls are not sound proof (we had people knocking from the ceiling or the walls when we were talking in the evening).

    Free shuttle to and from the city center.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2017

    7.1
    Pretty Place Outside of Town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It was too hot! We turned off the radiators and slept with the window open a crack. Bed was not very comfortable and pillows were terrible. Shower is configured in a way that the floor gets soaked.

    The hotel is very pretty and looks impressive from the outside. Rooms are big. Ample common areas. Beautiful views from the restaurant. Convenient for tours because you get picked up last and dropped off first.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 9, 2017

    7.1
    Good for secluded stay away from town
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The spa services offered were too expensive.The indoor pool looks better in the photos than it was. The restaurant is advertised to open at 7pm, but the night we tried all the lights were off! We went into town instead.

    Happy hour beers were good. The regular shuttle into town was great.

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: April 4, 2017

    8.3
    Beautiful place to connect with nature and being in harmony
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    I was not satisfied with the breakfast

    I loved the location of the hotel. It is a beautiful place where you find peace and tranquility due to to its natural surroundings. The pool and gym is spectacular for those of us who enjoy sport.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: March 29, 2017

    10
    Perfect Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Perfect hotel!! Best hotel I have ever been! Great room, very clean, great wi fi and is the best hotel to relax! The view to the mountains is breathtaking! The staff is always very helpful and the food from its restaurant is delicious.

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2017

    5.0
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi was not available and the staff gave poor explanations on why and when it would be fixed. Bare and simple breakfast. Unhelpful staff. Not worth the price.

    Modern rooms

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: January 26, 2017

    5.8
    i expected more
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Room was too hot and we had to open the window to adequate it. there was no way to adjust it from the room. there were not enough electrical outlets in the room. The van service is poor because they have an interruption between 11:30 and 14:30 and another interruption until 16:30. For the price paid i expected more attention with some details: we had to ask for robes to the swimming pool, ( the hotel named itself ad hotel &spa, so the robes should already be in the room).

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 12, 2017

    8.8
    Relaxing and comfortable stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The coffee was poor

    The pool and jacuzzi were winderful and very welcome. The spa was excellent and very good value. We had a very relaxing and comfortable stay. The shuttle service to town was also very good

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2017

    9.6
    I would stay here again - really nice hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The rack rate is maybe a little expensive? Not really sure because it's an expensive area and really nice hotel. Booking.com got us a pretty good discount rate that I thought was more than fair.

    I'm a really picky hotel guest. As a business executive I've traveled the world and stayed at the best hotels. Now, retired and travelling by motorcycle through the Americas we stay at a variety of places. I don't review most of them. This place was a welcome vacation from our vacation. It's a little out of town but no problem because they have a free shuttle that runs every hour. The location is beautiful, our room had a fantastic view of the lake and mountains. Being out of town a little it is very peaceful, quiet and relaxing. My limited Spanish was no problem as most of the staff had excellent English. We didn't eat in the restaurant because the bar had excellent food and a nice sitting area with a great view. Breakfast was plentiful and really good. The hotel helped us arrange a tour of the glacier and we had a most fantastic day exploring the National Park. My measure of a great hotel is somewhere I would like to visit again, I would love to return to Imago. Follow our travels at www(dot)ADVdonnh(dot)com

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2017

    8.8
    nice place with a view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    the pool space is a little small and gets crowded fast. also the bathroom was a little too messy after taking a regular shower because of the bathtub design

    despite the location which is pretty far from downtown, the hotel offers a transfer every hour, which is very useful. they also offer lunchboxes to take to go to the excursions. really nice view of the lake.

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: January 8, 2017

    9.6
    Best services in Calafate!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Location was 7 mins drive to town but they provide shuttle service every hour. however, you need to plan well for your shuttle.

    the staff was friendly and helpful. Our flight was cancelled on the day we were checking out and they went beyond their call of duty to help us with the necessary arrangements.

    Stayed in December 2016

  • Reviewed: November 9, 2018

    10
    Very nice stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Excellent location and value for money. Very friendly staff.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    9.2
    Enjoyed our stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Spa and massage was unimpressive

    Modern hotel with a cabin feel, nice views.

  • Reviewed: October 20, 2018

    9.6
    Enjoyable
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom shower. Half door and water went all over the floor

    The spa was awesome

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 21, 2018

    10
    Very professional and friendly stuff, very good towels,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very professional and friendly stuff, very good towels, excellent restaurant. The room is big and clean.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: April 11, 2018

    7.5
    As expected
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Just how far out of town it was

    The room was comfy with a nice view of the lake

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2018

    7.5
    Thé sauna/hammam is nice and functionnal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wifi was really slow, impossible to Watch a vidéo... Water of the pool too hot to enjoy it.

    Thé sauna/hammam is nice and functionnal.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2018

    7.5
    Confortable hôtel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nobody changed our towels for the 3 days we’ve stayed in.

    Confortable hôtel. The free shuttle to the city center was appreciated.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2017

    7.9
    Design
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Water too expensive

    Design

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2017

    10
    Excelente
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    La boutique

    La piscina

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: March 18, 2017

    7.9
    Imago Hotel El Calafate
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Breakfast, room was a little rundown

    Modern hotel

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: March 10, 2017

    7.1
    Nice view friendly staff good restaurant wuth fitness center and sopa
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Finishings of hotel poor skthough lots of details

    Fitness center View of lake

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2017

    10
    Beautiful Paradise in Patagonia.I will be back even if I live far away.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I really loved everything: the beautiful location, the fresh breakfast, the garden with lavanda trees,the Spa and all the staff.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: January 21, 2017

    10
    Nice place, nice energy
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful, great setting

    Stayed in December 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: March 22, 2016

    9.2
    The hotel was modern, light and airy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    There was air hissing through the radiator the entire time despite it being off which was noisy and irritating. The light switch for the lamp next to the bed was so far from the bed it was impossible to reach it without getting out of bed which kind of defeated the purpose of having a bedside light. The shower was so complicated to use you had to fiddle around with the hot and cold tap until you got a temperature that didn't freeze or scold you, and then use a separate tap to get the shower to come out at an appropriate speed, a bit annoying when all you want is a shower at the end of the day! There was an air vent in the room which had air whistling through it at times which was also irritating. Finally when I checked out and asked to store my suitcases, they just put them against a wall in the lobby where anyone could access them. Despite all these quibbles I still think it was a very good hotel and would thoroughly recommend it!

    The hotel was modern, light and airy. It had lovely staff, a gorgeous spa and pool, and the room was comfortable and luxurious. The massage I had in the spa was fantastic. The location is not walkable from the centre but this didn't bother me as I didn't need anything from there, but this could bother others that like to be nearer to facilities, dining options, etc.

  • Reviewed: January 24, 2016

    8.8
    Cozy, great views, clean, free transport to center of town,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    not many staff spoke english

    Cozy, great views, clean, free transport to center of town, great lobby to order drinks and relax, staff tried to help book activities

  • Reviewed: November 19, 2015

    4.6
    It was rated as a 5 start hotel so it did have nice decor.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    It was overpriced. When booking it appeared to be a great deal but in fact was not at all. The standard room was very average. No kettle (so easy to include a kettle). Away from the town and it was a pain to get back and forth.They recommended RentACar to us - bad idea - their tyre blew and we had to pay - they waited until all customers had gone before they told us. They don't allow you to pay extra to decrease excess. Go to Hertz. Next time we would stay closer to the town. Customer service was ordinary. Disappointed

    It was rated as a 5 start hotel so it did have nice decor.

  • Reviewed: April 13, 2015

    10
    This was our last day before departing Argentina.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    This was our last day before departing Argentina. Staff was very accommodating in letting us check out late, so we could squeeze in horseback ride the last day & clean up before heading to the airport. Hotel itself was beautiful, upscale, nice rooms, comfortable beds. One downside was that it was far from town, but they did run a free shuttle every couple hours.

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2015

    8.3
    Beautiful view
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    The guests tend to be quite self-centered with little regard for other any other guests - monopolize the pool area and push through the queue to get on to the often inadequate transit to town

    Beautiful view Great buffet breakfast (the fracturas and medialunas are the best in Argentina! Compliments to the chef) Nice facilities Staff is friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: April 5, 2016

    7.1
    Staff was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Bit expensive for what it is.

    Staff was nice

  • Reviewed: February 23, 2016

    10
    Todo excelente confort.
    • Business trip
    • Couple

    Todo excelente confort...vista espectacular!!!

  • Reviewed: January 31, 2016

    3.3
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    They did the imposible, to never again come back to this place....

    Location

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2016

    8.8
    Good facilities
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Car park needs to make it better. Too much gravel. Big pieces of stones falling down from the walls. Quite dangerous

    Good facilities

  • Reviewed: January 14, 2016

    5.4
    Spa treatment was very disappointing, total ripoff treatment...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Spa treatment was very disappointing, total ripoff treatment by a so-called masseuse who had no idea what she was doing. Ruined my entire experience.

  • Reviewed: January 6, 2016

    8.3
    lovely views
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    no tea/coffee in room no slippers in the room terrible breakfast

    lovely views staff friendly lovely pool area

  • Reviewed: December 31, 2015

    7.1
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Staff seemed not fully trained at times. This is not a 5 stars hotel ( a good 4 stars) A bit of maintenance needed

    Location

  • Reviewed: December 6, 2015

    7.9
    Good spa and nice looking hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Good spa and nice looking hotel. Could be amazing just slightly unpolished. A 4* in my opinion.

  • Reviewed: January 30, 2015

    10
    excellent room quality, all services perfect
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    excellent room quality, all services perfect

There are also 11 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Imago Hotel & Spa Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: