Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof 3 stars

Wiedner Gürtel 34, 04. Wieden, 1040 Vienna, Austria

#305 of 316 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 3163 hotel reviews

7.3

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.3

  • Comfort

    6.5

  • Location

    8.3

  • Facilities

    6.5

  • Staff

    7.8

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.2

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    View out the window was a concrete void with many discarded cigarettes at the bottom. Rooms were not very well insulated sound wise. Bathroom had an intermittent ant problem.

    Nice furniture and lights

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room didn't have cooling air and the room was initialy splitead in two from another room by a door. The next room was occupated by family with kids and I thougt this will ruin my sleep. I was change the room with another at the top floor. The room is very small with bo air conditioner and it was very hot in there. I payed 107 pounds for 1 night and the value of the money I payed was very high. I do not recommend this hotel. Breakfast was very poor and it costs 10 euro and did not take it. The elevator it was so scary to use. The room has a strange smell and the bathroom was very small.

    Staff was very helpfull but that was it.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great choice if taking the train in/out of Vienna, it is located next to the main station. Easy access to public transportation. The hotel facilities are a bit dated but rooms are equipped with new modern furniture. A good choice for a short term stay on a budget.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I had to stay in this hotel after my flight was canceled. The location near the train station and the availability of reasonably priced rooms were assets

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bed was average. However after a long haul flight when you are tired you sleep on anything. No air cond. on warm days like we had had to leave window open. Which leads to the next... Lots of road noise. But in colder months with a closed window would be no issue.

    Convienient location across road to main train station. Brilliant breakfast for only 6.9 euro. Good selection for our breakfast needs. Great Jura coffee machine.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    There was no sound isolation at all - I could hear all what was said in the room next to me. As people were arriving late until midnight I had to listen to them talking, arguing or watching TV.

    Room was clean and hotel is close to tube and train stations.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 May 2018

    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    terrible... the hotel is at a big highway road and there is no airco so you have to leave the window open. A lot of noise and pollution is coming into the room. Beside the noise outside there was a lot of noise inside. Terrible don’t go there not even when you have to catch a train. You will not get any sleep. Oh and there is no refrigerator in the room.

    Niks

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The air conditioning in the rooms are installed but I was told that none of them worked. if you open the window to get fresh air into the room you won’t be able to sleep due to the noise from the cars and trains. The bed is tiny the shower was not clean or well maintained, the drain was clogged.

    Location as it is close to underground and train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Very noisy (room facing the street) due to traffic / trams / trains / building activity. Very warm room already in April, could not have the window open due to the above and air-condition not available. Unable to block sunlight from entering the room in the morning, so earlier than intended wake-up. Check-in staff busy chatting with friends, having little time for visitors. Elevator busy moving linen up/down in the morning when guests were going to/from breakfast and heading out for the day.

    Very short distance to train and metro stations. Fast, free and reliable internet connection. Breakfast available 06-10, nothing spectacular, but enough to start the day with. Paying for just the breakfasts had at the hotel, reasonably priced.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was dirty and I would never stay here again. There were brown stains on my sheets and hair on my friends sheets. We asked the front desk to change the sheets while we were at dinner and they refused to do so. It was also extremely hot and they refused to turn on the AC.

    Nothing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities. The hot water system wasn’t work during my first night staying (I couldn’t take a shower.) The room is very noisy if you stay at the road side, so please make sure you aren’t at this side. No fridge. No kettle. Have to carry your heavy luggages on the 4 steps before lift. Hotel has only one lift. 3star hotel like 2 star. Only one reception during the night time, so she is very busy because a lot of customers come to her. Anyway she tried to help me.

    Location

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    One day completely without water, in that evening cold water only without any financial compensation. Got stuck in the elevator. Not renovated furniture in the room. Very poor TV signal - not possible to watch TV. The direction of the water in the shower cannot be changed - very unconfortable. Breakfast very poor.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom was very small and the shower was very low (in the height of my nose). I am 1.8 m height. So, in order to wash my hair I had to kneel. There is no insulation between rooms and you can hear everything.

    It was neae the central station that has connection with the centre and the airport.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Tbere is bad smell in my room since i start my day and After they clean the room the bad smell back i think their cleaner devices are the reason ..iwould like to change the light in the room

    The location near the station .the young guy at reception was so much friendly I think he is from Colombia and he help me in my bags..

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet was really dirty. Even after complaining nothing was done. I couldnt use the toilet. It was not cleaned after the last guest had departed..horrible.

    Very close to central railstation...very easy..few minutes walk.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel entrance has stairs, not really convenient for guests with medium and large luggages. Lift/elevator is small.

    i like the hotel's closeness to main Vienna Central station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Room overlooked inner yard with some metal constructions, low pillows with no extra pillow to use, water in bathroom drained too slowly.

    Friendly staff, easily accessible location, calm district, good breakfast, comfortably furnished room, free wi-fi - accessible all the time. Very good value for money.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room temperature and water were very cold and unpleasent. The hotel staff could not do anything but extra blankets.

    The locations was great; less than 10 minutes walking to Vienna central station. They allowed us to check in one hour earlier.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bathroom and toilet was horrible, first day no hot water, if one person takes bath the whole bathroom was flooded, toilet was stinking

    Location was good, close to central station, rooms were ok

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    A female staff (the one we experienced on the night we stayed) lacks service mind in the way that she spoke to us. While other staff were helpful. Additionally, the luggage storage room is a bit tiny, there was no space for ours to fit in the room.

    The location and internet signal are the only two things I like.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was very little and essential: room price is not proportional to room space. The night staff was not so kind as the morning staff: I asked for a water bottle (the vendor machine was empty) and she suggests me to drink from the sink on my bathroom. The luggage storage is well organized but not so safe: the luggage are left in an open-door room near to the reception; I suggest to use the lockers inside the train station: 2 € for 24 hours.

    Courtesy of the morning staff: they allowed us to stay in the waiting room and to use the bathroom while waiting the train departure, even if the checkout was already done; Cleanliness good; Position good, just close the underground stop and the main train station.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Walls are a bit thin so noises from other guests can be heard in your room.

    Proximity to central bus/train station as well as to beautiful Belvedere Park. Staff was always super friendly and helpful. Perfect for business trips or short visits

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I haven't got the notes I made with me and today is the last day to submit the report so there may be some small details which I have since forgotten. Certainly nothing major.

    Excellent location over the road from the Hauptbahnhof. In fact if you're coming from the far side of the station you will probably walk further in the station complex than you will in the street. Aim for the UBahn exit on the north side of the station, bear right as you come out and go round the corner. It is a few doors further down with an obvious hotel entrance into a well appointed reception. Payment was taken in advance and check in was simple and there is a lift, although you have to do steps to get to the lift. The room had all the basics needed for a short stay and there is a coffee machine in reception if you don't pay extra for the breakfast. It was at the front of the building with a good view over the street and the station and quiet with the window shut. The heating behaved itself. Remarkable value for such a location and quality. I would certainly stay there again for the same price. The only problem with a night in Vienna is there is just too much to do. I went to Handelskai to see the dear Danube and then Heiligenstadt to do the Beethoven walk. It is near where he was living when he composed the Pastoral Symphony. You can walk beside the brook which he described in one of the movements. There was snow on the ground and a full moon. How romantic is that! After that I went for a beer in the Bierteufl, a traditional Viennese bierkeller with a laid-back atmosphere, not far from Mitte station (the furthest south exit near the park). I was getting a flight the following morning so it was good to be able to get a direct train from just over the road without having to change. At least that removed one source of stress out of the process of flying! It didn't make the plane on time though!

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Queen size bed is a combined 2 single beds with 2 single comforters. No blind at the bathroom window so people living upstairs can see through your business inside the bathroom. Indoor lock must use the key.

    Near the main train station and underground. Standard family room with 2 single bed and 1 queen size bed is huge.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 March 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    the smell in the room was a bit funny. also, the door was wobbling and i had to lean a chair against it to stop the rattling noise in the morning

    Great location just across the road from the main station. the shower in the double room was very nice

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room door was very thin, so you hear every little thing from the corridor, footsteps, doors closing, some conversations..

    The room was very modern and well decorated. It was very warm, and although on street side, it wasn't that noisy from the cars. Good location.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The wall is too thin that we can hear people talk next to our room. No fridge/kettle for water - not even possible to borrow one.

    The room is clean, bathroom is very spacious. Reception staff is friendly and helpful. Very close to train station (just across) so it's very convenient for us as we travel by train/bus a lot. There are few restaurants nearby with decent local Austrian food.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 March 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom is dated and not in a very good condition. The sink was too small and the radiator wasn't working. I also noticed a couple of hairs in the shower, a sign that it hadn't been properly cleaned. The room was not as warm as I would have liked it, perhaps due to the fact that the bathroom radiator was off.

    Staff was friendly and efficient. Free wifi was a plus. The room was small but comfy, well refurbished with a nice modern design.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathrooms could be refurbished to match the rest of the room and design of the hotel. Toiletries like soap, shower cap etc would be a plus.

    Good position close to the main station and other public transport. The bedroom is nicely furnished with modern furniture. The breakfast was average and not too expensive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom could be refurbished to match the rest of the bedroom. Toiletries would be a plus.

    I liked the modern furniture in the room, the position close to the main station and public transport. The city centre is easy to reach on foot as well. The breakfast was ok and not too expensive.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2018

    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No parking space. No breakfast included. Smelly bathroom. No proper bathroom equipment. Dirty shower curtain. Cold room during winter. Awful pillows.(over soft and thin)

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Delicious breakfast! The hotel is located in close proximity to Wien Hauptbahnhof as well as other tourist attractions what makes it a perfect place to stay if we visit Wien to go sightseeing.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The property is dated, especially the bathroom. No fridge or kettle/coffee maker in the room.

    We needed a hotel next to train station, as we had an early train to catch and a lots of luggage. It served that purpose perfectly, as it is very close by. We had a 2 room family suite, which was convenient, too. Good friendly staff, elevator. Wifi was ok. Did not try their breakfast, as had to leave very early.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Lack of sound insulation, very noisy neighbour, false fire-alarm in the middle of the night, the lamp near the bed was out of order.

    Good location, clean room and bathroom.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor breakfast, small choice and we had to wait long time till staff will add scramble eggs or juice. It's better to have breakfast outside the hotel. It's a bit noisy area because of the traffic and train station, but we were so tired after sighseeing that it didn't bother us.

    Great location, just opposite train/bus station, very close to metro (U1 that goes to Stephanplatz). Room was really preety and clean, comfortable beds. Luggage storage.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was stinking like cigarette and even if I opened the window it was freezing outside so I couldn't keep it open. It was so bad that my eyes started hurting after a while. Also the fire alarm started ringing at 2.30 a.m. and when the fire brigade came they told us that the fire alarm was defect. No reimbursement or anything was proposed

    Location was great, right across the Vienna Central train station

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paper-thin walls. I could hear *everything* that was going on in the next room, even normal conversation. Bring earplugs!

    Clean, comfortable, great location beside Vienna's central train station.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Earlier check in paying extra. Shower that flooded the bathroom. Shabby finish to bathroom, broken and then glued power point. Radiator cover coming adrift.

    Good location, plenty of hot water.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The gentleman at check-in was super nice and very professional. He was there as well when I left the hotel and his presence really left a great impression. The hotel should be proud to have a staff member like him. It’s unfortunate I do not remember his name but thank you so much for your hospitality Sir

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 4 February 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The small room is really small. The toilet smell was spreading all over the small room; the WC water did not properly drained, the shower was impossible (too small, water not possible to regulate), the sink was super small even to shave

    The price was convenient and the location

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The single beds are narrow. It was fine for us but a larger person may struggle. Some traffic noise as it is on a busy road.

    Check-in host was a lovely welcoming man who had spent time living in my hometown in Australia. The hotel is directly across the road from the train station which is good for an early departure.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I'm not sure if designer of the toilet was drunk or what but the lid is always falling down. It's kind disgusting when you have to sit on it and the lid is always touching your back.

    The people working there are very kind

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 January 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Officially 3 star but rather a high standard 2 star.

    Basic, but cheap hotel, very small but functional and sufficiently clean room. Young and striving front office staff. Close to railway station, good if you want to catch an early train. Good to find shelter for a night, do not expect much and you'll be fine.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The place is very closed to the Central train Station, and you can get to the airport in 15 minutes. It is not far from the center of the city. The room is small but it is OK to rest at night. The bed is very comfortable. The staff is very kind, and everthing is clean. The breakfast is excellent. A nice place to relax.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The plug next to my bed didn’t work but the one at the desk, so it was not convenient for me to use mobile device at night. Besides, the door wasn’t soundproof leading to noise disturbances caused by leaving or coming residents.

    Close to the train station but far away from main attractions, but not a problem by taking underground nearby to everywhere.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Big & spacious family room.Receptist very helpful to arrange for extra cot in the room.Just across the street to the Wein Hbf with many food facilities and supermarket.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No place to plug your mobile at the bed. Shower head is fixed to the wall - it is not practical. No hot water only "warmish" at the evening - there was hot water next mornig, so it was only a temporary problem, but still a problem.

    Very good location, close to Hauptbahnhof. Luggage storage with some control (you get a "ticket" for your luggage). Clean and nice room.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Altought a hotel is a non-smoking one there was an awful smell of cigarettes in our room. The breakfast was good, great choice with juice from a cartoon not squash. Good for staying overnight, as just minutes away from the main train station.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The hotel was directly across the road from Vienna HBF which was perfect for an early morning train. A comfortable place for our adult family of 5 in one two bedroom room we jumped on the U-Bahn and were in city in ten minutes or 2 stops.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bathroom was not convenient. Water from the shower would spray on the bathroom floor, cause the shower curtains are not long enough, and the whole bathroom would be flooded. The walls are quite thin, so you can hear people talking in the corridor, or the exhaust/water tap from next door quite loudly in the night.

    The location was really good, as it is just in front of the Wien Hauptbahnhof. It's easy to reach with train from the airport, and going to the city is a breeze as there are busses and metro from the Wien Hbf.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    I did not like the shower head as it has its own life. The shower curtain was leaking water onto the bathroom floor.

    MY room was quite large and comfortable. All the interior was quite stylish and designed as cast from one die. The breakfast was versatile. There were 3 different juices and the coffee very good. The room doors are to be opened with a key, which one has to hand over to the concierge when leaving the hotel.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Two separate rooms for toilet and the shower/sink. Toilet impossible to use even by a medium person, in the sense that you almost cannot fit and close the door. Same thing, the sink is so small that you definitely will spell water on the floor if you wash your face. Massivenes of the hotel gives it an awkward feeling while walking to your room, in case that you manage to catch the elevator (only one elevator!)

    Nice furniture style, clean and good position relative to train station and metro.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The location was perfect for us as it was just across from the train station. Also we caught a train to the city centre and did not take long. Staff were very friendly and helpful, it was a pleasant stay.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 December 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    During the check-out, there were some problems with the invoices because at the check-in we payed for 4 nights and 3 breakfasts. However, the staff tried to persuade us that we had 4 breakfasts (which was not true) and that we should pay additional amount. Eventually, they realized we were right, but it took some time to resolve.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is perfect - close to the railway and a few metro stops from the city center, walking distance to Belvedere. Friendly staff, the room was very comfortable, tho there was something to be desired from their long-term cleaning policy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In the room, some parts you could see that was to be fixed, I could hear every sound of the other rooms, very loudly, even someone having a shower. In terms of isolation wasn't great, but in overall was good.

    The room was great, clean, and very well decorated, as it is shown in the pictures. The location of the hotel was great, just in front of the main train station, and I was 30mn walk distance from the centre of Vienna. The bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Hotel is very close to the train and bus station, and very close to the city centre (it's not necessary to use the underground). Rooms are clean and comfy.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet separated from the shower and the sink. Toilet is impossible to use, so tiny it is! It's really impossible to sit on it even though you are slim. Bathroom sink is also tiny and the shelf above it makes it i possible to wash you face without spilling water on the floor. Hotel corridors are so worn out and old style, long and gloomy. Just wondering in case of emergency how you manage to find your way out. The elevator is pretty slow, only one to the whole building. It takes a long time to arrive.

    I booked a single room. Very stylish, nicely decorated and clean, with warm light and minimum amenities. Nice view on the train station office buildings. Very friendly staff, that gave us information on most quick transportation to the city centre and the airport. Metro station around the corner, very convenient location, at few stops from Stephansplatz.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The shower was bit off since it had no switch between colder or warmer water, it was always one temperature. Check-on was a bit slow.

    The location was perfect, very close to the railway station. It was nice that we were able to leave the bags in the hotel before check-in and after check-out. The personal is very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    small bath room. There was no fridge, no kettle to boil water. But the reception could help get hot water into our own bottles.

    Very good location - 3 min. walk to the central train station - Wein HBF. A very basic hotel. 3 of us stayed for 1 night. The room was quite spacious. Nice to stay there for transferring to other places through train. We could also take the train to the airport.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    In general I liked the bathroom except for the curtain in the shower. It smelled a bit but the bathroom was otherwise clean.

    The staff was very friendly, bed was comfortable.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I traveled alone and felt bad on the trip to Vienna. People on the street helped me and called the ambulance. On the way back to the hotel, I told them what had happened and they didn’t care. Hours later, I asked for help to buy food delivery, because I needed to eat something and could not get out of bed (almost fainting). I was informed that they did not know any restaurant that provided this service (In Viena 😱) and couldn’t help me. I had to increase my stay because I had a very bad time and the hotel never asked if I needed help. I was disappointed with the receptionists.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 1 November 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom floor is wet after the bath because no bath box available.

    The room is nice and comfortable. The Novum Congress is located near the Central Station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The road outside was noisy. I arrived to find the receptionist smoking outside and had to wait for him to finish his cigarette before checking in. There were not enough places to hang towels/put things in the bathroom and everything in the bedroom seemed to be unplugged

    The hotel was newly renovated and in a good location opposite the train station and only a short walk from the Belvedere palace. Breakfast was good for less than 7 euros

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    They refused to accept a 500€note !

    It's located right opp hbf but one.must not wade out to street as you can't cross it without having walk back upto traffic signal.Instead at hbf go two levels down with elevator next to main ticket counter and walk through a subway and emerge on weidner gurtel

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    There was a smell in the room it self and bathroom. No fridge in the room. Bed was not comfortable. Very small window, so the room was quite dark.

    Location is ok, close to metro stations and Belvedere.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No healthy muesli for our Saturday morning breakfast, as there was on the other days! Maybe serve better coffee!

    Clean, Comfortable bed. Good access to Hauptbahnhof & trams. Mostly a good breakfast.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 October 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Great location; very polite and helpful staff; easy and quick check in; comfortable bed; close to train and underground stations; good wi-fi. Defenitely recommend.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Personaly I had a small room and I didn't like that. No parking at the hotel.

    It was realy cossy, clean and good value for money. U-Bahn or train station very close. Breakfast was good!

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    worst property I have ever booked via Booking.com, they gave us the worst service, pathetic room, without a hand shower, bath towel rack. Room too small, just in front of the room they put the garbage. Third grade receptionist. No courtesy, manner at all. Not at all supportive also not agree to accept their failure on the other side act as a racist. Never ever go for Novum Congress, please blacklist such property.

    worst property I have ever booked via Booking.com, they gave us the worst service, pathetic room, without a hand shower, bath towel rack. Room too small, just in front of the room they put the garbage. Third grade receptionist. No courtesy, manner at all. Not at all supportive also not agree to accept their failure on the other side act as a racist. Never ever go for Novum Congress, please blacklist such property.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Couldn't get into the safe; the phone was difficult to plug in so had to go downstairs to reception to complain there was no hot water the night we arrived. We were tired & needing a hot shower after travelling all day. There was no hot water for a shower 2 nights of the 5 we were there. Room was too hot so had to open window which let in noise from building site next door. The beds were too firm & the pillows too flat. The shower leaked onto the floor.

    Convenient location to the underground station.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Not clean at all,Shower area is not at all comfortable,The water spills out of shower area.Towels were not clean.Completely disappointed.

    Only good thing I can write about this property is its location.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Bathrooms are very bad. Canalization does not work properly so water does not go normally in shower. In the end all the floor of bathroom will be filled with water.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 October 2017

    • Group
    • Standard Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    In our room there were no The Rolling Stones before the concert. We've been waiting:D

    Everything was ok:) We've been before The Rolling Stones concert and we've been waiting:)

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Very noisy, did not get a decent sleep as you can hear everything in the corridor and in the rooms next to you. Considering that I was there on business I was extremely displeased at the poor wifi connection which is essential for my work. I could not make international phone calls or download documents. The receptionist said she checked it and all was well however another guest complained to her of the same. It was inconvenient for me as I had to find somewhere else, pay for a meal or coffee just to use wifi which does not make sense when I already have a hotel where I should be able to use such a simple facility. The receptionist explained a mechanic could only come in after I was leaving, I would have appreciated some sort of compensation as had I read previous reviews, which had said the same about wifi, then I would have lodged elsewhere. Other than that the accommodation was well-kept and better than expected for the number of stars. It had a very modern feel to it and above all, it was clean.

    Location of outside the train station was absolutely ideal for me as it meant less travelling distance for when I arrived and for when I left. The room was very clean and very modern. The lighting was bright. The receptionist allowed extra time for us to check-out with no charge.

    Stayed in October 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novum Hotel Congress Wien am Hauptbahnhof traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: