Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Novotel Wien City 4 stars

Aspernbrückengasse 1, 02. Leopoldstadt, 1020 Vienna, Austria

#244 of 327 hotels in Vienna

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 1981 hotel reviews

8.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.3

  • Comfort

    7.9

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    7.8

  • Staff

    8.3

  • Value for money

    7.4

  • Free WiFi

    7.6

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: 17 October 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in the most stunning city on Earth
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    For some reason the door keys do not work on the stairs doors so you must take the lift.

    I had read some poor reviews of this hotel. I really did not see it, both rooms were immaculate and the bed OMG it was amazing comfy! The staff were incredibly friendly. My daughter left her tooth braces in a napkin on the breakfast table (kids!). She was so upset, but the breakfast manager took charge and after much searching the kitchen recovered it. I own and operate restaurants and I can assure you my staff would not have done this even on a good day. I really should have got his name as he was so nice about the incident.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 October 2018

    7.9
    Excellent location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The sofa bed is too narrow for two average-sized children ages 11 and 15. We asked for a small mattress that we could place on the floor for our smallest child but we were rebuffed twice: "We don't have any small mattresses." I suggested that they might buy one but we were told that that was not going to happen. Finally, we decided to place the sofa cushions on the floor and begged for some extra sheets and a duvet. Here they gave in. I guess they want their guests to pay for an extra room but we did take the executive upgrade and felt that paying for a second room would not have been reasonable.

    Excellent location. Very good brunch. Lovely lobby.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    8.3
    clean room, friendly staff, good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    The parking is a bit difficult to get to and the hotel with a lot of one way streets. Not a lot of room to pull over either.

    Staff were friendly and location was great really close to the river which was a really nice walk with lots of bars.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 September 2018

    6.7
    The best part about the hotel is its location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    We stayed at the executive room with 2 kids who are 6 and 2 years old. The room is smallish and with sofa bed open there is no room left. But the biggest issue is bathroom. There is separate toilet and bathroom and none of them have any lock to close door. In fact bathroom door has half an inch gap and there is no way to close it. I am not sure how to stay in that room with 2 teenagers (as promoted on the website).

    The best part about the hotel is its location. It is quite close to city centre. The staff was very friendly and helpful especially the restaurant staff. The breakfast was tasty and plentiful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 September 2018

    4.2
    A small place for children to paly
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpet in the room was stained and dirty, and the toilet sink was blocked, so the water didn't fall very well. The evening staff were not friendly.

    A small place for children to paly

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2018

    3.8
    Nothing is good about the hotel except the Egyptian waitress...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Rooms are small. No place to park the car in front of the hotel to offload your luggage. My jeans was damaged by laundry.

    Nothing is good about the hotel except the Egyptian waitress who was full of energy to support the customers during the breakfast.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 2 September 2018

    6.3
    The position was good: The hotel was very close to the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 4 nights

    This hotel has a major problem: the breakfast room is too small for the number of customers. we ended up waiting 3 days out of 4 in line to be seated and once for as long as 20 minutes even though the waiters were very efficient and rushed to clear the tables for the next customers.

    The position was good: The hotel was very close to the metro station.The mattresses were supercomfortable and rooms clean.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2018

    9.6
    Guest from Azerbaijan
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Not sure about prices in Vienna as it was my first stay in hotel, but a bit expensive for me.

    Very clean, good breakfast, excellent location, friendly staff. Located close to two metro stations and Swedenplatz is actually center of the city. Also close to Prater attractions.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 August 2018

    10
    Great stay! Helpful staff, large room, comfortable bed, clean & quiet room, delicious breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Coffee machine failed sometimes at breakfast. But the staff was very helpful. :)

    It's just a perfect place to stay in Vienna. So close to city center. Delicious breakfast. I highly recommend the place for families with children. Children get to stay and eat for free, if parents also book breakfast. We would surely come back here.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 August 2018

    4.6
    The reception men the tall blonde blue eyed and the other...
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The reception men the tall blonde blue eyed and the other assistant manager and the manager were rude impolite and accused us of not paying cash for breakfast and charged double on the credit card , on providing receipt they dismissed saying it is not sufficient to prove that you paid cash. I was horrified the way they spoke and treated me and my three kids. I booked Novotel thinking it’s one of the best places to stay but very disheartened by their attitude. They initially overcharged my credit card on room rate too and were rude when asked why? I have never had such a bad experience with any hotel management . Only one girl on reception who was very tall and dark straight hair was polite and helpful. I would never stay in Novotel and would not recommend anyone.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2018

    8.8
    Location, breakfast, cleanness, beds, airconditioning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    room was a bit small with opened sofa-bed for 2 children - no space to sit on the chair and work on laptop computer, for example.

    Location, breakfast, cleanness, beds, airconditioning.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    10
    Loved this hotel, great service and very clean!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was very compact (quite small) but fine for a two night stay!!!

    Loved this hotel, great service and very clean!! Loved the location, and the red headed lady on reception was amazing!!!

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel with good location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Carpet was very stained and looked like it could use a good clean. Fridge was not cold and you could not use it for any of your own items (filled with items they charge for).

    Location to city centre was an easy walk. Lots of restaurants within walking distance. Close to the Hop on/off bus stop. Staff was friendly and helpful. Room was nice with comfortable beds and quality towels.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 July 2018

    5.4
    its an ok hotel. nothing great to talk about
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There should have been more staff to attend to you.room not cleaned till 4pm .

    the chicken was very tough .probably not defrosted properly.hardly dnybody ever te at the restaurant

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2018

    5.4
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The parking garage is a disaster!! The gate did not work !! There was no help ! Way to narrow for the car to drive through!! Destroyed the car :(((!!!!!

    Location

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.3
    Nice and clean, good breakfast, bad wifi, not for kids but great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    My swedish family of 4 (2 adults, kids 6 and 9y) stayed here for 3 nights in mid july 2018. We arrived by car and the P-garage is a bit away in the basement under another building. Not that far away to be honest, but not exactly close to Novotel either. And Vienna is an expensive city, parking was 22Euro/night! Ah!!! When traveling with kids like I did, this hotel was a double disappointment. 1. The "playroom" for kids was actually just an open corner of the reception and consisted of one glasstable w. touchscreen for kids to play some levels of Angry Birds on. 2. The free WiFi was so slow that it only worked for reading emails. Do not dream of watching online videos, playing games, loading picture-heavy sites... Kids of course wanted to be "online". When connected the system gave me the opportunity to get faster internet for 6 Euro/24h or 19Euro for a week. Just plain greedy! So, although free WiFi is available, you cannot use it for anything.

    The room was fine, nice and clean, although a little small. For a family of four, a double bed and a sofa bed took up all the space. Breakfast was good and the staff working breakfast shifts nice! I would say that the best thing about staying here is the location, the close proximity to the subway station, which easy give you access to the whole Vienna area and all the sights. (Can recommend a 24/48h ticket at WienerLinien for all public transportations, metro, bus etc... Works really well and will save you some time and a lot of steps!) Restaurant at the hotel, and more outside just around the corner, a grocery store as well. Although the hotel do not offer anything for the kids, you have an absolutely wonderful amusementpark not far away (Prater), and 300m from hotel you find Dianabad (Indoor adventurepool, slides, etc) for an hour of fun.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 July 2018

    7.9
    Novotel hotel & Nestroyplatz - easy to access all the touristic objectives in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The restaurant seems to be smaller for the number of guests and the personnel insufficient (during the breakfast time).

    The hotel is very close to the Nestroyplatz underground station (~2 min), 2 stations from Stephanplatz (~5 min by metro). The hotel rooms are very quite after closing the windows (nothing from outsitde is heard) and the rooms have air conditioner (useful in summer time). The breakfast are generous.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 12 July 2018

    7.9
    The breakfast was quite nice especially the fresh orange...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Our room faced an apartment gap instead of a street and that was opressive for a family of four. I think family rooms should face the street.

    The breakfast was quite nice especially the fresh orange juice. The breakfast staff was very helpful. The hotel was very clean. The beds and especially the pillows were very comfortable.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 July 2018

    6.7
    Good hotel close to Centre
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room for 2 adults and 2 children is a bit small. The carpet in the room looks very unclean - not sure if this is due to age or actually lack of deep carpet cleaning. On the other hand the bathroom was always cleaned properly and towels fresh.

    Very good breakfast. And Maria at the front desk is extremely helpful.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 July 2018

    3.8
    Not what we expected from a Novetel Hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    It was a dirty room. The pillows had stains on them from either drool or some type of fluid, the carpet was dirty. At first when we went in, they acted like there were no rooms available and that we had to go somewhere else. They finally gave us a room but it was not the best.

    Location is great, close to all main attractions that you would like to see.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    1. Free internet is terribly SLOW, and when you ask for a faster one they ask you to pay more. This is cheating, if they want more money they should mention it in advance. 2. Parking is charged

    Location

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2018

    3.3
    Awful
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    We arrived late and there was no restaurant at the hotel and given how tired we were there was no food options even nearby so went to bed tired and hungry.Not a child friendly hotel and would discourage people staying with children to stay in this very mediocre hotel

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2018

    4.2
    Very disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad room. Unfriendly staff. Dirty carpets. Warm and air conditioning is poor. Not value for money.

    Location is convenient. But that is true for most of the hotels in Vienna, the city being small.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 May 2018

    6.3
    Location is excellent ,room is clean cosy and comfortable
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I checked in on 20/5/18,one of the lady staff at the reception on 21/5/18 at around 8 am in the morning behaved very roughly which was not at all acceptable .i simply asked from where I can get the mineral water

    Location is excellent ,room is clean cosy and comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    8.3
    The room was very nice and had an excellent bathroom with a...
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The free WiFi was so slow it was useless. I had to rely on 4G to get any work done. The breakfast was disappointing. Most of the breads were dry and tough ...

    The room was very nice and had an excellent bathroom with a walk-in shower.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 May 2018

    7.5
    Good for short weekend breaks
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Beds are very small and too soft that the sleeping was not relaxing. Another thing that was quite annoing was wc separated from the rest of the bathroom (you cannot even wash your hands).

    The breakfast is excellent and the room is clean and tidy. The location also pretty good. There is a possibiluty for parking very near the hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 7 May 2018

    10
    This hotel was amazing and we would definitely go back.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room was set up so nice. We have an 11 month old and they had a pack n play set up for him before we arrived. They had great shampoo, conditioner, body wash, and soap. The breakfast was also amazing; they had a great selection of food and coffee.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 1 May 2018

    5.0
    Very Mediocre kind of hotel with very little services, not like other Novotel Hotels
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    No porter Facility [ how do they serve their old guests], Hardly any attendant at the Breakfast Table for Hot Milk, Very Poor Breakfast.

    The Room was prepared when we reach, before the check in time.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    6.3
    Choose for the location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Self Service concept for a four star is not acceptable where you are expected to carry/ move luggages, not many staff in room service so you are expected to collect everything down at reception. Not 4 star service

    Location Comfortable Beds

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    9.6
    Excellent, very enjoyable.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    There wasn't anything we didn't like.

    City centre location ideal for sightseeing break. Staff very helpful. Room was a good size on first floor which we had requested. Bed comfortable, shower excellent. Would have been nice to have at least one English speaking tv channel in addition to Sky news. Would definitely stay there again.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 April 2018

    3.8
    Walking distance from underground transportation.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I personally didn’t like the smell of whatever room freshener they use. The room was very noisy even when windows are closed. It sits on a side but busy road where car accidents happen and frequent police cars pass by with siren on. I stayed at what they consider a “superior room” where there were spots on the carpet and the sofa has seen better days. And oh, don’t forget to bring your own body lotion , Q-tips, a shower cap as they provide non. I personally didn’t like the smell of whatever room freshener they use. The room was very noisy even when windows are closed. It sits on a side but busy road where car accidents happen and frequent police cars pass by with siren on. I stayed at what they consider a “superior room” where there were spots on the carpet and the sofa has seen better days. And oh, don’t forget to bring your own body lotion , Q-tips, a shower cap as they provide non.

    Walking distance from underground transportation. Walking distance to city center.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 18 April 2018

    7.9
    The staff was very hospitable and willing to help at all...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    House keeping, specially the coffee, milk in the room. The room carpet was dirty.

    The staff was very hospitable and willing to help at all times. We enjoyed the stay very much.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 11 April 2018

    7.9
    Good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Family room not really suitable, small sofa couch with one blanket doesn't work for two children. Efficiency at reception desk could be better. But maybe there were only some computer problems.

    Good location. Fine breakfast, friendly staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 April 2018

    8.3
    Great location, polite and helpful staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Restaurant is a bit too small for the hotel capacity, but capable waiters compensate by arranging seating to avoid queues.

    Great location, polite and helpful staff.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 February 2018

    5.4
    Location of hotel is fair, everithing is pretty close
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Paid for a superior room, get a tiny room 1st floor w/ tiny window. Staff polite but scornful and bored.

    Location of hotel is fair, everithing is pretty close

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    7.1
    The location was excellent, friendly staff and the “play...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The carpeting in the room was very dirty which made the staying unpleasant.

    The location was excellent, friendly staff and the “play ground” for the kids was amazing

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 February 2018

    10
    Breakfast was delicious-staff was very helpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was delicious-staff was very helpful. Everyone was friendly. This was a great location for me with my 3 children (9,6,3). My kids also loved the hotel.

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 January 2018

    7.1
    Family stay Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could of been cleaned better. The cushions from the sofa bed were disgusting full of stains. Plus the carpet had some filthy stains..

    Staff, location were the two main aspects. Breakfast wasn't included so I cannot comment.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2018

    5.0
    Not far from the city centre .
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast- We had to wait just to have seats for 20 minutes.It's not enough space for breakfast .The room was very small.The bathroom wasn't comfortable.

    Not far from the city centre .The sraff was pretty good

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 17 January 2018

    5.4
    Reception stuff very nice, toys for children very nice,...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Hotel was not as close to Wien central as it was promoted on website. Room was not clean. Parking is not in hotel but 300m away in another building. This was not mentioned while making reservation!

    Reception stuff very nice, toys for children very nice, breakfast tasty.Hotel was not as close to Wien central as it was promoted on website. Room was not clean. Parking is not in hotel but 300m away in another building. This was not mentioned while making reservation!

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 10 January 2018

    8.3
    Good choice for a family hotel in Vienna center
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    - Parking is a bit remote - Breakfast buffet could offer more options

    - Access to main attractions and public transport - Clean and "user friendly" rooms - Friendly and helpful staff at the reception desk

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 8 January 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Bad cleaning the room! The cleaning lady came in the room sometimes without warning, opening the room key at 9-10 am. The Breakfast staff extremely slow cleaned the dirty dishes, artificially creating all of the guests who had to wait for a clean table for Breakfast. No one followed the purity between a buffet, a drop of sauce, no plates, spoons. 1 January Breakfast was less than usual!

    Location

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 6 January 2018

    6.7
    I liked the position and the staff hard working
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The facility for breakfast is not big enough so we had to wait every morning between 10 to 20 minutes before having it. Despite the busy period of time and the hard working of all the staff it is not acceptable to pay 230 euro x day and have these kind of problem.

    I liked the position and the staff hard working

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 January 2018

    8.8
    Good and easy hotel for a city break
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    Staff in the bar/restaurant some times took a while to notice you were there, but we found this was fairly common in Vienna, and service afterwards was good

    A good hotel and location with pleasant staff.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 December 2017

    8.3
    We will most probably return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    There is no place to hang your coat / jacket in the room and the wardrobe is really small. These are small details - the hotel overall is a good choice.

    The location is really good - a few steps away of the subway station. Breakfast is excellent and the staff is friendly and helpful

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 December 2017

    10
    Booked a double room for me and my 10years old daughter.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    WiFi was not so free as advertised. Just a few MB per room, could though use the hotel's public MAC's. Would prefer unlimited WiFi connection in the room

    Booked a double room for me and my 10years old daughter. Clean, comfortable and cosy. Breakfast was good. Dined in the hotel once, they offered kids meal which was good enough for me as well. Close to city center, safe to walk home at night. Definitely recommended.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 December 2017

    7.1
    Location was great, the restaurant was good, but our room was poor for the money we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room. Excessively dirty. Not clean carpets, full with spots of spits. Too small for the price. We booked an executive room, and in fact the "executive" room was too small for such an offer.

    The breakfast and the staff in the bar/restaurant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 22 November 2017

    7.5
    I made a great choice. The room was comfortable, the price was affordable. The location was perfect.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    House-keeping kept leaving my window open to the not-so-nice 6 degree air outside. Restaurant menu options were a little boring.

    The restaurant staff were mostly friendly and professional. The food was great.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 November 2017

    8.3
    Nice location and excellent service
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    I did not like the bicycle road right in front of the hotel. Always exercise caution in getting off the car or taxi. The air conditioning inside the room quite not good especially early in the morning or late at night where it shutdown.

    The Hotel staff, especially the front desk and restaurant staff, are helpful, accommodating and approachable. In addition, the Hotel is accessible from the airport and it is approximately 15 minutes away by car. I also love the choices of foods during breakfast. It has excellent restaurant's ambiance. Food is also delicious.

    Stayed in November 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 November 2017

    9.2
    Good hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    All Novotel hotels seem to have issues with the air conditioning. It was set a bit warmer and the controller did not make it any cooler. Ultimately we had to open the window to let the cooler air in.

    The staff were friendly. We took the Big Bus Tour for sightseeing and it was only a few minutes walk from the hotel. Breakfast was good.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    3.8
    Will not stay in this hotel again
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 4 nights

    When we have paid tariff for extra bed, they should have given us a larger room

    Only the location, we paid extra tariff for additional bed. The room they gave us was too small and they just pushed in one extra rolling bed and there was hardly any space to keep our bags and to move around. The breakfast was very poor quality.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 October 2017

    7.1
    Gray
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast selection could be better.

    Free parking on weekends, no need to book parking in the hotel. Great location, good sound isolation from the street noice

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    5.8
    Sanitation is of prime importance which you clearly are not offering.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rather unclean and non spacious. Towels and bed sheets were changed after three days till I had to tell the housekeeping.. also the carpet was always dirty. Minus marks for cleanliness, totally. Would not come back again.

    WiFi.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 October 2017

    8.8
    Breakfast is very varied and delicious, the check-in was...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    At check out we had to give back the parking card and we received a coin to use at exit, but to get down to the parking lot the door opens only with the card, so we had to ask somebody to let us in. The coin worked well once we were driving out.

    Breakfast is very varied and delicious, the check-in was very smooth, the beds are comfortable. Kids received small gifts that they liked very much.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 October 2017

    9.2
    Great stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great hotel. The personnel was very helpful and very nice. The room was great and so was the location. Very easy to get around and the subway is right next door.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    6.3
    Overall comfortable hotel with easy access to shops restaurants, and to visit places of interests.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 9 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was of ordinary standard, and the area for serving breakfast was too small for a hotel of that size and not in proportion with the no of people accommodated. The hand shower in the bathroom was not in working order.

    The location was perfect

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    5.4
    1- The DIRT of the carpet : we are afraid of walking...
    • Business trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    1- The DIRT of the carpet : we are afraid of walking barefoot! 2 - the curtain of the room was unhocked on one side 3 - the water flows very slowly from the sink , as if it was obstructed 4 - It is unconceivable for an establishment with 4 stars that, on the only sofa which is in the entrance hall (not very friendly!) of the hotel the plastic is TORN! 5 - The "organic" nescafé of the room is very bad 6 - the door of toilet is much too heavy to be opened 7 - The fact that the room gives onto the street implies that it is necessary to close the window to sleep 8 - we wanted to have dinner on Wednesday evening at about 6 pm and were in a hurry but the waitress did not take account of our request and was in no hurry to bring us a menu while there was nobody in the restaurant, she took her time and, thus, we left! 9 -Anyway the card / the menu is not highly varied there is not salad at all 10 - for breakfast you have to satnd in line quite long to have a table

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 3 October 2017

    6.7
    Warm room with not working air conditioner.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Warm room with not working air conditioner. Very lazy personal in bar. We got one drink after long waiting and then no more service(29.9.2017 in the evening). No reaction and no apologize for our complains.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    4.6
    After leaving the hotel, I was charged with a credit card...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    After leaving the hotel, I was charged with a credit card for unspecified food and drinks from the minibar. They did not even respond to my objection. We do not go to this hotel anymore.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 September 2017

    5.0
    Location only
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No body help you with luggage.. dropping off luggage in the road no parking for hotel.. WC separated from the main bath room .. outdated furniture.. Un polit housekeeper they open the door any time without notice.. the tissue box was empty in the bathroom I called and asked for one they seemed to be fool and they didn't know what I meant by tissue!!!!!! The A C has a bad noise

    Location only

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 September 2017

    9.6
    Very nice hotel in a good location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nice hotel in a good location. Staff is polite and helpful, very child friendly, my kids absolutely loved small presents they received upon reception and children bathroom amenities. The WiFi was fast. Breakfast was excellent. We will definitely like to come back one day

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 September 2017

    4.6
    Really disappointed.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was clean but way too small. The "second bed" was a pull out couch. It was very uncomfortable. The breakfast was not good at all. All we ate was croissant with Nutella spread.

    The shower was the only thing in the room that was amazing.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 September 2017

    8.8
    Enjoyed Vienna - hotel well worth a return visit when visiting the city.
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    Restaurant limited in choice but otherwise OK - especially on the first night after travelling all day.

    Hotel very convenient for getting to the centre of Vienna and the VIC - nearby metro too. Staff always pleasant and helpful. Food OK but not exceptional.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 31 August 2017

    10
    Pleasant stay. Good location. Good Breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 6 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Could hv provided porters to carry luggage in rooms and vice versa being senior citizens.

    Friendly staff .Arranged travel plans with smile. Special thanks to Mr Raashid

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 August 2017

    7.1
    Location next to station
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    I think i booked for breakfast and when i arrived i was surprised that it did not jnclude breakfast. The booking details SHOULD clarify that it is either with breakfast or without breakfast. This should be clear in booking.com

    Location next to station

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 August 2017

    9.0
    Nice location, excellent breakfast.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night

    Great and sumptuous breakfast, very friendly staff, parking is well organized in a nearby garage for a reasonable for Wien price. The room itself was a bit on the smallish side, at least compared to other Novotel rooms that I have stayed at.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 August 2017

    10
    Very Convenient
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was ODD that guests had to use room key for Elevator...ODD but not a detraction from our satisfaction

    Vienna is HUGE - this hotel was walking distance to St Stephan's Cathedral...AND great access to U Bahn !!! Happy Happy - Nice Mini Bar too !

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 August 2017

    9.6
    Good value for money to visit in Vienna
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Toilet were in a different door and the door was too heavy for children to open by themselves. The toilet seat was too high for children

    Great location, big rooms, good breakfast, nice staff, clean

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    9.6
    Very nice and helpful employees, great modern design, but really cousy.Close to centrum, but quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The room was really clean, beautiful scent in the bathroom, only cleaner carpet could help to achieve 10 points from 10.

    Modern and "homefeeling" design. Loved "coffee" theme in the room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    5.8
    I'm dissapointed of stay at this hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was much! smaller than described. Only a space for double bed and sofa, so in my opinion not suitable for 2 adults and 2 childrens. The parking is not in the same building, the entrance and exit for cars, very narrow. External mirors in my Kia Sorento were too wide at exit gate. Ar arrival day the lady at reception was not German speaking. In Vienna it's strange.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 August 2017

    4.6
    No Security, watch your belongings by yourself. Worse experience
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room (2 adults + 2 children)
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    First of all before I start my review, we had the worse experience ever in our trip when my wife's hand bag stolen in the hotel restaurant while having breakfast in a blink of a eye and obviously we involved the management to help & check the CCTV however to our surprise the cameras were down and they couldn't really help, all we got was breakfast waiver although it was part of our package as good gesture by the manager!! When we asked why the CCTVs not maintained she calmly replied it could have not help even if they were functional!! Main reason we all chose 4 or 5 star hotels are safety, if this can't be maintained and you come across irresponsible answer by the manager this is total disappointment. We basically had to forget what happened and move on however I seriously do not recommend anyone to chose this hotel. Besides, its not at all as it shows in the booking.com, we booked an executive room for 2 Adults and 2 kids and it was much smaller than what expected, we could not even fit our luggage in!!

    Nothing special about the hotel, can't really say much as we had the worst experience ever

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 July 2017

    10
    LOVED your property and the staff! We will stay at your place again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Executive Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    There was nothing we didn't like but since you asked, please provide better choices for breakfast although breakfast was fine!

    We loved the room that we had. It was super comfortable and it met our needs in every way! We loved this hotel. Thank you Novatel!!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    10
    Great place to stage a family trip to Vienna.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Family Room (2 Adults + 2 Children)
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant kitchen closed early and we were left with no choice but go out for dinner with two young children since we wanted more than snacks.

    Very family friendly facilities and staff. Good breakfast. Good location.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 25 July 2017

    3.8
    Poor staff, not good for money - simply a budget B&B but with a higher price tag!
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Staff at reception were unpleasant, unhelpful, poorly behaved and simply rude. There was one man in particular who was unprofessional and rude because the room card was not working to get access to the lift. In front of lots of other guests in he reception area he gave an attitude and with an intimidating tone said "the lift would work only if you know how to use the key". He knew very well that I went to reception repeatedly after attempting at least 4-5 times and had asked someone to check the card and needed help as I had a flight to catch. Rooms were tiny and toilet was separate from the bathroom with no washbasin. No proper wardrobe in the room - glad that I was only stayed 1 night. The buffet breakfast was awful and did not cater for those who were strict vegetarians or for religious reasons could not have pork. For example, the vegetarian foods were kept next to pork and so other guests were using the same servings spoon for pork and vegetarian dishes. The pork i.e. pork sausages were getting mixed with the veg dishes. Although it is not strictly the staffs fault but if the food were kept in separate areas then it would have prevented guests from mixing the spoons of spilling/dropping pork sausages on vegetarian food. In the end I ended up walking 0.5 miles early morning to have breakfast at Hilton. The hotel has no concierge or anyone to help with the luggage when checking in or out. This really is a "budget" hotel which I am not used to because apart from staying at Novotel Wien City in Vienna, I have always stayed at a 5 star hotel. So it was a real shock to what I am normally used to. I only stayed at the hotel because I wanted to be close to my friends who were also staying at the same hotel. If anyone is considering this hotel, be prepared to sleep in a tiny room with very little space around the bed and the awful staff at reception. It is not good value for money!

    The the wifi connection was good.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 July 2017

    7.5
    Clean and comfortable but small room
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The weird extra half door to the bathroom. Not very private when sharing.

    The location was close walking distance to the city, Prayer and public transport.

    Stayed in July 2017

Showing 1 - 75

Browse Novotel Wien City traveller photo gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: