Skip to main content
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Australia hotel reviews
  3. Tasmania hotel reviews
  4. Queenstown hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Penghana Bed and Breakfast

Reviews of Penghana Bed and Breakfast This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

32 Esplanade, 7467 Queenstown, Australia

#1 of 11 hotels in Queenstown

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 186 B&B reviews

9.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.9

  • Comfort

    9.9

  • Location

    9.8

  • Facilities

    9.7

  • Staff

    9.8

  • Value for money

    9.7

  • Free WiFi

    10.0

Verified guest reviews from real Bookers

Real Bookers. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 25

  • Reviewed: February 11, 2024

    10
    We absolutely loved our stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    A fabulous place to stay. The hosts are warm, generous and welcoming. The house is beautiful and the breakfast was delicious.

    Stayed in February 2024

  • Reviewed: February 9, 2024

    10
    Atmospheric, historic and with a high standard of service, Penghana is THE place to stay when in Queenstown.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Owen Queen Room - Adult Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was delightful.

    Karen and Steve made our stay a special one, with their hospitable approach. We had a warm welcome, great breakfasts and exceptional accommodation - the Owen Room is spacious and comfortable, with the perfect view over Queenstown. Penghanna is undoubtably the best place to stay in town.

    Stayed in February 2024

  • Reviewed: February 6, 2024

    10
    Exceptional 10 out of 10
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We liked everything starting with the generous space and the classic interior of a Manor House and last not least the caring, warm and professional service of Karen and Steve, very rare to find nowadays.

    Stayed in February 2024

  • Reviewed: January 18, 2024

    9.0
    Enjoyed learning about the history of Penghana and Queenstown. Steve and Karen were excellent hosts answering our quest
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything was good.

    Proximity to town was excellent set on a hill overlooking Queenstown with great views of Mt Owen. It was clean and well managed. Breakfast was delicious and varied. A good night sleep was had.

    Stayed in January 2024

  • Reviewed: January 11, 2024

    10
    A must when you're in Queenstown
    • Solo traveler
    • The Sedgwick Queen Room - Single Adult Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing except having to leave

    Everything. There was absolutely nothing to fault. Lovely hosts and gorgeous ambience. I will return again for sure.

    Stayed in January 2024

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2024

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Owen Queen Room - Adult Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hosts, Karen and Steve, are outstanding. Their attention to detail is 10/10. Their knowledge of the history of the home and surroundings is exceptional. The property is exceptional. Their breakfasts, cooked by Steve, 1st class even down to the beautiful complimentary fruit cake in your room, cooked by Karen. This was a wonderful, memorable stay. Thank you Karen and Steve!!

    Stayed in January 2024

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2024

    10
    Outstanding
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Owen Queen Room - Adult Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Stunning views, food and hosts

    Stayed in January 2024

  • Reviewed: January 7, 2024

    10
    The house on the hill, hosts were very approachable & happy to share information about the history of the home, brea
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was nothing not to like about this property

    Property was presented beautifully with furnishings of yesteryear

    Stayed in January 2024

  • Reviewed: January 5, 2024

    10
    The best B&B we have stayed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing. It's a shame it is too far for us to visit and stay more often.

    It is by far the best B&B we have stayed. Karen & Steve have put so much love into the place and services. They gave excellent helps even before we got there, providing detailed instructions on how to get there, booking the restaurant & activities for us, etc. It was an experience we'd never forget. Highly recommend to anyone who visit Queenstown/Strahan area!

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2023

    10
    This should be a spotlite of your journey, not just a regular stay.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Everything- attentive hosts, who have lots of interesting stories to tell and set the mood to feel very cozy. Food was amazing and amenities are classic, chic decor with everything you need. True treasure.

    Stayed in December 2023

  • Reviewed: December 1, 2023

    9.0
    Highly recommended as an exceptionally comfy and welcoming place to stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Owen Queen Room - Adult Only
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No shortfalls. The path to town was a little neglected but usable nevertheless.

    The ambience and extravagent spaciousness of the bedroom and public rooms was exceptional. The breakfast was excellent. The view from the room and the history of the house were fascinating.

    Stayed in November 2023

  • Reviewed: November 29, 2023

    10
    Comfortable, convenient and historical accommodation lodge. Friendly hosts.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The only thing we can think of is that it seemed like any noise outside our room was too audible.

    Port and sherry up for grabs in the dining rooms. Very nice english breakfast and how it was setup in the morning. Had current Netflix. Wonderful views of Queenstown and the mountains. The old history, architecture and heritage of the building itself. Karen and Steve were friendly hosts.

    Stayed in November 2023

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2023

    10
    I have photos to remind me of our wonderful stay however I do regret not asking Stephen for his scrambled eggs recipe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • The Sedgwick Queen Room - Single Adult Only
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Honestly it’s easier to list what I didn’t like! That was quick wasn’t it. This please is stunning in every way!

    Stayed in November 2023

  • Reviewed: November 25, 2023

    10
    Stunning B&B
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, we were warmly welcomed and informed.

    Wonderful couple, Karen and Steve were fantastic hosts. Stunning heritage home. Steve had a great sense of humour and prepared a delicious breakfast, highly recommend the homemade cereal and home cooked bread.

    Stayed in November 2023

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2023

    9.0
    A really enjoyable stay Thankyou
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Suite
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nil

    The history and our hosts passion for the venue

    Stayed in October 2023

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2023

    10
    Absolutely beautiful stunning heritage house.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Owen Queen Room - Adult Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing

    Everything - superb accommodation

    Stayed in September 2023

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2023

    10
    The Perfect Stay!! Karen & Steve excel in the industry of hospitality. They connect to people.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing!

    My experience staying at Penghana was Extraordinary!!!!!!. The Hosts Karen & Steve made me feel like I was staying with relatives I have not seen for a long while. They emailed very clear instructions on how to get there plus all the information regarding dinner requirements and what to do in Queenstown. From the grand sense of arrival and the personal greeting at the Front Door, to attending to your every need, I immediately felt at home. I loved the home made fruit-cake, (by Karen) waiting especially for me completed with a nice cup of tea. Not only does the building have so much interesting history, (So Much History!!!) Karen & Steve were the ultimate hosts & tour guides. The offer of an Umbrella, (so may little things) and I'm sure I have forgotten to mention so many others). The personal tour, by Steve, of the attic and secret rooms was a real treat for me!!!. I will forever treasure the commentary. Their attention to detail in the guest bedrooms, (including full toiletries, full bath room and hairdryer and specific decor), skipped nothing, including hot-water bottles, fluffy dressing gown, etc, if needed, but my room heating was more than adequate.) The thoughtfulness given to every room, & amenities (common kitchen with all one would need) can not be overlooked. Fully stocked licenced bar and the 3 course silver service Breakfast was one of the best!!!! Steve cooks the breakfast himself. My only regret was not staying longer... Lovely, caring, GENUINE people and good friends now. Karen & Steve excel at what they do.!! I cannot wait to return one day.

    Stayed in October 2023

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2023

    10
    With just a two-night stay (our third stay over some 20 years), we have ambitions to return.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Owen Queen Room - Adult Only
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The internal stairs could be challenge for some.

    Breakfast was a great start to the day - timely, impeccable food and service - delightful choices. The house is a National Trust property - interesting, historical, and elegant. It is comprehensively embellished and decorated. With its elevated position above Queenstown, guests feel 'kings of the castle'. Parking is convenient and secure.

    Stayed in September 2023

  • Reviewed: August 6, 2023

    10
    Excellent historic accommodation and awesome hosts
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    A power board in the room would be helpful.

    Excellent old mansion with a huge history in Queenstown. Susanna and Gordon are excellent hosts, nothing was too much trouble and they provided information on what to see and helped with bookings. Gordon's breakfast is the best! Highly recommend the stay.

    Stayed in July 2023

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2023

    10
    Very happy with our stay, exceptional hospitality displayed, cleanliness was perfect, small gift on departure was a thou
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing, you are hard to please if you can fault the beautiful B&B

    Perfect service, great hospitality, excellent service and attention to detail, every comfort provided for whilst respecting privacy.

    Stayed in July 2023

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2023

    10
    We loved the fact that we felt transported back in time to the era when the mansion was built
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Owen Queen Room - Adult Only
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Beautiful period property with very attentive hosts

    Stayed in July 2023

  • Reviewed: May 18, 2023

    10
    By far the best BnB we have stayed at in Tasmania.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • The Owen Queen Room - Adult Only
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The breakfast was absolutely perfect. At home we grind our own coffee and use a really nice coffee machine, that produces lots of coffee flavor. Its an Spanish Expobar machine from Medhurst Kitchen Supplies in Hobart - So yes we like strong coffee.-

    The spacious thoughtfully decorated bedroom and other associated rooms, plus the lofty town view. Walking to and from the premises to town via the rain forest gardens and steps. We greatly appreciated the offer from Karen and Steve to drive us both ways from in town dining. Good recommendations about places to eat in the evening in Queenstown. We especially enjoyed the Thai restaurant with its gregarious "ORANGE man" owner.

    Stayed in May 2023

  • Reviewed: May 11, 2023

    10
    Best place to stay in Queenstown
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved everything.

    Everything! Bed very comfy and large cosy room.

    Stayed in May 2023

  • Reviewed: May 6, 2023

    10
    Amazing little gem
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn’t spend long enough in there

    Amazing location overlooking town. The owners were great hosts and provided an excellent service

    Stayed in April 2023

Showing 1 - 25

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: