Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Canada hotel reviews
  3. Quebec hotel reviews
  4. Quebec City hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Hotel Acadia

Reviews of Hotel Acadia This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

43 Rue Sainte-Ursule, G1R 4E4 Quebec City, Canada

#82 of 104 hotels in Quebec City

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 2009 hotel reviews

7.7

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7.9

  • Comfort

    7.4

  • Location

    9.2

  • Facilities

    7

  • Staff

    7.9

  • Value for money

    7.1

  • Free WiFi

    7.9

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: January 16, 2019

    8.8
    Perfect place to rest up after exploring beautiful Quebec City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    This is a very old hotel. Stairs up to the rooms are very creaky which didn’t bother me only hoping it doesn’t disturb others staying there.

    Location was great. Loved how old the place was I wasn’t expecting that but enjoyed my time here.

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 10, 2019

    9.2
    So much character!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    No elevator but I knew this at the time of booking - staff offered to help with our luggage if desired

    Lovely staff Upgraded room with an electric fireplace and beautiful exposed brick wall Great location for walking around Old Quebec Rooftop hot tub

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: January 2, 2019

    8.8
    Hotel Acadia/Loiusbourg offers a bona fide Old Quebec City experience!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The only complaints are that 1) the room was super hot at 29 degrees C (Around 82 degrees F) and we couldn't turn the heat down because it was centrally controlled (made it hard to sleep) 2) it was difficult to get all of our luggage up to the room because we had to walk a good 2 blocks in the snow with multiple bags and a few trips 3) the parking was about 5 blocks away, so it was not close.

    We stayed at the Hotel Louisbourg, which is a separate inn that's a block away from Hotel Acadia (they are owned by the same company, "Les Hotels Nouvelle-France"). The room was quaint and in a great location at the heart of Old Quebec City's upper town. The hotel staff were very nice and accommodating, and the room was in a very old building that was not exactly glamorous but fitting for the setting. The room's location was awesome as we spent New Year's 2019 on Grand Allee and were able to walk from our room to the big celebration!

    Stayed in January 2019

  • Reviewed: December 29, 2018

    6.7
    Great location, but room layout and facilities could be a bit better for the price
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room is of a modest size, and the facilities quality in general is more a 2 stars, not 3. The coffee was a disaster (I mean, you can't except a lot from a hotel coffee machine, but this was hardly undrinkable). Also, if you are traveling with family, the size of room storage spaces, kitchenette etc., is more on the modest size too.

    The location is great - just steps away from the main street in the old town. You can walk to pretty much all main sights. The room itself faces a quiet street, which I see as a plus. The building definitely saw a lot of history, so if you are looking for that feeling, it may be a good choice.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 28, 2018

    4.6
    1-Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    1- staff were rude (2 young girls) 2- although they saw us with a baby they made us go to 3 rd floor by stairs in a totally other hotel 4 mins walking 3- weird parking rules after 8 no one is there to park your car 4- i would never go there again

    1-Location 2- the restaurants around the place

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    9.2
    Wonderful stay!
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was pretty cold. There was an unexpected deposit which was quite pricy. It would've been better if I was informed wth deposit information in advance.

    Every staff I met was very friendly and kind! The location was amazing and therefore made my trip more convenient. I would definitely come back to stay in this hotel on my next visit to Quebec :)

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 25, 2018

    5.4
    Not value for what we paid, no Christmas decorations externally
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Description and some images provided was not an accurate representation of the room. The room we were given had a different bathroom from that shown with the basin in the main room. The tv I the written description was stated as a flat screen but wad a very old tv, the bathroom was the size of a small cupboard. The room is in need of an upgrade, cracks at wall to architraves, curtains aged and ties broken and the blanket we were provided on the bed was full of holes. There were 2 portable heaters provided but with the old tv, heaters on when you boiled the kettle the fuses blew. Ermitage building.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    9.4
    The hotel is right in the Old City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Sadly, in order to have a hotel with such history and character, things must sometimes be compromised. The hallways were incredibly narrow. (We had difficulty getting our luggage in.) The walls and ceiling are thin, allowing noises to penetrate easily. We were woken early the first morning by the folks above us and the second morning by workers in the parking lot just outside our window.

    The hotel is right in the Old City. Walking to the sights and restaurants was a breeze. All of the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The room had a lot of character. The bathroom was HUGE!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2018

    8.8
    Cozy, professional hotel in Old Quebec
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Part of our room had a very low ceiling which made it uncomfortable to move.

    Helpful staff and the hotel offers professional services like you'd find in a Travelodge or Radisson or one of those hotel chains.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 13, 2018

    9.6
    Great customer service, cozy room with a ideal location, fantastic price!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    After driving for 8 hours, we had to spend another two hours driving around looking for parking. Website said parking on site, no reservation necessary. That ought to be modified, as it definitely does need to be reserved!

    The location was fantastic! The room was tiny, but cozy and we loved the details original to the building, like the exposed stone wall. The bed was comfy, the bathroom was large. Great value!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2018

    7.0
    Fine for the reduced price I paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 1 night

    The room was small and only window was on fire escape brick wall side. Not a room with a nice view. Ask for a better view if that's important for you.

    I liked its location minutes away from main sites. Room was very clean.

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    8.3
    It was a great and worthed stay during the winter in Quebec City.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room is a bit to small, a little bit trouble to get the TV to work, need a bit more guidance from the staff -- but all ends well.

    The location is excellent. Only 5 - 8 minutes walk to excellent choices of restaurant/cafe and the main old city area. The staff is super friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    6.7
    Tasteless decor. Tired and a mish mash of furniture.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although clean, the bed linen and towels did not smell fresh. Bed was too soft. Many items in the 2 rooms we stayed in required to be updated and cleaned (fabric on chairs and couches).

    Friendly and accommodating staff

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 20, 2018

    6.3
    Good location but very tiny room. I expected more out of the room but staff were friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room looked nothing at all like the ones one the website. The first room we were sent to had mold in it. After explaining to the front desk the situation we were told there was nothing they could do even though I said I would be willing to pay more. After standing there for over 5 minutes telling her about the mold I was finally moved to a new room which was a little bit better but still not even similar to the pics on the website.

    I liked the location.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 16, 2018

    9.6
    Maybe bec it's almost the start of the winter season but...
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing 😊

    Maybe bec it's almost the start of the winter season but the hotel and the street is very quiet and I love that. The hotel is old and charming with very good room facilities. it is clean. My hotel was in the other separate building across the Hotel Acadia the L'Hetmitage, room 350 with balcony fronting Rue Sainte Ursule, there are no personnel in this building but it was fine with me. Location was perfect. Very near the Saint Louis which is one of the main artery of old town. It was a 10 minute slow and enjoyable walk for me to the Chateau Frontenac. It is walkable to the train station but you can also take the number 11 bus from the Gare de Palais and go down at Rue Arteuil 😊🚌 the Hotel Acadia is just the next street when you walk along Rue Sainte Louis

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 10, 2018

    5.8
    It was nice but I wouldn't book again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The shower was not clean and had hair from a previous woman all over the walls. Absolutely disgusting, had to clean the shower myself before using it. Also, the complimentary shampoo and conditioner bottles were already opened and had been used before us, not very sanitary. The fridge also hadn't been cleaned out and left a nasty smell in the room whenever we had to open it.

    The spa area was great. The location was wonderful and staff were very friendly. They were very accommodating with parking and directions. The room was cozy and even had a keurig for coffee in the morning.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 8, 2018

    4.2
    Never staying in that hotel ever again
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Room was like a walk-in closet. not enough room to even stand straight in the room. no elevator. entire building smells horrible. The bathroom was tiny.

    The Location

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 30, 2018

    5.8
    We booked the suite, so the bath was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was some constructions directly in our window that started at 7.30 am and woke us up. No one told us about that, and when we told the guy at the lobby, he didn’t even apologize. We had speakers in the room and no one was able to tell us how they were working.

    We booked the suite, so the bath was great.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 27, 2018

    10
    Charming great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Larger bathroom would have been nice. But I understand it's a historic building - very usable

    Hotel had a great location and was so clean, looked just like pictures.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    6.3
    Location in Vieux Quebec
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    It is under renovation, so construction noise, and appearance. I would suggest taking this hotel off your site until its fixed. My room was good in terms of space, comfort, but needs maintenance, broken tiles, etc. Up one floor, with difficult staircase, no elevators, not suitable for pensioners!

    Location in Vieux Quebec

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    5.8
    A lot smaller than the photos
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The superior room we booked and paid over $250 for the night looked nothing like the photos. No fireplace in the recess for it. Tiny bathroom. Heater that you had to twist a button for that would time out. Tiny, tiny room. The photos I posted represent first what I thought the superior room would look like (photo from their website) and what it actually looked like. The only good thing about it was that it was located on the first floor, since there’s no elevator. It was quite the scavenger hunt to find the ice machine and the public restroom. But, good location, and very helpful staff.

    The staff was very helpful

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    10
    great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    bathroom is just a tad too small, but its really no biggie

    where at the center of the tourist attractions in old quebec, its basically a walking distance everywhere from our hotel, to restaurants to citadel to petit champlain and hotel frontenac, i love that they gave us a free upgrade too.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    10
    Within the walls of Beautiful Old Quebec City
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The Quaintest hotel I have ever stayed in. Very old and full of charm! We actually stayed in a sister hotel of the Acadia across the street. The room was very large with two queen size beds, table and two chairs and a round coffee table with two armed chairs. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The staff carried our suitcases to and from the hotel room. Close to so many good restaurants and shops.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 19, 2018

    6.7
    Too expensive for what it is really.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First, hôtel Acadia seems to be a group of hôtels in différent nearby houses with one central reception desk. In our hôtel there was no lift, only a rather steep stairs which is not convenient with heavy bagages. The car parking is valet service (good but expensive) is not indicated on the site.

    The location, the bed.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    8.8
    Our little suite was very nice and very cozy, plus the...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The dark narrow hallways were a little concerning...I was beginning to worry about what our room would be like, but it turned out fine.

    Our little suite was very nice and very cozy, plus the location was excellent.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 15, 2018

    4.6
    disappointed with the reservation mix-up and the condition of the room.
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Booked 2 rooms, but only 1 was held. My partner had to find another hotel. Room was clean, but old and creaky. Bathroom was tiny. No elevator. Not a good value for the money.

    Bed was comfortable. Room was warm.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    8.3
    concierge (parking attendant very helpfull and friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 2 nights

    hallway to room a bit tackey. Breakfast at nearby restaurant not exceptional

    concierge (parking attendant very helpfull and friendly. excellent location.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 11, 2018

    2.9
    terrible; would not recommend to anyone.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 3 nights

    room was very small -- the free floor space was approximately 10 square feet with no room for luggage or two people. items from previous guests were in the room. towels were hand size, one very small bar of soap provided. we extended one night and were put in a dump of a hotel with no information about the poor accommodations. we were charged $250.00 per night,same rate for better rooms, for a room down an alley, on the second floor, with narrow, dark, dingy hallway. i would not recommend this hotel to anyone.

    the only value is the location and proximity to old town.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    9.6
    Loved the place and the charm. Just need to be aware of no elevator.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 1 night

    No elevator. Had to carry luggage up 3 flights of narrow stairs.

    Great location in Quebec City. Close to sites, restaurants. Easy walking distance to everything.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    8.8
    Wonderful location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no elevator and our room was on the third floor. The steps were very steep and it was difficult for my mother.

    Wonderful location. Practically everything you want to see is within walking distance. This also includes restaurants and shopping.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 1, 2018

    4.6
    Loved Quebec City; really disliked the hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 4 nights

    The room was dirty and never properly cleaned up over the four days we were there. There was a persistent chemical smell that the staff never satisfactorily explained or fixed. One day we were given Keurig cups for our coffee machine, which only takes coffee in a basket!

    We liked the location; really nothing else worked out well

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    5.8
    Ok if you don't have much luggage, don't mind stairs and go in expecting a 2 star type experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Granted I arrived in the early hours due to my flights and was able to check in but I was just given my key and pointed across the road at the other building and told my room was in there. The gentleman at reception told me that I couldn't pay to extend the room as he had already checked me in prior to my arrival. Not sure on the logic but there we go. Now after standing in the dark for a while trying to figure out how to get my case up and in I was confronted with the fact my room was at the very top which meant dragging my case up 6 flights of stairs as there is no lift in the building. I did this...it was a struggle. My room was clean and basic probably around a 2 star standard. I was annoyed as the photos used are not representative of what you get. I was looking forward to a nice long bath in the morning but the bath was so small and so scratched and in a very noisy (due to the extractor) small dark bathroom that I totally avoided it. I was really disappointed to pay such a premium for a room which was basic and service to match.

    The bed was pretty comfortable once I had managed to warm up as the covers were a little on the thin side. It is in a nice area.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 30, 2018

    7.9
    A 2-3 star hotel in great location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 4 nights

    A few upgrades in the room would add. The bathroom needed new a new exhaust fan (loud). We were in the "Louisburg Hotel", not the main Acadia Hotel (the hotel manages 3 buildings / former hotels in close proximity) - all three are under the Acadia Hotel management - need to be aware of this when booking.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 27, 2018

    7.1
    Charming atmosphere, nice location.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Cleaners didn't do room til 4:30 & didn't do a thorough clean in 4 days. If stairs are an issue for you this is not a good place for you. Reception staff & concierge were great. Thnx etienne

    Charming atmosphere, nice location. Reception staff and concierge were great.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 26, 2018

    7.1
    historic building - small rooms, very narrow stairs and thin walls
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Caution: All the photos show the Arcadia Building - we were in the Luneburg House (smaller rooms, carpet floors, no elevators). The "spa area" is one jacuzzi on a terrace of the Arcadia building - no connection to the other houses. Prob nice for two, but cerainly not for six (according the sign!). The breakfast was in a steak house restaurant next door. Quite expensive, even in the "cheeper" Luneburg building.

    Central location, everything walkable from there

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 25, 2018

    5.4
    Average room, no breakfast included. Lots of stairs.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    See above comment.

    We were charged more by booking through Booking.com and no breakfast. Our friends went directly through the hotel and paid a lot less and had three free breakfasts included.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 23, 2018

    7.5
    I acknowledge the hotel is in a very old building but it felt shabby.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The size of the room was very small and the bathroom minuscule. The bath towels were very small and not good quality. What is now 2 or 3 rooms was once one very large room. I doubt there is insulation in the walls as the acoustics are not good. I could hear the person in my adjoining room talking quite clearly on his phone.

    The location was excellent, easy walk to explore the old town.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 22, 2018

    7.5
    It had character bathroom was very clean and modern, room...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The six-foot-five ceilings in our room room extremely tiny had to walk up 3 flights of stairs with luggage and three flights down

    It had character bathroom was very clean and modern, room was clean and location was fantastic

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 20, 2018

    3.8
    The worse hotel experience so far.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Standard Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The staff The room is not as clean as i imagined And it did not look even 10 % close to the pictures of rooms posted in the website

    The only positive thing is the location of the hotsl But the hotel it self if sooooooo bad.. Was one of my worse experiences ever.. And on top of that the staff were rude. Traveled to many places and tried many hotel by far this is my worse ever

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 19, 2018

    7.5
    Great location in Old Quebec near restaurants and cultural areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 1 night

    Didn't realize we had to walk to another street to eat breakfast, as the restaurant is not at the hotel. It was a cold rainy day that morning so not that pleasant.

    We liked the location and ambiance. They accommodated us in providing a ground floor room which we preferred over dealing with stairs.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 18, 2018

    4.2
    Not worth the money
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Not worth the money paid. This is a dated hotel and a cash-cow for the (for what I assume, offsite or foreign) owners. Dated as in musty, not dated as in historic. The building we stayed in was obviously another hotel that was bought up. You can tell by the outline of a reception desk in the mismatched smelly carpet. The front-desk staff don't seem well trained as I witnessed a gong show on how they fumbled a taxi for a British couple. $22 for parking and the valet expects a tip after that - uh, no. I would have preferred to book a hotel in the lower part, such as Saint Roch would be better value for the money. Shame on me for booking last minute and getting stuck with this amateur-hour facility.

    Location. Historic exterior.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    8.3
    Overall, a great little room in a great location!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 3 nights

    It seemed a little odd at first that the front desk services were in a different building but it didn't really make a difference in the end. There was a security code at the front door so I felt very safe there.

    Loved the two stone walls in the room .. just what I was looking for. The room was small but very cozy. The bathroom was small but had been nicely updated.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    4.2
    Person at check-in unfriendly, unhelpful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 1 night

    Person at check-in unfriendly, unhelpful. Photos did not accurately represent the room. Very narrow stairs difficult to maneuver with luggage. Hallways in poor condition.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 14, 2018

    10
    A touch of Europe.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    First night we were in the wrong room. Booked with booking ,com. the staff did change our room the next two nights and we were not disappointed then.

    Helpful, friendly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    5.8
    Rate was high for rooms under the roof with very little...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rate was high for rooms under the roof with very little daylight. No lift. Access to the rooms difficult. No restaurant at the hotel. Breakfast had to be taken outside .

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 13, 2018

    6.3
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff was unfriendly. They have different location and you have to walk there. The one we had was in remodeling, with a lot of staircase. The room were very dark, with only a few dim lights.

    The location is great.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    4.2
    Book somewhere else and don’t use booking.com
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I booked for a different room based on pictures on app. I was given a room that had old furniture, peeling wallpaper on the 4th roof top floor of another building. A dirty room nonetheless.

    The downtown location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    7.5
    It’s nice and clean.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We didn’t actually stay at the original hotel. We had to go up the street a bit to their other location.

    It’s nice and clean. Perfect for a short stay.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 8, 2018

    8.8
    The location was fabulous, would stay there again for that reason
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Classic Double Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 3 nights

    Description didn't mention anything about there been no elevator, a bit tough with having to carry luggage up a couple of flights of stairs. Room modernized but hall and stairway a bit old

    Nice room Location absolutely fabulous Front desk staff great

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    10
    Nice boutique hotel in the middle of the old city
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 1 night

    We arrived later in the day and no on-site parking was available and no place to temporarily park our car in front to check in. Someone else in the same predicament left their car blocking half the street, parking perpendicular to the sidewalk. We ended up parking in an underground parking lot about about 5-10 min walk away.

    Centrally located in old town within easy walking distance to stores, restaurants and sights. Our room was in the Ermitage building, which had dated hall carpeting and walls, but we were pleasantly surprised that our room was clean/modern inside and included a small living room. The beds were firm and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly. Would stay here again next time in Quebec City.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 7, 2018

    10
    Skip the chain hotel and stay here
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Charming hotel in an excellent location. Our room was spacious, quaint and very clean. The bed was very comfortable. The rooms are well protected from noise....so quiet! The staff are all very friendly. Parking on site was reasonably priced. We drove a motorcycle, and they were very accommodating.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    9.6
    Nice place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check out was not very smooth. Did not seem like the man on the front desk knew what to do. I understand there may have been a language barrier. In regards to the cleaning staff and valet; set up some sort of direct deposit in order to tip them. Not many people carry cash anymore.

    The room and location were perfect. The room was kept within the character of the old city. We loved the old world flair, squeaky floors and all!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 5, 2018

    4.6
    Unsatisfactory
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 1 night

    The electricity didnt work in our room, no tv, fridge, coffee maker due to this. Front desk was alone and unable to help us. Parking and unloading horrible as you have to park in the middle of the street and block traffic both ways.

    The location was great

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    6.7
    The staff is very friendly.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sofa Bed - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Need to be more care about how the hotel look. And will be very helpful if they have someone at night to help when you have some inconvenience. We were need it help two consecutive night and it wasn't nobody to help us. : (

    The staff is very friendly. : )

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    3.8
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Tiny room...poorly decorated with cheap furnishing...The covering, on the fake leather desk chair, was all cracked and peeling off. That is just one tiny example of many disappointments, for a room that cost over $200 a night. It felt like a room in a hostel.

    Location

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    4.2
    Location
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Double Room with Two Double Beds - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Furniture (all) were in very bad shape and very old. Cleanliness: bathroom walls were very dusty, shelf still with the “home depot” label on it, floor was also dirty at our arrival.

    Location

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 2, 2018

    7.9
    The staff were very helpful
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We booked a very small room which was noisy and cramped with no view but we managed to change and all was good. There's quite a lot of corridor noise

    The staff were very helpful

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    7.5
    Old world charm
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We stayed at Hotel Louisbourg which was around the corner from Hotel Acadia and on Main Street entering Old Québec, lots of traffic passing by. We loved staying in Old Québec and would visit again and will recommend to others.

    Central position great places to eat and all sights and tour departures close by.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    7.1
    I love Quebec and the old city is magical.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The air conditioner couldn't be regulated and I had to sleep at the foot end of my bed to somewhat avoid the cold draft of air. Additionally, the telephone never worked in the room, including being able to make an emergency call if needed. The staff indicated that technicians would fix that but in 3 days stay it never worked. Most of the staff were bilingual but communicating was difficult.

    The hotels (3) are quaint and in a great location for walking everywhere in Old Quebec.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 31, 2018

    5.8
    The location
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The images on line were misleading. The property we stayed in was around the corner room 161. The building was dark and dingy. The carpets were old and smelly. The room and bathroom very small. Room was not cleaned until late in the afternoon on our first day. In order to get hot water we had to walk to the Acadia hotel.

    The location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    5.8
    Great location for easy access to all sights in and near the Old City, but room was dismal.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The room did not look like any of the charming rooms that appeared for this facility's three locations on the Booking.com page. It had no charm and was so small that to get into the far side of the double bed, I had to sit on the end and push backwards. There was only 4-5" between the bed and the wall. A 1st floor window next to the bed faced the parking area, so we had to keep the dark curtains closed in order to have any privacy. No drawers in which to put clothing, so had to use suitcases. No lighting over mirrors making shaving or putting on makeup difficult. Noisy fan in bathroom came on when light was turned on. We only received one bath towel (for two people) on the last day and did not realize it until late that night when we wanted to shower. I realize that the prime location affects the price, but we did not get the quality of room that we expected for that price - it was far inferior to a typical chain motel room. In addition, on the one morning that we decided to try the $12 buffet at the affiliated restaurant, we were treated so rudely, that we decided to eat elsewhere. That was the only incidence of rudeness that we encountered in our Quebec stay.

    The location on a quiet street in the Old City was excellent. The staff was friendly and helpful. Good light over the bed for reading. Otherwise lighting was poor. I wanted to stay in the Old City and was willing to spend more than usual to do so since the rooms shown on the Booking.com page looked very nice - but see below.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    9.6
    Great location, very close to the Old City
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 1 night

    The only downside to this hotel was the quality of the towels ad other bath linen we were supplied with. They were very, very thin. We would have thought that nice fluffy towels would be the minimum standard .

    As an old hotel, it has the charm and feel of a European hotel, even to the fact it has no lift.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 29, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful room, very comfortable beds
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Queen Room with Two Queen Beds - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Toilet seat was loose and difficult. We didn't mention it till we left, so hopefully they will fix it in room 350

    We arrived before check-in time, they stored our luggage. Very helpful in many ways. Our room was across the street at the Hermitage. We booked 2 queen sized beds for two of us. The room was huge. We are never sure what size beds will be.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    8.3
    great location, old-world charm but facilities need updating
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Ermitage
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The WiFi was a little spotty and we lost TV connection a couple of times. Not a huge deal, as we spent most time outside the hotel enjoying the city. My bigger concern was the bathroom - it seems that they put a "shell" over the old tub (almost like a Bathfitter) and it wasn't sealed properly so there was a good amount of water between the old tub and new shell. As a result, the shower felt very unstable - it put me off balance whenever I changed my stance as the swell of water shifted beneath my feet.

    The hotel is pretty and in a great central location. Staff was very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    9.2
    Location was excellent. Central to everything in Old Quebec, restaurants and entertainment.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Superior Queen Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 1 night

    I was not aware that the hotel has several locations (i.e buildings) that you need to leave the check in hotel building Acadia to then walk to another street to get to the room. There is valet car service which was very helpful. Keys are used to get into the front door of the unstaffed building. The staff is at the Acadia building. And then a key to the room. I was annoyed that I was not made aware of the whole setup. Still the actual room, the location close to everything, and the staff made it a very pleasant stay. I would stay with them again now knowing what to expect.

    The hotel staff were great and very helpful. The location is in the heart of all the tourist sites. Lovely to just leave your hotel and walk around. Beautiful location

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    6.3
    A little dissapointing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The other couple with us had an issue with their bathroom; the sink was in the bedroom not in the bathroom. When they asked for another room, they were told that the other room would be comparable to their current one. We ended up going to another hotel for about the same price.

    It was a great location for the activities that we were going to attend. The pictures on the website are very creative and maybe a little deceptive. Both rooms were small. Our bathroom was very nice, looking like it had been recently done over. The staff was pleasant on arrival.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 26, 2018

    3.3
    horrible !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    rooms were very dirty. we did not have a fridge , there was a coffee machine but no coffee inside. upon requests from the staff, they were less than understanding and did not help at all. overall for the amount of money spent , poor quality and an even poorer experience. The AC vent was disgusting!!

    location was good

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 23, 2018

    6.3
    The staff and the location was great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite with Sofa Bed - Building Acadia
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I didn’t like the entry and hallway to get to the room. It looked extremely used. The cleaning of the room was at the end of the day. We were gone all day but would return around 5 to freshen up before supper and would need to leave the room so they could finally come and clean it.

    The staff and the location was great. The room was ok, has the potential in being great but was just ok.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    5.5
    Acceptable but I would try another hotel when we return
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was not in main hotel but a second building very dingy and cramped but was clean

    Location was fantastic. The porter/ valet was keen and helpful

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 21, 2018

    4.6
    They have the valet parking which is $22per day.
    • Family with young children
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I don’t recommend this hotel at all! So disappointed!! It is dirty. The staff is not professional, he was just waiting for us to provide all the information without even asking us anything, it was so impolite, and make us feel like we are not welcomed. I don’t know if they are discriminating the Asian people. The rooms we live are not the one we pay and what we book, we only got the cheapest room without any explanation. The stander room we got which is very small and low class. Much under our expectation. And the room is not at the main building, it is actually belongs to another hotel, and it is just a weird small house shouldn’t be used as hotel room. We understand it is old town, the room is old, but the AC doesn’t work at the first night, and it is very hot and wet at night. ( and we found that it actually works, but they put a cover on top of the control, and didn’t provide the instructions, so I search on the YouTube to save our life! The ceiling of the bathroom is wet and is peeling, make me feel so dirty and disgusting! And they don’t provide the bottled drinking water in the room, it is too dirty to drink the tap water in this dirty environment. The room make us feel so dirty and we just want to leave as soon as possible. Bad service, bad hotel room.

    They have the valet parking which is $22per day. And 10 mins walking to the center of the old town.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 20, 2018

    4.2
    Do NOT waste your money and stay here. Awful.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was terrible, paid over $300 for a ramshackle double bed room that was like a hostel. ABSOLUTELY NOTHING LIKE DESCRIPTION OR PICTURES. Smelled like wet dog with a view of a balcony full of garbage. Everything was old and worn and uncomfortable.

    The staff was very courteous especially as it was on the last night of our honeymoon

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2018

    4.6
    Never again.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pictures on the website do NOT represent reality. Very small bedroom, quite old, we booked to be in Acadia hotel but were in Louisbourg which doesn't seem to have the same comfort ! Seem too that people working there doesn't like smiling ! Quite disappointed because WE paid the Price to have a comfortable modern bedroom but wasn't thé case at all !!!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 15, 2018

    7.1
    It was central
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We were put into a related hotel the Louisbourg a 5 min walk away and not the hotel we’d booked in. Because the parking valet was only available at the Acadia, we had to wheel our luggage down to he street and climb some steep stairs to get to our floor.

    It was central

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 13, 2018

    7.5
    The location is great.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Classic Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room assigned to us was on 4th fl. The ceiling was super low. I am 5'10 but cannot stand straight in half of the room. But the room was clean.

    The location is great. Walking distance to the Fairmont - within 5 minutes. We actually arrived at night. The next morning when we stepped outside of the hotel, we saw the street decorated with flowers and architectures. It was touching.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    10
    Fantastic Place
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room - Building Louisbourg
    • Stayed 5 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We have no complaints!

    We were upgraded to a studio which was perfect as we were there for 5 nights. It was a beautiful room with a full kitchen. I have never stayed in a hotel as clean as Hotel Acadia. The proximity to everything was very convenient and staff were wonderful.

    Stayed in August 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!
Browse Hotel Acadia Traveler Photo Gallery

Guests also reviewed these properties: