Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis
  1. Hotel reviews homepage
  2. Canada hotel reviews
  3. Ontario hotel reviews
  4. Niagara-on-the-Lake hotel reviews
  5. Reviews of Pillar and Post Inn & Spa

Reviews of Pillar and Post Inn & Spa This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services available. It's based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

48 John Street, L0S 1J0 Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada

#8 of 14 hotels in Niagara-on-the-Lake

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 952 hotel reviews

8.9

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9.1

  • Comfort

    9

  • Location

    9.1

  • Facilities

    9

  • Staff

    9.2

  • Value for money

    7.9

  • Free WiFi

    8.5

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more– opens a dialog box
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 75

  • Reviewed: December 4, 2018

    9.6
    Memorable Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The place is very well decorated but it is time for a serious update. Carpets should be replaced and wood paneling painted or replaced. That said, it was clean and although old fashioned not everything has to look like a modern clone.

    Staff were wonderful, very accommodating. Services provided were exceptional. I would return!!

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: December 3, 2018

    10
    From the opening of the door entrance to the welcoming smile and welcome my weekend with my cousin m
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    That I had to leave and come back to reality

    Marlane front desk Garrett front desk Matt shuttle peter in the lounge Eileen front desk awesomeness and over and above the call of duty thank you all for your hospitality a return visit soon so kind with a hello welcome and great stay thank you all

    Stayed in December 2018

  • Reviewed: November 26, 2018

    9.6
    I always am very thankful for the cleanliness and comfort of...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hot springs weren't working properly which was pretty disappointing it's one of the main reason we go to the pillar and post. It definitely took away from our stay

    I always am very thankful for the cleanliness and comfort of the rooms

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 22, 2018

    7.1
    There was a fire alarm at 130 a.
    • Leisure trip
    • Travelers with friends
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was a fire alarm at 130 a.m. . When i asked for some sort of compensation the customer service lady was dismissive.. and offered no compensation

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2018

    9.6
    e
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The staff were excellent and helpful. We enjoyed the comfort of the room and the location. The indoor and outdoor pools were great, and the hot tub was wonderful. Both meals we ate there were excellent.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 12, 2018

    10
    Beautiful, cozy place to spend your anniversary!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The heat in the room was all over the place. System could use an upgrade.

    Guest reception, spa was accommodating when we needed to make last minute changes, hotel shuttle to town, ambience and the service.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    10
    One of my best weekends at Niagara on the Lake.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I have been to Pillar and Post in the past. I love everything about the property and the staff is wonderful. It was my birthday and they upgraded us to a suite, which made my birthday even more special. Thank you Pillar and Post for making my Birthday so memorable.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 6, 2018

    8.3
    loved the grounds and hotel, found the stairs a little much...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    found the stairs a little much with stroller, suit cases and baby.

    loved the grounds and hotel, found the stairs a little much with stroller, suit cases and baby.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    10
    Relaxing getaway in Niagara On The Lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    This was our first time staying at this hotel, and we'll be staying here when we visit Niagara On The Lake from now on - the service was outstanding, great food/drinks at the restaurant/bar, spacious rooms with very comfortable beds, and a location that's a reasonable walking distance from the main street lined with other restaurants and shops. We didn't use the pools (forgot our bathing suits), but the outdoor pool was open (it's heated) and the hot springs and indoor pool looked very inviting! Very close to several of the wonderful wineries in the area too! (Peller, Two Sisters). I would highly recommend this to any couples traveling to the area.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 5, 2018

    10
    Great location, great accomodations and friendly staff!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nothing. We enjoyed everything.

    The staff was awesome, the rooms were great. The outdoor heated pool was still open in November and people were swimming. The hot springs were awesome and you have to visit the spa! We spent the afternoon there and it was amazing!

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    7.9
    Great stay in Niagara on the lake
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Property cleanliness should be taken care better.

    Great property to stay in NOTL, awesome spa facilities and pool; great for family trip. Lots of parking available, walking distance to the centre town and a hotel van available to drive the guests in town.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 4, 2018

    8.8
    Short and sweet.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Usually staying at a place like this the staff would ask if anything is being celebrated, we were not asked and were celebrating. The staff that checked us in did not mention how the payment process worked, woke up to check my statement to see a much higher price than expected, when checking out another staff assured me the price would be adjusted. They give out maps to the rooms, good thing - but we still got lost.

    Beautiful high ceilings with exposed beams, decor was lovely. Staff was very friendly.

    Stayed in November 2018

  • Reviewed: November 2, 2018

    7.9
    Pillar and Post Stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Restaurant Staff was clearly overwhelmed due to shortage of servers at the popular casual restarant. Overall, food was great and staff was amazingly gracious and professional.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: November 1, 2018

    7.9
    Relaxing getaway but rooms could use updating and staff could be more attentive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel room was dated. It was clean, but some areas needed more attention (for example, bathroom cabinets were dusty and there was a used shower cap hanging on the back of the bathroom door.) Staff was helpful, but upper spa desk was unmanned, and water jug empty. Seemed difficult to find someone to help.

    Location was fantastic, within walking distance to downtown. The spa facilities are nice, especially the outdoor hot springs.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 28, 2018

    6.7
    Not good value for the money .. looking tired.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    Phone in the room didn't work; priced too high for the benefit received. Restaurant dinner and breakfast were ok, but overpriced. breakfast was not what we experienced last time we were there.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 25, 2018

    10
    Wonderful stay and wedding was just stunning.
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I have been visiting this facility for the past 25 years. Each time I visit, it is pleasurable and relaxing. One thing I would like to see in the future would be some updating of the rooms etc.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: October 24, 2018

    9.6
    It was beautiful and clean and very cozy and relaxing feel...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loved everything about it

    It was beautiful and clean and very cozy and relaxing feel to it. Was our 1st year anniversary and they rested us amazingly we will be back for sure.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 23, 2018

    7.9
    The bed was very comfortable and probably the best one we...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 1 night

    I noticed another person who checked in next to me, had someone explaining all about the resort, shuttle etc. My check-in person barely gave any info. I had to ask about the shuttle and got minimum details. Our room was right by the pool and the hall smelled strongly of chlorine. The room itself smelled fine. It was a smaller but cozy room. The room was loud in the AM with maintenance noises and proximity to the pool. The fan on the air/heater ran constantly and was quite loud but it helped to drown out some of the noise in the morning.

    The bed was very comfortable and probably the best one we had on our trip. The pools looked great. We didn't eat at the restaurant but it looked quaint. I loved all the lounge chairs around the pools and in the lobby. It was a little far from town. We stayed on a very cold night and didn't want to walk to town but on a summer night, it is doable.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    6.3
    Just okay- way too expensive for the room
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The property is nice however our room was mediocre. I would never pay what we paid to stay in that room again. I don’t understand why this hotel is so expensive to be honest.

    The property is nice. Staff check-in was good. Good location.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 22, 2018

    10
    We will be back! Love it
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Wasnt happy that I couldnt get your wonderful salmon dinner in bar area- after a long week of dressing up for work, I have no interest in a higher end restaurant experience and dressing up in main restaurant

    Second stay this yesr and love it here

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 17, 2018

    8.3
    The food in the bar was good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The location of our room was noisy and busy. It was next to both the ice machine and the entry doors to the health club and spa.

    The food in the bar was good.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 16, 2018

    5.4
    Service by male staff who responded positively and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Some staff were excellent but many female staff demonstrated an attitude of indifference and lack of appropriate response to guests. There was no elevator and only worn outside stairs not well lit at night that clients had to use to access room. Request for main level room at front desk when checking in was denied with no apology or attempt by staff to accommodate a person with cane! Restaurant was not accessible and only accessed by another set of stairs. Fare was not equal to price charged.

    Service by male staff who responded positively and immediately to requests.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 14, 2018

    10
    Just a great weekend away
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Did not find anything wrong with our stay

    We celebrated our 49 th wedding anniversary here. We had an amazing experience with this hotel , from dining in , to the wine tour , and spa.Hotel staff were very accommodating. Mgr's reception was a nice touch as well. We will be back next year for our 50 th wedding anniversary

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 13, 2018

    9.2
    Great stay and hope to return soon!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Bathroom shower head was lacking. Overall the room was great but with signs of wear and tear. TV was small and resolution was bad, could hardly see the movie at times. Breakfast to the room for 9:00-9:15am was late. Had to call down to front desk at 9:40am, when it arrived it was as if it had been prepared around 9 when it should have but never delivered. Was somewhat cold but otherwise ok.

    Room size, furniture and decor. Grounds and lobby were gorgeous. A nice walk to old town. Staff were nice and accommodating.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 10, 2018

    5.4
    Disappointing
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First morning we ordered breakfast it was delivered without any condiments . That was remedied by the staff. That evening we had to ask for for the door card for breakfast the next morning. We completed it but never received breakfast the next morning. That evening We had aphyds coming into the room through a gap in the window and we told staff. Nothing was done. We had dinner at the cannery restaurant my salmon was very good but my girl friends dinner had a burnt taste to it that permeated the steak and vegetables. The waitress was very good about handling the situation and tried her best to remedy it. My girlfriend had a her nails painted. It cost 90 dollars within 2 hours the polish was bubbling and peeling away. We asked staff for a comment card none was forthcoming. No one from the front desk asked about our concerns. We were told just to post our concerns on the website.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    5.8
    The gardens and surrounding the building were stunning.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The decor in the rooms were dated and fixtures like the fireplace were not well maintained. The paint in the bathroom was peeling. The room furnishings and finishing did not live up to the price of the room. The bed and pillows were not at all comfortable.

    The gardens and surrounding the building were stunning. The staff were pleasant and helpful. The windows in the room opened.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 9, 2018

    5.8
    A very nice stay, but a little disappointed in the quality of the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The rooms seem to be in need of a bit of a refresh. For $400.00 a night, I do not expect the wallpaper in the bathroom to be peeling off the wall nor for the bathroom to have black mildew in the tub and on the trim?? A little disappointing. To be fair, this was one room, cannot speak for the rest of the rooms at the hotel.

    The main restaurant (The Cannery) was outstanding. Have been their multiple times and the Beef Tenderloin is incredible. The grounds of the property are well maintained, as is the common areas of hotel.

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 8, 2018

    6.7
    Contact the hotel direct to get the best deal and they will look after you,
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We did not like the way Booking.com market this property, which has no reflection on the hotel. Booking .com do not make it clear enough about the resort tax of $15Candian per night that is added to the account. This resort tax is for the use of the hotel facilities such as the spa or hot pool or gym. If you do not use these then you will still be charged the full amount, so you can find a lesser cost hotel elsewhere. Some rooms on the ground floor are in the corridor to the pool and spa and you have the constant smell of chlorine. Also room 103 backs onto restrooms and a swing door in the corridor, very noisey if you are a light sleeper

    Out of the mad rush of niagara falls

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: October 7, 2018

    6.7
    Location being in a residential neighbourhood
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Shower being in bathtub Bed was too high up

    Location being in a residential neighbourhood Windows being operable Outdoor pool area Indoor pool area

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    9.6
    Great location for wine tasting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Great location for local wine tasting, walking to some and taking advantage of the free shuttle to and from others! Menu was varied,and well priced. We ate in the bar, tastefully decorated with polo memorabilia. The hot spring at the hotel is well worth a dip!

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 28, 2018

    9.2
    We move the P&P. And will be back again. It’s our ‘home’ while in NOTL
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    First room wasn’t really clean. Small complimentary items missing. Very noisy area. And could smell the chlorine from the pool. P

    We had problems with our room location and cleanliness and we were moved to another room quickly.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2018

    8.3
    The Pillar and Post
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If I had understood the layout better I would probably have asked for rooms away from the pool. The rooms we had fronted the main route to and from the pool and was quite busy. The window also looked out onto this corridor and therefore necessitated keeping the curtains closed.

    The staff and location. The main reason for being at Niagra-on- the-lake was to see the falls and soak up the atmosphere of that part of the county, when choosing a place to stay we wanted somewhere relaxed but of a good standard and good service. The pillar and post was excellent for this. The staff were warm and welcoming and the location just right. I would stay again

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 16, 2018

    10
    Super close to downtown, convenient free shuttle service. Nice inside pool and outdoor hot tub.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Three light bulbs were not functioning in my room. One was burned out in the chandelier of the second floor suite and the sconces inside the entrance were inoperable. Not a big deal, it was just a little dark. This hotel is VERY well maintained. I am sure they noticed the bulbs after I checked out and replaced them.

    For being such an old hotel, it was actually very nice. I was surprised how the bathroom was updated and how clean everything was. The staff was friendly. The free shuttle was absolutely worth staying. It was great getting a convenient ride downtown, although it is also a only a few blocks away. I would recommend the coffee service in the morning. Spot-on timing and only about $11 CAN for service for two.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 12, 2018

    7.1
    Cleanliness.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Thought the nights stay were terribly over priced. Didn't even get breakfast included for the amount I paid.

    Cleanliness. Friendly staff especially the house maid.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    8.8
    Beautiful facility and friendly staff.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Requested a quiet room and that was confirmed at checkin; however room was adjacent to ice machine so I was awaken every 20 minutes when the machine dumped its ice. Also bed had a huge lump in the middle which was hard to sleep on!

    Beautiful facility and friendly staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 11, 2018

    7.1
    Nice hotel, found it to be a little pricy for what you get..
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing in the room regarding what is in the area - some kind of publication that has restaurants, attractions in the area. No where in the hotel to buy anything - no convenience store/shop

    Bed was comfy

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 10, 2018

    7.5
    Wedding celebrations
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Loud bathroom , when people flushed toilet our toilet would make a loud sound for couple of minutes Bed was right by the door and hallway light was bothering me all night

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 6, 2018

    7.1
    Happy we went. Won’t return. Crazy expensive.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Although high end it was heavily trafficked and sections looked grimey like the carpeting in the lobby and elevator. The bar staff was completely inattentive leaving us at our table for twenty minute stretches. Smoking is allowed so our neighbors sat on the porch and smoked which filtered into our room. Not really the spa type atmosphere.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 4, 2018

    5.8
    Fair at best. Looking forward to coming back at a less busy time.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was not ready on time. The hotel was too crowded. There was no place to sit at the pool. The hotel and rooms are nice but getting very worn with some disrepair.

    The bed was super comfortable. All staff were really nice.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 3, 2018

    5.0
    Wouldn't have booked if I'd known.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel did not honour the bed type reserved and confirmed, saying it was because the booking was made through Booking.com. The property is old and appointments in many ways basic; service was skimpy and turndown service did not refresh towels, prepare bed etc.

    Clerks and wait staff were friendly and tried to be helpful.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    6.7
    Good
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hotel interior looking dated and worn a bit. Staff not knowledgeable at check out

    Property exterior was beautiful. Spa excellent but needs a facelift

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    7.9
    Enjoyed the stay but will not likely repeat as there are better options in the town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The Pub area was very cool and made for a less than comfortable seating for dinner. The breakfast in our past visit was exceptional, however this time again the coolness took away from the comfort of the breakfast. The breakfast itself was not as good. The hot plates offered on the buffet were sub par compared to previous visits. The omelette table was still very good.

    The staff everywhere were very good. The room itself was good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: September 1, 2018

    9.6
    Incredible stay
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nothing. This is an incredible hotel.

    Everything!! Yes it's a little pricey but you get what you pay for. From the high speed internet, high power shower, comfortable Queen size bed, lovely spa and pool, this place is exceptional. It's short a 10/15 min walk to the old town of NOTL. I can't wait to return.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 30, 2018

    10
    The bed!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I would be upset about the distance to the historical town but that was solved by the availability of shuttles, so no complaints!

    The bed!! Sooo comfortabke!! The grounds are lovely with enormous hydrangeas. Loved thus property

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2018

    6.7
    I feel like I overpaid for the room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The cleanliness of the room was not to standard. Old water bottles behind tv stand/dresser, a lot of dust on night stand, killed a few flies in the room though we never had the door open, bathroom shower leaks water onto floor.

    Bed, water pressure and interactions with staff were great. Coffee in various areas throughout the hotel in the morning was great as well.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 27, 2018

    6.7
    Nice get away but for the price I would stay at another hotel that was worth the money we paid.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our rooms a/c was leaking and had wet all over the carpet making room musty and humid. We told the front desk and they sent housekeeping with powder for the carpet, not a fix for a big issue. Pillows were lumpy, bathroom tap was backwards, a safety issue. All was reported to front desk. Glasses and food plates from room service were left around the hotel in tables and on the floor for hours without being cleaned up. For an upscale hotel, you shouldn’t be encountering these issues.

    Flowers were stunning Location was great Staff was pleasant

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 24, 2018

    8.8
    Relaxing with night swim, hot tub and sauna to wrap up day of walking through flower filled town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Pillow was high loft fibre fill or slanted angle. Prefer feather pillow or low soft fibre fill pillows.

    Rustic building architecture. Cannery restaurant has great food.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2018

    10
    This is a beautiful property.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    I got an upgraded king room.. my side of the bed was surprisingly hard.. hmm

    This is a beautiful property. You absolutely get what you pay for ! Spend the money & GO!

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 9, 2018

    6.7
    Beds were comfy, bathroom clean and good.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Crowded, small pool area, old carpets, corridor of first floor rooms smelled, no elevator! And no valet to carry bags up the stairs. Place kind of old, dark and tired looking. If you open the curtains then people can look into the room so curtains needed to be drawn at all times - therefore dark room.

    Beds were comfy, bathroom clean and good.

    Stayed in August 2018

  • Reviewed: August 1, 2018

    7.9
    Location, walking distance to town and Jackson Triggs winery.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Rooms are very dated and the bathroom & shower didn’t feel clean (it probably was, but just old and in need of renovation). The price of the room doesn’t seem reasonable and made me feel a little ripped off. Will do a B&B next time. Save my $500 for a luxury hotel.

    Location, walking distance to town and Jackson Triggs winery. The pool area (if you can find a spot) breakfast is excellent value.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2018

    10
    It was a great getaway for us
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We have been coming to the Pillar and Post for close to 40 years. We have always enjoyed our stay Town is wonderful with lots of neat shops and eateries . Good people watching. Shaw is close by

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    9.6
    We really enjoy Niagara on the Lake and the Pillar and Post is one of the best hotels there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Quality of coffee in the room - would prefer premium brand like Starbucks, plus an alternative to non-dairy powder high room rate for one night no extra's as part of stay, like voucher for wine tasting, or other first desk clerk upon arrival suggested we call back to see if room ready, instead of offering to call us when room ready no "grab and go" part to the restaurant; just wanted a muffin in the morning, not necessarily a full breakfast

    Bed very comfortable Nice room with sloped high ceiling, gas fireplace, desk, large flat screen TV on swivel mount Enjoyed the outdoor pool on two hot days Gentleman on front desk very helpful, friendly, professional Appreciated early check-in, and delivery of luggage up to the room before we returned to the hotel after lunch

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 23, 2018

    9.2
    It is a beautiful hotel and excellently maintained
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Unfortunately the air conditioner was so loud in our room neither my husband or I were able to sleep.

    It is a beautiful hotel and excellently maintained

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 16, 2018

    7.9
    Nice hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Nice room but small. I expected more luxury for the price I paid. The window air conditioning unit was working well but super noisy. I had to turn it off for the night. Breakfast buffet was so so.

    Nice hotel. Clean room. Very friendly and helpful staff.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 14, 2018

    9.2
    It was our wedding night so we wanted to spoil ourselves a little and were not disappointed.
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The view from our room could have been better but did not deter from our visit.

    The grounds we're very beautiful. We had a good time at the pool and the staff and the food were outstanding.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 11, 2018

    9.2
    I would be happy to stay at Pillar and Post on future trips to NOTL.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights

    I cannot think of anything bad to say!

    I liked my room very much. It was somewhat secluded and private. The bathroom had plenty of counter space and storage, a pet peeve of mine with many other hotels. It had a fridge, which helped me as I have to have almond milk for breakfast smoothies. Although the hotel is a little farther from some of the venues, the shuttle service came in handy once or twice. Also, I'd forgotten my cell phone charger and the front desk was very kind in helping me out with that.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: July 7, 2018

    7.9
    Good but would book stalker bnb next time
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Expensive restaurant and not much choice Breakfast not included in room rate which was disappointing Staff talking in the quiet area on spa was distracting from relaxing. The top pedicure seemed no more value than the classic option but was double the price. Nails chipped within days of application.

    Friendly staff Room very comfortable Air con excellent Spa and pool

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: July 1, 2018

    8.8
    Would love to go back
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The bed was uncomfortable..( mattress lumpy) Ice machine not working both days of our stay Bathroom was small with very little vanity space for toiletries.

    Staff very accommodating.friendly Good food Lounge had a very cozy atmosphere

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 29, 2018

    10
    Our stay at the Pillar and Post Inn was a very memorable experience.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There was no spare toilet paper and there wasn’t a second robe. Once was the staff was made aware of the situation, the problem was rectified immediately.

    The room was very clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the garden. The food at the Cannery Restaurant was absolutely delicious. Our server was not only fantastic at her job but her ability to interact with guests was outstanding.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 17, 2018

    9.2
    The pool and the aquafit was especially nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 3 nights

    I think you should fix your cream dispenser in the lobby where the coffee is served. It keeps overflowing.

    The pool and the aquafit was especially nice. I also loved the shuttle service to get around town and not have to worry about driving. The shuttle valet service was excellent. Pedro was our driver most of the time, and he provided us an excellent service and pointed out some points of interest.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 13, 2018

    8.3
    Hotel was beautiful, cozy and a perfect little getaway
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Food was subpar and service in restaurant and by the pool was slow, we often had to call for attention to even be seen by a server, plus the food was expensive for the quality.. Other guests at the hotel looked at us as if we were out of place, perhaps because of our younger age, a lot of older “wealthy” people that stay here

    Hotel was beautiful, cozy and a perfect little getaway

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 8, 2018

    6.9
    Was disappointed that we were not able to use the hot...
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Was disappointed that we were not able to use the hot springs, it was closed off due to maintenance and the springs were our main reason for choosing to stay here. The grounds and building were beautiful.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: June 2, 2018

    10
    Fantastic. Only one overnight but felt like we were rejuvenated. Always a special treat.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Can't think of a thing I didn't like.

    I always feel so welcome and cared for. It is our getaway destination when we just want to slow down and totally relax.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 30, 2018

    5.8
    Expected more for the amount we paid
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Second floor room with no elevator. Horrible outside stairway with uneven steps and loose carpeting. My husband lost his balance carrying suitcase up the stairs after catching his foot under the carpet that was loose. Almost tumbled backwards down the stairs but was able to catch himself . Scary start to our stay

    Staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 15, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointing from my last stay there.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Hot springs was very dirty and smelled. We went to then use jacuzzi and There was 16 guys in it that weren’t going to let us get in. Our friends room smelled like wet dog

    Location

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    10
    Beautiful spa and hotel -lovely Mother’s Day weekend
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Some of the people there weren’t very respectful of others - there were 2 couples who were drinking, yelling and rough-housing in the pool, and acting like it was spring break. They made it very unpleasant for the guests who were there for relaxation. This is NOT that type of hotel! The hot springs were smaller than I had expected overly crowded with lots of people drinking alcohol (even though it says “no alcohol “), so I wasn’t able to use them. Several ladies didn’t observe the “whispering” rule in the spa - and were very loud and noisy which dampened my spa visit.

    Amazing mother’s day getaway. Beautiful hotel. Exceeded my expectations. Staff was friendly and accommodating. Outdoor pool was warm and sheltered from the wind - despite the 14 degree temperature it was very pleasant to sit outside and go for a swim. There were more kids than I had expected- but all very well behaved. Room was lovely. Beautiful place to have a wedding.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 13, 2018

    7.9
    Loved the area.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    No heat in indoor pool (or at least told no heat), no coffee in room (had to go ask), and price seems high compared to similar stays in similar places.

    The location (just 5 blocks from main street), staff, and fireplace in room.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 8, 2018

    9.6
    Relaxing and peaceful. Staff was great and the housekeeping staff (Alayna) was very nice.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    Nothing.

    The staff was excellent. All of the young ladies behind the front counter were great and very nice. There was one young lady that took my wife and I picture on two seperate days. She was very nice. Great staff. The gentleman (valet) was super helpful also.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    8.3
    Be sure to make full use of the facilities, which are very nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bedroom was a very basic motel style and at $300 a night - I know that I'm paying for the facilities - I would still expect the rooms to be a quite a bit nicer. Not even a full set of toiletries! The bathrooms really could use an upgrade.

    The bed and linens were very nice! The pool was amazing

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 25, 2018

    10
    Looking forward to our next stay! I wish check out was alittle later.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Queen Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The staff in lounge area was slow even though it was early and not at all busy. Received a flat beer but they did replace it. Our food we ordered was great and would eat there again.

    The room and bed were comfy and cozy. Very clean. We felt so very relaxed and really enjoyed the hot springs. I loved the quiet atmosphere and the staff were always helpful. Did not receive a rose but were offered turned down service which we did not use.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    7.5
    Pleased and would consider staying there again but would ensure we stay in a different room.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The pillows were not great, very soft/flat. Also the room was very clean but there was an odour and we had to sleep with the windows open.

    Very clean and excellent staff

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 24, 2018

    7.9
    Beautiful location , lots of history, blgreat for business...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Premium Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    We had ants in our bathroom, squashed 6 ants. I let the front desk know and someone came right away to fix the problem and compensated us our dinner from the night at the lounge as an apology for the ants. The food was alright. We would probably eat at a different restaurant next time we go. I'm sure to others the food was great, just wasn't our style. Over priced for a one nights stay and for $300 a night it would have been nice to at least have a breakfast included. It was an extra cost.

    Beautiful location , lots of history, blgreat for business trips and for just a weekend away. The spa facilities and both indoor and outdoor pools were fantastic. Our room was excellent.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    8.8
    THE ROOM WAS BEAUTIFUL AND COZY.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Superior King
    • Stayed 2 nights

    THE ROOMS ARE PRICEY, IF YOU GET A DSICOUNT THEN IT IS WORTH IT

    THE ROOM WAS BEAUTIFUL AND COZY. LOVED THE FIREPLACE. THE STAFF WAS WONDERFUL AND PERSONABLE.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 18, 2018

    6.3
    Disappointed but will try again when the weather is better.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our phone in the room did not work and since we are from US were unable to even call front desk and let them know. The blow dryer kept shorting out. Our building was separate from the main building and our key as deactivated so we were locked out of the entire building at 10 pm and had to walk through the high Wind and ice to get to the front door to her another one. The lights went out and we were without power or heat for 4 hours and nobody even offered an apology. The professional at the spa desk was very rude when asked about spa availability on short notice.

    The fireplace and the bar

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: April 16, 2018

    10
    Very relaxing and enjoyable.!
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Traditional Room with Two Double Beds
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bed was very comfortable. Staff was more than helpful and courteous Enjoyed the spa facilities and treatments. Everything was perfect. No complaints. Hope to come back again real soon.

    Stayed in April 2018

Showing 1 - 75

We Price Match
We Price Match
Low rates • No booking fees • Find something cheaper? We'll refund the difference!

Guests also reviewed these properties: