Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Iceland Hotel Reviews by Real Guests

Recent Reviews for Hotels in Iceland

  • Laugarholt Apartment

    Húsavík, Iceland

    Average Review Score: 9.1
    • Positive section of review

      Excellent location, tastefully furnished house, good amenities including washing & drying machines, friendly hostess.

    • Negative section of review

      Unpleasant smell when we checked in. ?due to previous guest's food /cooking preferences.

    Reviewed: September 21, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Ravindra India
  • Guesthouse Húsid

    Hlíðarendi, Iceland

    Average Review Score: 8.2
    • Positive section of review

      The non-owner, (non Icelandic) hired staff (Victoria? and another young lady) were nice and helpful. Owner (?) was helpful in offering suggestions for tourism but was oddly reluctant to offer a pot of hot water from her kitchen (to make some soup), after she had told us the kitchen is closed now at 10pm. Loved Teddy the dog at the door, made for a homey feel.

    • Negative section of review

      Very basic place, bunk beds at US$170/night and $22 breakfast of bread, apples, shared bathrooms -- it is essentially a nice clean hostel.

    Reviewed: September 21, 2018 Stayed in August 2018
    Rajesh United States of America
  • Guesthouse Stekkaból

    Patreksfjörður, Iceland

    Average Review Score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      I fell in love with the little town of Patreksfjordur! This place was in walking distance to the waterfront, and I found a quaint cafe with reasonably priced food just a few blocks away. My room was downstairs and there was a separate entrance that you could come and go without disturbing anybody. That was a nice touch. Inside the house, I really liked the look of the common areas, although I wasn't quite clear on all there was to do in the upstairs space. I thought it was for dining only but it turns out it had games, books, and much more. I missed out on all of that! but my room was great, and the shared bathroom was quite nice with a large walk-in shower and rain-type shower head. Glorious! I would recommend it in a heartbeat!

    • Negative section of review

      Unfortunately, the TV was right outside my room, and somebody was watching something with the volume up a bit too high. It did bother me a bit -- but not enough to say anything to them. It didn't last until late at night, so it was fine.

    Reviewed: September 21, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    April United States of America
  • Guesthouse Alex by Keflavik Airport

    Keflavík, Iceland

    Average Review Score: 8
    • Positive section of review

      Early breakfast from 04:30 great for early flights. Hotel right at the airport but very little plane noise.

    • Negative section of review

      As is reasonably standard I have found in Iceland rooms were not ensuite

    Reviewed: September 21, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Clare United Kingdom
  • Hotel Ljósaland

    Staðarhólskirkja, Iceland

    Average Review Score: 7.9
    • Positive section of review

      I have a weakness for people who are trying to succeed on a tight budget by working hard. This place is (apparently) a repurposed dormitory of some kind. The facilities were entirely adequate, but in no way luxurious. The staff were polite, friendly and informative. Breakfast (of a sort) is offered at €8 per person (not €15 as shown on the Bookings listing) but it is very much like getting your own breakfast at home:- food and kitchen facilities are provided, and you help yourself. We ate supper in the restaurant/café on the property' the food was good and the portions very generous.

    • Negative section of review

      There was only one electrical outlet in our room. The Wi-fi was slow, although that may have been due to the number of users while we were there. Cleanliness could stand to be increased:- while I wouldn't call it dirty, it didn't sparkle.

    Reviewed: September 21, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    John Canada
  • Lagarfell Studios

    Egilsstadir, Iceland

    Average Review Score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      The location was great and the bathroom was well appointed with high-quality shampoo and conditioner. The bakery across the street was superb.

    • Negative section of review

      There was very little space to put anything. The end tables were polished logs, no shelf. There was not a dresser or closet of any kind just a coat rack with two hangers provided. There was plenty of space to put a table, chairs, etc but it was just empty space.

    Reviewed: September 21, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Helena United States of America
  • Brunnholl Country Guesthouse

    Brunnhólskirkja, Iceland

    Average Review Score: 8.6
    • Positive section of review

      The staff was very polite and nice. Coffee and tea available 24/7. Although room was basic (and rather old-fashioned), it was very clean. Nice surrounding (countryside). Quick check-out in the morning.

    • Negative section of review

      Wifi signal was rather poor. Not very wide range of sugar-free choices in the breakfast buffet. However, the biggest flaw was the price (I know that Iceland is generally expensive, but we stayed in similar, but cheaper, guesthouses/hotels there).

    Reviewed: September 21, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Anonymous Poland
  • Grimur Hotel

    Reykjavík, Iceland

    Average Review Score: 8.6
    • Positive section of review

      Check-in was easy and simple. We just got a code to access our room, allowing us to arrive at the hotel whenever we wanted. Breakfast was included and very decent. The rooms seemed renovated and new.

    • Negative section of review

      Check-out was rather early. The hotel is a bit outside the city, but if you have a car, this is actually great since free parking is available. Other than that, I cannot recall anything negative about our stay!

    Reviewed: September 22, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Anonymous Spain

Highly Rated Hotels in Iceland by English-speaking Reviewers

  • 41 - A Townhouse Hotel

    Reykjavík, Iceland

    Average Review Score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      New, stylish and comfortable rooms with great beds, kitchenette and sitting area. Ample space for a family of 3 who were a little sick of each other after 10-days in very close quarters. Cool bathroom, too. Great location within walking distance to the harbor, Harpa concert hall, restaurants, bars, shopping, etc. Plus a fantastic Breville coffeemaker in the room (and given cost of everything in Iceland, being able to make your own cappuccino is a nice perk).

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing

    Reviewed: August 21, 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    Julie United States of America
  • Black Beach Suites

    Vík, Iceland

    Average Review Score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      Very private. Access to a kitchenette and refrigarator. The bathroom was big and well equiped. Awesome location and peaceful. I will stay in this place again, beautiful place, where you can disconnect from the world.

    • Negative section of review

      We were not able to connect to netflix. We could go to reception and asked for some help, but we didnt.

    Reviewed: October 17, 2017 Stayed in October 2017
    Julissa United States of America
  • The White House

    Reykholt, Iceland

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      We got a very warm welcome. The room was very nice and the owner extreme helpful. The breakfast was excellent.

    • Negative section of review

      A shame the spa didn't work.

    Reviewed: March 6, 2017 Stayed in February 2017
    phoegh Denmark

Highly Rated Hotels in Iceland by All Reviewers

  • The Old Harbour Apartment Reykjavík

    Reykjavík, Iceland

    Average Review Score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      We had a wonderful stay and our hosts we brilliant. The apartment was the perfect place to base our stay in Reykjavik with great eating places nearby. Everything we needed was supplied including washing machine and dryer plus a full kitchen of gadgets! The apartment accommodated 2 couples and a single and we had plenty of room in the most beautifully maintained property. Loved it!

    • Negative section of review

      Absolutely nothing.

    Reviewed: September 29, 2016 Stayed in September 2016
    Chris Australia
  • Apartment 19

    Selfoss, Iceland

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Nice owner-- always reply promptly through message! Facilities are great. Clean and comfortable rooms. Quiet surroundings.

    • Negative section of review

      Sofa bed is not enough for two girls.

    Reviewed: August 16, 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    zfp Taiwan
  • Guesthouse Baegisa

    Akureyri, Iceland

    Average Review Score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      We had a comfortable and restful stay at this excellent guesthouse. The accommodations were comfy; breakfast (included) was delicious; scenery was stellar; and service was flawless. Elisabeth, our host, was friendly and engaging. The sheep and horses were friendly and a fun diversion for the kids. The guesthouse was well located as an easy base to explore Myvatn, Akureyri, and the Trollaskagi Peninsula. We loved our time here and would highly recommend this spot.

    Reviewed: August 28, 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    Catherine Canada
  • Apartment by the Sea near Reykjavik Center

    Reykjavík, Iceland

    Average Review Score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      Exceptionally clean, quick and easy check in, easy to find, great location, courteous host

    Reviewed: June 3, 2017 Stayed in June 2017
    Boris United States of America
  • Helgugata Guesthouse

    Borgarnes, Iceland

    Average Review Score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Beautiful and well decorated home walking distance to restaurants and shops. Mila was a wonderful host and so kind.

    Reviewed: August 30, 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    Regan United States of America
  • Skarðás Country Cabins

    Egilsstadir, Iceland

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Top notch staff Great view Attention to details Clean Good size Equipment complete Great value for money Beautiful location

    Reviewed: August 3, 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    JohnGeo France
  • The Viking Country Club

    Hjalteyri, Iceland

    Average Review Score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Owners super nice, amazing bed, hot tub outside, good chance to see whales from the living room window

    Reviewed: October 18, 2017 Stayed in October 2017
    Davide Italy
  • The White House

    Reykholt, Iceland

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      We got a very warm welcome. The room was very nice and the owner extreme helpful. The breakfast was excellent.

    • Negative section of review

      A shame the spa didn't work.

    Reviewed: March 6, 2017 Stayed in February 2017
    phoegh Denmark
  • Laugaras Homestay

    Laugaras, Iceland

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Awesome owners welcomed us with lovely dogs! We loved homemade breakfast as well :) We were honored to have written messages on their guest book :) I would love to stay there again!

    Reviewed: June 12, 2017 Stayed in June 2017
    KEISUKE Ireland