Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Tanzania Hotel Reviews by Real Guests

Recent Reviews for Hotels in Tanzania

  • Z Hotel

    Nungwi, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9
    • Positive section of review

      Funky rooms, great breakfast, outstanding service from staff, lovely pool area, super location (easy to walk to other restaurants etc)

    • Negative section of review

      Bedrooms are small, building works for three days meant it wasn’t so relaxing (though mgmt were nice about it) Potentially expensive for Zanzibar...

    Reviewed: October 21, 2018 Stayed in October 2018
    Vicki United Kingdom
  • Daisy Comfort Home

    Dar es Salaam, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      Clean room, nice and quiet location, very friendly staff!

    Reviewed: October 21, 2018 Stayed in October 2018
    Kai Tanzania
  • Kiganja

    Matemwe, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.3
    • Positive section of review

      Nice personell, beautiful complex, calm area, own Pool, tidy surrounding, tasty food with Adaption to different wishes, good arranged Trip, nice coordination with other guests, always an open ear, flexible Service

    • Negative section of review

      Actually almost everything was fine, there was just no hot water in the shower and the sink had a small leakage but immediate friendly ensurance that they will take care

    Reviewed: October 21, 2018 Stayed in October 2018
    Christopher Germany
  • Misonge Cottage

    Lushoto, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      The host was a local of the area and super nice! Every time we stepped onto the grounds or saw him in town we were greeted with his huge smile.

    Reviewed: October 21, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Kristin United States of America
  • Xanadu Villas & Retreat

    Bwejuu, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      the service of the staff was excellent. The food was gourmet with sublime preparation. Mr; Lissu our "Butler" was very professional and super attentive to all our demand. He transformed our holiday to magic stay. Thank you Lissu..

    Reviewed: October 21, 2018 Stayed in October 2018
    pierre Belgium
  • Amira's Roomz Zanzibar

    Zanzibar City, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 8.1
    • Positive section of review

      The accommodation was what we needed after our arrival really early in the morning. The owner picked us up for free (even though it was in the middle of the night) so we could sleep some hours before we started our holiday. The owner has been super friendly and even arranged us a driver for the next day. Would recommend the accommodation for everyone who is arriving late to Zanzibar.

    Reviewed: October 21, 2018 Stayed in October 2018
    Marcel Germany
  • Kasha Boutique Hotel

    Matemwe, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 8.1
    • Positive section of review

      Cute little cottages only 11 so very intimate. The lobby is luxurious and everyone is so attentive.

    • Negative section of review

      I travelled with my brother here for a little beach get away. Wrong idea. This place is perfect for couples and honeymooners only. Felt very awkward. Breakfast service is slow but good. Place is in the middle of nowhere and WiFi is only in the reception lobby...they give you old dvds and books you can borrow or board games instead of using your phone.

    Reviewed: October 21, 2018 Stayed in October 2018
    Sara United Kingdom
  • Bwejuu Beach Palm Villa

    Bwejuu, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 8.8
    • Positive section of review

      Very nice place in a quiet and peaceful area in a very good price. A beautiful beach bar Kilimani nearby - a beautiful place for an afternoon relax by the ocean. The bungalow environment cleaned daily by young Masai called Paulo - very kind and helpful, we felt safe knowing he is there all the time, securing this place. A large and clean bungalow, located just on the beach, equipped with all necessary things. Close to the village, where you could buy basic articycles in the shop. All in all I reccomend to stay there.

    • Negative section of review

      We booked a bungalow and we've only got a part of it, the bungalow on the beach has 2 rooms, so booking this place you get a ROOM IN A BUNGALOW, the owners do not inform about this when booking. The third day there was a nice couple checked in as a neighbors in the other room, I think they were as surprised as we were. So if you count on privacy choose another option! No wifi in the bungalow - while in the booking confirmation was stayted that the internet is available also there. The only place where you could use the wifi was the main building of the hotel. The Internet worked poorly throughout the whole stay, we had to ask for a few times to turn on the router or recharge the package. Beacuse of very expensive phone calls to Europe, having wifi can be sometime a great advantage. Bungalow cleaned every second day- firs time after 3 days with the reminder at the reception. Bath towels replaced 2X during a 12-day stay, no toilet paper, so we bought it ourselves ( check-out day we've got a stock of 2 additional rolls: D) Dinner in the main building was tasty, but one day we waited 1,5 hours. Then we decided to eat at other restaurants that can be found easily nearby.

    Reviewed: October 21, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Karolina Poland
  • Jaribu Beach Hotel

    Paje, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.1
    • Positive section of review

      It is a small hotel with only 6 bungalows which creates a really familiar atmosphere. The view from the infinity pool is spectacular. Recommended for everyone who wants a romantic stay in Zanzibar! Additionally pretty friendly and supportive owner.

    Reviewed: October 21, 2018 Stayed in October 2018
    Marcel Germany

Highly Rated Hotels in Tanzania by English-speaking Reviewers

  • Villa Huruma

    Paje, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Amazing stay! Loved the decoration and facilities! Perfect location near the beach and other bars/restaurant but very peaceful and quiet for a relaxing stay! Definitely would love to go back!

    Reviewed: April 4, 2018 Stayed in April 2018
    Kaitlynn United States of America
  • Milele Beach Resort

    Pingwe, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      This is a new hotel which has opened for 4 months. It was really an amazing experience to stay here for 2 nights. I hope we could enjoy all of this for more nights but my vacation was very short. There was a special night with a band and an engagement of a young couple there on another day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beach is beautiful. All facilities are new. This is really a cute and exquisite hotel. Well deserved to stay.

    Reviewed: October 12, 2017 Stayed in October 2017
    Shirley1212 China
  • Mahali Zanzibar

    Paje, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.1
    • Positive section of review

      The location was great! Hotel and room were very clean

    Reviewed: March 31, 2018 Stayed in March 2018
    Zaira United States of America
  • The Researchers Rest

    Arusha, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      I stayed here twice. It was so good I had to come back. Staff was the most friendly I've met and very helpful, rooms were comfortable, dinner was delicious, and between the huge library and the luxurious sitting room I didn't see any reason to leave. I give this place my highest recommendation.

    • Negative section of review

      No negatives. I didn't want to leave.

    Reviewed: April 9, 2018 Stayed in March 2018
    Gregory United States of America
  • The Loop Beach Resort

    Jambiani, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      Right on the beach! Politeness all the time from all the staff. Good pool and water sports.

    • Negative section of review

      No Air Conditioning for those who like it. Food very very simple and basic. The access to get to the hotel is awful but his is the scenario for most of the places around.

    Reviewed: April 19, 2018 Stayed in April 2018
    Ednaldo Brazil
  • We Travel Hostel

    Moshi, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.3
    • Positive section of review

      Great small hostel vibe. Perfect location, close to everything. Decent breakfast and overall good value, especially the double with private bathroom. Some staff were super lovely and helpful. Really good, cheap laundry.

    • Negative section of review

      Food in restaurant takes a long time (a lot of places do though). We extended our stay and there was some confusion over the rooms available. There is quite a bit of noise from the road/alley, I would say earplugs are a necessity.

    Reviewed: August 22, 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    Kate Australia
  • Zanzibar Queen Hotel

    Matemwe, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      Everything!!! The manager Marta! Is a refreshing breath of fresh air, she is an excellent hostess. The food was awesome and every dinner I had there was amazing! I loved the serenity of the place....can’t say enough good things about this slice of heaven. Will surely come back soon....Asante Zanzibar Queen Hotel!

    • Negative section of review

      There is nothing to dislike here! I hope the standards are retained for a long time.

    Reviewed: June 2, 2018 Stayed in May 2018
    Jacqueline Nigeria
  • Airport Planet lodge

    Kingori, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9
    • Positive section of review

      Everything was very nice........the welcoming, room, food, and the location as it was very convenient for our late arrival flight.

    Reviewed: August 26, 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    Theo United Kingdom
  • Le Jacaranda Hotel

    Arusha, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      It was wonderful! This is a small, boutique hotel that is being remodeled. Our room had a large sitting area with a spacious balcony, a generous sleeping area with a large king-sized comfy bed with a hand-carved wooden frame, and a large modern bathroom. Because the restaurant was not yet open, we were served a sumptuous breakfast on our balcony and dined well at a restaurant only a block away. The hotel had a staff member that served as our driver. The owners, Ruckya and Marc, are cosmopolitan and extraordinarily personable. We felt like a cross between family and royalty.

    • Negative section of review

      At this point the hotel still lacks a swimming pool and a restaurant.

    Reviewed: April 1, 2018 Stayed in March 2018
    James United States of America
  • Nungwi House

    Nungwi, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      The staff are really friendly and made me feel right at home, the fruit platter is heavenly and the location is excellent 2 minutes walk to the beautiful Nungwi beach

    • Negative section of review

      no complaint

    Reviewed: April 18, 2018 Stayed in April 2018
    Peris Kenya
  • Baladin Zanzibar Beach Hotel

    Zanzibar City, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      The food was amazing, facilities fantastic and the staff extremely helpful. We had a minor medical issue with my young son and the management went out of their way to help us. We had heard that we would find the food in Zanzibar to be mediocre, but every meal was delicious at the hotel (the octopus carpaccio was our favorite!) and the entire menu was creative, diverse and fun for both the adventurous and less adventurous (toddlers) in the family. The beer was their own brand from Italy and the was selection excellent. The pool, beach, rooms and dining areas were so nice that even during a rainy day we enjoyed staying in the hotel. We have already recommended this hotel to many of our friends and are planning on coming back soon for another relaxing week!

    • Negative section of review

      There were a number of puppies and kittens which were cute and fun for the kids to play with, but became a bit of a nuisance when eating (think largely because some guests insisted on feeding them from table). Looked like management was making an effort to keep people from feeding them and keeping them out of dining area so problem should be sorted soon.

    Reviewed: April 18, 2018 Stayed in April 2018
    Heather United States of America

Highly Rated Hotels in Tanzania by All Reviewers

  • Villa Huruma

    Paje, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Amazing stay! Loved the decoration and facilities! Perfect location near the beach and other bars/restaurant but very peaceful and quiet for a relaxing stay! Definitely would love to go back!

    Reviewed: April 4, 2018 Stayed in April 2018
    Kaitlynn United States of America
  • Milele Beach Resort

    Pingwe, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      This is a new hotel which has opened for 4 months. It was really an amazing experience to stay here for 2 nights. I hope we could enjoy all of this for more nights but my vacation was very short. There was a special night with a band and an engagement of a young couple there on another day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The beach is beautiful. All facilities are new. This is really a cute and exquisite hotel. Well deserved to stay.

    Reviewed: October 12, 2017 Stayed in October 2017
    Shirley1212 China
  • Karabai Villa

    Matemwe, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      Nicely maintained villa, manager Ali is really good.

    • Negative section of review

      Though nice location, road connecting to property is too bad

    Reviewed: March 30, 2018 Stayed in March 2018
    sanjaya United Arab Emirates
  • Maasai Lodge Tanzania – Africa Amini Life

    Engare Nanyuki, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      This place manages to combine a 5 star hotel and service experience, with rustic/personal/cultural/authentic touches. Every detail is right here. The fact that it is located in the middle of nowhere and it takes you 1,5 hours to get there from Kilimanjaro airport adds to the experience. Amazing views, even more so during your (optional) wake up sunrise coffee.

    • Negative section of review

      Charging 100USD for an airport pickup is too much

    Reviewed: February 16, 2017 Stayed in February 2017
    Iratxe Netherlands
  • Constance Aiyana

    Verani, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Almost everything else

    • Negative section of review

      It's a bit too far from pemba airport bt location is good for relaxing

    Reviewed: September 14, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    trish Zimbabwe
  • The Loop Beach Resort

    Jambiani, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      Right on the beach! Politeness all the time from all the staff. Good pool and water sports.

    • Negative section of review

      No Air Conditioning for those who like it. Food very very simple and basic. The access to get to the hotel is awful but his is the scenario for most of the places around.

    Reviewed: April 19, 2018 Stayed in April 2018
    Ednaldo Brazil
  • Maji Lodge

    Matemwe, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      It was amazing. Natalia was a great hostess, even before we arrived she kept in contact to make sure she prepares what we need. The staff were also very helpful and willing to do extra things to make sure we are comfortable. The lodge was quite and such a great place to relax and recharge. You can sit on the terrace and watch the sea. It made us want to move to Zanzibar permanently. ;-)

    • Negative section of review

      Wish I knew there was a self catering option incase you didn't want restaurant food.

    Reviewed: April 6, 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    Rearabetswe South Africa
  • We Travel Hostel

    Moshi, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.3
    • Positive section of review

      Great small hostel vibe. Perfect location, close to everything. Decent breakfast and overall good value, especially the double with private bathroom. Some staff were super lovely and helpful. Really good, cheap laundry.

    • Negative section of review

      Food in restaurant takes a long time (a lot of places do though). We extended our stay and there was some confusion over the rooms available. There is quite a bit of noise from the road/alley, I would say earplugs are a necessity.

    Reviewed: August 22, 2017 Stayed in August 2017
    Kate Australia
  • Chumbe Island Coral Park

    Mbweni, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      The location, food, staff and organisation was top notch. Just an incredible experience. We stayed a night and loved every second

    • Negative section of review

      There are a few mosquitoes, not many. The boat trip can be rough but normally it's not bad

    Reviewed: February 13, 2017 Stayed in February 2017
    Fen Australia
  • Bahari Pizza Restaurant Bungalows

    Jambiani, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.4
    • Positive section of review

      Actually i was really lucky to got what i expected and needed from my vacation in Jambiani ...Very nice, friendly, helpful and caring staff... We shared very nice moments together.. The room is spacious, clean, comfort and very calm .. The restaurant is maybe the best in jambiani, with a lot of options with very reasonable prices in comparison to the quality you got.. And it's big extra to stay in this place.. The view infront just amazing and well located.. The breakfast was very delicious.. I enjoyed every moment.. With good company of the staff, food, relaxation, view, comfort, privacy, possitive and peacful atmospher .. It was really fantastic.. Thanks a lot Eidi, stephan, cana, basso, eisa, abdul and the rest of the team.. 100% redomended Atheer

    Reviewed: December 28, 2016 Stayed in December 2016
    Atheer Israel
  • Le Jacaranda Hotel

    Arusha, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      It was wonderful! This is a small, boutique hotel that is being remodeled. Our room had a large sitting area with a spacious balcony, a generous sleeping area with a large king-sized comfy bed with a hand-carved wooden frame, and a large modern bathroom. Because the restaurant was not yet open, we were served a sumptuous breakfast on our balcony and dined well at a restaurant only a block away. The hotel had a staff member that served as our driver. The owners, Ruckya and Marc, are cosmopolitan and extraordinarily personable. We felt like a cross between family and royalty.

    • Negative section of review

      At this point the hotel still lacks a swimming pool and a restaurant.

    Reviewed: April 1, 2018 Stayed in March 2018
    James United States of America
  • Baladin Zanzibar Beach Hotel

    Zanzibar City, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      The food was amazing, facilities fantastic and the staff extremely helpful. We had a minor medical issue with my young son and the management went out of their way to help us. We had heard that we would find the food in Zanzibar to be mediocre, but every meal was delicious at the hotel (the octopus carpaccio was our favorite!) and the entire menu was creative, diverse and fun for both the adventurous and less adventurous (toddlers) in the family. The beer was their own brand from Italy and the was selection excellent. The pool, beach, rooms and dining areas were so nice that even during a rainy day we enjoyed staying in the hotel. We have already recommended this hotel to many of our friends and are planning on coming back soon for another relaxing week!

    • Negative section of review

      There were a number of puppies and kittens which were cute and fun for the kids to play with, but became a bit of a nuisance when eating (think largely because some guests insisted on feeding them from table). Looked like management was making an effort to keep people from feeding them and keeping them out of dining area so problem should be sorted soon.

    Reviewed: April 18, 2018 Stayed in April 2018
    Heather United States of America
  • Pili pili house

    Jambiani, Tanzania

    Average Review Score: 9.3
    • Positive section of review

      All staff (esp Dennis and Marek) were amazing; food exceeded our expectations; portable wifi was awesome; clean and comfortable; We will definitely be back!

    Reviewed: May 10, 2018 Stayed in May 2018
    Anonymous Zambia