Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

South Africa Hotel Reviews by Real Guests

Recent Reviews for Hotels in South Africa

  • Drostdy Hotel

    Graaff-Reinet, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 9.5
    • Positive section of review

      Excellent

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing

    Reviewed: September 24, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Mike South Africa
  • Blyde Canyon, A Forever Resort

    Matibidi, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 8
    • Positive section of review

      The best Location to visit the three Rondavels/ Blyde River Canyon. Lovely place to relax, have a Braai and enjoy nature!

    Reviewed: September 24, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Sabine South Africa
  • Delicious Monster Cottage

    Port St Johns, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 7.7
    • Positive section of review

      Sorry but the cottage was not up to our standard with regard to cleanliness there where insects in the bathroom and bedroom. The beds were really hard to sleep on. And we could not even use the coach in the lounge as that was broken. Plus there was an unpleasant smell. The braai area was also very untidy. The noise level was really terrible we would have left early but it was unsafe to do so with the crowd down at the beach area. The pictures on the internet compared to reality is very different. We had to sleep in our car

    • Negative section of review

      A decent bed to sleep on

    Reviewed: September 24, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    very South Africa
  • Die Suidooster Gastehuis

    Parys, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 9
    • Positive section of review

      Coffee milk and biscuits topped up every day. Friendly service. Great value for money. Cool drinks and chocolates available.

    Reviewed: September 24, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Duncan South Africa
  • Benguela

    Gansbaai, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Nice and spacious bungalow.

    • Negative section of review

      If you book the deluxe bungalow you have no view except to the laundry and kitchen.

    Reviewed: September 24, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Monika South Africa
  • Oakhampton Bed and Breakfast

    East London, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 8.8
    • Positive section of review

      very friendly and a great stay

    • Negative section of review

      nothing

    Reviewed: September 24, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Zizikazi South Africa
  • Hulala Lakeside Lodge

    White River, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 8.4
    • Positive section of review

      I Loved the peace and quiet. The staff were very nice and helpful from housekeeping, security, and restaurant! I enjoyed the walking trails very much. The dinner was amazing and it had all my favourite dishes. The place is absolutely breath taking and will make this my new home!

    • Negative section of review

      The road leading to the lodge was harsh on my car maybe if it was paved the whole way.

    Reviewed: September 24, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Balwayiphi South Africa
  • Sheppard Boutique Guest House

    Nelspruit, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 9.2
    • Positive section of review

      Classy in every way. The property was once a private mansion built in the '60s or' 70s. It is grand in a low-key way, modrrn in its time and full of the most beautiful antiques. The gardens are just gorgeous and the staff look happy.

    • Negative section of review

      Plugs in room strangely situated.

    Reviewed: September 24, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Meryl South Africa
  • Hippo Boutique Hotel

    Cape Town, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 8.6
    • Positive section of review

      Good area with many restaurants and bars in walking distance (also safe to walk after sunset), large room with pantry kitchen including all facilities, secure parking on the premises

    • Negative section of review

      Worn mattress, bathroom is in the bedroom (not even a shower curtain separates the two), especially in comparison with other hotels very limited breakfast (you can spend 100 R on breakfast in the restaurant next door, but this amount only covers 1 drink and 1 egg OR 1 cereal dish), room was full of Mini branding (the exact opposite of discrete advertising), no real mountain view although it says it in the room's name

    Reviewed: September 24, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Anonymous Germany
  • Park Inn by Radisson Polokwane

    Polokwane, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 8.7
    • Positive section of review

      bed was extra comfotable

    • Negative section of review

      checking inn was slow.

    Reviewed: September 24, 2018 Stayed in September 2018
    Anonymous

Highly Rated Hotels in South Africa by English-speaking Reviewers

  • White Water Farm

    Stanford, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      OMG, this place is PERFECT in every way! We are so pleased to have found it. Everything is so chic and beautiful even in rainy weather, the people are friendly and the animals are adorable (there's a tiny pug. I repeat: a tiny pug. This is not a drill. Tiny pug).

    • Negative section of review

      Couldn't find a single thing wrong about this place. Amazing job, guys!

    Reviewed: October 6, 2016 Stayed in October 2016
    warlordkittens Israel
  • Twice Central

    Stellenbosch, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 9.6
    • Positive section of review

      Great staff. Balcony was very nice. Wifi and Satellite TV worked very well. Breakfast was very good. Siltent neighbourhood, but I could easily walk to a lot of bars, cafes and restaurants.

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing.

    Reviewed: April 18, 2017 Stayed in April 2017
    Christian Switzerland
  • Agulhas Ocean House

    Agulhas, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      Great stay great facilities. Very friendly hosts

    • Negative section of review

      I

    Reviewed: November 9, 2016 Stayed in November 2016
    alewyn South Africa
  • Mt Horeb Manor

    Clarens, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Great hospitality! Great View and even better company! Thanks Marx's!

    Reviewed: December 14, 2016 Stayed in December 2016
    Damien South Africa

Highly Rated Hotels in South Africa by All Reviewers

  • Candlewood Lodge

    Knysna, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 9.9
    • Positive section of review

      We stayed at Candlewood for 4 nights before xmas, it was wonderful. Andreas and Ines were so welcoming and did everything to make sure we have a good time in Knysna. Andreas recommended a couple of things to do in the area on our arrival and we ended up doing most of them. Great recommendations. They also booked restaurants in advance which made us easier to have good meals in the area, no hustle trying to find a decent meal in the area, they know them all. Talking about food, breakfast at Candlewood was best, hot breakfast, freshly baked breads, homemade jam and etc, we will miss those breakfast we had during our stay. Overall Candlewood is a little gem in Knysna. Hats off to Andreas and Ines for creating such wonderful experience. Thank you and all the best :)

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing, everything is perfect

    Reviewed: December 24, 2016 Stayed in December 2016
    Stephan Germany
  • Residence William French

    Simonʼs Town, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 9.9
    • Positive section of review

      Exquisite, luxurious, 10 out of 10! A culinary experience deluxe

    • Negative section of review

      No complaints

    Reviewed: June 5, 2017 Stayed in June 2017
    Thane South Africa
  • Le Port Guesthouse

    Mossel Bay, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Good situated! Not far away from harbour / sea, but in a silent place! Felt comfortable from the first moment, warm welcome by charles and the housekeepeerin. Very nice and comfortable room! There's a map with recommendations for things to do and great restaurants prepared for guests. Great breakfast with fruits, bread, ham, cheese, yoghurt and cupcake! From the breakfast great view over the city until the sea! Great place to stay :)

    • Negative section of review

      We didn't planned to stay at mossel bay, the booking was just for one night for travelling further.. Should have stayed longer there :)

    Reviewed: October 12, 2016 Stayed in October 2016
    Patrick Switzerland
  • Agulhas Ocean House

    Agulhas, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      Great stay great facilities. Very friendly hosts

    • Negative section of review

      I

    Reviewed: November 9, 2016 Stayed in November 2016
    alewyn South Africa
  • Olive Stone Farm Cottage

    Montagu, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 9.9
    • Positive section of review

      Everything! The privacy of the cottage, the small eco pool and outside shower, the sunbeds and shaded terrace, the cottage is wonderfully decorated, very well equipped kitchen, great bathroom, heavenly bed. There were two boardgames and a deck of cards for the guests to use. Great attention to details. And, for me one of the most important things, very very clean! You're staying between olive trees, Andrew (the owner) is very friendly and so welcoming. He left milk and eggs, we were allowed to pick fresh veggies from his garden for dinner. I could go on and on about this gorgeous cottage. If I'd known about the existence of this place before, we would have stayed longer.

    • Negative section of review

      Nothing!

    Reviewed: January 11, 2017 Stayed in January 2017
    sevim_u Netherlands
  • Mt Horeb Manor

    Clarens, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 9.7
    • Positive section of review

      Great hospitality! Great View and even better company! Thanks Marx's!

    Reviewed: December 14, 2016 Stayed in December 2016
    Damien South Africa
  • Long Story Guest House & Cook's Kitchen

    Plettenberg Bay, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 9.9
    • Positive section of review

      Meg the host was amazing, architecture and interior decoration lived up to the reviews and scores, room was huge and bed very comfortable, has a Modernistic take on beachside accommodation. Breakfast was bright and filling, really can't ask for more- wish I could stay longer.

    Reviewed: January 10, 2017 Stayed in January 2017
    Kevin United States of America
  • Gull on the Bay Boutique Guest House

    Bloubergstrand, South Africa

    Average Review Score: 9.8
    • Positive section of review

      The place is awesome. It's clean snd the staff and owner make sure clients are happy and comfortable. I will definately go back in future.

    Reviewed: January 8, 2017 Stayed in January 2017
    Keatlaretse South Africa