Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel am Kieler Schloss Kiel by Premiere Classe This rating is a reflection of how the property compares to the industry standard when it comes to price, facilities and services offered. It is based on a self-evaluation by the property. Use this rating to help choose your stay!

Dänische Str. 12-16, 24103 Kiel, Germany

#39 of 44 hotels in Kiel

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 897 hotel reviews

7.0

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    7

  • Comfort

    6

  • Location

    8.6

  • Facilities

    6.2

  • Staff

    8

  • Value for money

    6.6

  • Free WiFi

    8

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 53

  • Reviewed: 29 May 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The hotel is currently in a building site. The car park is a fair walk away and cost us 20 euro for one night and across the building site to the hotel. I booked 2 rooms for me and a friend and rather than pay at checkout, the helpful staff charged my credit card for both rooms, though they did give my friend the invoice for his room. Why can't they wait till we check out and then charge our rooms individually ? every other hotel we've stayed at have managed to do this. Staff at checkout was rude and could not find a smile.

    City centre near bars and restaurants. Breakfast Ok just Room OK and bed comfortable

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 29 April 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    the beds were too soft/old, no toilet at the breakfast area, rooms were small, no refrigerator in the rooms, bath rooms smelled

    breakfast was great and the breakfast staff too!

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 23 March 2018

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The TV set was an old screen from China/Taiwan/South Korea not reacting to the remote control just a blue banner dancing over the screen - "no signal". No instruction manual. The antique elevator and the staircase urgently need technical overhauling.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 13 February 2018

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Cleanliness left a bit to be desired. Bed was ‘turned over’ but the coffee cup was still dirty and I had no new towels in my three day stay.

    I found the location to be excellent

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 22 December 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bed was divided into 2 parts, so me and my bf were sleeping almost in a hole between these beds 😂 The internet was very slow.

    It was very clean. The staff are very friendly and are always ready to help with anything. Also their English was excellent!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    we have no complaints

    Location close enough to train station and very close to cruise terminal as well as to old town center. Good restaurant for Dinner (Lüneburg-Haus) and Breakfast (Konditorei Fiedler) nearby.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 September 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    My route from the station took me through a row of sex shops to reach this hotel - don't approach from the dockside! Bedding and bathroom a little bit down at heel.

    Centrally located, near the old town and quayside. Staff were friendly and helpful. Shops nearby. Room a good size.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 11 September 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    The bathroom sink was clogged. No fridge in the room. The lady from the reception was struggling with her poor English. The elevator was not working and we had two huge luggage that we had to hand carry over the stairs. And last but not least we could not pay by card, using two different cards. Their system was not working. So we had to spend 30 minutes at reception, trying to pay. We ended up trying to find a bank to get some cash money. So we had to get a taxi in the end instead of walking, otherwise we would miss the Hamburg bus. So never again......Coming back from a fantastic cruise, this is the best way to ruin your vacation. Horrible hotel. Yac!

    It is very close to the Ostseekai port for those who go on a cruise. That is the only advantage.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 18 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    A basic hotel in pedestrian area, which is not mentioned in description so not easy to find or good for parking. Very noisy from drunks late into the night.

    Decent breakfast, but food not very hot.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    On a pedestrian street, so parking in nearby ( just) car park 20 Euros. Not mentioned on website!! Also pedestrian area had lots of rowdy drunks until 2am.

    clean, compact room.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 20 July 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    I told them we weren't going to have our breakfast in the hotel. We were leaving too early. When we made our checkout, we found out that they already had. And couldn't fix it!!!! The guys in the front desk were knew.

    Great location!

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The hotel i right in the middle of Kiel, nearby restaurants, bars, shops and only 5 min on foot from the sea. We arrived late, at around 8 pm and the hotels parking lot was unfortunately filled up, so we had to go to a parking house nearby (which cost 15 Euros per day instead of 7 Euros at the hotel), but next day it was possible to park at the hotel though. The room was announced as a small double - and it was small, but with a big window. Good bathroom. Overall good value for the price.

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 10 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    The worst: wifi was not very powerful so the connection was slow at some points of the room or even not accessible.

    The stuff was very friendly and kind, and helped a lot when I had doubts with the public transport. The best: the stuff and the breakfast (it offered a good variety of food).

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 24 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    After a 27hr flight from Australia I did expect more than a very basic o/n stay. I was too tired to bother asking for a new room or another hotel so a building site was my view.

    Staff friendly, helpful. Loved the location.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 17 July 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The bathroom had an awful smell of old pee - receptionist told us it was the smell of "old"... really soft queen size bed. Too small for friends, might be OK for a couple/lovers. Rooms with view to Schloss Strasse should be prepared that there is a big construction site where a big apartment building is being built behind hotel (only the foundation July 2016) = lots of noise.

    Nice breakfast. They speak English. Centrally located.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2016

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The only thing I didn't like was that the eggs weren't hard-boiled, but that was all!

    An excellent location - so close to the central station and all the sights, and excellent value for money. No lift so might not suit some travellers, but the best value, especially with early check in and free luggage storage.

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 22 April 2018

    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower tray too low, shower curtain too short - water everywhere

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 April 2018

    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Facilities are a bit old, hotel needs at some point renovation.

    Staff was very kind, great location.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 November 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    the room was very clean. location of the hotel was supper.

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 30 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Perfect location in the middle of the old town, very nice staff, simple breakfast, clean, comfy, just a very lovely stay. 😁

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 14 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Very nasty staff in the check in.

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 4 August 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No pakering Room not cliened

    nothing

    Stayed in August 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 May 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 4 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No cleaning at all - very dirty. Curtains don't cover window; no blackout curtains.

    Location

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 April 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    they offer free bike which is great

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 March 2017

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 5 nights

    Everything was very good!

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 February 2017

    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    very small rooms, no cleaning on our stay

    the location

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 February 2017

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Nice light and big room with very comfortalble beds. Teh room was preparared already at 9:30 when we arrived.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Difficult to find but very quiet.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: 6 September 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night

    small shower space

    friendly staff

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: 24 July 2016

    • With a pet
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Good breakfast, good location.

    Stayed in July 2016

  • Reviewed: 26 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Room was very hot with no air conditioning.

    Location was great

    Stayed in June 2016

  • Reviewed: 25 June 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Rooms very small but clean and bed comfortable

    Staff friendly and helpful. Great breakfast and excellent location

    Stayed in June 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They no longer impact the property's overall review score – but may still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: 15 May 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    the breakfast was very poor, and there wasn't enough of everything. The staff at breakfast were over worked as it's the same receptionist that is serving people.

    the staff and the location were excellent

  • Reviewed: 1 January 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    It is very important to let the staff know that you are coming after 9pm. Because there is no reception afterward!

    Nice location. Nice breakfast. Nice staff.

  • Reviewed: 8 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Not terrible. But, the nearby outdoor cafe had clientele very late into the evening and they at times got noisy. I'd still stay there again any time.

    Breakfast was great. Room was nice and clean. Price was good.

  • Reviewed: 8 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    The room was dirty, dark and a number of toilets were being repaired in the hall way, sorry after a 3 day trip, all I need is peace and rest.

    I was shocked that you have this hotel on your list. I was shocked at the inspection, so I left without spending a single night there. My recommendation: dump them

  • Reviewed: 16 June 2015

    • Couple

    The reception staff could speak more english. There was no shower gel when we arrived, but after I asked the staff brought one. The courtain wasn't covering the entire window, so some light was entering the room during the night.

    The hotel has a good position to reach cruise ship terminal, very quiet. Room was very clean with possibility of taking tea and coffe. Nice and helpful staff.

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    -our electronic key didn't work -morning receptionist who checked us out was kind of rude

    -location -very nice room In general, we enjoyed our stay here :)

  • Reviewed: 5 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller

    Kieler Brauerei (Brewery) seems to be a very popular place so it can get very noisy when you have your window towards the street. If you don’t want the people from the opposite building to watch you will have to shut the curtains and switch on the light.

    Location

  • Reviewed: 27 April 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    The hotel only has 6 parking places and if you're too late you will have to find alternative parking, which can be very expensive.

    Perfect location for visiting the city.

  • Reviewed: 17 May 2016

    • Business trip
    • Family with young children

    Breakfast was poor and spaces small

    Perfect location for sightseeing, friendly staff, comfy bed

  • Reviewed: 30 March 2016

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Reception not 24 hours which was not useful for an early departure.

    Staff friendly, location is decent.

  • Reviewed: 27 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Solo traveller

    Poor Wi-Fi... Unstable

    Good location, friendly personal, clear and nice...

  • Reviewed: 11 February 2016

    • Business trip
    • Group

    very small room

    confortable bed, large window, good location

  • Reviewed: 17 September 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Poor luxury

    Location

  • Reviewed: 20 August 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    the room did not get cleaned during the stay, hairdryer did not work, wifi was very unstable

    location,

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children

    Bed was very soft

    The room was really big and clean

  • Reviewed: 19 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    Parking was on behind of the hotel which was no access because of roadwork.

  • Reviewed: 11 July 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    -

    Good location and easy to find

  • Reviewed: 28 June 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    A festival caused extremely difficulties to find the hotel and park the car.e

    Staff was friendly and helpful

  • Reviewed: 22 June 2015

    • Business trip
    • Couple

    no atmosphere

    next to central market place in Kiel

  • Reviewed: 24 May 2015

    • Leisure trip
    • Couple

    Location

  • Reviewed: 23 April 2015

    • Solo traveller

    TV did not work. Bed was broken.

    location

There are also 22 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 53

Guests also reviewed these properties: