Accommodations Flights Flight + Hotel Car Rentals Airport Taxis

Reviews of Hotel Wohnbar

Stangsstr.3, 96047 Bamberg, Germany

#17 of 36 hotels in Bamberg

Guests' Choice

Review Score

Based on 263 hotel reviews

8.6

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    9

  • Comfort

    8

  • Location

    9.4

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    9.1

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    8.1

100% Verified Reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a Review

Showing 1 - 26

  • Reviewed: December 12, 2017

    8.8
    Cute hotel in Bamberg - need to give it a second chance perhaps.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Standard Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Very difficult dropping or fetching luggage as there just is no where to stop let alone park. Stairs were a challenge with a heavy bag. Breakfast had really good potential just to be let down by unedible hard bacon and solid scrambled eggs rendered tasteless by lying in a cold colander. Yes cold ...... Sad because the rest of the breakfast was really good. I wondered why the table that finished just as we sat down had both left large scoops of scrambled egg still on their plates.

    Lovely little hotel. Someone has gone to a lot of effort to make it really nice. Position is brilliant.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: July 17, 2017

    7.5
    Nice, but small room, all in all too expensive.
    • Group
    • Small Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It is a nice hotel but I believe considering the small room size it is heavily overpriced. This is the only reason I will not stay there again on my next trip to Bamberg.

    Breakfast is nice

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: July 2, 2017

    8.8
    Excellent location 👌🏻
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The stairs are a bit crazy, not easy to climb with luggage. The reception was closed when we left the hotel early in the morning, and we have not received instructions on what to do in this case. Finally it worked out: we dropped the key in the mailbox and phoned the reception later in the morning.

    The lady at the reception was really nice, helpful and accomodating. The reception is not open 24 hours, but there are snacks and drinks as well as conplimentary toiletries available at the entrance.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: June 24, 2017

    6.7
    Funky little hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Family Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    There is a common use courtyard that sits at the ground level with rooms surrounding it. It acts like an echo chamber so not great when people have a late night drink and cleaners are there in morning they are heard from the rooms quite clearly. As we were here early summer it was quite warm and the rooms were too. No fans supplied so a really warm night to sleep through. Breakfast was quite well supplied except no toaster for us people that like toasted bread. Lots of stairs to access rooms so beware if you don't like climbing. Public car park that you need to use if you drive is a little of a walk.

    Quite quirky boutique hotel. Apartment is well laid out with all that you need. Clean, modern and comfortable enough for the night.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: June 9, 2017

    7.1
    Great location, very walkable to everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Stayed for one night in the "green room"..... the bed was so uncomfortable. The mattress was thin and it creaked with any sort of movement. It was also very hot, and so we opened the window to get fresh air. Unfortunately the designated smoking area is 5 feet below the suite's window, so our room was filled with stinky smoke. Horrible experience.

    Great location, very walkable to everything. Parking close by. Have a fridge stocked with beer/wine/proseco/pop/juice and a whole bunch of snack in the lobby.... you can just take what you want and pay for what you consume at checkout. Prices were comparable to grocery stores (beers were 1.5 euros) A really good system, and we were glad it was there.

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: December 5, 2016

    8.3
    Great Location but stick to the Double rooms located in the hotel itself
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Triple Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The room (Blau) was cold as the room was accessed off a balcony so the door was external and not within the hotel itself, it was listed as a quadruple room but was in fact a double room with a Sofa bed which is not the same - a Quadruple should be 4 beds.

    The location was really great and parking was safe and secure. The hotel was well presented and breakfast was a good selection and variety.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: September 24, 2016

    7.0
    Satisfactory,very clean(other than possible mildew odor in our area only)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Our room was next to the outside patio and because my husband has very bad allergies believe there was a fair amount of mold and mildew because the plants, humidity, fabric etc it caused him some discomfort. Also, because we are older getting up in the middle of the night is always possible and the bed was next to a wall so no easy way to get out without waking the other one up.

    Location was terrific and very friendly and helpful.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: September 17, 2016

    9.2
    Very good, great location in the old town.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The hotel was very good, close to Little Venice, the Old Town Hall, the Cathedral and the eating drinking scene. Our double room with bathroom was clean, had a flat screen TV, and strong wifi. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is about 1100 metres from the train station.

    Stayed in September 2016

  • Reviewed: May 27, 2018

    8.3
    Decent location. Average room no sir
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Check in.

    Good locale in Bamberg. Check in was slightly confusing and took 30 minutes.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 23, 2018

    9.6
    Wonderful hotel , offering a comfortable place to stay and so close to the centre of the beautiful .
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was charming, cavernous and comfortable . The hospitality was excellent. I highly recommend this hotel.

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: May 14, 2018

    8.8
    A perfect place from which to see the wonderful city of Bamburgh
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Street noise

    Front desk night staff was extraordinary in terms of directions sightseeing and restaurant recommendations

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: February 19, 2018

    9.2
    Staff was very nice, rooms are spacious and breakfast was...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler
    • Small Economy Single Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    It was quite cold in the room, but apart from that all great!

    Staff was very nice, rooms are spacious and breakfast was great!

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: July 4, 2017

    10
    no lift, can not carry the baby carriage to upstairs
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    no lift, can not carry the baby carriage to upstairs

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: April 17, 2017

    7.9
    Great location in the heart of a beautifull city
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Small Economy Double Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    The room was very small

    Location and cleanliness, shower and bed were excellent

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: August 19, 2016

    10
    Lovely town, we will be back for another visit.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Comfort Double Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    3rd Floor and stairs is difficult with luggage

    Friendly staff, great location

    Stayed in August 2016

  • Reviewed: August 11, 2016

    7.5
    Number of stairs, breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • 2 rooms
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted from a mobile device

    Number of stairs, breakfast

    Stayed in August 2016

  • The following reviews were written more than 24 months ago. They're no longer included in the property's overall review score, but they might still be helpful when choosing the perfect place to stay.

  • Reviewed: February 28, 2016

    10
    The room was very comfy and really nicely decorated.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    I can't really think of anything to complain about.

    The room was very comfy and really nicely decorated. And I loved the music played in the breakfast lounge. Got a tip from the hotel owner about the online radio that played it :)

  • Reviewed: September 29, 2015

    9.2
    This is a small but very comfortable and picturesque hotel,...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    The interior of my room was visible from the outside unless most of the curtains were pulled down. That was not a major problem to me, but I understand some people may feel uncomfortable. Some of the other rooms offered greater privacy.

    This is a small but very comfortable and picturesque hotel, set on a converted old house right in the "island town" section of Bamberg's historic center. I was allocated the Green room, which was adequate for one person, with a comfortable bed, cable TV, good hot shower and toiletries. Staff was extremely warm and helpful and the facilities very clean and tidy.

  • Reviewed: August 28, 2015

    9.6
    Beautiful rooms.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with older children

    No air-conditioning, but we were lucky to be there not during the hottest days of summer.

    Beautiful rooms. Each room is designated not with numbear but with different colours (we had the "blue room" which was decorated with mainly blue colour). Very nice atmosphere. Definitely one of the most special hotels I've stayed in.

  • Reviewed: June 20, 2015

    9.2
    Central and had good vibes.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Noting to do with the hotel, but in some cities in Germany it is hard to find the tourist information centre

    Central and had good vibes. You will be suprised, the inside is different to the outside. I would stay there again

  • Reviewed: April 12, 2015

    9.2
    Good location, nice breakfast, spacious room, nice design.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    No elevator - but we were helped with suitcases upon checkin. Parking bit farther away in a public parkhouse. But easy to find.

    Good location, nice breakfast, spacious room, nice design. Clean. Staff very helpful; my boyfriend who did not travel with me called them to ask for a champagne and welcome card to surprise me upon arrival. They went extra to a shop to get the goodies ready- was a very pleasant surprise, and very kind that the staff was ready to go for this extra effort!

  • Reviewed: February 18, 2016

    9.2
    Very central, nice and friendly.
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Very central, nice and friendly. Tasty breakfast.

  • Reviewed: December 21, 2015

    9.2
    Great location;
    • Leisure trip
    • Group

    Great location; betwix the shops and the old town They upgraded us from two singles to two large doubles at no extra cost!

  • Reviewed: November 17, 2015

    9.2
    Friendly staff, location within old town, themed room...
    • Business trip
    • Solo traveler

    Breakfast costs extra

    Friendly staff, location within old town, themed room decorations, charming renovated historic building.

  • Reviewed: August 18, 2015

    8.3
    Nearyby the center
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    A little far away from the railway station

    Nearyby the center

  • Reviewed: July 28, 2015

    9.6
    Everything.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveler

    Nothing

    Everything. Wonderful place to stay, good price, and the room was extremely comfortable.

There are also 7 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 26

Guests also reviewed these properties: