Accommodation Flights Flight + Hotel Car rentals Airport taxis

Reviews of Hotel Bodega El Juncal 4 stars

Carretera A 366, km 1, 29400 Ronda, Spain

#34 of 57 hotels in Ronda

Guests' Choice

Review score

Based on 383 hotel reviews

8.4

Score breakdown

  • Cleanliness

    8.7

  • Comfort

    8.6

  • Location

    8.1

  • Facilities

    8.2

  • Staff

    8.9

  • Value for money

    8

  • Free WiFi

    7

100% verified reviews

Real guests. Real stays. Real opinions.

Read more
Write a review

Showing 1 - 36

  • Reviewed: 1 October 2018

    9.6
    The staff is very friendly and they are doing their best to...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 8 nights

    The staff is very friendly and they are doing their best to make visitors have a perfect holiday. The location is perfect (5 to 10 minutes from Ronda's center) and very quiet. And their chef and wines are great :). Bodega el Juncal was part of a memorable holiday.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 September 2018

    4.2
    Relaxing but very disappointed with the poor condition of the hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    If you wanted coffe or other drinks you had to look for staff. Breakfast was not hot. The swimming pool was extremely dirty! The whole grounds were shabby and in need of a lot of money to bring them up to any average standard.

    Location. Staff were helpful but only a couple spoke english

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 September 2018

    9.6
    Great hotel in lovely peaceful setting.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 3 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No extractor fan in bathroom. Some small tiles missing from around pool area.

    Very clean, comfortable and spacious room with good size patio/balconey. Very friendly helpful staff.

    Stayed in September 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 July 2018

    10
    Very reasonable and a lovely rural retreat near Ronda
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The staff are very friendly and helpful. The food is very traditional, delicious and made with love - we ate three times here over places in Ronda. Ronda is super touristy and this hotel was the perfect retreat from the tourist mayhem. We had the pool to ourselves for much of our stay and apartment 11 had the most amazing mountain view from the bedroom. Lovely.

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 June 2018

    7.9
    Nice place to stay, but eat out.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    But it is badly understaffed, and the staff there are, are well meaning but under-trained. There is a food offer in the evenings but I would avoid it to be honest. There was no menu, and just the wines of the estate. It is NOT a sophisticated restaurant experience. Perhaps they suffer from being so close to town, it's just €8-€10 to get a taxi into town where there are dozens and dozens of very good eating places. I would stay again but simply not eat there. Breakfast is barely adequate, and poorly provisioned.

    A very mixed experience. The rooms are impeccable. The situation is nice and the pool relaxing.

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 20 May 2018

    5.4
    Amazing staff but not a 4 stars !
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 8 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Poor facilities maintenance and service level for a 4 stars In a four stars, it is not complicated to clean the swimming pool, not have the machines left for a week, phone not working, no water pressure, humidity in the room, window not able to open,...

    The friendly staff

    Stayed in May 2018

  • Reviewed: 14 April 2018

    8.8
    Front desk (Maria) excellent welcome and service.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night

    We decided to stay an extra nt. but the cost was quite different and extra chge. for breakfast.(not mentioned).Although we advised we would have dinner there(8PM), chef was not in at the hotel and had to be called in(9PM). My meal was fine, but my partner's beef was "raw" and tough. There was no compensation for his meal . Even off season, cleaning the pool and area would be advised. It is a lovely premise.

    Front desk (Maria) excellent welcome and service. H/Keeper very friendly and professional. Our junior suite was lovely (rm 3). Great complimentary Cava. Peaceful , rural setting not far from Jerez, but you felt in the country with the sheep, mountains. The outside terrace had comfy chairs and Maria made us a lunch herself as here was no chef.

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 24 January 2018

    8.8
    A great country location very quite.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The Wifi connection was inadequate needed to go to the main lobby for connection

    A great country location very quite. The room was beautifuly apointed and very comfortable. Great value but you need your own car for this stay.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 5 January 2018

    7.5
    Overall enjoyed .
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Think it’s more of a summer hotel. Room a little cold & when we arrived member of staff not friendly or helpful. Saying that others we met were v nice. Bed hard. Robes would be a good touch. Food average.room very dark looking into a dining area .

    great value for money . Would have been more enjoyable in the summer. We could have used the facilities, pool ect.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 December 2017

    8.8
    Country estate outside of Ronda. Nice, quiet retreat but wifi only in common areas.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Should have wifi in the rooms and not just the common area.

    Boutique hotel with just 11 rooms. They serve wine made by their own bodega. The wine was delicious!

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 27 October 2017

    10
    Beautiful hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    /

    Nice and quiet hotel with an amazing view. Breakfast sublime with home made cake, fresh fruit salade, fresh orange juice... cosy and clean room. The staff are very friendly en helpfull (they helped us getting tickets for the Alhambra).

    Stayed in October 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 October 2017

    7.5
    If it was enywhere ealse would have been a very good hotel.
    • Leisure trip
    • Solo traveller
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    Location is all that is wrong. If you go to Ronda one should stay as close as possible to its treasures and see them at sunrise and dawn. Is one wants to stay out of the city it should be in the vally bellow the cliffs. The hotel is on the wrong side.

    It is a family ran hotel in the vinyards at the outskirts of Ronda. everthing is fine with the Hotel. But if you go to Ronda one should stay in the City. The hotel was fine for me after staying one night in city center and also I had to wake early the day after my stay for a long ling drive to Lisbon.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 29 September 2017

    6.7
    Beautiful location, not 4 star as promised. But Staff were kind. 10 mins Drive from Ronda
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    The food at both Breakfast and Dinner was poor. I had confit duck and it came with under cooked chips as well as dried fruit. Such as the ones you put into muesli. All very strange. Also the cost of a room upstairs cost us 40euros extra a night. To be honest the rooms downstairs are just as nice and better value at 80euros rather the the 120 euros we paid. We did wine tasting which was fun. It will cost you 20euros per person.

    The location is beautiful. You need a car to get into town its too far to walk. We ended up getting taxis which were fairly cheap. The poor is lovely but was freezing. So only dipped in quickly. It was nice having a terrace but they put two chairs on it no table which I found odd in such a large space.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 19 September 2017

    8.8
    A perfect, peaceful, quiet retreat. A 10-minute drive to beautiful Ronda.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 3 nights

    If I had to think of something: more rails or hooks in bathroom to hang wet swimming gear would help - and the pedal on the bin was broken. Very minor issues which didn't spoil anything!

    Freshly squeezed orange juice & fresh coffee (inc. decaf) served to order - a real breakfast treat. Wonderful location, very peaceful, friendly helpful staff, good restaurant menu. Free bike/helmet loan.

    Stayed in September 2017

  • Reviewed: 13 July 2017

    9.2
    Pretty vineyard in Ronda.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Would prefer if breakfast was self service. Would have been nice to have had a fridge in the bedroom.

    Their wine is delicious, staff very helpful and friendly. Great pool, the food was really good and good selection of board games.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 June 2017

    10
    Beautiful small hotel within beautiful grounds.
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very difficult to find via car, though this was mainly due to rubbish sat nav not recognising the address, so found through pure luck and determination!

    This hotel was amazing. Set in it's own private grounds with no other neighbouring hotels or private houses nearby. Private free parking in hotel grounds. vineyard on site. Food was absolutely delicious. Room was immaculate with a range of complimentary toiletries (everything you could possibly require), bath robe and slippers too. Staff were great, I even phoned them from the "felipe v arch" and asked them to phone me a taxi back to the hotel (no taxi ranks around) - arrived within 5 minutes. In summary food was amazing, staff were amazing, facilities were amazing, and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to just relax and get away from it all. great place to de-stress. Quiet, peaceful, and set within amazing grounds. Less than 10 minute taxi to main attractions, which cost 10 euros. Not the type to sit at a hotel all day (stayed here for 1 night only as part of a road trip) but would have happily stayed just at this hotel for a few days as it was so great. My photos do not do this place justice!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    10
    excellent bodega and hotel!
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    nothing

    This is incredibly nice place! Just 1km far from Ronda, so we could take a taxi to the city centre. The property has its own free parking. It is surrounded with vineyards where you can walk through. There is a swimming pool and very cosy terrace where you can sit down comfortable and sip very good vine. Even when it was raining it was very nice;) Our room was quite big and bed very comfortable. At the evening we ate at their restaurant - the cook is excellent - octopus with vegetables was superb! We would come back one time for sure!

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 7 March 2017

    7.1
    Average
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    The bed was hard, pillows very uncomfortable and shower was impossible to maintain a constant temperature.

    Friendly and helpful staff, nice lounge and patio area

    Stayed in March 2017

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2017

    9.2
    We stayed only one night, but staff was very friendly and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast was not worth of the money. Mattresses are too firm for my taste. Wi-fi worked at the reception only.

    We stayed only one night, but staff was very friendly and usefull. Location is ok, but you need a car to get there.

    Stayed in February 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 January 2017

    7.5
    good sleep bad breakfast
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    breakfast complete desaster only prepacked marmalade etc no fruit no fresh food at all not a fair deal for a 4 star location

    nice room modern great bathroom helpful staff

    Stayed in January 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 December 2016

    9.6
    Thank you for the great time
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights

    We had a big bathroom but some furniture like a chair and shelf would look more comfortable

    This was a very beautifull stay away from hectic and noise. People were very passionate and friendly.

    Stayed in November 2016

  • Reviewed: 12 October 2018

    10
    Hotel Bodega El Juncal in Ronda
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    Everthing was excellent. Beautiful location. Garden was exquisite. Staff very friendly We highly recommend

    Stayed in October 2018

  • Reviewed: 21 July 2018

    8.8
    Enjoyable only 10 euros taxi into town
    • Leisure trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    More sun beds around the pool

    Only complaint was lack of sun beds around pool .... apart from that excellent !

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 16 July 2018

    10
    Unique Hotel
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Unique Hotel

    Stayed in July 2018

  • Reviewed: 3 June 2018

    9.2
    The owner is a really good person, always available and...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    The owner is a really good person, always available and helpful

    Stayed in June 2018

  • Reviewed: 30 April 2018

    10
    The views were amazing.
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    The views were amazing.

    Stayed in April 2018

  • Reviewed: 15 March 2018

    10
    Very big and comfortable room, warm bed, beautiful...
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Very big and comfortable room, warm bed, beautiful countryside around. A good place to relax

    Stayed in March 2018

  • Reviewed: 26 February 2018

    9.6
    very pleasant
    • Business trip
    • Group
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 6 nights

    leaving and the excellent weather

    the people were very friendly and helpful also cleanliness

    Stayed in February 2018

  • Reviewed: 25 January 2018

    8.3
    Clean and cosy.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    No elevator or ramp for baby stroller.

    Clean and cosy.

    Stayed in January 2018

  • Reviewed: 9 January 2018

    9.6
    Staying in Ronda winery
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Nothing

    It was a very beatiful hotel and had a very delicious restaurant. Parking place was nice.

    Stayed in December 2017

  • Reviewed: 9 July 2017

    8.8
    Helpful and friendly staff, peaceful location and great...
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • One-Bedroom Apartment with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Shower pressure was very low and difficult to get hot water.

    Helpful and friendly staff, peaceful location and great surrounding environment.

    Stayed in July 2017

  • Reviewed: 23 June 2017

    9.2
    Amazing location by the vineyard.
    • Leisure trip
    • People with friends
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 2 nights
    • Submitted via mobile

    Amazing location by the vineyard. Nice pool and garden. their own tinto is very good!

    Stayed in June 2017

  • Reviewed: 28 May 2017

    10
    Location very relaxed
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Restaurant - basic. Breakfast poor

    Location very relaxed

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 16 May 2017

    8.8
    Excellent hotel and staff ( max)
    • Leisure trip
    • Couple
    • Junior Suite
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    Breakfast ,no wifi in rooms

    The staff ,the hotel ,location if you have a car ,getting taxi no problem 10 euros into town

    Stayed in May 2017

  • Reviewed: 6 May 2017

    9.6
    Nice stay for a visit of Ronda.
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Double or Twin Room
    • Stayed 1 night

    nothing

    Warm Welcome of the Staff (Max) and outstanding breakfast. Free parking

    Stayed in April 2017

  • Reviewed: 15 February 2017

    5.0
    The room was nice
    • Leisure trip
    • Family with young children
    • Deluxe Double or Twin Room with Pool View
    • Stayed 1 night
    • Submitted via mobile

    No internet in the room, no towels- we should ask. The worst breakfast we had.

    The room was nice

    Stayed in February 2017

There are also 20 reviews without text. These impact the overall review score.

Showing 1 - 36